Is gym really needed for bowling fast?

MechEng

This is Usain Bolt. Look at that physique. You don't become fastest man ever by doing nothing. Every sport has specific training in the gym. A fast bowler won't have same workout regimen as a bodybuilder.  These are all layman arguments that fast bowlers don't need the gym. Gym doesn't just mean building 18 inch biceps. Fast bowlers need more isometric and eccentric workouts.

Screenshot_2022-10-19-19-02-34-05_680d03679600f7af0b4c700c6b270fe7.jpg

31 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Two stress fractures already where one is enough to end careers. Waqar was never the same bowler after his first stress fracture.

Nowadays, injury management is much more advanced than Waqar's period. Quite a few quicks have been bowling near full pace after multiple stress fractures.

And this injury has not been confirmed as a stress fracture. Could be a stress reaction too.

Even the last one was not a major stress fracture and did not require any surgery. 

Fingers crossed.

23 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Mitch Johnson had 4 stress fractures. Varun Aaron had 3-4 stress fractures. Umesh too had 2-3 stress fractures. Cummins and starc also had multiple stress fractures. Medical facilities and training is much better now to offset these injuries. These injuries are bound to happen for a genuine quick.

Exactly !

17 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

This is Usain Bolt. Look at that physique. You don't become fastest man ever by doing nothing. Every sport has specific training in the gym. A fast bowler won't have same workout regimen as a bodybuilder.  These are all layman arguments that fast bowlers don't need the gym. Gym doesn't just mean building 18 inch biceps. Fast bowlers need more isometric and eccentric workouts.

Exactly !

I kind agree with Brett lee for fast bowlers    Less weight/More reps is better option than More weight/Less reps.  Suppleness is needed to generate speed. Nagarkoti was hardly a muscle guy. But he could generate speed. Only way you can avoid or prolong injury by being more flexible. At the start of his career Cummins suffered several injuries. Check the last few years. He is one of the fittest , less injury prone bowler.

43 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

I doubt cricketers do much heavy gym work,it's mostly to some functional stuff.

From what i have seen some of the bowlers with lord of the rings Orc type builds are the slowest i have seen.  Some wiry guys have been very quick. Only Akthar is kind of an exception. Rest are all lean, mean.

9 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I kind agree with Brett lee for fast bowlers    Less weight/More reps is better option than More weight/Less reps.  Suppleness is needed to generate speed. Nagarkoti was hardly a muscle guy. But he could generate speed. Only way you can avoid or prolong injury by being more flexible. At the start of his career Cummins suffered several injuries. Check the last few years. He is one of the fittest , less injury prone bowler.

It's opposite. Low reps high weight is what creates power. 4-6 reps only at high weight. This creates power. It hits fast twitch fibers. Myofibrillar hypertrophy for strength and speed. High reps low weight is only going to reduce pace. It is for bodybuilders and induce sarcoplasmic hypertrophy.

Edited by rkt.india
Just now, rkt.india said:

It's opposite. Low reps high weight is what creates power. 4-6 reps only at high weight. This creates power. High reps low weight is only going to reduce pace.

What power you need to hurl a 5.5 oz ball?  Because in cricket you will be repeating the same action over and over again. You can work out only muscles? What about nerves? Adding more weight will only increase stiffness. Decrease flexibility.   Only workouts that you should focus are core, legs which is what Cummins also focus on. Not upper body workout.

https://www.coachup.com/nation/articles/baseball-training-three-important-ex

". Many critics of weight lifting for baseball players cite that it’s a game requiring skills and fast-twitch muscles and that weightlifting will only hurt athletes by making them muscle bound, stiff, and slower. These critics aren’t wrong in the sense that many classic, weightlifting routines from previous eras would require players to bulk up in a manner that would be better suited for Mr. Olympia rather than Mr. October."

Within the game of baseball, pitching workouts are the most scrutinized physical activity when it comes to proper training techniques and injury prevention. Stigmas against weight training to improve pitching performance are even greater than they are for position players. This skepticism exists for good reason — hopping on the bench press and sculpting an Arnold-esque physique is not going to help a pitcher throw harder and will almost certainly lead to injury. This does not mean that pitchers can’t improve velocity and performance through weight training, just that any workout program should be carefully constructed and come from a trusted source. Evidence shows that proper weight training can greatly improve pitcher performance as long as the program focuses on improving flexibility and prioritizes strengthening a few key areas. We’ve listed three of the areas you should focus on during strength training:

11 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

What power you need to hurl a 5.5 oz ball?  Because in cricket you will be repeating the same action over and over again. You can work out only muscles? What about nerves? Adding more weight will only increase stiffness. Decrease flexibility.   Only workouts that you should focus are core, legs which is what Cummins also focus on. Not upper body workout.

https://www.coachup.com/nation/articles/baseball-training-three-important-ex

". Many critics of weight lifting for baseball players cite that it’s a game requiring skills and fast-twitch muscles and that weightlifting will only hurt athletes by making them muscle bound, stiff, and slower. These critics aren’t wrong in the sense that many classic, weightlifting routines from previous eras would require players to bulk up in a manner that would be better suited for Mr. Olympia rather than Mr. October."

Within the game of baseball, pitching workouts are the most scrutinized physical activity when it comes to proper training techniques and injury prevention. Stigmas against weight training to improve pitching performance are even greater than they are for position players. This skepticism exists for good reason — hopping on the bench press and sculpting an Arnold-esque physique is not going to help a pitcher throw harder and will almost certainly lead to injury. This does not mean that pitchers can’t improve velocity and performance through weight training, just that any workout program should be carefully constructed and come from a trusted source. Evidence shows that proper weight training can greatly improve pitcher performance as long as the program focuses on improving flexibility and prioritizes strengthening a few key areas. We’ve listed three of the areas you should focus on during strength training:

This is a poor article and doesn't have much knowledge about weight lifting. Don't fall for layman arguments. First understand how different workout regimen works. A fast bowling workout concentrate on hitting fast twitch fibers and myofibrillar hypertrophy where myofibrills in the muscles are increased. This regimen doesn't make you mr. Olympia. To improve flexibility, there are plyometrics and yoga.

Edited by rkt.india
1 minute ago, rkt.india said:

This is a poor article and doesn't have much knowledge about weight lifting. Don't fall for layman arguments. First understand how different workout regimen works. A fast bowling workout concentrate on hitting fast twitch fibers and myofibrillar hypertrophy where myofibrillars in the muscles are increased. This regimen doesn't make you mr. Olympia. To prove flexibility, there are plyometrics and yoga.

None of the fast bowlers subscribe to heavy lifting if you leave out Akhtar.  Umran Malik indulges  mostly in actual training (which is bowling) and swimming. Not weight lifting. Sure bit of weight lifting. With no real formal training he was able to achieve that speed. Guys like Nagarkoti, Mavi were all wiry when they clocked those 145k deliveries. Most recently Madhushanka who looks like pencil stick achieves that speed. But big muscled guys don't exactly that kind of speed. 

3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Brett Lee is one of the main "anti gym" guy.They just look athletic. THey don't look buffed

Midgets don't know diff between being fit and being ripped.

2 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Good post. I normally call the OP midget and malnourished since i could not think enough to post this. So thanks. 

3 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Oye  hoye!! Look at those bulging forearms of Macco!! Aha aha wah wah. Bahut lat pull down maare isne.

image.png.afdf6be44602a76c9d76982ccba3e76f.png

19 minutes ago, Vilander said:

Good post. I normally call the OP midget and malnourished since i could not think enough to post this. So thanks. 

Bhai, Siraj injure ho gaya and now he is not the same bowler, Boom ki boom boom ho gayi and Shami is on off.

Apne desh ki aukaat daal roti waali hain, Bhuvi, Harshal, Chahar. Learn to accept that we can never produce fast bowlers with long careers no matter how much deadlifts they do.

Actually Shami is terrific since he started adopting desi workouts. He has greater endurance, his drop in speed is very less.   Bumrah was very wiry and thin when he started playing for MI. Hitting  high speeds effortlessly.  Shoulder helps those who bowl those heavy length balls, effort balls by banging in hard. Moshin khan is an example. Watch his release point. He puts his shoulder into it hence he can extract bounce.

Having said that Bumrah doesn't look like a gym freak. He is just doing the bare minimum. He is just so natural. His action will not allow him to bowl without injury. He doesn't have smooth action like Ishant sharma

2 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

From what i have seen some of the bowlers with lord of the rings Orc type builds are the slowest i have seen.  Some wiry guys have been very quick. Only Akthar is kind of an exception. Rest are all lean, mean.

Akhtar too blew up his knee so bad that doctors have now warned him against any kind of cardio except walking.

Extreme weight training is showing it's effects now.

26 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Bhai, Siraj injure ho gaya and now he is not the same bowler, Boom ki boom boom ho gayi and Shami is on off.

Apne desh ki aukaat daal roti waali hain, Bhuvi, Harshal, Chahar. Learn to accept that we can never produce fast bowlers with long careers no matter how much deadlifts they do.

Nope, India has several wrestlers boxers and now track and field athletes who are in world class several more in Asian level. There is no evidence to show that Indians can not produce athletes that can be in world class in terms of performance. Strength and conditioning is based on the specific discipline, and its essential part of continuous work that athletes need to do to stay out of injuries.