China calls emergency UNSC meeting to discuss Kashmir at Pakistan’s insistence

rangeelaraja

8 hours ago, Shaz1 said:

We got the rising dragon on our side baby.

You do know not a single bullet has been fired on indo China border for over 40yrs? 

Also do read other news India China on verge of border Dispute agreement. 

Chinese apno ke nahi hai tumhare kya hoge. 

5 hours ago, Stradlater said:

Syed Akbarrudin absolutely rocks. 

We need more of his kind in our bureaucratic structure at present. 

Cream of cream clears civil services. From them the best get into ifs so he has to be good. Best part was first 3-4 questions were given to Pakistani. 

Let’s be honest. This is statecraft. India is now actively engaged. They would have anticipated these moves and so far it is predictable. 

One, India should not be adversarial towards anybody, not even Pakistan. India should not align with anybody except the countries which bring business. Israel will be an important strategic ally. Every country at this point has clear weaknesses. China is battling trade war and Hong Kong. It is not interested in being engaged in petty squabbles. 

The world will try to keep us down. PM is emphasising on 5 trillion for a reason. With each trillion you get into a different plane of confidence and assertiveness. Look how US is trying to slow China down. It’s just how nations work. I would actively encourage everyone here who considers himself Indian to contribute in this endeavour. Try support people who want to start business, create jobs in India. It is economy stupid. It resolves many issues. 

Btw a shout out to Pandit Nehru ( peace be upon him ) for granting UNSC seat to China. We are really paying for this guy’s time in office 60 years after his death. 

2 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Let’s be honest. This is statecraft. India is now actively engaged. They would have anticipated these moves and so far it is predictable. 

One, India should not be adversarial towards anybody, not even Pakistan. India should not align with anybody except the countries which bring business. Israel will be an important strategic ally.

It's not so simple diplomacy, you talked about Israel, but how will they choose between India & China? Ultimately, its a bit 1998 again, where we struck nuclear tests despite expecting international condemnation. So we have to prepared for international pressure, yet make our own decisions for betterment of country.

And this emergency meeting, is another example, how Pak diplomacy had and still is better than ours.....

13 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

UK supported China's statement in UNSC . WIll go all out in support of Aussies in the Ashes now. 

Its a balancing act. Uk are mostly fence sitters now a days on international matters.

They have taken a strong stance v china on hong kong. So sided with them on this issue as a tactic.

Its just statecraft. The uk has a british indian hindu as home minister and several prominent british indians as ministers. Boris Johnson is on Indias side. Corbyn will be on the side of pak. 

India for eg keeps voting for and against Isreal on certain matters. But they are very tactical in their voting which even Israel understands. For eg India got Bhutan got abstain at a key vote involving Israel in the Un even though india voted against.

2 hours ago, someone said:

It's not so simple diplomacy, you talked about Israel, but how will they choose between India & China? Ultimately, its a bit 1998 again, where we struck nuclear tests despite expecting international condemnation. So we have to prepared for international pressure, yet make our own decisions for betterment of country.

And this emergency meeting, is another example, how Pak diplomacy had and still is better than ours.....

I am pretty sure that this has played to India’s plans. Quite frankly, Modi would be more than happy to give these kind of moral victories. I am not denying that Pakistan has been able to push beyond its weight. But I think these actions were factored. India will go through this phase till maybe next 4-5 years. By which time, I hope the economy grows beyond 4 trillion sufficiently more than France and UK 

India has to fix its relations with US. You can’t be placing tariff on a country with whom you substantial trade surplus. In fact, this might be opportunity to attract American investments. 

China took over tibet xinjiang and now is looking to take over hong kong

Russia took over south ossetia (georgia) and big chunks of Ukraine.

Both these countries (especially russia) had issues with the UN. Bottomline.  Nothing happened. 

India has not even invaded.

For what its worth the west will fight for Hong Kong a major global financial centre. Kashmir, Palestine, Ossetia, Crimea, Honestly these are economically backward regions nobody really gives a fudge about.

Pakistan have a choice to make.... they can made the territories they hold officially part of country and forget about the rest or they can aim to antagonise which will result in their economy cracking and life for the average pakistani being even worse.

Pakistan was ahead of India in most statistics in the early 90s. Now they are behind. Ironically their slide v India started when they backed the militants in the valley.  Its come to the point where they are going to be overtaken by Bangladesh.

There seems to be a war hysteria in Pakistan. You read a common man commenting on social media platforms all the way till there PM all seem to be talk about war. 

India did something on its territory. Why would we attack Pakistan ? Now if Pak has a problem and want to forcefully take over kashmir then they need to take an aggressive stance why would India be the aggressor we have already done what we wanted.

The problem is both pti n pak army need to be seen to do something 

Terror attacks are the only thing they can do. India should expect one and be prepared.

I suspect modi n shah have a plan for how to react if/when a terror attack happens. 

10 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Btw a shout out to Pandit Nehru ( peace be upon him ) for granting UNSC seat to China. We are really paying for this guy’s time in office 60 years after his death. 

That's fake, didn't happen but for some reason keeps cropping up. I wrote about this in other threads, quoting some of my previous posts when maniac brought this up:

On 2/19/2019 at 8:50 PM, Gollum said:

Isn't that a myth? UNSC came into existence in 1945, China was part of the original 5....India wasn't even independent then. Did Nehru have the option of a time machine? Seriously man hadd hai.

Nehru didn't keep India out of UNSC or reject Kennedy offer, it is just rhetoric

LINK

On 2/19/2019 at 11:12 PM, Gollum said:

To become a permanent member of UNSC, each of the original 5 has to support the motion. If even one vetoes that's game over. So how exactly did Nehru refuse UNSC permanent seat ? From your post and a cursory reading of the article only USA Sec of State offered him,with some caveats, even that isn't gospel truth. Tharoor writes 'those who have seen swear blah blah blah...' nothing concrete. Assuming such an offer was made, what about the other 4? Knowing the politics of that era if USA wanted deep friendship with a country, Stalin's USSR would definitely oppose it as would China (represented in UN then by modern day Taiwan). Veto is such a power, there's a reason no new country has joined the permanent council all these years, not even economic and military/tech heavyweights like Japan, Germany, South Korea...all 3 have high credibility internationally. Tomorrow Trump may offer Modi a UNSC seat in exchange for something or certain T&C but will the Indian PM blindly follow him? China can't declare Masood Azhar a terrorist despite mountains of evidence, do you think they will ever support India's bid?  

Taiwan was representing whole of China in UN during Nehru's time. After the Chinese civil war, Communists under Mao took over mainland China (PRC) while Kuomintang fled to Taiwan forming Republic of China (ROC). Since the Kuomintang were already holding the UNSC permanent seat from 1945 they continued to hold it. PRC said it represented whole of China, KMT said the same...in fact even today Taiwan claims Aksai Chin and Arunachal as part of its territory. So China in some form always had the permanent seat, only question was who represented it, PRC or ROC. It seems PRC got the mantle in 1971 (7 years after Nehrus' death, so the question of his involvement doesn't even arise !!!), when the world decided that PRC was the sole legal China. USSR supported them because they were fellow communists, USA under the bastards Nixon-Kissinger supported to relax trade restrictions but mainly to get an honorable retreat from the disastrous Vietnam war. 

The question of India getting permanent seat from Taiwan doesn't even arise. It was a China matter, the only question was which China. It is like assuming that USSR's permanent UN seat after 1991 dissolution was up for grabs and India, Japan or Germany would get an offer. Woh sab log pagal hai kya? Obviously it would stay with one of the Soviet countries. Since Russia was the dominant (economy, military, nuclear, culture...) and historical power it got the privilege, had Ukraine or Georgia been comparable powers it would have been interesting. But hypothetically had Reagan made a phone call to PVNR offering USSR's seat to India and had he said yes, the USSR units would have come together aur woh India aa jaate hamari g@nd maarne. Max PVNR could have said was give it to Ukraine, or Georgia...but Russia was the big daddy and no one could seriously say anything except Moscow. Anyway that wouldn't have mattered because hamari koi aukaat nahi thi us samay. 

If I could conclude in a couple of sentences India was never in reckoning to get a permanent seat in UNSC. Everything was already set in stone before our independence. 

On 2/19/2019 at 11:26 PM, Gollum said:

Did you read my post, took me 30+ minutes to write it :whack:. At least do you agree that he isn't responsible for the UNSC seat? Have I at least convinced 1 person on the planet about the India-UNSC myth? I wasn't talking about Nehru's overall career as PM, just addressed the one point.