India women cricketers to earn same match fee as male counterparts, BCCI secretary Jay Shah confirms

vvvslaxman

15 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

While I agree with first paragraph, how does paying lower match fees to test cricketers based the concept that fees should be determined by revenue will impact anything?

Those arguments won't hold if LOIs fees are higher. 

Why hasn't anyone arguing about market forces and revenue demanded that LOI match fees should be higher?

I don't think anything like that. I see most of the organizations pay similar salaries at similar level irrespective of profits earned by different departments and this move by BCCI looks normal rather than historic move.

You're repeating the same thing without trying to understand it because you seeing the game and it's formats in silos. Haven't even mentioned that tests last over 5 days so over there the match fee cannot be compared like for like with the match fee for a t20 game. Also like I mentioned where test cricket is popular the players are infact paid more because of demand and not despite it. India, Australia and England are all eg.s. The same test cricketers who you think get paid a lot do get paid much more for much less work when they play franchise cricket which atm is what is subsidizing the sport in a manner of speaking so this does not undercut the observation about market forces since that is being respected here. 

19 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Aren't we over-reacting a little :)  BCCI net worth close 2.5 billion. About 14680 Crores. 15 lakhs per Test match r will make a dent?  If there is anyone who can object to it, that will be men's cricket team. I am sure they won't have a problem with this. Why are we arguing about it?

Just timepass 

9 hours ago, Norman said:

What non sense !!! :facepalm:

"First step towards tackling discrimination"..

Abe ghonchu what discrimination? Male cricketers earn more because they bring in more revenues, not because they're male. Just simple economics. 

If they had money to spend, they should have spent it on improving the state of our crappy stadiums and into coaching and academies im tier-2 cities. But nope... has to do the virtue signalling... 

Women cricketers will also bring same revenue, if not more. You need to market them right and build the opportunities. WIPL is a start. People will go crazy after Mandhana or Shefali the same way as they love Rohit or Kohli. 

The struggle is the same, if not more for women. Job is the same, pressure and effort also same. So if you cannot market it well enough, BCCI's problem not the cricketers! 

1 minute ago, kruiser said:

Women cricketers will also bring same revenue, if not more. You need to market them right and build the opportunities. WIPL is a start. People will go crazy after Mandhana or Shefali the same way as they love Rohit or Kohli. 

The struggle is the same, if not more for women. Job is the same, pressure and effort also same. So if you cannot market it well enough, BCCI's problem not the cricketers! 

Gap in level of standard is huge. Incomparable. Women cricket is below the level of even u17 boys cricket. 

2 hours ago, kruiser said:

How to market bowlers bowliing max 110 kph, batters not clearing boundaries unless they are pulled in massively etc

7 hours ago, kruiser said:

Nowhere in World women sports is as popular as men. Whether it is Europe's football or USA's NBA. More than 90% of women prefer their daily soap over cricket.

Don't mind this move, anyway a few crores here and there is peanuts for BCCI. Just that I find this move illogical.

Anyway doubt BCCI even cares about women's cricket, lot they could do otherwise, starting from grassroots. PR sells way better. 

11 hours ago, kruiser said:

They couldn't do that in tennis, you think there is any chance of this happening in cricket? People watch sports for thrills, athleticism etc., women's sports can't match up with male counterparts (forget seniors, even U-16 level), sorry. May sound blunt/harsh, but it is what it is. 

2 hours ago, Gollum said:

Don't mind this move, anyway a few crores here and there is peanuts for BCCI. Just that I find this move illogical.

Anyway doubt BCCI even cares about women's cricket, lot they could do otherwise, starting from grassroots. PR sells way better. 

It's just PR by BCCI. How many women centric cricket academies are run by BCCI or incentivizing women cricket at grass root level?