Jinnah portrait row in Aligarh Muslim University

Gollum

On a much more macro point, I can clearly see that with Congress out of reckoning, during this period India will be digging up many of these corpses and figuring out what to do with them. Fact is, 60 years of one party ruling does much harm to nation's fabric. It doesn't get test enough. The ideas are not pushed enough. Whether it is Indian history, mythology, Hinduism, Vedas, invasions etc, we will see revival of the ghosts we have not laid to rest. It is difficult process that perhaps this nation will have to go through.

We are seeing this happening state after state. This turbulence will continue and to some extent @ Mariyam point , the state and central govt will not try to hold back the emotions. It is as though flood gates have opened and suffocated voices are becoming vigilant and screaming out. It will take another 5 years before we will again start looking for alternatives. BJP is also a student of Congress politics. Congess ruled this country by consolidating minorities. BJP is trying its own social engineeringwith the majority and I can see how this working esp in North east and south.

On the hindu muslim issue @Gollum, I found this small video very relevant and addressed the core problem which demographic. 

5 hours ago, Alam_dar said:

You are right about pml(n) and Imran Khan that they are also counted among the right wing. 

Nevertheless, BJP is more right oriented than them. Perhaps it is due to the reason that BJP has to counter the Muslims in India, while pml(n) and Imran don't have this problem in Pakistan. 

I'm sorry, did you just say Imran Taliban Khan or whoever is more right wing than the Bharatiya Janta Party :fear1:

8 hours ago, Stradlater said:

The guy defended Taliban multiple times in the past. That alone makes him more right winger than any of RSS members in last 70 years.

You are absolutely right about Imran Khan. He defended Taliban, he protested when Army wanted to start operation against Taliban, he went for that stupid Swat deal ..... ,  and still Imran Khan is licking the boots of Taliban by giving money to the Madrassas of Sami-ul-Haq.

But please see the controversy here that Taliban have declared Imran Khan to be "Kafir Khan".

Religious parties and religious people almost hate Imran Khan and still see him as a playboy, and a ZANI (i.e. fornicator) who was once married to a Jewish woman, and who has a illegitimate daughter. 

So, what is the difference between Imran Khan and BJP?

The difference is this that in case of Imran Khan it is a "one sided" affair. Imran appeases the Taliban, while Taliban hate Imran Khan. Actually Imran Khan also have no love for Taliban, but this appeasement is some kind of "Bribe" so that Taliban let him rule the Khaiber Pukhtoonkhawa area. 

Imran Khan himself is a "Barailvi" type person, who is married to a "Peerni" now. While for Deobandi/Wahabi Taliban, this Peery Mureedi of Barailvies is a Kufr and Shirk. 

But in case of BJP, then RSS and BJP are natural allies and friends. Their mode of operation may be different, but their basic agenda is very much similar. 

21 minutes ago, Alam_dar said:

You are absolutely right about Imran Khan. He defended Taliban, he protested when Army wanted to start operation against Taliban, he went for that stupid Swat deal ..... ,  and still Imran Khan is licking the boots of Taliban by giving money to the Madrassas of Sami-ul-Haq.

But please see the controversy here that Taliban have declared Imran Khan to be "Kafir Khan".

Religious parties and religious people almost hate Imran Khan and still see him as a playboy, and a ZANI (i.e. fornicator) who was once married to a Jewish woman, and who has a illegitimate daughter. 

So, what is the difference between Imran Khan and BJP?

The difference is this that in case of Imran Khan it is a "one sided" affair. Imran appeases the Taliban, while Taliban hate Imran Khan. Actually Imran Khan also have no love for Taliban, but this appeasement is some kind of "Bribe" so that Taliban let him rule the Khaiber Pukhtoonkhawa area. 

Imran Khan himself is a "Barailvi" type person, who is married to a "Peerni" now. While for Deobandi/Wahabi Taliban, this Peery Mureedi of Barailvies is a Kufr and Shirk. 

But in case of BJP, then RSS and BJP are natural allies and friends. Their mode of operation may be different, but their basic agenda is very much similar. 

The problem is though RSS no matter how much 'extremist' it is as an organization, should never be compared with an entity such as Taliban who regularly murder people like it's a sport. RSS is more of an ideology to rule at all costs using Hindutva as propaganda. That's all.

Taliban otoh is pure evil.

@Gollum

I do not buy your theory that it is among the elites that religion doesn't matter much.

The lower you move down the societal chain, the more inter linked are the communities. Poverty (relatively speaking) and ambition has been a unifier in the Indian context. More so urban poverty. Incidences of seclusion/purdah are very low among that segment. The women (and many of times, the children have to work); with menial labour, domestic labour and SMEs being the main employment avenues. And these places are common meeting grounds for cross community interaction.

Its with sections of the the well off and educated middle class people that orthodoxy is rife. A lot of that has to do with identity politics. Those comfortable with their identity never see the need to show others their faith, which is basically reassuring themselves of their own faith. 

I also do not share your doomsday scenario. Obviously we'd have riots. We are a country of 1.3 billion people. There are going to be disgruntled and/or jobless and/or fanatical people too. But haven't these incidents of religious strife come down post independence? 

In any case, we do not have much of a choice. It is together that we have to learn to live. There is no other conceivable solution.

Appocalyptically Iqbal (before he went rouge) wrote the following nearly a 100 years ago   

Watan ki fiqr kar nadaan, musibat aane wali hai

Teri barbadi ke mashware hain aasmanon mein

Na samjhoge to mitt jaoge Hindustan walo

Tumhari dastaan tak bhi na hogi dastaanon mein

On 5/6/2018 at 12:46 AM, MultiB48 said:

yup,burning flags and all .In our region hindus and muslims are too entrenched in their hatred towards each other ,ideal for all the puppet masters (not claiming that all iz well if they didnt exist).

Where do you stay in US?