Should Allow All Women In Sabarimala Temple, Kerala Tells Supreme Court

Malcolm Merlyn

17 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Standards of living is not just Per capita income. Its GINI coefficient, wealth distribution, access to education, services, etc. as well.

You'd rather be a rich or a poor guy in Germany than in UAE: unlike in UAE, you end up with public funded healthcare, education, infrastructure, social welfare etc. As well as having greater creation of wealth. 

As for modern european concept or not, Europe has had the highest level of property & personal rights enforced, compared to ANYWHERE in the world, for the last 1000-odd years. Even in medieval times, despite king of England conquering parts of France or vice versa, the properties of the people were far more secure, protected etc. than anywhere else. 

Western Europe succeeded for a 1000 years, where India and China failed after just a couple of hundred years : from the end of Viking invasion till start of WWII, Western Europe hardly ever saw cities being razed, properties being seized by the conquerors, disposessing the conquered, etc. Indians have been razing their rivals cities since pretty much the fall of the original Magadh Empire ( Kanva Dynasty), where we find mention of the Guptas, Palas, Rashtrakutas, Cholas, Gurjaras, etc all razing cities and China had its periodic collapse every 150-300 years after each major dynastic collapse. 

Europe by 1700s had 3-4x the literate population than India or China. This is the main reason - Europeans being much, much nicer to each others civillians in warfare and property rights - that is the KEY to Europe giving us the modern age and their sum total accomplishment of the last 500 years- in every field- being orders of magnitude greater than that of the sum total of much older civilizations like India or China or West Asia. 

Lies Lies more lies on your part.

European cities were razed and burnt during religious reformation wars. The rift between Protestants and Catholics lead to millions of lives getting lost whereas none such phenomenon on this scale happened in India. Heck even the early Turk Invaders and later on Mughals didn't indulge in looting as much the medieval European monarchs.

I have seen you repeatedly bringing up Indians destroying each other's cities argument so as to portray it as some sort of a common occurrence whereas reality couldn't be farther. While Indians did fight internecine warfare with each other, the magnitude of destruction wasn't nearly at the same level as 100 years war between France and England or 30 years war or the incessant battles fought between various Germanic states.

Last but not the least: No matter how hard you try to paint Medieval Europeans but the way they treated original inhabitants of Americas was extremely barbaric and despicable which no civilized Nation could dream of.

Heck why go even farther, check out the early Portuguese history in Goa where Catholic inquisitions led to millions of Indians getting hanged on stake or burnt.

Even the much reviled Muslim Invaders of India didn't indulge in such cruelty as the European Christians.

You are nothing but an insecure, self hating liar who is ashamed of his roots.

All hail Thomas Macaulay for giving us self loathing, eurocentric modern Bengali pseudo historians.

The rascal must be smiling somewhere in the purgatory looking at the condition of India's "intellectuals" who are products of his education programme which was aimed at producing "Brown Sahebs" who were English in everything but the blood.

@Muloghonto is one such machine product.

Just now, Stradlater said:

Lies Lies more lies on your part.

European cities were razed and burnt during religious reformation wars.

Which cities were razed ? name them. 

The rift between Protestants and Catholics lead to millions of lives getting lost whereas none such phenomenon on this scale happened in India. Heck even the early Turk Invaders and later on Mughals didn't indulge in looting as much the medieval European monarchs.

Yes. On the battlefield. Dude, we have European property rights record going back to the 1100s that is pretty much untampered with. You are completely incorrect about European monarchs. Which monarch razed cities like practically all of the Delhi Sultans did ? name them and the cities they razed. 

I have seen you repeatedly bringing up Indians destroying each other's cities argument so as to portray it as some sort of a common occurrence whereas reality couldn't be farther. While Indians did fight internecine warfare with each other, the magnitude of destruction wasn't nearly at the same level as 100 years war between France and England or 30 years war or the incessant battles fought between various Germanic states.

False. the 100 years war mostly saw pitched battles. Cities hardly were affected. Whereas Indian monarchs THEMSELVES left inscriptions of razing each others cities. 
German states continuously fought each other. On the battle-field. Much like the Magadh wars of expansion, where Magadh continously fought Kosala, Vrijji, Panchala, Kuru, etc. on the battlefield but left their cities alone. However, this was last seen when Magadh empire reigned, over 2000 years ago. 

Last but not the least: No matter how hard you try to paint Medieval Europeans but the way they treated original inhabitants of Americas was extremely barbaric and despicable which no civilized Nation could dream of.

That is 100% true. But it does not change the fact that Europeans treated EACH OTHER better than any other group of people have treated each other. This is why Europe has universities from the 1100s AD still standing and property rights respected from that period till WWII. 

Heck why go even farther, check out the early Portuguese history in Goa where Catholic inquisitions led to millions of Indians getting hanged on stake or burnt.

Even the much reviled Muslim Invaders of India didn't indulge in such cruelty as the European Christians.

You are nothing but an insecure, self hating liar who is ashamed of his roots.

I am someone who's read and researched history all his life - longer than you have probably been alive and its a simple fact that the reason European way is the way of the modern world is because they preserved their property rights & knowledge base better than any other region on this planet. 

1 minute ago, Stradlater said:

All hail Thomas Macaulay for giving us self loathing, eurocentric modern Bengali pseudo historians.

The rascal must be smiling somewhere in the purgatory looking at the condition of India's "intellectuals" who are products of his education programme which was aimed at producing "Brown Sahebs" who were English in everything but the blood.

@Muloghonto is one such machine product.

Says the guy who knows jack $hit about history. Do you want me to post articles on European property rights and countless instances of property passing within families of even the nobility, despite them losing nobility status when conquered by others ? Because unlike Indians, European record-keeping of the last 1000 years is vast. 

As i said, learn from the Japanese. They had more honor and courage than the bravest and most honorable Rajputs, Arabs-heck anyone else in the world. You don't top bushido code for honor-based behaviour, where bodyguards routinely commit suicide if they fail to protect their lieges. And they learnt that the European system is superior, adapted and yet retained their culture. If they can, so can we. 

8 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

Which cities were razed ? name them. 

Yes. On the battlefield. Dude, we have European property rights record going back to the 1100s that is pretty much untampered with. You are completely incorrect about European monarchs. Which monarch razed cities like practically all of the Delhi Sultans did ? name them and the cities they razed. 

False. the 100 years war mostly saw pitched battles. Cities hardly were affected. Whereas Indian monarchs THEMSELVES left inscriptions of razing each others cities. 
German states continuously fought each other. On the battle-field. Much like the Magadh wars of expansion, where Magadh continously fought Kosala, Vrijji, Panchala, Kuru, etc. on the battlefield but left their cities alone. However, this was last seen when Magadh empire reigned, over 2000 years ago. 

That is 100% true. But it does not change the fact that Europeans treated EACH OTHER better than any other group of people have treated each other. This is why Europe has universities from the 1100s AD still standing and property rights respected from that period till WWII. 

I am someone who's read and researched history all his life - longer than you have probably been alive and its a simple fact that the reason European way is the way of the modern world is because they preserved their property rights & knowledge base better than any other region on this planet. 

Wow never seen a bigger liar on internet before. You are even worst than Arab brainwashed Al Bakistanis.

But since you won't budge let's have a look at the treatment meted out by Medieval European Monarchs on civilians.

1) Persecution of Jews:  

A) West Europe(1348) Jews killed as scapegoats for Black Death:

Trager, People's Chronology: 2,000 hanged in Strasbourg.

Davies: 2,000 in Strasbourg; as many as 12,000 in Mainz.

Paul Johnson A History of the Jews (1987): 2,000 in Strasbourg; 6,000 in Mainz.

B) As stated in the Boston College Guide to Passion Plays, "Over the course of time, Christians began to accept … that the Jewish people as a whole were responsible for killing Jesus. According to this interpretation, both the Jews present at Jesus Christ's death and the Jewish people collectively and for all time, have committed the sin of deicide, or "god-killing". For 1900 years of Christian-Jewish history, the charge of deicide has led to hatred, violence against and murder of Jews in Europe and America."

During the High Middle Ages in Europe there was full-scale persecution in many places, with blood libels, expulsions, forced conversions and massacres. An underlying source of prejudice against Jews in Europe was religious. Jews were frequently massacred and exiled from various European countries. The persecution hit its first peak during the Crusades. In the First Crusade  (1096) flourishing communities on the Rhine  and the Danube were utterly destroyed, a prime example being the Rhineland massacres. In the Second Crusade (1147) the Jews in France were subject to frequent massacres. The Jews were also subjected to attacks by the Shepherds' Crusades of 1251  and 1320. The Crusades were followed by expulsions, including in 1290, the banishing of all English Jews; in 1396, 100,000 Jews were expelled from France; and, in 1421 thousands were expelled from Austria. Many of the expelled Jews fled to Poland.

I suppose these Jews weren't civilians? 

2) Witch Hunts:  An estimated total of 30,000-60,000 people were executed during the witch trials.[7][8] Among the best known of these trials were the Scottish North Berwick witch trials, Swedish Torsåker witch trials and the American Salem witch trials. Among the largest and most notable were the Trier witch trials (1581–1593), the Fulda witch trials  (1603–1606), the Würzburg witch trial (1626–1631) and the Bamberg witch trials (1626–1631).

Shock!! Horror!!

How could the civilized Europeans indulge in such barbery against their own civilians? I thought it was only an Indian phenomenon.

3) Spanish Inquisitions:  Juan Antonio Llorente, General Secretary of the Inquisition from 1789 to 1801, estimated that 31,912 were executed between 1480-1808.

Hernando de Pulgar, secretary to Queen Isabella, estimated 2,000 burned before 1490.

An unnamed "Catholic historian" estimated 2,000 burned, 1480-1504, and 2,000 burned, 1504-1758.

Flexner, Pessimist's Guide to History: 8,800 deaths by burning, 1478-1496

Philip Schaff, History of the Christian Church (1910): 8,800 burnt in 18 years of Torquemada. (acc2 Buckle and Friedländer)

Motley, Rise of the Dutch Republic: 10,220 burnt in 18 years of Torquemada

Britannica: 2,000

Aletheia, The Rationalist's Manual: 35,534 burned.

Fox's Book of Martyrs, Ch.IV: 32,000 burned

Paul Johnson A History of the Jews (1987): 32,000 k. 

by burning; 20,226 k. before 1540

Wertham: 250,000

Rummel: 350,000 deaths overall.

MEDIAN: 8,800 under Torq.; 32,000 all told.

Punished by all means, not death.

Fox: 309,000

P. Johnson: 341,000

Motley: 114,401

4) Peasants' Wars:  The German Peasants' War  was a widespread popular revolt in some German-speaking  areas in Central Europe from 1524 to 1525. It failed because of the intense opposition by the aristocracy, who slaughtered up to 100,000 of the 300,000 poorly armed peasants and farmers (Bad Bad Germans!!).

5) Ivan the Terrible:  Novgorod Massacre, 1570: 60,000 people killed. (Flexner, Pessimist's Guide to History).

Decimated boyars, "killing hundreds, probably even thousands" (Richard Dunn, The Age of Religious Wars 1559-1715).

Henri Troyat, Ivan the Terrible toward the end of his life, Ivan drew up lists of all the victims he could remember and sent these to monasteries for prayers. One listed 3,148 people killed; another 3,750.

Novgorod Massacre (various estimates):

Kurbsky: 15,000

3rd Chronicle of Novgorod: 18,000

Taube & Kruse: 27,000

1st Chronicle of Pskov: 60,000

Troyat says that Ivan's gang of special thugs, the oprichniki, numbered 6000, and lasted for seven years.

6) Persecution of Waldenese: Halley's Bible Handbook, 24th ed. (1965): 900,000 k. in 30 years (1540-70).

The Cambridge Modern History by Acton, et al. (1904) p.290: 3,000 massacred and 22 villages destroyed in 1545.

More coming in the next post. Stay tuned!

...Continued

7) Dutch Revolt: (1566-1609)

Gibbon Decline & Fall v2: 100,000 executed under Charles V, in Netherlands.

John Lothrop Motley, Rise of the Dutch Republic (1855) Alva boasted of 18,600 executions in Netherland.

Here comes the interesting part.

8)  France, Religious Wars, Catholic vs. Huguenot (1562-1598) 3,000,000 .

Robert J. Knecht The French Religious Wars, 1562-1598 (2000): Deaths during the wars estimated at 2M to 4M.

9) St Bartholomew Massacre:  Was a Christian mob violence against Huguenots. Around 30,000 civilians butchered.

10) Russo Tatar War (1571): 

The Burning of Moscow: The English ambassador, Giles Fletcher, reported that 800,000 Muscovites died in the fire and panic. More realistically, the peacetime population of Moscow had been counted as 100,000; then after the fire, in 1580, the papal ambassador reported only 30,000 inhabitants. 

Jesus Mary Joseph!! HOW CAN PEACEFUL EUROPEANS SLAUGHTER THEIR OWN CIVILIANS SO MERCILESSLY!!

11) The Thirty Years War  R.J. Rummel: 11.5M total deaths in the war (half democides).

Norman Davies, Europe, p.568: 8 million.

Richard Dunn, The Age of Religious Wars 1559-1715: After the war, the empire was 7-8 million fewer than before.

There were many other such incidents of cruelty which I'm too lazy to list.

Anyway I think have conveyed my point well here. 

11 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

Wow never seen a bigger liar on internet before. You are even worst than Arab brainwashed Al Bakistanis.

But since you won't budge let's have a look at the treatment meted out by Medieval European Monarchs on civilians.

1) Persecution of Jews:  

A) West Europe(1348) Jews killed as scapegoats for Black Death:

Trager, People's Chronology: 2,000 hanged in Strasbourg.

Davies: 2,000 in Strasbourg; as many as 12,000 in Mainz.

Paul Johnson A History of the Jews (1987): 2,000 in Strasbourg; 6,000 in Mainz.

B) As stated in the Boston College Guide to Passion Plays, "Over the course of time, Christians began to accept … that the Jewish people as a whole were responsible for killing Jesus. According to this interpretation, both the Jews present at Jesus Christ's death and the Jewish people collectively and for all time, have committed the sin of deicide, or "god-killing". For 1900 years of Christian-Jewish history, the charge of deicide has led to hatred, violence against and murder of Jews in Europe and America."

During the High Middle Ages in Europe there was full-scale persecution in many places, with blood libels, expulsions, forced conversions and massacres. An underlying source of prejudice against Jews in Europe was religious. Jews were frequently massacred and exiled from various European countries. The persecution hit its first peak during the Crusades. In the First Crusade  (1096) flourishing communities on the Rhine  and the Danube were utterly destroyed, a prime example being the Rhineland massacres. In the Second Crusade (1147) the Jews in France were subject to frequent massacres. The Jews were also subjected to attacks by the Shepherds' Crusades of 1251  and 1320. The Crusades were followed by expulsions, including in 1290, the banishing of all English Jews; in 1396, 100,000 Jews were expelled from France; and, in 1421 thousands were expelled from Austria. Many of the expelled Jews fled to Poland.

I suppose these Jews weren't civilians? 

2) Witch Hunts:  An estimated total of 30,000-60,000 people were executed during the witch trials.[7][8] Among the best known of these trials were the Scottish North Berwick witch trials, Swedish Torsåker witch trials and the American Salem witch trials. Among the largest and most notable were the Trier witch trials (1581–1593), the Fulda witch trials  (1603–1606), the Würzburg witch trial (1626–1631) and the Bamberg witch trials (1626–1631).

Shock!! Horror!!

How could the civilized Europeans indulge in such barbery against their own civilians? I thought it was only an Indian phenomenon.

3) Spanish Inquisitions:  Juan Antonio Llorente, General Secretary of the Inquisition from 1789 to 1801, estimated that 31,912 were executed between 1480-1808.

Hernando de Pulgar, secretary to Queen Isabella, estimated 2,000 burned before 1490.

An unnamed "Catholic historian" estimated 2,000 burned, 1480-1504, and 2,000 burned, 1504-1758.

Flexner, Pessimist's Guide to History: 8,800 deaths by burning, 1478-1496

Philip Schaff, History of the Christian Church (1910): 8,800 burnt in 18 years of Torquemada. (acc2 Buckle and Friedländer)

Motley, Rise of the Dutch Republic: 10,220 burnt in 18 years of Torquemada

Britannica: 2,000

Aletheia, The Rationalist's Manual: 35,534 burned.

Fox's Book of Martyrs, Ch.IV: 32,000 burned

Paul Johnson A History of the Jews (1987): 32,000 k. 

by burning; 20,226 k. before 1540

Wertham: 250,000

Rummel: 350,000 deaths overall.

MEDIAN: 8,800 under Torq.; 32,000 all told.

Punished by all means, not death.

Fox: 309,000

P. Johnson: 341,000

Motley: 114,401

4) Peasants' Wars:  The German Peasants' War  was a widespread popular revolt in some German-speaking  areas in Central Europe from 1524 to 1525. It failed because of the intense opposition by the aristocracy, who slaughtered up to 100,000 of the 300,000 poorly armed peasants and farmers (Bad Bad Germans!!).

5) Ivan the Terrible:  Novgorod Massacre, 1570: 60,000 people killed. (Flexner, Pessimist's Guide to History).

Decimated boyars, "killing hundreds, probably even thousands" (Richard Dunn, The Age of Religious Wars 1559-1715).

Henri Troyat, Ivan the Terrible toward the end of his life, Ivan drew up lists of all the victims he could remember and sent these to monasteries for prayers. One listed 3,148 people killed; another 3,750.

Novgorod Massacre (various estimates):

Kurbsky: 15,000

3rd Chronicle of Novgorod: 18,000

Taube & Kruse: 27,000

1st Chronicle of Pskov: 60,000

Troyat says that Ivan's gang of special thugs, the oprichniki, numbered 6000, and lasted for seven years.

6) Persecution of Waldenese: Halley's Bible Handbook, 24th ed. (1965): 900,000 k. in 30 years (1540-70).

The Cambridge Modern History by Acton, et al. (1904) p.290: 3,000 massacred and 22 villages destroyed in 1545.

More coming in the next post. Stay tuned!

what part of this is about destroying cities and property rights ?

Nobody denies that people suffered a lot in Europe during medieval period, there were lots of witch-hunts, lots of deaths. BUT CITIES WERE VERY RARELY RAZED, PROPERTY RIGHTS WERE VERY RARELY VIOLATED.

This is what i said. Not that Europeans were pacifists. There were more wars in Europe in the last 1000 years than rest of the world put together. Through all this, the overwhelming majority of their cities remained standing, owners of properties got to pass it to whom they wanted to and knowledge along with wealth was largely preserved.

Cities were where property, knowledge and skills accumulate, throughout human history. The rise in urbanism in EVERY PART of the world sees corresponding rise in wealth, technology and sciences.  This is where western Europe, over the last 1000 years, has had a decisive advantage over rest of the world - their cities were left largely intact, their properties passed genealogically largely, regardless of who got conquered by whom. 

PS: This is mostly about WESTERN EUROPE. Where the fount of modern day world comes from. Eastern Europe/Balkans being a 

$hithole is pretty much self-evident. Lands west of the whole 'iron curtain' zone, is where such acts were extremely rare and thus, they got to preserve their knowledge, their wealth and pass it forward. 

If you persist in your ignorant inferiority complex-fuelled nonsense, i shall be forced to post you legions upon legions of European documents detailing how property rights were respected, even when titles were taken away/re-distrubuted due to changing borders/conquests. 

PPS: Your inferiority complex is easily seen by the fact that you are hell-bent on disputing the fact that western European cities & property rights remained largely unscathed in the last 1000 years. Yet, when i said the same thing about Magadh's expansion, you chose not to dispute it. And i bet my bottom dollar you know jack $hit about Magadh's expansionary wars either. As i said, take off your racist, inferiority-complex driven glasses and see history for what it is. Europeans have invented more things, advanced sciences, property rights and wealth in the last 500 years than Indian civilization's sum total. How can you dispute this ?

Muloghonto wants us to stop being inward and respect Medieval European ideals of providing security and safety to their civilians. 

But at the same time he would quitely brush off genocides committed by imperialistic powers from Americas to the Far East for money and Territory. The so called 'modern' Europeans literally wiped out ethnic groups and races in their greed for more power and resources.

Sorry buddy it's hard to admire People who had no regard for other countries' denizens. At least the uncivilized Indians didn't go invading, raping and pillaging other Nations' cities.

I'm happy and proud of my ancestors the way they were even if they didn't learn some petty obscure honour code from Japanese or some other far off country.

Getting back to the Subject, an amazing debate between Sai Deeoak and a young brilliant liberal lawyer on the same subject, Sai comes out more convincing, but some of the arguments from the liberal is also valid and fair. Ultimately it comes down to the tradition also sometimes and not a black and white case of discrimination, but you can't use it to defend casteism, where the constitutional morality shows it is wrong in any case. 

On 9/20/2018 at 10:57 AM, Muloghonto said:

Ofcourse it will, if the government treats them all equally and does not let them interfere in the government. That is the more standard and common definition of 'secularism'. The indian style is psuedo-secularism (ultimate pandering, on paper, to all religions by the govt.):it is definitely violating the seperation of church and state axiom of secularism. 

Now you are contradicting yourself by asking govt to involve in majority religion.

18 hours ago, Stradlater said:

Mulo : Civilians enjoyed far much prosperity and safety in Medieval Europe.

I debunk all his claims one by one.

Mulo(throwing a hissy fit): But but they had better property rights.

Me: :phehe: 

Property ka ghanta kuch karna when you are dead.

On 9/19/2018 at 10:22 AM, Nikhil_cric said:

This is completely unrelated.Iask you this - which liberal democracy has allowed - women to worship with men in mosques by superseding religion ? Or superrseeded the Catholic church to allow women as cardinals? Religious institutions have the right to exclusion and segregation for religious services and that is why they are religions. Interference with that , unless absolutely necessary, makes a state less secular and not more. 

This this this and this. 

14 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Now you are contradicting yourself by asking govt to involve in majority religion.

there is no contradiction. Secularism means EQUAL treatment of all religion and seperation of religious influence in government. Ie, government can do whatever it wants, so long as it treats all religions equally and doesn't let religion influence it, its secular. how is that a contrdiction ?

On 9/21/2018 at 4:21 AM, Stradlater said:

Muloghonto wants us to stop being inward and respect Medieval European ideals of providing security and safety to their civilians. 

But at the same time he would quitely brush off genocides committed by imperialistic powers from Americas to the Far East for money and Territory. The so called 'modern' Europeans literally wiped out ethnic groups and races in their greed for more power and resources.

Sorry buddy it's hard to admire People who had no regard for other countries' denizens. At least the uncivilized Indians didn't go invading, raping and pillaging other Nations' cities.

I'm happy and proud of my ancestors the way they were even if they didn't learn some petty obscure honour code from Japanese or some other far off country.

It not about admiration, but about understanding, you idiot.

Understand why Europe in 500 years has done more development for the world than rest of human history put together. 
Its because they were better at compiling and maintaining knowledge, creating wealth due to property rights, etc. 

10 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

It not about admiration, but about understanding, you idiot.

Understand why Europe in 500 years has done more development for the world than rest of human history put together. 
Its because they were better at compiling and maintaining knowledge, creating wealth due to property rights, etc. 

Genocides se darr nahi lagta saheb, property rights se lagta hai.

1 hour ago, Stradlater said:

Genocides se darr nahi lagta saheb, property rights se lagta hai.

LOL.

Your mentality is a good window into why we live in an European world and a bunch of people who just 2000 years ago were mostly bashing rocks together and living in caves have invented more in the last 500 years than your or my 'mahaan purkhos' have in their entire history of existence. 

PS: Indians are no less guilty of genocides themselves. That they 'never left' India is more due to our inability to project power west of the indus (and nobody really crosses the Himalayas or the Indo-Burmese borders with armies in history), than our 'good intent'. 
We genocided each other plenty. 

Edited by Muloghonto