zen Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 (edited) If you had to list one Hollywood film as your favorite, which one would it be and why? ... We are discussing the favorite in the present moment therefore as the taste changes, the favorite. A similar exercise for Bollywood films was relatively easier as most of Bollywood films can be clubbed in the "masala" genre. On the other hand, Hollywood makes genre specific films and within a genre, there can a huge variety as well, making picking a film a Herculean task. To make it easier, I went through the following process: Deliberated on the favorite genre: Mystery-Suspense-Thriller-Adventure-Comedy (a blend of Hitchcockian elements) Identified the favorite decade: Leaned towards the 60s (the last hurray of the Golden Age of Hollywood, beginning of the European new wave, ... ) Zeroed in on easy to watch fun films that you can put on almost at any time. Some of the greatest films such as epics like Lawrence of Arabia (arguably the greatest film of all time) and 2001: A Space Odyssey require you to be focused and in proper mood. Films like Vertigo (from the 50s), ranked as the greatest film of all time by BFI Sight & Sound, are serious Memorable soundtrack and a nice location(s), which can act as a character, were considered among the prerequisites Ignored certain films such as 007's, among my favorite franchises, as they deserve their own list Based on the above (the why), I have picked Charade (1963) starring Cary Grant and Audrey Hepburn. Considered to be the best Hitchcock film that Hitchcock did not make (Hitchcock is said to have liked it very much). Paris serves both as an intriguing and romantic location, shining during the metro sequence in the finale. The soundtrack by Henri Mancini is iconic. This was one of the last films of Grant (retired after 2 more films) and among Hepburn's major hits in the 60s. As many say, "films like these are not made anymore". Its impact on Bollywood is measurable as it has inspired the tune of "Gumnam hai koi" and films such as Chaila Babu (Yaar dildar tuje kaise chahiye, pyar chahiye ke paisa chahiye). Edited June 16, 2024 by zen Mariyam 1
BacktoCricaddict Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 My Cousin Vinny. And it is a no-contest. Other contenders: 1. Scent of a Woman 2. A Few Good Men 3. Shawshank Redemption 4. The Green Mile
Khota Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 Godfather. There is no movie made better than that in history. Actors - The best. Marlon Brando, Al Pacino, James Caan, Diane Keaton, Tom Hagen Director - Francis Ford Coppola Won awards for best picture, director, actor, supporting cast. It was unbelevable. Background music was amazing. Hands down the best movie made last century. Noother movie impacted me ike Godfather. “Italians have a little joke, that the world is so hard a man must have two fathers to look after him, and that's why they have godfathers.” ― Mario Puzo, The Godfather
Khota Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My Cousin Vinny. And it is a no-contest. Other contenders: 1. Scent of a Woman 2. A Few Good Men 3. Shawshank Redemption 4. The Green Mile That is a good one.
Khota Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 To me the most troubling and one of the better scene of the movie when Sonny did not want any part of the family and is now the new Godfather. And guess where the phrase kiss the ring came from. And the background music. Technically he did not kill either. Ankit_sharma03 1
Khota Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 The above was most epic ending with the best actor and actress. She probably never beleived him and how literally she is being shut out. The background music makes it better and Michael was probably a better Godfather than Don Corleone . Nothing comes close to this. Nothing. And sad thing is he never wanted any of this.
zen Posted February 13, 2021 Author Posted February 13, 2021 (edited) 3 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My Cousin Vinny. And it is a no-contest. That is a unique choice! ... you did not mention what you liked the most about the film Edited February 13, 2021 by zen
BacktoCricaddict Posted February 13, 2021 Posted February 13, 2021 (edited) 14 minutes ago, zen said: That is a unique choice! ... you did not mention what liked the most about the film? A few things: (1) I like movies that focus on realistic, day-to-day human interactions. Just simple, normal, regular people that I can identify with. The story of the Yanks from NYC navigating the Southern culture in the US was really well-done. (2) I am a sucker for underdog wins movies, especially in legal settings. Exoneration of the wrongly convicted, indictment of the rich and powerful. I love stuff like that. By that token, I love movies like Jolly LLB. (3) Preference for humour and light heartedness, but with some underlying depth of story. (4) Marissa Tomei Edited February 13, 2021 by BacktoCricaddict Mariyam and zen 2
nikred Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 A few things: (1) I like movies that focus on realistic, day-to-day human interactions. Just simple, normal, regular people that I can identify with. The story of the Yanks from NYC navigating the Southern culture in the US was really well-done. (2) I am a sucker for underdog wins movies, especially in legal settings. Exoneration of the wrongly convicted, indictment of the rich and powerful. I love stuff like that. By that token, I love movies like Jolly LLB. (3) Preference for humour and light heartedness, but with some underlying depth of story. (4) Marissa Tomei Marissa Tomei was a delight in this movie. I might have watched this movie 20 years back or more. They used to air it multiple times on Star Movies, if I remember right. I remember enjoying the movie a lot but I am not sure if I would say it's the best movie I ever watched. Maybe the movie has lot more than what my then young mind could grasp.Sent from my SM-M315F using Tapatalk
Mariyam Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 @BacktoCricaddict That sounds like a very interesting movie. Shall watch. BacktoCricaddict 1
Mariyam Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 Four Weddings and a Funeral. Vicky Cristina Barcelona
zen Posted February 14, 2021 Author Posted February 14, 2021 9 hours ago, Mariyam said: Four Weddings and a Funeral. Vicky Cristina Barcelona Saw them a long time ago but still remember them as nice films. That song by wet wet wet from Four Weddings is so good Mariyam 1
FischerTal Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 my fav genre is comedy so i generally like movies like SuperBad, Hangover, Tropic Thunder or Hot Fuzz.. no cinematic masterpieces but they deliver what audience wants. coffee_rules and Mariyam 1 1
Jimmy Cliff Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 I love police procedurals and it doesn't get much better than L.A. Confidential in Hollywood. coffee_rules and Mariyam 2
coffee_rules Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 Depends on the mood of the day to pick one favorite in such a thread.MCVinny is funny, but would not put it as all-time fav. If you put a gun to my head and ask, I’d pick Forest Gump or Serpico or even The French Connection
coffee_rules Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 3 hours ago, velu said: Not surprising you picked. My fav action movie series. Tops everything else velu 1
coffee_rules Posted February 14, 2021 Posted February 14, 2021 14 hours ago, Mariyam said: Four Weddings and a Funeral. Vicky Cristina Barcelona Meh. Hugh Grant is so 90s and Meh! Hate him now.