India women cricketers to earn same match fee as male counterparts, BCCI secretary Jay Shah confirms

vvvslaxman

Peanuts for BCCI but illogical move. Just for PR......more fair than tennis though because women play same duration as men. 

Those who support this decision, one question, why do male models make less money than female ones? 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Peanuts for BCCI but illogical move. Just for PR......more fair than tennis though because women play same duration as men. 

Those who support this decision, one question, why do male models make less money than female ones? 

They represent India. This is a salary from BCCI. Models make money for themselves. They don't really represent a country.  Ad company pay for it. Modelling has so many 'extra' things lol

23 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Both sides have A list acotrs, side actors lol Chahal is a side actor

If you see men can play and compete in women cricket. Women cricketers won't be able to do that in men cricket. No level playing field.

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

They represent India. This is a salary from BCCI. Models make money for themselves. They don't really represent a country.  Ad company pay for it. Modelling has so many 'extra' things lol

But do women cricket make Money for BCCI?

Just now, rkt.india said:

If you see men can play and compete in women cricket. Women cricketers won't be able to do that in men cricket. No level playing field.

They are hormonally different. We should only compare women with other women. Not men. 

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

But do women cricket make Money for BCCI?

Who cares man? They have boat load of money. What is wrong in encouraging them? Nobody is going to lose anything. Everybody share proudly when harmanpreet kaur or mandana produce match winning performances. Why should we get salty if they make a little extra money. Gautam was paid 9 crores just for sitting in the dug out for whole season. You think any women cricketer will see that kind of money?

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Disagree with you on this one. The popularity argument doesn't apply here. They are both representing India, should be paid equal match fees. 

It's like paying salaries to govt employees. You get paid according to your post not how much 'work' you do. 

What non sense !!! :facepalm:

"First step towards tackling discrimination"..

Abe ghonchu what discrimination? Male cricketers earn more because they bring in more revenues, not because they're male. Just simple economics. 

If they had money to spend, they should have spent it on improving the state of our crappy stadiums and into coaching and academies im tier-2 cities. But nope... has to do the virtue signalling... 

8 minutes ago, Norman said:

Hmm what about the U19 and A teams? Blind team players? Should they also be played the same? I mean... they too are representing India. 

After they won world cup. Each player got 40 lakhs from under-19. Support staffs were paid 20 lakhs.

50 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

A list actor and side actor getting same fee?

That is how you look at it? There can be additional performance bonuses but match fee should be same irrespective of gender. One has to pick up the right message.

1 hour ago, rtmohanlal said:

sooo strange.... as if the quality of the performance in both cases are  same!!!! ... 

Exactly the revenue they bring in should be a measuring stick of their earning capacity. This is a joke and if anything the men should complain because obviously they are missing out, if the BCCI can afford to pay the men the same as the women.

Its not impossible for a woman to earn more than men in sport. Just look at Rhonda Rousey in MMA.