Are we missing Pandya already?

zen

Imagine if he becomes consistent with bat and ball, averaging 35+ with bat and 31-32 with the ball across formats. He has the ability, it’s upto him to convert that potential to performance now.

Could turn out to be the difference between this team becoming a great one vs one of the number 1 teams.

Theory is that it's ok to play Pandya averaging 31 because others are scoring at same rate. 

Only difference is that for others it's considered failure and they can be dropped/have been dropped for such performance, however in case of Pandya similar mediocre performance is considered success and bonus for the team.

He scores a fifty and goes missing in other matches - can't blame him as he is not main order batsman. He doesn't pick wicket - can't blame him as he is there to provide rest to main bowlers.

Basically whatever he does is a bonus and his failures won't be considered as big deal.

It was a wrong decision to bring him to Australia. He should play more FC games and return back to the team on basis of consistent performance, not on basis of failures of others.

He has talent to do it. Pace bowling is something that can be developed directly at international level if player has potential, but batting doesn't develop directly at international level. FC cricket is only way. Let him play 2 Ranji sessions, score vital runs and return back. He will be better and valuable asset of this team.

4 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Theory is that it's ok to play Pandya averaging 31 because others are scoring at same rate. 

the reason pandya avg 31 is coz he has played 7 of his test in SA n ENG which were all struggled apart from kohli. The reason is given in that why that everyone struggled. His avg will improve as he plays more n relative easier condition 

those 2 place pretty much took a hit on everyone avg 

8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

the reason pandya avg 31 is coz he has played 7 of his test in SA n ENG which were all struggled apart from kohli. The reason is given in that why that everyone struggled. His avg will improve as he plays more n relative easier condition 

What was the common denominator in Indian wins in Aussie land?

13 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Have heard this before. But problem is that if his batting is at level at what is considered to be failure for others then his bowling went also went missing most of the time. Had one good spell and nothing else. If his batting is suppose to be at same level and it's acceptable for his bowling to be useless then what's the utility? People have said that his bowling wasn't needed as others bowled well.

Take first match for ex - Rohit scored 37 and single digit score in first test and posters slammed him for such performance. If Pandya was in similar similar situation, we would have excuse that those were tough conditons and he didn't perform worse than other options. For bowling we would have said that he wasn't needed.

Difference is that when batsmen are failing we are exploring options, not taking things for granted. Similar contribution from Pandya is considered success. At least with batsmen they are getting dropped and other players are being tried. 

Pandya was one of main reasons why India could not do much better in England and SA. He needs to become far better batsman to command a place in the team. Just becuase specialist batsmen failed in those tours Pandya's failures become acceptable.There is no room for bits and pieces players in test cricket.

Australia are enduring the same nonsense from Marsh. His brother needs to become far better bowler to command a place in T20 team.

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Pandya was one of main reasons why India could not do much better in England and SA. He needs to become far better batsman to command a place in the team. Just becuase specialist batsmen failed in those tours Pandya's failures become acceptable.There is no room for bits and pieces players in test cricket.

Australia are enduring the same nonsense from Marsh. His brother needs to become far better bowler to command a place in T20 team.

That and playing Vijay who was worthless for a while.

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

And somehow people believe that since others are failing then it's acceptable to have Pandya performing at similar levels.

3 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Have heard this before. But problem is that if his batting is at level at what is considered to be failure for others then his bowling went also went missing most of the time. Had one good spell and nothing else.

one good spell...how much do u expect in 11 test from someone. Go back n check how much bowling did he got 

kab tak we ll keep 

one spell 

one fluke innings of 93

runs against afghanistan n sl dnt matter....erre bhai wo khela kitna. And obv when u make team u see who brings a lot more to the team

6 minutes ago, Khota said:

What was the common denominator in Indian wins in Aussie land?

ill tell u the diff

Pujara stood up with kohli and rahane in 1st 2 test and then mayank to

in SA n ENG it was only kohli

Now had specialist performed in those countries we wud have won 

2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

one good spell...how much do u expect in 11 test from someone. Go back n check how much bowling did he got 

kab tak we ll keep 

one spell 

one fluke innings of 93

runs against afghanistan n sl dnt matter....erre bhai wo khela kitna. And obv when u make team u see who brings a lot more to the team

ill tell u the diff

Pandya was not there because now we could count on Kuldeep to take 5 wkts but not Pandya.

That and playing Vijay who was worthless for a while.

Rahul and Dhawan were equally worthless. Agarwal should have been given a chance long time back in place of Dhawan.

Selection of Dhawan was so moronic, there is no chance that he was going to succeed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
1 minute ago, Khota said:

Pandya was not there because now we could count on Kuldeep to take 5 wkts but not Pandya.

kuldeep was in england to where he struggled and kuldeep cnt bat 

So 

Kuldeep took a 5fer in aus

pandya in england 

So , yes kuldeep is a better bowler but they aint competing for same spot . Pandya will play as all rounder and kuldeep as bowler

4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

kab tak we ll keep 

one spell 

one fluke innings of 93

ill tell u the diff

That's the point. His bowling wasn't needed. Batting failed like other batsmen. How is that at acceptable level and considered failure for others. Others are getting dropped, but he wasn't.

@Ankit_sharma03 What's are expectations from Pandya and what type of performance would be acceptable.

For anyone batting at no 6, acceptable level is avg of 42-45 with ability to play tail. Can Pandya do it? When was the last time a batsman averaging in 30s in Indian FC averaged 40+ in internation.

If expectation is bat avg of 30 with bowling burden similar to par timer, then that's not much different from others who are failing.

8 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Rahul and Dhawan were equally worthless. Agarwal should have been given a chance long time back in place of Dhawan.

Selection of Dhawan was so moronic, there is no chance that he was going to succeed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Agreed on Aggarwal but Dhawan was better than other two worthless guys.

Just now, Trichromatic said:

That's the point. His bowling wasn't needed. Batting failed like other batsmen. How is that at acceptable level and considered failure for others. Others are getting dropped, but he wasn't.

who other

Rohit - he has been more of a failure

Vihari- dropped for rohit not pandya , reason biasness and vihari still only has 1-50

Nair- again mishandled 

Pandya also has been dropped

U cnt go in a match thinking 4 bowler will be enough and ull get same wkts all around the world as u did in SA n ENG. Pandya did came in handy in 3rd test when ashwin got injured and when we dropped him in 5th test our bowler ended up bowling way to much 

He does offer u 2nd skill and captain will always like to have that  . Ye sab baaten se captain ko kya matalb bits n pieces n all....he ll always look at the need of the team

2 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

@Ankit_sharma03 What's are expectations from Pandya and what type of performance would be acceptable.

For anyone batting at no 6, acceptable level is avg of 42-45 with ability to play tail. Can Pandya do it? When was the last time a batsman averaging in 30s in Indian FC averaged 40+ in internation.

If expectation is bat avg of 30 with bowling burden similar to par timer, then that's not much different others who are failing.

The bar is low for Pandya. Did you not know that he provides rest to pace bowlers. Who else in the world can do that.