If Kuldeep plays tests,who should be our 2nd spinner : Ash or Jaddu?

Ash vs Jaddu   

61 members have voted

1. 1. If Kuldeep plays tests,who should be the other spinner : Ash or Jaddu?

No need to play 2 spinners unless it's a turner ,in that case I'd play kuly and ash (because of the leftie factor) .

If it's normal English pitches,I'd go with kuly as the sole spinner ,ashwin is not that good outside SC so he'll not be a big miss. If the pitches are anything like those in saf ,play 4 seamers outright 

57 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I have a suspicion England will lay out some greentops rendering spinners useless, English curators can ensure that even in a dry summer methinks....even SA were able to do that in the middle of drought season and Eng curators are more experienced in preparing pitches. Come to think of it some of our first choice quicks aren't 100% fit, our batsmen struggle against lateral movement more than pace/bounce, they have world class pacers to exploit green pitches and the gulf in quality of spinners too can't be overcome by any other means. Won't be surprised if we are forced to repeat our Jo'berg strategy of no spinners. Vital that Bumrah, BK, Shami get fit nahi to waat lagne wali hai. 

Nasser said in the first odi ,they are wary of the dangerous Indian pace attack .if they prepare a green top,it can act as a double edged sword for them 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

I have a suspicion England will lay out some greentops rendering spinners useless, English curators can ensure that even in a dry summer methinks....even SA were able to do that in the middle of drought season and Eng curators are more experienced in preparing pitches. Come to think of it some of our first choice quicks aren't 100% fit, our batsmen struggle against lateral movement more than pace/bounce, they have world class pacers to exploit green pitches and the gulf in quality of spinners too can't be overcome by any other means. Won't be surprised if we are forced to repeat our Jo'berg strategy of no spinners. Vital that Bumrah, BK, Shami get fit nahi to waat lagne wali hai. 

Our bowlers would destroy their fragile lineup if its a greentop.

21 minutes ago, adi B said:

Nasser said in the first odi ,they are wary of the dangerous Indian pace attack .if they prepare a green top,it can act as a double edged sword for them 

17 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Our bowlers would destroy their fragile lineup if its a greentop.

Their bowlers too will make merry, Broad-Anderson-Woakes are even more clinical with the new ball than SA albeit they aren't as good with the old ball. Suffice to say the way we batted in SA we were often lucky to escape with 60/3 type scores after the 1st 25....in Eng that same batting performance on spicy pitches will get us to 70/7 from where there is no recovery possible. We also have a severe mental block against Broad-Anderson in England with our best batsman too carrying mental scars from 2014.

Our bowlers? BK has back problem, Shami and Bumrah too have injury concerns. So we are left with Ishant and Umesh as sure starters right now. If all are at max fitness yes we can roll them over but we have some serious injury concerns.

Double edged sword is not a bad option for an inferior team. If they play on normal wickets we are clear favorites but with green tops there is a chance of them nicking 2 tests and drawing/winning the series. These double edged swords always favor the weaker teams. Earlier when we were weak we surprised SENA teams mostly on spicy pitches, we lost to Australia in Pune test match on a rank turner in spite of being a better team. Similarly this England team is inferior to us and need to take some risks to catch us off guard. 

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

Rain is coming so it won't stay dry for long.

9 hours ago, Gollum said:

Even with a green top Kuldeep will turn the ball, however I doubt England have the balls to prepare 5 green tops considering their top order is Root or nothing atm.

On 7/15/2018 at 3:48 AM, Gollum said:

England have no option but to either go for seamer friendly tracks - dead batting ones will eventually bring spin into the game.