[2020s] Watched any new movies? *Please use spoiler tags*

EnterTheVoid

On 1/6/2024 at 5:25 PM, Lord said:

12th fail

Another poverty porn film whereas poverty is glamorized in garb of honesty,khudaari etc while rich are denigrated as if its a crime

and why is being IAS/IPS hyped so much? All they do is follow orders of uneducated ministers.

Time pass movie nothing more than that

Because of how tough it is to become one. The most ridiculous exams IMO

TBF the film isn't just poverty porn it's based on a true life event. Candidates giving their last attempts at a difficult age (around late 20s) with not a lot of financial backing have unreal amount of emotions built up. 

On 1/6/2024 at 6:55 AM, Lord said:

12th fail

Another poverty porn film whereas poverty is glamorized in garb of honesty,khudaari etc while rich are denigrated as if its a crime

and why is being IAS/IPS hyped so much? All they do is follow orders of uneducated ministers.

Time pass movie nothing more than that

There is not much of poverty porn. Stark reality of rural India, bit  toned down, reality is even more harsh. But it was acted and directed well. I thought VVC was just a producer, he has directed it as well. He has gone back to his roots one can say, quite surprised. Went past reservations and caste angle and made it a class issue in a he village. In reality, it will be UC vs OBC/SC/ST.  Acting by all was superb. 

On 1/1/2024 at 3:00 PM, Lone Wolf said:

After rave reviews &,  insane hype...  Finally watched 12th fail. 

Movie of the year surely. 

Vikrant Massey is Wow...  Everyone loves an underdog story.  Must watch movie. 

Best movie of last year ! Acting by all was good, length was perfect and a lot of story made sense.  After Shikar, I had vowed not to watch another VVC movie , as he was KP sell-out. Never knew , until I watched. 

50 minutes ago, Vickydev said:

Because of how tough it is to become one. The most ridiculous exams IMO

TBF the film isn't just poverty porn it's based on a true life event. Candidates giving their last attempts at a difficult age (around late 20s) with not a lot of financial backing have unreal amount of emotions built up. 

Typical liberal response to the movie…as if UC poor have it easy..

GCxaQuTbEAARYJX?format=jpg&name=medium
GCxaQuXagAAzIQa?format=jpg&name=900x900

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Typical liberal response to the movie…as if UC poor have it easy..

GCxaQuTbEAARYJX?format=jpg&name=medium
GCxaQuXagAAzIQa?format=jpg&name=900x900

Wasn't Gauri Bhaiya a backward class guy?  He got six attempts as they showed in the movie but couldn't cross the final hurdle. 

Movie showed him in positive light as well & he became a cult character along with Pandey. 

UC haters will never be satisfied anyway. 

They showed Gadar 2 in my area's PVR today, gave it a shot since I liked Gadar. Faltu movie, walked out  with around 40 min left. Tomorrow Jawan, wish me luck.

Before this had watched Sam Bahadur and Animal. Also Wonka, enjoyed  that movie the most among recent watches.

Saturday evening show Merry Christmas (Hindi), excited for that. Love both Sriram Raghavan and Vijay Sethupathy's work. 

Depending on reviews may watch Captain Miller next week, again Dhanush is good, heard that the new director is one to watch out for in the future. 

Watched TVF's Aspirants when it first came out. 12th Fail must be similar in theme, no? Maybe add some emotional manipulation and poverty porn. Same ghisa pita entrance exam thing, already had an overload of that from TVF, hence skipped. As a society we are too obsessed with these competitive exams, merely cracking it is seen as the endgame, which it isn't. 

55 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Watched TVF's Aspirants when it first came out. 12th Fail must be similar in theme, no? Maybe add some emotional manipulation and poverty porn. Same ghisa pita entrance exam thing, already had an overload of that from TVF, hence skipped. As a society we are too obsessed with these competitive exams, merely cracking it is seen as the endgame, which it isn't. 

Quite contrary to that, it was a pleasant movie. Didn’t see any propaganda material or emotional melodrama. UPSC competitive exams is the only way out for lower middleclass to get out of poverty, they show how much  poor UC value education. Lesson for other minorities . Only 2.5% clear UPSC, easier to go abroad and get a decent living than clear UPSC for the UC. 

20 hours ago, Gollum said:

Exactly. Aspirants is more realistic.

On 1/9/2024 at 8:17 AM, coffee_rules said:

There is not much of poverty porn. Stark reality of rural India, bit  toned down, reality is even more harsh. But it was acted and directed well. I thought VVC was just a producer, he has directed it as well. He has gone back to his roots one can say, quite surprised. Went past reservations and caste angle and made it a class issue in a he village. In reality, it will be UC vs OBC/SC/ST.  Acting by all was superb. 

There was. All poor were shown as honest, honorable fellows while rich as manipulative and bitchy.

As you said it side stepped the actual issue.  Acted well but nothing new shown in the movie. Bit cliche how he got selected despite interviewers panning him. Doesn't happen in real world.

On 1/9/2024 at 8:17 AM, coffee_rules said:

Best movie of last year ! Acting by all was good, length was perfect and a lot of story made sense.  After Shikar, I had vowed not to watch another VVC movie , as he was KP sell-out. Never knew , until I watched. 

I liked Mission Kashmir as a kid.

2 hours ago, Lord said:

There was. All poor were shown as honest, honorable fellows while rich as manipulative and bitchy.

As you said it side stepped the actual issue.  Acted well but nothing new shown in the movie. Bit cliche how he got selected despite interviewers panning him. Doesn't happen in real world.

It was based on a True story, not a commentary on contemporaey Indian society. Dushyant Singh (DSP) is shown honest despite being rich or UC, so is the main heroine. 

The interview part is inspired from 3 Idiots, it was totally predictable and it seemed forced that the main guy was a UC hater. Itna to banta hain, Bollywood mein. 
In Shikar, he showed Terrorists have a reason to be bad and it is because of injustices that were done to them that they chased out KPs. At least that kind of appeasement is not seen here. Hence, I was surprised about VVC. Yes, M-K was okay. 

12 hours ago, Lord said:

Not really. The MC keeps getting ripped off, beaten up, and robbed by other poor ppl

On 1/11/2024 at 12:03 AM, Gollum said:

I tried watching TVF stuff but I find it hard to get into Indian OTT product  tbh.  Panchayat Family Man & Scam 99 were the good ones.

I am planning on watching Netflix's Railway men based on Bhopal tragedy & has gained some global traction too. 

1 hour ago, Number said:

12th fail is a well made movie.

Never understood why bureaucracy enjoys so much unchecked power and gets away with enormous amount of corruption and lethargy.

Poore desh ki waat laga rakhi hai.

It’s been passed down by British, socialist system that we followed after Independence. Civil services was the main source of employment after British stopped all manufacturing businesses , other states Han Agriculture n India. Bureaucracy behaves the same in all countries, even the first world. Entitled lot. 

On 1/11/2024 at 10:14 AM, Lord said:

Kho Gaye hum Kahan on Netflix

Good watch on current Insta generation. Adarsh Gourav is brilliant. Sidhant's story is relatable.

Vadde logon ki vadde vadde problems. Not a bad watch, nothing was irritating like the usual Bombay fare we get on OTT. Dil Chahta hain for the Gen Zs

On 1/18/2024 at 4:46 AM, coffee_rules said:

Vadde logon ki vadde vadde problems. Not a bad watch, nothing was irritating like the usual Bombay fare we get on OTT. Dil Chahta hain for the Gen Zs

I couldn't relate to any of the protagonists. I found it incomprehensible. Started showing my age I guess.