Why were India so tactically inflexible in the field yesterday?

jalebi_bhai

Rohit was uncharacteristically rigid with his tactics on the field yesterday. 

Considering that it was Pak spinners who kept things tight for them, why did we hesitate to give Hooda at least one over? Tall, right arm offie could've given Pak lefties some issues. 

Agree, not usually Rohit.

All I can assume is he was trying out certain things keeping the WC in mind, might have wanted to see if Pandya can bounce back after being hit, wanted to probably make a conclusive decision on whether to drop Chahal giving him the full quota etc. 

Also Dravid and co could have given input, all a bit strange.

P.S. this comment took longer than usual to write because that thing above kept distracting me. 

26 minutes ago, Swag said:

Agree, not usually Rohit.

All I can assume is he was trying out certain things keeping the WC in mind, might have wanted to see if Pandya can bounce back after being hit, wanted to probably make a conclusive decision on whether to drop Chahal giving him the full quota etc. 

Also Dravid and co could have given input, all a bit strange.

P.S. this comment took longer than usual to write because that thing above kept distracting me. 

Only logical explanation. 

Regarding the ads, switch to Opera browser and adjust the settings.

When you play with just five bowlers, captain is handicapped. That has been the problem plaguing Indian team for last decade. This notion that Rohit is somehow tactically superior is ridiculous. People need stop bringing nonsenical IPL into equation. 

The 10+ by Pandya in the first over he bowled did the damage.

You need on ly five strike bowlers who make every ball count. Look at the bigger picture, India lost by few balls only.

As far as Rohit's captaincy is concerned I have no problkem with that. His weight is an issue. He looks unfit to play around.

Felt Hooda was generally poorly utilized yesterday. Batted way too low and didn't get a chance to display his all-round ability. It was frankly a pointless selection and I say this as a Hooda fan. 

Axar should've played instead. Could score the same amount of runs (16 in 12) while offering legit bowling option. I guess TM thought Pak have too many lefties.

6 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Felt Hooda was generally poorly utilized yesterday. Batted way too low and didn't get a chance to display his all-round ability. It was frankly a pointless selection and I say this as a Hooda fan. 

Axar should've played instead. Could score the same amount of runs (16 in 12) while offering legit bowling option. I guess TM thought Pak have too many lefties.

Thats what makes not using Hooda's bowling even more weird.

Could have played Ashwin too.

Issue is we don't have player specifically for lower middle to lower order finisher barring pandya we haven't groomed anyone hooda is more of top order bat,pandya is more of a no 4 bat pant is more of no 4 bat dk is more of no 5, but who is no 6 no 7 no 8 for us the role raina, irfan,bhajji use to do for us 

4 hours ago, vayuu1 said:

Issue is we don't have player specifically for lower middle to lower order finisher barring pandya we haven't groomed anyone hooda is more of top order bat,pandya is more of a no 4 bat pant is more of no 4 bat dk is more of no 5, but who is no 6 no 7 no 8 for us the role raina, irfan,bhajji use to do for us 

Pandya has been a finisher for much of his IPL career except this year. DK has been a specialist finisher for a few years and Jaddu/Axar have developed decent hitting skills in the death. 

But tm is more interested in making Pant and Hooda into finishers, two guys who are at their best batting in the top 4. I seriously don't understand their thought process.

Again no tactical acumen shown by so called Chankya. Rohit is one of main reasons why we are out of this cup. He has shown no verstality or thinking out of the box to compensate for talent.

SL bowlers bowled to plan which was not at all evident when Indian bowlers were bowling.Same old nonsense giving Bhuvi the 19th over. 

Most worrying aspect is his after match comments, . Chahal and Bhuvi are the senior pros and have been doing it for a while. I need to get answers from the younger ones. What is he smoking.

1 hour ago, putrevus said:

Again no tactical acumen shown by so called Chankya. Rohit is one of main reasons why we are out of this cup. He has shown no verstality or thinking out of the box to compensate for talent.

SL bowlers bowled to plan which was not at all evident when Indian bowlers were bowling.Same old nonsense giving Bhuvi the 19th over. 

Most worrying aspect is his after match comments, . Chahal and Bhuvi are the senior pros and have been doing it for a while. I need to get answers from the younger ones. What is he smoking.

Sab isse puchte hai kya phoonk ke aaya...

Naam ...ganjedi bhaya

Ganjedi bhaya ganjedi bhayaaaaa ganjedi bhaya, been this seniors are hell bent on destroying juniors.