Dhoni and His Two Spinner Strategy

Heard of Mr Jadeja?

And you are absolutely positive that Rishi Dhawan is an upgrade over Jadeja?  Aussie batsmen will be so affected by a desi version of military medium over Jadeja's darts?  And thats why we lost the last 2 ODIs?  

Are you absolutely sure that Jadeja has more match winning capacity over Dhawan and should play all the matches bowling darts in Australia?

Are you absolutely positive that Jadeja has more match winning (or shall we say less match losing) capacity over Dhawan and should play all the matches bowling darts in Australia?

No, but since I am not sure of the opposite, I am willing to trust Dhoni and team management's judgement enough not to bash the shyte out of them.  Since there are other systemic and personnel issues that are more responsible for losing than this one.  

Sorry to be the contrarian here, but I don't think its a captaincy issue - its a personnel issue.  Its not dhoni's fault if we leak singles and doubles in the field like a sieve, or miss runouts.   And its not his fault if Kohli and Rahane can't hit more boundaries in the last 10-15 overs.  And I happen to agree with his selection logic - Rishi Dhawan is at best, the #4 seamer in the squad.  And dropping Ashwin for military medium-pace is not exactly a great choice either.  

But, carry on the Dhoni-bashing, since all of the blame for losses, and high taxes, and slow internet, is due to him.

What a surprise. You never think anything is a Dhoni issue. You will blame everything on earth except him. Dhoni failed miserably to hit boundaries and has been for a long time but I love how you still blame Kohli and Rahane

Here is a thing, if captaincy is so uninspiring that the team makes these mistakes under Dhoni but when under Kohli the same fielders look great, the same bowlers look charged up, maybe something is wrong with the captaincy

You guys had no shame in praising him as world cup winning captain but now you do not want the responsibility to be on him when we are losing? 

No, but since I am not sure of the opposite, I am willing to trust Dhoni and team management's judgement enough not to bash the shyte out of them.  Since there are other systemic and personnel issues that are more responsible for losing than this one.  

Err what is the contribution of captaincy if you continue playing the same team even after such losses. Madness is defined as doing the same thing but expecting different results. You are willing to trust Dhoni as you are nothing but a blind fan I am afraid. 

We are losing miserably with Jadeja. Can you tell me what worse can Rishi do? As I said, madness is doing the same thing again and again yet expecting different results. Dhoni and his fans are mad

You can also argue that making changes just for the sake of it is sheikh-chilliyan.   

TBH, I'm not totally against dropping jadeja or gettin Dhawan etc in the mix.  What I'm against is the senseless child-like emotion-driven ma-behn that a bunch of posters are polluting the forum with.  Their cacophony is drowning out the sane voices.  This is not the ICF I remember.  Actually, IIRC my friends that started this website did so, precisely due to such agenda-driven monopolizing of conversation.  

What a surprise. You never think anything is a Dhoni issue. You will blame everything on earth except him. Dhoni failed miserably to hit boundaries and has been for a long time but I love how you still blame Kohli and Rahane

Sorry, I disagree.  Dhoni is clearly on the decline as a lower order hitter.  The shot he got out on, would have been six a couple of seasons ago.  Of course he shares responsibility as a batsman.  But IMHO, even today's version of Dhoni is more likely to hit a six than a Kohli or a Rahane.  Kohli & Rahane are boundary hitters, and really good ones.  But they are not power hitters.  Dhoni still is - not as good as he used to be, and definitely not good as we want him to be, but he still adds value as a keeper-batsman to the ODI team.   And blaming him for everything thats wrong with the team is opinion, not fact.  

I agree with you somewhat, nobody is talking about the chances we missed on the field. The fielders too messed up big time.

yeah - criticize the cricket. Sure, post opinions with as much color as you like, and everyone doesn't have to agree. But this constant one-note bashing, name-calling, gaali-galoch is just wrong-headed and boring.    

He was asked why Dhawan did not play and he justified his playing XI and the reasons why it is tough to play Rishi Dhawan in the XI

Dhoni picked what he feels in the best XI. Yes selectors can pick Dhawan all they want but ultimately Dhoni picks the XI.

Just because Dhoni used to play for Chenna Supper Kings, doesn't mean you can shamelessly defend him. Be a Indian fan first or GTFO.

yeah - criticize the cricket. Sure, post opinions with as much color as you like, and everyone doesn't have to agree. But this constant one-note bashing, name-calling, gaali-galoch is just wrong-headed and boring.    

So is blaming everyone else except the senor most guy with the most experience who is leading the team. One note bashing is becuase

a) He has been the one constant among all the losses

and b) because we see that the team indeed improves in all areas you mentioned under a different captain

So is blaming everyone else except the senor most guy with the most experience who is leading the team. One note bashing is becuase

a) He has been the one constant among all the losses

and b) because we see that the team indeed improves in all areas you mentioned under a different captain

b) is just wishful thinking on your part.  

And let's not anoint cuptaan kool-hair as the savior just yet.  He who benched Ashwin for the Adelaide test for rookie Karn Sharma.  

Dafuq logic is this??

How will we know until we play him? And if you can't try out your pace A/R in Australia, where else would you? 

Edited by Pagalpanti

8 years he has been in charge,It's getting boring now,same old ,rinse and repeat!! He's shamelessly hanging on to his captaincy!! 

Problem with him is that his ego is too large to play under any other captain (which would have been ideal) and he knows if he quits,his brand will get a dent but what he's not understanding is that his odi legacy is taking a huge dent!! 

There is nothing left to achieve and the wt20 is the perfect tournament to end his Career.please go Dhoni,we can't take it anymore!!

8 years he has been in charge,It's getting boring now,same old ,rinse and repeat!! He's shamelessly hanging on to his captaincy!! 

Problem with him is that his ego is too large to play under any other captain (which would have been ideal) and he knows if he quits,his brand will get a dent but what he's not understanding is that his odi legacy is taking a huge dent!! 

There is nothing left to achieve and the wt20 is the perfect tournament to end his Career.please go Dhoni,we can't take it anymore!!

What concerns me is that he is going to lead us until the World Twenty20. Hope it is not a disaster in disguise that too at home. 

what sort of BS is that!! You don't give the guy a chance and berate him before playing him.jadeja has been horrible outside SC ,what has he done to get selected especially for Australian tour after being rightly dropped since the Bangladesh series.

If people go by your logic,we wouldn't have seen a then termed 'cowlasher dhoni in 2004' in our side ever

How can you berate someone without even giving him a chance? Can anyone imagine Greame Smith or Michael Clarkle talking about one of his players like this? Saying we dont have a spinner so wont play him when touring India. Rishi has played in top for 6 for his team and scored runs, recently scored a 100 in VH trophy.  He might not be successful at the international level, but how it is fair from Dhoni to have a go at him without even playing. Sometimes,  he says we need to pick medium pacers for ODIs, not he is saying "he is not someone who is very quick." Are chahte kya ho Dhoni Sahab aap. (Read it in Manoj Vajpayee's voice :winky:)

Edited by rkt.india