There are only 3 types of Dosa- Plain,Rava and Masala. Add butter as a prefix and may be 3

more additional type. Rest all are gimmicky and taste crappy.

3 minutes ago, maniac said:

There are only 3 types of Dosa- Plain,Rava and Masala. Add butter as a prefix and may be 3

Neer Dosa ?

10 minutes ago, maniac said:

wheat dosa :dontknow:

4 minutes ago, maniac said:

Not a fan

Adai, onion/chili uttapam, neer dose, appam, pesarattu, davangere benne dose are not gimmicks. Just an acquired taste. But pizza   dosa, paneer dosa, tikka masala dosa are fancy variants 

Just now, coffee_rules said:

Adai, onion/chili uttapam, neer dose, appam, pesarattu, are not gimmicks. Just an acquired taste. But pizza   dosa, paneer dosa, tikka masala dosa are fancy variants

Peserattu is not a Dosa. Only similarity is the oval shape or the way the batter goes on the pan. Same goes for uthappam. 

I will give you onion Dosa but that’s again plain Dosa with some onions sprinkled just like a butter Dosa.

I am talking about all these variations- chicken dosa, paneer dosa, egg dosa, chocolate dosa etc 

7 minutes ago, maniac said:

Peserattu is not a Dosa. Only similarity is the oval shape or the way the batter goes on the pan. Same goes for uthappam. 

I will give you onion Dosa but that’s again plain Dosa with some onions sprinkled just like a butter Dosa.

There are all dosas because the process is same, rice , some ingredients like methi seeds, a avalakki and various lentils ground into batter and let it ferment, some for longer overnight, some for a few hours.  Some say, that restaurants get the fluffy ness because they grind cooked rice from previous day leftover.  Another variant , I can devour is gund/Gunta pongulu, round Dosa balls . Love 

paniyaram-recipe.jpg

7 minutes ago, maniac said:

I am talking about all these variations- chicken dosa, paneer dosa, egg dosa, chocolate dosa etc 

Totally agree

6 hours ago, velu said:

is this Northie food or southie food ?

poori + potato Masala :yum:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQUUxTb3NYbHrf1DWw4Uca

North , they call it poori bhaji. It looks similar, but bhaji has chili powder and garam masala. This poori masala/ palya hai s totally South Indian as we use mustard tadka and green chilies. North Indian poori bhaji

poori-bhaji-aloo-tamatar-sabzi-1.jpg

On 9/15/2020 at 8:56 AM, jalebi_bhai said:

BTW, I've read some Tamils are trying to claim that Mysore Pak originated in TN......to them I give :finger: salute. 

This was the post that hijacked the thread into a south food war

46 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

There are all dosas because the process is same, rice , some ingredients like methi seeds, a avalakki and various lentils ground into batter and let it ferment, some for longer overnight, some for a few hours.  Some say, that restaurants get the fluffy ness because they grind cooked rice from previous day leftover.  Another variant , I can devour is gund/Gunta pongulu, round Dosa balls . Love 

paniyaram-recipe.jpg

Totally agree

this is Paniyaram or Kuli paniyaram .. another Kongunadu delicacy :orderorder:

I like it more than idly and dosa 

and my cousin uploaded a video last week :giggle:

10 minutes ago, velu said:

Good video share. , I don't even claim it is from us. We call it gund punglu or punugulu, which sounds like Telugu. @maniac or @Norman or @gattaca might own it up.

Personally not a fan of South Indian style Aloo that they serve with Poori. I prefer Bengali style Aloo Dum with Luchi (Poori but with Maida), popular BF but also a Durga Puja special, they serve this dish in the various pandals. Luchi even goes well with Cholar Dal (slightly sweet).

Bengali Luchi & Aloo Dum | OIST Groups

Puri/Poori/Luchi with Cholar Dal (Chana Dal / Bengali Lentil Recipe) -  YouTube

23 minutes ago, velu said:

Paniyaram is part of Chettinad cuisine. Why the name 'Pani' though, it means pig, doesn't it? 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Panniyaram is part of Chettinad cuisine. 

Maybe they became fan of our food :dontknow:

difference will be there only in chutney and sambar which goes with paniyaram

2 hours ago, velu said:

Maybe they became fan of our food :dontknow:

difference will be there only in chutney and sambar which goes with paniyaram

Yeah everything came from kongu nadu while chola nadu, pandya nadu and pallava nadu were eating leaves like wild elephants :elefant:

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Good video share. , I don't even claim it is from us. We call it gund punglu or punugulu, which sounds like Telugu. @maniac or @Norman or @gattaca might own it up.

Those are not called punugulu here. We call them ponganaalu. Made with the same batter as Dosa and shallow fried. 

Punugulu are deep fried. :drool: