Lower your expectations - Rahul Dravid

2 minutes ago, Adamant said:

And what about preparation for WTC, the Australian team which is way better than ours in English conditions was busy with WTC prep, some of them even played county cricket, OTOH we had the idiotic IPL. 

This is disrespect for test cricket and the results showed that. 

For idiots who think we would have won if youngsters were selected x wait a while, you people will be shown your youngsters aukaad in the upcoming days. 

Bina practice kiye youngster Smith aur Labuschagne se better nahi ho jaenge. 

We needed prep time for WTC finals, if the main purpose of our cricket is IPL then we shouldn't be disappointed if we continue to lose these world tournaments. 

Indians ko bahut galatfehmi hai apne youngsters ke baare mai, ek ke baad ek sabki aukaad dikhegi, ruko abhi. 

Agreed youngsters like Gill will not do anything great as it has been proved in last two WTC finals. Lot of geniuses here think Pandya is greater than Bradman.

But these old guys had their chances in last decade but they have lost all crucial matches. 

So it is time for a change. If we are losing we might as lose with youngsters so they can gain experience.

38 minutes ago, Adamant said:

For idiots who think we would have won if youngsters were selected x wait a while, you people will be shown your youngsters aukaad in the upcoming days. 

Tum aukaat pe bahut jaldi aa jaate ho

What was Kohli 's aukaat in the beginning of test career or Rohit's?

Not every youngster will perform consistently,if you have shortlisted 10-15 cricketers andeven if 1-2 come to their own that is enough

By the way ,IPL validated youngstwrs should be looked as T20 potentials not test specialists

It's the selectors who make bad choices be it selection or phasing out seniors at right time

Why do you get triggered when people talk about youngsters?

At some point,we have to start afresh?They fail or succeed doesn't bother fans,they will come and go ,much like seniors.

Growth rate of players is entire up to themselves.  It depends on drive from players they end up becoming either a Kambli or Tendulkar. We have talked about so many under-19 stars. Not everyone goes on to become stars. Unmukt chand is a case in point. Sometimes we don't discuss about certain players at all. They surprise us. We talked about Mavi/Nagarkoti/porel from 2018 batch. But guy who made rapid strides from that batch is Arshdeep singh. Now playing for first division county. Same way from Sarfraz/Pant/Kishan batch nobody talked about Sundar. I didn't even know about him until he was picked as a bowler. He produced clutch innings on his debut. Who is our next batting star? We have Gill/Jaiswal in that list. A complete new player can also surprise us. So let us not write off players. Kohli himself was kicked out before coming back into Test side. He was an instant success in ODI. But it took a while for him to do well in Tests.

21 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Growth rate of players is entire up to themselves.  It depends on drive from players they end up becoming either a Kambli or Tendulkar. We have talked about so many under-19 stars. Not everyone goes on to become stars. Unmukt chand is a case in point. Sometimes we don't discuss about certain players at all. They surprise us. We talked about Mavi/Nagarkoti/porel from 2018 batch. But guy who made rapid strides from that batch is Arshdeep singh. Now playing for first division county. Same way from Sarfraz/Pant/Kishan batch nobody talked about Sundar. I didn't even know about him until he was picked as a bowler. He produced clutch innings on his debut. Who is our next batting star? We have Gill/Jaiswal in that list. A complete new player can also surprise us. So let us not write off players. Kohli himself was kicked out before coming back into Test side. He was an instant success in ODI. But it took a while for him to do well in Tests.

Shaw isn't even Kambli level now. Kambli had a long FC with high avg, was a beast in home conditions (more so than Pshaw), and got discarded fast.

4 hours ago, Vijy said:

Shaw isn't even Kambli level now. Kambli had a long FC with high avg, was a beast in home conditions (more so than Pshaw), and got discarded fast.

Shaw's lack of discipline, lack of interest in taking the game to next level can be seen from his fitness. Gill showed signs. But seems like he got caught up in all the attention he is getting. Hope that is not the case. If he allows himself to be distracted we will be seeing another under-achiever in Gill. 

8 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Shaw's lack of discipline, lack of interest in taking the game to next level can be seen from his fitness. Gill showed signs. But seems like he got caught up in all the attention he is getting. Hope that is not the case. If he allows himself to be distracted we will be seeing another under-achiever in Gill. 

Gill is a flashy fellow. he seems to favor limelight more than putting in hard yards in tests. I expect him to become LOI great, but only decent in tests

19 hours ago, Adamant said:

And what about preparation for WTC, the Australian team which is way better than ours in English conditions was busy with WTC prep, some of them even played county cricket, OTOH we had the idiotic IPL. 

This is disrespect for test cricket and the results showed that. 

Bina practice kiye youngster Smith aur Labuschagne se better nahi ho jaenge. 

We needed prep time for WTC finals, if the main purpose of our cricket is IPL then we shouldn't be disappointed if we continue to lose these world tournaments. 

Indians ko bahut galatfehmi hai apne youngsters ke baare mai, ek ke baad ek sabki aukaad dikhegi, ruko abhi. 

I have to side with adamant here. I have no good opinion on most of these young Indian talents as well.

It's mostly funny to read comments like youngsters would have achieved in ICF. I don't think so.

10 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

You really should stop praising jaiswal based on his domestic/IPL form. For that matter any youngster.

International cricket is a different breed.

54 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

You really should stop praising jaiswal based on his domestic/IPL form. For that matter any youngster.

What have our maharathis done in last 5 yrs.. Zilch. If not for Pant and lower middle order we would have lost in Bangladesh and home series as well. 

26 minutes ago, Sgattick10 said:

What have our maharathis done in last 5 yrs.. Zilch. If not for Pant and lower middle order we would have lost in Bangladesh and home series as well. 

You missed the point. No one is defending seniors here. They should be thrown out.

But hyping the capabilities of young Indian players is akin to building sandcastles in the air.

13 hours ago, Stan AF said:

I have to side with adamant here. I have no good opinion on most of these young Indian talents as well.

It's mostly funny to read comments like youngsters would have achieved in ICF. I don't think so.

The youngsters maybe good or bad. 

But the issue is whether selection is being done based on merit ? And whether there are any repercussions of non-performance ?

We have a system now where 80% to 90% of the selections are done based on big names, irrespective of current form, ability and performance.

This is making the existing players too secure and they don't feel any real pressure to perform.

Choose the same names with serious repercussions if they don't perform ... and see the result.

Edited by express bowling
1 hour ago, express bowling said:

The youngsters maybe good or bad. 

But the issue is whether selection is being done based on merit ? And whether there are any repercussions of non-performance ?

We have a system now where 80% to 90% of the selections are done based on big names, irrespective of current form, ability and performance.

This is making the existing players too secure and they don't feel any real pressure to perform.

Choose the same names with serious repercussions if they don't perform ... and see the result.

big names get selected no matter what they do, and experience is used as a justify-all

20 hours ago, Stan AF said:

One should be ready to see failures coming with newcomers,

Rohit Sharma failed like forever,then after taking long long time started to show results

Jadeja too iiirc took good 5 years to show up

Ishant probably 6 years under good guidance

Change is natural process,you like it or not it has to take place

28 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

One should be ready to see failures coming with newcomers,

Rohit Sharma failed like forever,then after taking long long time started to show results

Jadeja too iiirc took good 5 years to show up

Ishant probably 6 years under good guidance

Change is natural process,you like it or not it has to take place

Brat didn't set the world on fire either, in his first 5-10 tests. people need at least that much of a rope, if not more