Adamant Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 Nice to see Rohit Sharma at the top. Great tactical mind, has already won us five test series away from home along with two world cups and 3 champions trophy. Hadd hai, Mote ke bas ka nahi kuch. Got away with that nidahas trophy win nahi to aaj tak gaali khaata. sandeep 1
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 https://www.essentiallysports.com/cricket-match-ricky-ponting-made-the-worst-decision-ever-by-any-captain-shane-warne-on-edgbaston-test-match/
Tattieboy Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 1 hour ago, maniac said: Not a X1 in the true cricket sense because not exactly a balanced batting-bowling X1 but 11 players/captains who are known for cricketing acumen and tactics. Rohit Sharma MS Dhoni Mike Brearly Clive Lloyd Stephen Fleming Hansie Cronje Bob Woolmer Javed Miandad (used to do the field settings and other on field decision making for Imran Khan) Richie Benaud Allan Border Martin Crowe 12th man: Bob Simpson Hon’ble mentions: Dave Whatmore ,Mark Taylor I assume you are picking Bob Woolmer the player on coaching record ? Woolmer never brought accumin or tactics to his playing career . He was a non descript player who never captained England and if my memory is correct Asif Iqbal was Kent captain when Woolmer was playing . He became a different animal as a coach nevada 1
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 1 minute ago, Adamant said: Nice to see Rohit Sharma at the top. Great tactical mind, has already won us five test series away from home along with two world cups and 3 champions trophy. Hadd hai, Mote ke bas ka nahi kuch. Got away with that nidahas trophy win nahi to aaj tak gaali khaata. Asia Cup too and Champions league too , remind me again what happened when Kohli captained in one too? Also remember both Malinga and Bumrah credited his advice for some crucial decisions or advice especially that Shaun Marsh wicket that changed the course of the series. Anyways is my list like wisden or something? That is my list and the point of a forum is to come up with your own list and we can discuss. raki05 1
nevada Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 https://www.theroar.com.au/2010/10/21/bring-back-warnie-as-captain/
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 Just now, Tattieboy said: I assume you are picking Bob Woolmer the player on coaching record ? Woolmer never brought accumin or tactics to his playing career . He was a non descript player who never captained England and if my memory is correct Asif Iqbal was Kent captain when Woolmer was playing . He became a different animal as a coach Yes his coaching reputation made me add him. I believe Whatmore and Simpson fall in the same category. Whatmore from what I know was a fringe player in his playing days but not sure of Simpsons reputation as a captain, wasn’t he brought back in his mid 40’s during the packer era and also led a young Aussie side as a coach to 87 WC win. Brearly is also Another guy I listed due to his reputation. Was he really that much of a genius or is it hype ?
Adamant Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 On a serious note. 1.Shane Warne 2.Ravi Ashwin 3.Graeme Swann 4 Actually all great spinners were good tacticians. 5.Glenn Mcgrath 6.Patrick Cummins 7Jasprit Bumrah 8.Ms Dhoni(only in lois) 9.Chappell(elder) 10.Hadlee
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 Just now, Adamant said: On a serious note. 1.Shane Warne 2.Ravi Ashwin 3.Graeme Swann 4 Actually all great spinners were good tacticians. 5.Glenn Mcgrath 6.Patrick Cummins 7Jasprit Bumrah 8.Ms Dhoni(only in lois) 9.Chappell(elder) 10.Hadlee did you run out of names ? raki05 1
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 MSD through he became stale towards the end, did have some fresh ideas and was usually quick on his feet in short formats. Was great in 2007 WT20 or 2008 Aus series and in some other clutch games at least as a leader.
Tattieboy Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 5 minutes ago, maniac said: Yes his coaching reputation made me add him. I believe Whatmore and Simpson fall in the same category. Whatmore from what I know was a fringe player in his playing days but not sure of Simpsons reputation as a captain, wasn’t he brought back in his mid 40’s during the packer era and also led a young Aussie side as a coach to 87 WC win. Brearly is also Another guy I listed due to his reputation. Was he really that much of a genius or is it hype ? Simpson was a tactian on the park and off it ...Brearley is an interesting character , imo he fooled his players into think he was this upper class brain box on a cricket field . What he did do fantastically is use man management skills ....think The Lord of the Major and his working Serfs sandeep and maniac 1 1
Gollum Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 48 minutes ago, Jimmy Cliff said: Remember Ponting bowling part timers vs India to improve the over-rate when the series was on the line at Nagpur in 2008. Good times. Also did a Kohli at the toss, 2005 Edgbaston Ashes. Warne was livid.... Jimmy Cliff 1
Gollum Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 47 minutes ago, SK_IH said: Can't field an XI but Jayawardene & Sangakkara for me. These two guys literally carried Lankan cricket for almost two decades & kept them highly efficient at the world stage. Two of the finest strategists & tacticians of our times. Lankan cricket completely collapsed once they departed. Also Dilshan, 3 great cheaters Man Lanka till circa 2015 was the ultimate heel, especially against us SK_IH 1
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 15 minutes ago, Gollum said: Also Dilshan, 3 great cheaters Man Lanka till circa 2015 was the ultimate heel, especially against us They were white collar cheats more like Wall Street guys or that crooked salesmen. Remember how they made some random player the captain because their main captain was about to get banned for over rate. Do you think such a thought will even occur in India? Gollum 1
Tattieboy Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 Captain I thought the best and would have liked to play under was Mark Taylor . Ian Chappell on too many instances thought and showed he didn't rate some of his team mates , this practise was carried on by Lillee and Marsh . With regard to cricket brains Warne is up at the top of the list . nevada and maniac 2
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 (edited) 2 minutes ago, Tattieboy said: Captain I thought the best and would have liked to play under was Mark Taylor . Ian Chappell on too many instances thought and showed he didn't rate some of his team mates , this practise was carried on by Lillee and Marsh . With regard to cricket brains Warne is up at the top of the list . more than his brains it is the confidence/over confidence. Listening to his commentary sometimes is such a torture, he has an opinion on everything under the sun. He might be smart but he comes across as someone who thinks he is smarter than they actually are. That’s just judgement though. However he seems like a high risk high reward guy than a calm and composed tacitician. Edited December 3, 2020 by maniac sandeep 1
Tattieboy Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 1 minute ago, maniac said: more than his brains it is the confidence/over confidence. Listening to his commentary sometimes is such a torture, he has an opinion on everything under the sun. He might be smart but he comes across as someone who thinks he is smarter than they are. That’s just judgement though. However he seems like a high risk high reward guy than a calm and composed tacitician. Lol If you can't be confident after talking the wickets he did when can you ? One man's torture is another man's education High risk ? All the illusion of theatre , his trade mark was setting batsmen up that's not high risk that's calm composed tactician
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 (edited) Ponting dropped himself and made Rohit the MI captain and we know how it went after that :) Edited December 3, 2020 by maniac nevada 1
zen Posted December 3, 2020 Posted December 3, 2020 Top 3 captains that I have seen in the order of debut: Imran - inspiration, vision, scout for talent and tactics Crowe - brilliant package and innovation (opening w/ spin, targeting PPs, and so on) Taylor - always on aggressive and positive captaincy sandeep 1
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 (edited) 13 minutes ago, BlueBlood said: You give MI team to Kohli and he too will win cups for you. Every single player is a T20 champ and in Indian conditions they will be unstoppable. You give Kohli's RCB team or Dhoni Chennai team to Rohit and we will see how well he does. He will bomb big time. He even failed in IPL semis and finals so don't get where "tactician" comes in. It's pathetic Rohit is considered above Ponting. It's delusional. So MI team is great and Rohit is not a great captain but the Aussie team of 2000’s was successful due to Ponting? Edited December 3, 2020 by maniac sandeep and nevada 2
maniac Posted December 3, 2020 Author Posted December 3, 2020 6 minutes ago, zen said: Top 3 captains that I have seen in the order of debut: Imran - inspiration, vision, scout for talent and tactics Crowe - brilliant package and innovation (opening w/ spin, targeting PPs, and so on) Taylor - always on aggressive and positive captaincy I am surprised you didn’t pick Cronje. Most out of the box thinker in the Crowe mould and have seen more of his captaincy than Crowe’s