NareshK Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 (edited) I dont understand the point of having so much security and organize a match. Its not going to convince any foreign team to visit Pakistan. You could have a huge army around you and play a match in the middle of a battle field. What is it going to prove ? If something bad happens here, who is going to be responsible for it ? Priority should be to first take care of security situation, then everything else will fall in place. Edited March 4, 2017 by NareshK
kosingh Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 You can have 5 layers of security, but at some point, fans have to first pass through layer 6- the unsecured layer. I am sure the players will be safe, but I am not sure how you can ensure security for all fans coming in. I just don't think it's worth it.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 24 minutes ago, NareshK said: I dont understand the point of having so much security and organize a match. Its not going to convince any foreign team to visit Pakistan. You could have a huge army around you and play a match in the middle of a battle field. What is it going to prove ? If something bad happens here, who is going to be responsible for it ? Priority should be to first take care of security situation, then everything else will fall in place. IMO it's more of taking a baby step before you are able to walk and finally run. This year they hold the final in Pakistan with presidential security. Next year they can do so but maybe with a few foreign players and so on so forth. After all you gotta start somewhere. But yeah the risk is that if something untoward does happen then it's a huge setback.
rahulrulezz Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 Is PSL still going on? Regardless, I really pray that Pakistan slap those terrorists and successfully arrange the match.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 4, 2017 Author Posted March 4, 2017 9 minutes ago, PBN said: est tu Maclom? did you get a Pak GF? I will neither conffirm nor deny this. PBN 1
BeautifulGame Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 Who all are coming?Are they already there? No foreign player is coming over night . From Cricinfo Most of the players in the pool have already secured visas to travel, and those currently without one should be able to procure them by the time they travel to Lahore. It is expected that the foreign players who are traveling will not be staying in the city overnight, flying in and out on the same day.
Autonomous Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 3 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I must congratulate my Pakistani posters here @Bilal @Asim @Autonomous @Iconoclast @Faruk_omor Thank you mate. Too bad I can't go and watch since I have an exam.
KeyboardWarrior Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 16 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I must congratulate my Pakistani posters here @Bilal @Asim @Autonomous @Iconoclast @Faruk_omor am i not pakistani .....
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 4, 2017 Author Posted March 4, 2017 am i not pakistani ..... I thought you would still be nursing the wounds of Karachis defeat.
maniac Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 If they have to go to this extent to provide security for a league game final...how does this help the return of international cricket? I mean one off ,sure but can they keep doing this say for an entire series? Well done to organize this but don't think this is going to be beneficial in the long run in any way....sure short term definitely.
Lord Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 36 minutes ago, Autonomous said: Thank you mate. Too bad I can't go and watch since I have an exam. Good luck.Dont do a Nasir Jamshed :P
sensible-indian Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 3 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: How many attacks in France?Have they stopped the French Open? You surely must be playing devil's advocate here Malcolm ji. I refuse to believe this is your viewpoint.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 4, 2017 Author Posted March 4, 2017 You surely must be playing devil's advocate here Malcolm ji. I refuse to believe this is your viewpoint. No i am not.I have always supported return of cricket to Pakistan.Cricket is a geographically limited game and you dont want it to die anywhere. Yes i hate the Pakistani army and Pakistani state.But i have never ever had any issues with the ordinary Pakistani.Except ofcourse the hateful obnoxious ones.
KeyboardWarrior Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 13 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I thought you would still be nursing the wounds of Karachis defeat. but my team is Quetta Gladiators .....
sensible-indian Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: No i am not.I have always supported return of cricket to Pakistan.Cricket is a geographically limited game and you dont want it to die anywhere. Yes i hate the Pakistani army and Pakistani state.But i have never ever had any issues with the ordinary Pakistani.Except ofcourse the hateful obnoxious ones. I know that but I was surprised by your comparison here. Its chalk and cheese really. I too don't think anything will happen to players cos Pak reputation is at stake and they will give the best possible security this time (after what happ in 2009) but this whole thing is a pointless exercise by PCB. While one can see their point of view as in "if you give the best security and conduct games in Pakistan, then slowly but surely people will be more open to coming there"....its still a long shot and recent blasts don't help the case either. Edited March 4, 2017 by sensible-indian
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 4, 2017 Author Posted March 4, 2017 but my team is Quetta Gladiators ..... Jhooth nahi.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 4, 2017 Author Posted March 4, 2017 I know that but I was surprised by your comparison here. Its chalk and cheese really. I too don't think anything will happen to players cos Pak reputation is at stake and they will give the best possible security this time (after what happ in 2009) but this whole thing is a pointless exercise by PCB. While one can see their point of view that if you give the best security and conduct games in Pakistan, slowly but surely people will be more open to coming there....its still a long shot and recent blasts don't help the case either. Comparision was to the recent blasts and why Pakistan shouldnot risk lives of securitymen.I am not saying Lahore is as safe as Paris. I have doubts if this is feasible for more than 2 days at best 3 days.No way they can play a series with this kind of security.
sensible-indian Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Comparision was to the recent blasts and why Pakistan shouldnot risk lives of securitymen.I am not saying Lahore is as safe as Paris. I have doubts if this is feasible for more than 2 days at best 3 days.No way they can play a series with this kind of security. I know you are not saying Lahore is as safe as Paris but blasts in different parts of the world are perceived differently due to the extent of it happening. In France, its more rarer so an untoward incident is considered an anomaly. In Pakistan, it isn't considered an anomaly unfortunately. So by conducting games there knowing this level of threat is putting a lot of security men's lives at risk. If it solves a larger purpose for the nation, then it makes sense to take this risk but this is just a game. Moreover I don't see how conducting PSL final there will change any perception. If anything, it makes people aware of how big the issue is. Edited March 4, 2017 by sensible-indian
KeyboardWarrior Posted March 4, 2017 Posted March 4, 2017 13 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Jhooth nahi.