tweaker Posted August 7 Author Posted August 7 On 8/6/2026 at 12:05 AM, express bowling said: There is a lot of talk of Bhuvi and Shami playing WC 27. Yes , also senior cricketers have joined the bandwagon New guy 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 7 Posted August 7 Shami should be playing for India now, he played full ranji season with Bengal and took 37 wickets in 7 matches, far better than any Prasidh
The Hound Posted August 7 Posted August 7 Agarkar hasn't been a bad selector. His only two flaws I can think of is not giving sarfaraz a good enough run in tests and wasting time on Gill to make him a T20 opener with better options around. express bowling 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 7 Posted August 7 41 minutes ago, The Hound said: Agarkar hasn't been a bad selector. His only two flaws I can think of is not giving sarfaraz a good enough run in tests and wasting time on Gill to make him a T20 opener with better options around. He has been atrocious playing Prasidh over shami is criminal. Forcing Ashwin into retirement
tweaker Posted August 7 Author Posted August 7 58 minutes ago, The Hound said: Agarkar hasn't been a bad selector. His only two flaws I can think of is not giving sarfaraz a good enough run in tests and wasting time on Gill to make him a T20 opener with better options around. He completely surrendered to Gambhir & Gill and wasted precious matches on Reddy, Sundar etc. He completely ignored specialist and always selected 3,4 wicket keepers and allrounders. To completely ignore Sarfaraz,when we didn't had any batsman and Sundar, Reddy,Axar Jurel were preferred over him. We lost home series, lost to Australia and England.
express bowling Posted August 7 Posted August 7 14 minutes ago, tweaker said: We lost home series, lost to Australia and England. We drew test series IN England. Stuge and Lone Wolf 1 1
tweaker Posted August 7 Author Posted August 7 1 hour ago, express bowling said: We drew test series IN England. We could have won with some good selection
Stuge Posted August 7 Posted August 7 1 hour ago, express bowling said: We drew test series IN England. Aur kitni bezzati karwani hai ?
putrevus Posted August 7 Posted August 7 6 hours ago, tweaker said: Shami played Ranji , IPL and proved his fitness.Agarkar made it personal and didn't select Shami.Shami should have been selected in the squad and let coach and captain decide whether they play him in the 11. Unfit players are selected in the squad.Sai who is not fit is selected and even today no replacement is named and they are waiting for him to get fit. Why this royal treatment for selected players. Sarfaraz is critically ignored .What has he done that he can't be selected. Every dom dick and harry are selected except him He is not even considered for A team. Three wicket keeper,4 allrounders are selected in the playing 11. There is a clear bias for players representing GT and we can see numbers of players in squad. Even injured Bumrah is replaced but superstar Sai Sudharshan from GT may play on 1 leg. Shami does not deserve this nonsense. These bastards have screwed his and Sarfraz's careers. These two idiots are the worst coach and selector combo India ever had, they have personal agendas against players. Some players are overlooked sometimes , it happens all the time but these have been vindictive against players. It is not like they have unearthed any gems. Morons are hell bent on playing bits and pieces players everywhere, BacktoCricaddict, New guy and tweaker 1 2
govinda Posted August 7 Posted August 7 55 minutes ago, putrevus said: Shami does not deserve this nonsense. These bastards have screwed his and Sarfraz's careers. These two idiots are the worst coach and selector combo India ever had, they have personal agendas against players. Some players are overlooked sometimes , it happens all the time but these have been vindictive against players. It is not like they have unearthed any gems. Morons are hell bent on playing bits and pieces players everywhere, Aren't you same guy sucking kohli despite of him being avging 30 for five years
vvvslaxman Posted August 7 Posted August 7 3 hours ago, tweaker said: He completely surrendered to Gambhir & Gill and wasted precious matches on Reddy, Sundar etc. He completely ignored specialist and always selected 3,4 wicket keepers and allrounders. To completely ignore Sarfaraz,when we didn't had any batsman and Sundar, Reddy,Axar Jurel were preferred over him. We lost home series, lost to Australia and England. GT bias to be precise. Jay shah team.
Prabhdeep Singh Posted August 7 Posted August 7 I am not sure Ajit AGARKAR is the problem, I believe it is GG. AA can say under him 3 ICC Trophies won. GG will also say under him 2 ICC Trophies won. Everything was going swimmingly well for India until 2024 T20 WC win. Went downhill when GG became coach. GG seems quite bitter, miserable type, killjoy.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 8 Posted August 8 16 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: GT bias to be precise. Jay shah team. Jay bhai kahan se aa gaye ismein?
tweaker Posted August 8 Author Posted August 8 Sai Sudharshan is unfit,but still a replacement is not selected. Why are they waiting for Sai to get fit. Who would be responsible if he gets injured during the test.
tweaker Posted August 8 Author Posted August 8 13 Indian players part of the BCCI setup/future plans are currently undergoing injury rehabilitation at the Centre of Excellence in Bengaluru: Hardik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Harshit Rana, Sai Sudharsan, Washington Sundar Akash Deep, Riyan Parag, Varun Chakaravarthy, Suyash Sharma Ashok Sharma, Himanshu Singh, Yudhveer Singh
express bowling Posted August 8 Posted August 8 (edited) 8 hours ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: Everything was going swimmingly well for India until 2024 T20 WC win. How ? In white ball cricket, starting 2014, we could not win 8 ICC events [ 3 ODI WC, 4 T20I WC, 1 CT ]. Could not even make it to the finals in 5 of them in a sport with only around 4 good teams at any point in time. [ While we have won 3 ICC events from 2024 to 2026 ] Even in tests, after a golden away period from late 2018 to mid 2021 [ when we defeated Australia in Australia twice in 2018-19, 2020-21 and was leading 2-1 in England ] .... we lost in SA in early 2022, lost the only test in Eng in mid 2022, lost WTC Finals in mid 2021 and mid 2023. The decline process had started in tests in early 2022 itself, primarily due to poor succession management of aging players who were leaving or about to leave. And it percolated to home tests in 2024, 2025. While we did draw 2 away series in SA 2023, Eng 2025. To me, the real bummer was the home test 0-2 loss to SA in 2025, which needs strong introspection as we had a decently settled test team then. Edited August 8 by express bowling singhvivek141, rollingstoned and Suhaan 3
Prabhdeep Singh Posted August 8 Posted August 8 (edited) 1 hour ago, express bowling said: How ? In white ball cricket, starting 2014, we could not win 8 ICC events [ 3 ODI WC, 4 T20I WC, 1 CT ]. Could not even make it to the finals in 5 of them in a sport with only around 4 good teams at any point in time. [ While we have won 3 ICC events from 2024 to 2026 ] Even in tests, after a golden away period from late 2018 to mid 2021 [ when we defeated Australia in Australia twice in 2018-19, 2020-21 and was leading 2-1 in England ] .... we lost in SA in early 2022, lost the only test in Eng in mid 2022, lost WTC Finals in mid 2021 and mid 2023. The decline process had started in tests in early 2022 itself, primarily due to poor succession management of aging players who were leaving or about to leave. And it percolated to home tests in 2024, 2025. While we did draw 2 away series in SA 2023, Eng 2025. To me, the real bummer was the home test 0-2 loss to SA in 2025, which needs strong introspection as we had a decently settled test team then. For me Test Cricket is the most important along with ICC trophies. From 2013, major gains and losses: From Feb 2013-Sep 2024 India won 18 Test Series at home in a row. Won 2 test series in Australia (2019 & 2021). Drew test series in England in 2021/22. Drew test series in SA in 2024. 2 WTC Finals in 2021 & 2023. 1 T20 WC Final in 2014. 1 ODI WC Final in 2023. 1 CT Final in 2017. Won ODI CT in 2013. Won 2024 T20 WC which broke the curse of not winning ICC events. ——————————————————- Since Gambhir became coach, major gains and losses. Lost Test Series 3-0 at home vs NZ in 2024. Lost Test Series 2-0 at home vs SA in 2025. Drew test series in England in 2025 Won ODI CT in 2025. Won T20 WC in 2026. Honestly, 2 test series losses at home are the major issues under Gambhir. India losing at home was very rare. Edited August 8 by Prabhdeep Singh tweaker 1
express bowling Posted August 8 Posted August 8 (edited) 1 hour ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: For me Test Cricket is the most important along with ICC trophies. From 2013, major gains and losses: From Feb 2013-Sep 2024 India won 18 Test Series at home in a row. Won 2 test series in Australia (2019 & 2021). Drew test series in England in 2021/22. Drew test series in SA in 2024. 2 WTC Finals in 2021 & 2023. 1 T20 WC Final in 2014. 1 ODI WC Final in 2023. 1 CT Final in 2017. Won ODI CT in 2013. Won 2024 T20 WC which broke the curse of not winning ICC events. ——————————————————- In a sport with only 4 to 5 strong teams, Final appearances don't mean a lot unless it is in addition to trophy wins. 8 ICC Trophy losses, including 7 World Cups in a row in 10 years, is poor in white ball cricket. And as I said, end 2018 to mid 2021 was the best ever era for us in our test match history. 2 test series wins IN Australia is probably tougher and bigger than ODI WC win. But we did not try to build on this by bringing in high ceiling players to replace or create backups for the aging big names. And we suffered due to this in the coming years. 1 hour ago, Prabhdeep Singh said: Since Gambhir became coach, major gains and losses. Lost Test Series 3-0 at home vs NZ in 2024. Lost Test Series 2-0 at home vs SA in 2025. Drew test series in England in 2025 Won ODI CT in 2025. Won T20 WC in 2026. Honestly, 2 test series losses at home are the major issues under Gambhir. India losing at home was very rare. So we see that GG is excellent in white ball ICC trophies .... ok in away tests .... pathetic in tests in India. Shastri was the opposite. Excellent in tests outside Asia .. good in home tests ... poor in ICC tournaments. While Dravid was excellent in batsman selection and development .... pathetic in developing high ceiling pacers. Everyone has their strengths and weaknesses. Edited August 8 by express bowling
vvvslaxman Posted August 8 Posted August 8 23 minutes ago, express bowling said: In a sport with only 4 to 5 strong teams, Final appearances don't mean a lot unless it is in addition to trophy wins. 8 ICC Trophy losses, including 7 World Cups in a row in 10 years, is poor in white ball cricket. And as I said, end 2018 to mid 2021 was the best ever era for us in our test match history. 2 test series wins IN Australia is probably tougher and bigger than ODI WC win. But we did not try to build on this by bringing in high ceiling players to replace or create backups for the aging big names. And we suffered due to this in the coming years. So we see that GG is excellent in white ball ICC trophies .... ok in away tests .... pathetic in tests in India. Shastri was the opposite. Excellent in tests outside Asia .. good in home tests ... poor in ICC tournaments. While Dravid was excellent in batsman selection and development .... pathetic in developing high ceiling pacers. Everyone has their strengths and weaknesses. India's problem was often the no.3,4,5 during this phase. From 2020-2023 Indian no.3,4,5 was one of the worst in the world.