Analysis of the Selectors after the ODI and T20 squad announcement

maniac

Same way Pandyas and Hoodas are also hitters from day 1. 

You first said these guys need time to become big hitters and asked was Yuvi a big hitter from day1 .When told Yuvi was a big hitter from day 1 you are now saying they are also big hitters from day 1.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Another important issue is team building for WC 19 which should be the priority. Even  if Yuvraj does well now, he will be 37 in 2019 and  batsmen of his playing style rarely do well at such an age. ( batsmen with good techniques like SRT, Dravid etc. last longer and are able to perform even when their reflexes slow down ).

Playing Yuvi will result in less games for Pant and company and less time to develop before 2019.  Young players take some time before they become match winners in international cricket. There is usually a gestation period when they learn how to adapt in the international arena and this time needs to be given to Pant, Hooda etc. before the WC 19.

12 minutes ago, putrevus said:

You first said these guys need time to become big hitters and asked was Yuvi a big hitter from day1 .When told Yuvi was a big hitter from day 1 you are now saying they are also big hitters from day 1.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I meant need time to be score consistent runs as a hitter like even Yuvraj was not consistent could hit big but he averaged under 30 or early 30s for half a decade and was very inconsistent. Only after 2005, he started to become consistent. Otherwise, these 3 guys are as big a hitters as we have ever seen from India.  Pandya had an SR of 180 in IPL in his debut season. Krunal had an SR of 191 last IPL, Hooda had an SR of 158 in his debut IPL as 19 year old. 

38 minutes ago, express bowling said:

How can Deepak Hooda score in an A game when he has not been picked  ?

His performance in this season in Ranji Trophy 2016-17  pointing to recent form.   Look at the high SR + average combo

AVERAGE                   SR

DJ Hooda 8 13 2 789 293* 71.72 1135 69.51 3 2 1 92 8
(Baroda)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2016-17/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=11519;type=tournament

His performance in U19 WC

Deepak Hooda starred with an all-round performance, scoring an unbeaten 76 off 57 balls and then taking three wickets for 31 runs in 10 overs with his off-breaks.

http://www.rediff.com/cricket/report/u19-wc-hoodas-all-round-performance-helps-india-to-5th-place/20140224.htm

But his most valuable contribution in the tournament was seen on 15th February, when in the important match against arch rivals Pakistan, he not only scored a quick fire 22, but excelled with the ball as well.

He has got a cool and contented temperament, as a result of which Deepak is a decent finisher. Perhaps that is one of the reasons that in the 4 matches he had played in this tournament, he remained not out on 2 occasions

http://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket/deepak-hooda-young-all-rounder-potential

He did very well in IPL 2015 and had a SR of  159  with 11 sixes including hits off fast bowlers.

http://www.iplt20.com/teams/sunrisers-hyderabad/squad/1556/Deepak-Hooda/

Told nyou one guy they usually pick at a time. They picked Pandey. History says they do not pick too many new bats. That is why I keep mentioning they picked Pandey who is still fairly new and Rahul. Hooda should be given chance at A  level and let him score and get picked. 

39 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

How Hooda has not shown such ability? He had a 65 ball 100 in a quadrangular U19 tournament. Only in his first T20 game in IPL, he hit 30 ball 50. This  IPL season he has been striking at 70. He is someone who can bat as a proper batsman and can hit when required. He is not someone who has only one gear. He can play according to the situation.

He has to score for A team and be picked there. Can not play too many inexperienced guys. Rahul still hasn't secured his place, Dhawan is in an out with injuries.  Hence they went for Yuvi who has experience. Simple reason.

Hooda can be tried but they need to make sure that they are playing him regular at A level. 

11 hours ago, Cricketics said:

Told nyou one guy they usually pick at a time. They picked Pandey. History says they do not pick too many new bats. That is why I keep mentioning they picked Pandey who is still fairly new and Rahul. Hooda should be given chance at A  level and let him score and get picked. 

Pandey is a good batsman for No. 4 or No. 3...all his good performances are in those positions.  His playing style is not ideal for No. 6 or No. 5, where regular six hitting ability is required these days.  We also need someone in those positions who can bowl a few overs.  

With Rohit and Dhawan opening, Kohli at No. 3 , Dhoni at No. 4...we will perhaps have Rahul at No. 5  ...and the open position will be No.6.... Pandey is not good enough for that  and also not fair on Pandey as he is used to playing and performing at No.4  or No.3 in limited over matches.

Edited by express bowling
16 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

He has to score for A team and be picked there. Can not play too many inexperienced guys. Rahul still hasn't secured his place, Dhawan is in an out with injuries.  Hence they went for Yuvi who has experience. Simple reason.

Hooda can be tried but they need to make sure that they are playing him regular at A level. 

Rahul has pretty much cemented his place. There is no question over him. Likes of Pandey and Jadhav are uncertainties.

Just now, express bowling said:

Pandey is a good batsman for No. 4 or No. 3...all his good performances are in those positions.  His playing style is not ideal for No. 6 or No. 5, where six hitting ability is required.  We also need someone in those positions who can bowl a few overs.  

With Rohit and Dhawan opening, Kohli at No. 3 , Dhoni at No. 4...we will perhaps have Rahul at No. 5  ...and the open position will be No.6....not good enough for Pandey and also not fair on Pandey as he is used to playing and performing at No.4  or No.3 in limited over matches.

I agree, but if Yuvi for now can bat like he is supposed, hopefully he will keep things fine.

I am not huge Manis Pandey fan, but sort of drifted towards when he scored thats run a ball hundred and after watching him on A tour. We can't throw him out like that so we have to persist with him and give him more chances. 

Hopefully others like Hooda when Champions trophy is over, will get their chance. I think we will have a reform, or I should say we should do a team reform. Who knows may be Dhoni decides to call it quits after champions trophy and more slots are open. 

Things change fast. In 6 months time,post champions trophy, our ODI unit could look totally different.

Let me give you an idea. Many slots could open for example if following players fail

Rohit

Dhawan

Rahul

Pandey

Rahane

Yuvraj

Jadhav

Thr is a lot of players. May be Rohit or Dhawan are not considered good enough any more by Kohli when champions trophy is over. Be ready to see many changes post champions trophy regardless of how we do in the event. 

5 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Rahul has pretty much cemented his place. There is no question over him. Likes of Pandey and Jadhav are uncertainties.

Cemented right now because Dhawan is sort of in an outnof injury and Rohit is out, but he also has a lot to prove with his performance.

Knowing Kohli,I know he will back him and trust him more,even more than Rohit as he opens often for his IPL team.But he still has to I would say perform consistently over next 8 games to book his place. 

ODi squad-

Rahane- Why????? why ???? why????? I recently saw an Inzy interview where he said "gone are the days where u could only play with talent. Now u need extra skill set. Talent can get a team 260-270 but today is the time of 350. " Its so apt for Rahane, rahane would have been a gr8 add 10-15 yrs.

Yuvraj- He is such an attractive package that he is hard to ignore. He can Tonk the ball well, bowl more than 5-6 overs and gets breakthroughs. Is a player with character. He isnt even the shadow of his past yet i feel he can hit the ball a long distance and thats what his role shud be now. HE shud not bat above 6, Play the role of a hitter. 

This should be yuvraj singh last chance. 

Mishra/Jadhav- These guys dont have a future and i doubt they ll fit in kohli's scheme of things. 

I wanted to See Pant, hooda, chahal, kuldeep and one young fast bowler in squad. Luckily they are getting a chance with A-squad, so hoping they all put such perfomance that its hard to ignore them

T20- 

Raina, yuvraj- They both didnt do much in the t20 season so dnt knw why are we still persisting with them. Would have loved to see few more youngsters who wants to play fearless cricket. 

Jadeja- Never been impressed with him as a t20 bowler

Dhawan& rahane- Thank god they are dropped.

A-Squad

Kaul, Dinda, Vinay kumar, Raydu- Kya Mehamaan Nawazi ke liye rakha hai inhe

6 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

I agree, but if Yuvi for now can bat like he is supposed, hopefully he will keep things fine.

I am not huge Manis Pandey fan, but sort of drifted towards when he scored thats run a ball hundred and after watching him on A tour. We can't throw him out like that so we have to persist with him and give him more chances. 

Hopefully others like Hooda when Champions trophy is over, will get their chance. I think we will have a reform, or I should say we should do a team reform. Who knows may be Dhoni decides to call it quits after champions trophy and more slots are open. 

Things change fast. In 6 months time,post champions trophy, our ODI unit could look totally different.

Let me give you an idea. Many slots could open for example if following players fail

Rohit

Dhawan

Rahul

Pandey

Rahane

Yuvraj

Jadhav

Thr is a lot of players. May be Rohit or Dhawan are not considered good enough any more by Kohli when champions trophy is over. Be ready to see many changes post champions trophy regardless of how we do in the event. 

you must be kidding. Rohit, Rahul, Dhawan are not going anywhere till next WC.

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

I know Dhawan is not and Rahul, Rohit, only time will decide. Brilliant player in last 2 years but time will decide how he does over next year. I don't trust the dude one bit for longer period. I know he has been brilliant. But Rohit I will only take him few series at a time. World cup is long long way away. Lot of things change in matter of 6 months. 

6 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Cemented right now because Dhawan is sort of in an outnof injury and Rohit is out, but he also has a lot to prove with his performance.

Knowing Kohli,I know he will back him and trust him more,even more than Rohit as he opens often for his IPL team.But he still has to I would say perform consistently over next 8 games to book his place. 

you really have no clue. Rahul does not open for his IPL team. Gayle and Kohli himself does. Rahul bats in middle order. Even in his debut T20 against WI, he batted in middle order and socred a 50 ball 100. Rahul will play in middle order once Rohit is back at 4-5. He is not there because Rohit and Dhawan are unfit but because he is good enough to be there. 

Just now, Cricketics said:

I know Dhawan is not and Rahul, Rohit, only time we decide. Brilliant player in last 2 years but time will decid how he does over next year. I don't trust the dude one bit for longer period. I know he has been brilliant. But Rohit I will only take him few series at a time. World cup is long long way away. Lot of things change in matter of 6 months. 

you have no clue, what you talking about last 2 years. Rohit is averaging more than Dhawan in last 5 years since he started opening.

Just now, rkt.india said:

you really have no clue. Rahul does not open for his IPL team. Gayle and Kohli himself does. Rahul bats in middle order. Even in his debut T20 against WI, he batted in middle order and socred a 50 ball 100. Rahul will play in middle order once Rohit is back at 4-5. He is not there because Rohit and Dhawan are unfit but because he is good enough to be there. 

Didnt he open when gayle was dropped/ injured? Does he not open for also Indian team which is also Kohli's team. 

He is well suited to bat as an opener and also in middle order. I feel he can be a better opener than middle order but if needed can do either job. 

4 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

you have no clue, what you talking about last 2 years. Rohit is averaging more than Dhawan in last 5 years since he started opening.

Dhawan hasn't been given that many chances as much as Rohit has been given. I am not comparing their past performance but the fact is that the amount of chance Rohit got, if you would give that many to any player, he will succeed. 

We adjusted him as he lost us too many games in the middle order.

4 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Didnt he open when gayle was dropped/ injured? Does he not open for also Indian team which is also Kohli's team. 

He is well suited to bat as an opener and also in middle order. I feel he can be a better opener than middle order but if needed can do either job. 

yes, only when main opener Gayle had injury, he opened. Otherwise, batted in middle order. Same with Indian team. He only opened in 3 ODIs that too because Dhawan and Rohit were not there on that tour. Once they come back, he will move back to middle order. He is an alternate opener, not a designated opener because he showed he can bat well in middle order too.

14 minutes ago, Cricketics said:

Dhawan hasn't been given that many chances as much as Rohit has been given. I am not comparing their past performance but the fact is that the amount of chance Rohit got, if you would give that many to any player, he will succeed. 

We adjusted him as he lost us too many games in the middle order.

you are again clueless. Rohit failed in middle order, but once he started opening, he has delivered big time. he has played more matches as an opener than as a middle order batsman. In fact, Rohit started opening pretty much at the same time as Dhawan's selection for Indian team and both has been opening since CT 2013. I dont know why are you bringing Rohit's failure as a middle order batsman now. Even then he was only as big a failure as Yuvraj was in his first 5 years who averaged 32 in ODIs between 2001 and 2005 playing 137 matches and Rohit averaged 30 between 2007 and 2012 playing 85 matches. So, there is not much difference between the two, both picked at 19-20 years of age. Yuvraj only blossomed after 2005, Rohit did the same from 2013 when he got promoted as an opener. Should we bring Yuvraj's long rope and failure now of his 5 years?

Edited by rkt.india
42 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

I have my doubts over dhawan going to 2019WC, he has already lost his place in two formats

Rahul, Pant are emerging with better skill sets. 

Within in next 2yrs who knws who else would emerge- Kishen, Nair, Unmukt,iyer, Manan would start running in race. 

Dhawan has been found out with many weakness, its not even he is an outstanding fielder like Jadeja or bowls few over so as to be very valuable player. There is a issue Btw Dhawan and rohit strike rotation to

38 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

yes, only when main opener Gayle had injury, he opened. Otherwise, batted in middle order. Same with Indian team. He only opened in 3 ODIs that too because Dhawan and Rohit were not there on that tour. Once they come back, he will move back to middle order. He is an alternate opener, not a designated opener because he showed he can bat well in middle order too.

Yep, so you see he opened and you got you see who did not have clue. Rahul can be used as make shift opener. That is the point I made. Thats all.

You should start watching more games before you rule out Rahul never opened in IPL