Gollum Posted December 12, 2019 Author Posted December 12, 2019 19 hours ago, velu said: meyappan = 10x than what vishy has Velu everything is not about money As maniac said, plus things like this 4538 Vishyanand: Top 5 things you must know about the minor planet named after Viswanathan Anand coming from some foreign researchers shows the respect he commands. Other sportsmen with this honour are Jesse Owens, Bradman, Cruyff, Federer, Nadal. And a much better human being He is someone your idol Putin respects and praises, and not just to p!ss off his enemy Kasparov velu and sarcastic 1 1
coffee_rules Posted December 12, 2019 Posted December 12, 2019 One of the GOATS of India, Spain will also be proud of him. Gollum 1
Gollum Posted December 12, 2019 Author Posted December 12, 2019 (edited) 22 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: One of the GOATS of India, Spain will also be proud of him. Sure if they want, but Spain didn't have much to do with his development, he stayed there for a few years due to proximity to the various European leagues (esp German and French) and tournaments back when he was developing or preparing for title clashes, not just India....Asia didn't have the quality to help players progress beyond a point. Kinda similar to how the legendary Prakash Padukone made Denmark his residence during his playing days. These days decent facilities/infra in India, better chess/badminton culture, more number of quality participants so players can hone their skills here. Edited December 12, 2019 by Gollum coffee_rules and sarcastic 2
Turning_track Posted December 12, 2019 Posted December 12, 2019 What a legend. Single handedly responsible for entire chess culture in India. . Keep going strong Champ. Gollum and sarcastic 2
velu Posted December 12, 2019 Posted December 12, 2019 3 hours ago, Real McCoy said: That is the message of the right wing. The leftists are about the worker and increase in pay because they have to do the job. Both the industrilaist and worker need each other and they settle for a rate. So its not like one of them is more wholesome than the other. Politicians work on top of them and drive a wedge between the two. Watched 1970s commie movie kya ? Mariyam and coffee_rules 2
Mariyam Posted December 12, 2019 Posted December 12, 2019 The test match version of Chess, ie the 4-5 hour game would kill the game in the long run. People have short attention spans and need to be constantly entertained. Like Cricket can't just survive on the basis of Test matches, Chess too would need a T20 equivalent. Speed chess ie 6 mins game. A world cup for that. And no take back of moves allowed. That tests (*cough cough*) your ability to handle pressure and risk taking ability too. @FischerTal you should organize a 3 min per player per game tournament.
FischerTal Posted December 13, 2019 Posted December 13, 2019 4 hours ago, Mariyam said: The test match version of Chess, ie the 4-5 hour game would kill the game in the long run. People have short attention spans and need to be constantly entertained. Like Cricket can't just survive on the basis of Test matches, Chess too would need a T20 equivalent. Speed chess ie 6 mins game. A world cup for that. And no take back of moves allowed. That tests (*cough cough*) your ability to handle pressure and risk taking ability too. @FischerTal you should organize a 3 min per player per game tournament. I will try but not enough people signed up last time and many were slow to finish their games on time. . nonetheless if people are willing to play, I would organize a tourney. Mariyam 1
Real McCoy Posted December 14, 2019 Posted December 14, 2019 On 12/12/2019 at 9:42 PM, velu said: Watched 1970s commie movie kya ? I'm just pointing to realities. Don't let your love for Putin and Trump block you from realities. Are you grateful to your employer so much that you are willing to work for peanuts. Anything that is left of right is not commieland. There is a center and I'm actually a little right of center and I hate commies. More certain that you shouldn't be in any public office. And what is this "kya". We are both Tamils why the need for hindi here. I know you can't manage more than kya in hindi I know you are in Bangalore but don't try to please everyone. Otherwise you will lose your identity.
velu Posted December 14, 2019 Posted December 14, 2019 3 hours ago, Real McCoy said: I'm just pointing to realities. Don't let your love for Putin and Trump block you from realities. Are you grateful to your employer so much that you are willing to work for peanuts. Anything that is left of right is not commieland. There is a center and I'm actually a little right of center and I hate commies. More certain that you shouldn't be in any public office. And what is this "kya". We are both Tamils why the need for hindi here. I know you can't manage more than kya in hindi I know you are in Bangalore but don't try to please everyone. Otherwise you will lose your identity. Tamil employees won't work properly , if you visit to Tirupur , erode kind of places , you can find owners training and employing bhaiyas now... Our employees join cpi/cpm or whatever and start screwing small and mid size business .. Commies are a nuisance for someone like a factory owner employing 10-50 people .. Its Maaga here in blore
Real McCoy Posted December 15, 2019 Posted December 15, 2019 On 12/14/2019 at 2:18 PM, velu said: Tamil employees won't work properly , if you visit to Tirupur , erode kind of places , you can find owners training and employing bhaiyas now... Our employees join cpi/cpm or whatever and start screwing small and mid size business .. Commies are a nuisance for someone like a factory owner employing 10-50 people .. Its Maaga here in blore I understand the situation. I'm all for bhaiyas coming in. AAB hires mostly bhaiya log and is booming. Saravana bhavan is somehow surviving but only in certain places where the employees are nicer. Most tamil employees are spoilt due to the economy being better here. bhaiyyas do a better job because of the money they get in TN is more than their native lands. Its the same reason why Indians in USA work better than in India. American workers are disgruntled by Mexican, Indian, and Chinese labor replacing them. That's because american workers are spoilt due to their economy and fall into commie philosophy. As I said, I hate commies with a passion. My point was both parties get benefit by the symbiotic relationship between employer and worker.
Gollum Posted July 1, 2020 Author Posted July 1, 2020 (edited) Saw this in today's TOI When Bobby Fischer asked Vishy Anand about an Indian pain balm Interesting that the recluse Fischer met Anand before passing away, I don't think Fischer made any contact with Karpov, Kasparov forget other younger players like Kramnik, Gelfand or Topalov...after that famous 1972 match he disappeared for 20 years, then played Spassky again in an exho and once again went into hiding. Did some digging and found some interesting pieces from the past about their encounter and possible match which unfortunately couldn't be materialized. Vishy Anand: 'I found Bobby Fischer surprisingly normal and calm' Quote Q: The BBC are currently showing the documentary Bobby Fischer, Genius and Madman. You met Fischer in 2006, a couple of years before he died. What was he like? A: I found him surprisingly normal. Well, at least not very tense. He seemed to be relieved to be in the company of chess players. He was calm in that sense. He was also a bit worried about people following him, so the paranoia never really went away. But I am really happy I got the chance to meet him before he died in 2008. It was weird as well because I kept having to remind myself that this was Bobby Fischer sitting in front of me! Q: Were you tempted to whip out a pocket chessboard and challenge him to a quick blitz game? A: No, because he whipped out his pocket chess set first and we started to analyse some recent games I'd played. Q: Really? A: Yes, I showed him some of my games from Wijk aan Zee and tried to share some interesting developments. He was sort of able to follow everything – he hadn't lost his sharpness for chess – but his methods were a bit dated. In that sense he had fallen behind. Q: How do you mean? A: Well, he had some suggestions, and he was sort of in the ball park … but when I would tell him that the computer says white is winning here, for me that was a sign to move on – but for him it was a starting point to argue with me! [Laughs]. I found it difficult to say to him 'No, no, no – these computers are really strong. You shouldn't be arguing with them!"' Der Spiegel Quote Q: The American Bobby Fischer, who died at the beginning of the year, was chess crazy, paranoid, misanthropic. You met this chess genius two and a half years ago in Iceland, where he was living in exile. How did that happen? A: I played in a tournament in Reykjavik and the Icelandic grandmaster Helgi Olafsson asked me if I would be interested in meeting Bobby Fischer. Olafsson picked him up from his flat, while I waited in the car. Fischer probably wanted to avoid my knowing which apartment was his. Q: What did you talk to him about? A: Fischer told me how he sometimes rode around Reykjavik with the bus, in order to see the city. He complained that he could not get Indian balm [Amrutanjan] in Iceland. Suddenly he wanted to go to McDonalds. So there he was, this legend of the chess world, asking me if I took ketchup. Q: Did you talk about chess? A: Of course. We were standing in a park and Bobby pulled out an old pocket chess set and we analysed a couple of games between Anatoly Karpov and Viktor Korchnoi in 1974. He wanted to prove that all world championship games after his victory were prearranged. He did not convince me. Q: Why did Fischer specifically want to meet you? A: Perhaps he felt an affinity. We are both from countries in which chess was not popular until we came along. I am not Russian and Fischer felt persecuted by the Soviets in the past. And there is evidence to suggest that Soviet grandmasters actually ganged up against him. Q: Fischer proposed a new variation of the game, which is called Fischer Random Chess. He wanted the pieces in the starting position to me shuffled before every game. Would that not be a more creative form of chess? A: I do not think much of a random placement of the pieces. That is perhaps something for people who were previously active and now have very little time. They don't want to study openings theory. But the opening systems are part of chess. Another interesting piece of info, Fischer wanted to play either Kasparov or Anand in the early 90s, would have been a historic match and it seems his preferred choice of venue was India !!!!! Fischer wanted to play Kasparov, Anand Quote A story from the Iceland’s Morgunbladid has stated that Bobby Fischer desired one last match with Garry Kasparov and/or Viswanathan Anand. This is a very interesting development since Fischer has disassociated himself with the chess world since his 1992 match in Yugoslavia. In interviews he stated that he would only play Fischer Random, but there was keen interest in a match with a top player. The contest would have taken place in India which gave no doubt as to who his opponent would be. Fischer has developed an deep sensitivity to people of developing nations and perhaps had some admiration for the current World Champion, India’s Viswanathan Anand. Actually, Anand met with Fischer two years ago in Iceland and fondly recounted the conversation and the analysis of games with him. Anand had been asked about a match with Fischer and expressed keen interest in the possibility. Neither match occurred due to Anand’s tournament schedule and Kasparov’s political campaign. Either match would have caused a euphoric, seismic reaction in the chess world. Report: Fischer Eyed Final Big Match Quote By GUDJON HELGASON, Associated Press Writer REYKJAVIK, Iceland — Bobby Fischer had hoped to play current world chess champion Viswanathan Anand or former great Garry Kasparov in a tournament before his death, an Icelandic newspaper reported Saturday. The daily Morgunbladid quoted a friend of Fischer, who died on Thursday at the age of 64, as saying he had expressed interest in holding a chess contest in India. Helgi Olafsson, an Icelandic chess grand master, was quoted by the newspaper as saying Fischer had told him he wanted to take part in one last tournament. Fischer, a teenage grandmaster and _ before the age of 30 _ a world champion who triumphed in a Cold War showdown with Soviet champion Boris Spassky, died of kidney failure in Reykjavik, Iceland. The Chicago-born, Brooklyn, N.Y.-raised Fischer last played publicly in 1992 in Yugoslavia, in defiance of international sanctions. He moved to Iceland in 2005 in a bid to avoid extradition to the U.S., where he was wanted over contravening the sanctions. Morgunbladid reported that Anand and Olafsson had exchanged e-mails about the proposed match and that Fischer had firm ideas on the arrangements. The ex-champion wanted to play the contest using the Fischerrandom or Chess 960 method, in which the game begins with pieces arranged randomly on the board to make the match more difficult. Fischer proposed the match would take place in India and be broadcast live via the Internet, the newspaper reported. Morgunbladid said Anand was eager to play Fischer, but had not been able to schedule it. Kasparov had not been able to play Fischer due to political commitments in Russia, it said. Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Edited July 1, 2020 by Gollum
Gollum Posted July 1, 2020 Author Posted July 1, 2020 This Romanian historian Olimpiu Urcan has some quality archives from the past. Like this one from 1989 Cannes, a youth vs veterans tourney....I can notice Tal, Korchnoi, Kasparov, Lautier, Anand, Timman, Spassky...3 world champs, 1 future world champ and 2 challengers. Anand beat Tal (his idol who was very sick by then) and Spassky there, I think his only games against those 2 legends. Vickydev 1