Hardik Pandya vs Irfan Pathan

Suhaan

8 hours ago, raki05 said:

Be my guest to pull out their stats and see how much competition they have in their own team for allrounder spot. BTW Pandya cant replace most of these players on these respective teams. Heck even sam curran won a t20 wc for his team.

Yes Sam Curran won a T20 wc for his team but Rohit and Kohli haven't. Sam Curran must be a better player then.

8 hours ago, raki05 said:

Lets see what he does in his 4th icc wc (2 t20 and 1 wc already played) . We have many biletral bullies but lets see his performance in 23 wc where team play their premier players.

Pandya has two ICC tournaments knockout performances already. 

He is better in ICC tournaments than

1. KL Rahul

2. Ravindra Jadeja

3. SKY

4. Better than Rohit( in WT20s)

5. Better than Kohli( in ODI WC)

6. Bumrah

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

1. KL Rahul

2. Ravindra Jadeja

3. SKY

6. Bumrah

that's not true. Only Rahul and SKY

Jaddu has 2013 CT and Counter attacking innings in 2019 semi.

Rohit was brilliant in 2007 WT20 including knockouts and also played a good knock in 2016 semi.

Kohli has innings in CT 2013 Final,very important 35 in 2011 Finals and other performances in WT20 knockouts (2014 semis & Finals,2016 knockouts v Aus and WI)

Pandya has one innings when the game was lost and opposition was bowling part timers. They still won by 180 runs. Other where he took a well below par score to still below par. Can still consider this but both low impact performances like Rohit's 79 v Aus in 2010 WT20 (I didn't consider it above even though it was must win). With ball two he was hardly anything great.

1 hour ago, Majestic said:

Yes Sam Curran won a T20 wc for his team but Rohit and Kohli haven't. Sam Curran must be a better player then.

Rohit has. And winning is team result. Kohli did his best in 2014 and 2016. Same performance for any good team would win. Sam just plays for a better team.

2 minutes ago, Lord said:

that's not true. Only Rahul and SKY

Jaddu has 2013 CT and Counter attacking innings in 2019 semi.

Rohit was brilliant in 2007 WT20 including knockouts and also played a good knock in 2016 semi.

Kohli has innings in CT 2013 Final,very important 35 in 2011 Finals and other performances in WT20 knockouts (2014 semis & Finals,2016 knockouts v Aus and WI)

Pandya has one innings when the game was lost and opposition was bowling part timers. They still won by 180 runs. Other where he took a well below par score to still below par. Can still consider this but both low impact performances like Rohit's 79 v Aus in 2010 WT20 (I didn't consider it above even though it was must win). With ball two he was hardly anything great.

Pandya also produced an all round performance vs Pakistan in T20 World Cup. Rohit after 50 T20 games has performed in 1-2 games. That's hardly count for anything.

1 minute ago, Lord said:

Rohit has. And winning is team result. Kohli did his best in 2014 and 2016. Same performance for any good team would win. Sam just plays for a better team.

That's exactly what I am trying to convince others. Just that I am giving random names as example. The part in bold pretty much closes the conversation.

9 minutes ago, Majestic said:

Pandya also produced an all round performance vs Pakistan in T20 World Cup. Rohit after 50 T20 games has performed in 1-2 games. That's hardly count for anything.

That wasn't a knockout game. If we consider league games v Pak, Rohit has many more.

19 hours ago, Majestic said:

Kohli has been man of the tournament in 2 t20 wc and Rohit has scored 5 centuries in last 50 over wc with highest run scorer in single wc. Pandya ne kya ukhada hai in his 4 icc tournaments which he played i am listening……… ..

19 hours ago, Majestic said:

1. KL Rahul

2. Ravindra Jadeja

3. SKY

6. Bumrah

What performance , as said before 17 ct performance was completely useless as pak was taking it lightly with zaman and shadab bowling . Even in wt20 he only started playing in last 2-3 over on ultra flat pitch but i can give you that. You are just beating around bush he is not better than any of the above players and same as kela.As most of these have dominated one or the other format, Pandya never dominated anything he is just bits and pieces. Comparing him to bumrah, kohli and rohit kind of players just shows that you dont have anything to showcase and you are pickings up some random stuff.

9 hours ago, Majestic said:

1.Pandya is a superior player in ICC tournaments than Bumrah.

2. Pandya is a superior WT20 player than Rohit.

3. Pandya is a superior ODI WC player than Kohli.

No.3 ?in which parallel universe?

Copy and paste - from an old post (Sir Don Pandya is one his way to set a new benchmark for KO games for India):

Btw, since some folks are mentioning Yuvi, who debuted in 2000, below is his performance in KO WC games: 

• 2003 ODI SF v Kenya: No
  • 2003 ODI F v Aus: No 
  • 2007 T20 SF v Aus: Yes 
  • 2007 T20 F v Pak: No 
  • 2011 ODI QF v Aus: Yes 
  • 2011 ODI SF v Pak: No 
  • 2011 ODI F v SL: -  
  • 2014 T20 SF v SA: No
  • 2014 T20 F v SL: No 

If this is supposed to be India's "benchmark" in World Cup KOs - that is like 2 performances (that too against only 1 team - Aus) in 8 opportunities, considering the final v SL where he remained not out scoring a 20 odd when Ind was in control as a draw for him ... Ind failed to reach KOs in 2007 ODIs, 2009 T20s, 2010 T20s, & 2012 T20s. 

I think players like Sir Don should seek to set a new benchmark, and he is already on his way: 

• 2019 ODI SF v NZ: Yes (helped Ind to avoid a further collapse by stitching p'ships) 
  • 2022 T20 SF v ENG: Yes (60 odd runs)

That already equals Yuvi's (and in just 2 appearances and against 2 different teams)! 

On 8/30/2023 at 11:01 PM, Majestic said:

1.Pandya is a superior player in ICC tournaments than Bumrah.

2. Pandya is a superior WT20 player than Rohit.

3. Pandya is a superior ODI WC player than Kohli.

You have unleashed the karken now. Look what you did!!! No more defending is required from you.

The hate this guy gets is unbelievable . He is probably the fittest guy in the squad( Rohit's Yoyo score?)  Is the only one even close to being a genuine allrounder.  

Rises to the occasion against top sides.  CT 2017 vs Pakistan,  vs England in England last year,  Asia Cup match last year vs Pakistan, Semifinal vs England last year.  Only seamer who turned up vs Australia in the ODI series decider earlier this year.

Yeah he's probably not the smartest captain and he's probably not the greatest role model for kids or whatever but I'd take this guy over 10 Fraudejas, KL's,  Thakur's etc.  Even Rohit and especially Kohli ain't all that since 2020.

On 9/4/2023 at 12:25 PM, Nikhil_cric said:

The hate this guy gets is unbelievable . He is probably the fittest guy in the squad( Rohit's Yoyo score?)  Is the only one even close to being a genuine allrounder.  

Rises to the occasion against top sides.  CT 2017 vs Pakistan,  vs England in England last year,  Asia Cup match last year vs Pakistan, Semifinal vs England last year.  Only seamer who turned up vs Australia in the ODI series decider earlier this year.

Yeah he's probably not the smartest captain and he's probably not the greatest role model for kids or whatever but I'd take this guy over 10 Fraudejas, KL's,  Thakur's etc.  Even Rohit and especially Kohli ain't all that since 2020.

rises to the occasion? 

That useless innings against Pakistani part timers? 

Already shat his pants in every important match

2021 t20 wc vs pak

2022 t20 wc vs pak

2019 sf

2016 t20 sf

2021 t20 wc vs nz

The whole 2019 world cup. 

1 hour ago, Adamant said:

rises to the occasion? 

That useless innings against Pakistani part timers? 

Already shat his pants in every important match

2021 t20 wc vs pak

2022 t20 wc vs pak

2019 sf

2016 t20 sf

2021 t20 wc vs nz

The whole 2019 world cup. 

World T20 2021 match vs Pakistan.

KL 3 off 8, Rohit Sharma duck. Kohli 57 off 49 - an absolutely pathetic stat padding knock.  SKY 11 of 8, Hardik pandya 11 off 8 

But Hardik shat his pants, apparently.

World T20 2022 vs Pakistan

3/30 with the ball to remove the lower middle order when the rest of the new ball bowlers couldn't do jack after the ball stopped moving.  Stayed with Kohli while the rest of the rockstars  - KL, Rohit, SKY all flopped and scored not more than 15.

2019 WC Semifinal.

Sir, we were 27/4 after 10 overs. Everybody flopped except friggin Jadeja. Dhoni could not bend down to take a low catch of Ross Taylor early in the innings. Rohit dropped Neesham off of Hardik's bowling and Kohli was helping NZ with overthrows.  

He was neither the worst bowler (Chahal) or the worst batter(DK) in that match. And he was playing while injured

2016 Semifinal

His first 3 overs were fine. Got smashed in his last over and what about the other bowlers?  Why was Fraudeja even selected for that World T20 despite that pathetic IPL he had the year before?  He was the worst bowler that night.

2021 WT20 vs NZ

You've got to be trolling at this point.  Ishan Kishan 4 off 8, Kohli 9 off 17, Pant 12 off 19 and Hardik 23 off 24 is why we lost? Also bowled better than Shami, Thakur and Fraudeja.

2019 World Cup as a whole

Batting stats

Hardik Pandya  - Average 32 , Strike rate - 112

KL Rahul - Average 45 Strike Rate - 77

Kedar Jadhav - Average 40, Strike Rate - 80

Rishabh Pant - 29/89

Vijay Shankar - 29/77

Karthik - 7/41 :)))

Bowling stats

Hardik Pandya - Avg 44.7, Economy - 5.65 

Kuldeep Yadav - Average - 56.16, Economy - 5.02

Yuzvendra Chahal - Average - 36.83, Economy rate - 5.95

As I've constantly said on this forum, we lost that Cup for having 2 extra wicket-keepers(undercooked Pant and useless DK)

and playing the extra specialist spinner instead of an extra fast bowler.

9 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

World T20 2021 match vs Pakistan.

KL 3 off 8, Rohit Sharma duck. Kohli 57 off 49 - an absolutely pathetic stat padding knock.  SKY 11 of 8, Hardik pandya 11 off 8 

But Hardik shat his pants, apparently.

World T20 2022 vs Pakistan

3/30 with the ball to remove the lower middle order when the rest of the new ball bowlers couldn't do jack after the ball stopped moving.  Stayed with Kohli while the rest of the rockstars  - KL, Rohit, SKY all flopped and scored not more than 15.

2019 WC Semifinal.

Sir, we were 27/4 after 10 overs. Everybody flopped except friggin Jadeja. Dhoni could not bend down to take a low catch of Ross Taylor early in the innings. Rohit dropped Neesham off of Hardik's bowling and Kohli was helping NZ with overthrows.  

He was neither the worst bowler (Chahal) or the worst batter(DK) in that match. And he was playing while injured

2016 Semifinal

His first 3 overs were fine. Got smashed in his last over and what about the other bowlers?  Why was Fraudeja even selected for that World T20 despite that pathetic IPL he had the year before?  He was the worst bowler that night.

2021 WT20 vs NZ

You've got to be trolling at this point.  Ishan Kishan 4 off 8, Kohli 9 off 17, Pant 12 off 19 and Hardik 23 off 24 is why we lost? Also bowled better than Shami, Thakur and Fraudeja.

2019 World Cup as a whole

Batting stats

Hardik Pandya  - Average 32 , Strike rate - 112

KL Rahul - Average 45 Strike Rate - 77

Kedar Jadhav - Average 40, Strike Rate - 80

Rishabh Pant - 29/89

Vijay Shankar - 29/77

Karthik - 7/41 :)))

Bowling stats

Hardik Pandya - Avg 44.7, Economy - 5.65 

Kuldeep Yadav - Average - 56.16, Economy - 5.02

Yuzvendra Chahal - Average - 36.83, Economy rate - 5.95

As I've constantly said on this forum, we lost that Cup for having 2 extra wicket-keepers(undercooked Pant and useless DK)

and playing the extra specialist spinner instead of an extra fast bowler.

Here we go now, lets analyse your logic. 

Kohli's 57 of 49 was an absolutely pathetic knock (when others actually shat their pants) while Pandya's 39 off 35 was a good supporting knock. 

Please don't embarrass yourself, I am not the kind of person you can fool so easily. 

Anyone who understands cricket and is not being intellectually dishonest will realize that Kohli's innings was a good knock while Pandya's knock was pathetic (even dk and Ashwin could have played run a ball in a freaking t20). 

Secondly just because others failed doesn't give Pandya a license to fail. 

Now coming onto your Nz point - 

I am not saying Pandya is the reason we lost, I said Pandya failed and 23 of 24 in a t20 match is pathetic, so what do you not agree with? He failed, period. 

Why are you even comparing him with Jadeja, who said he isn't better than Jadeja in lois? 

The point is that he has failed in important matches quite often and doesn't actually rise to the occasion (something which you said)

Semifinal vs Nz was again a pathetic innings, the ball had stopped doing much and that guy still played a test innings similar to Dhoni. 

Basically you are saying he is hetter than Jadeja and that most other players also failed, which I agree with. 

My point still stands, Pandya hardly rises to the occasion. 

The only good innings he has played in an important match is his 60 odd vs Eng, which again came in a matvh losing cause, so basically he hasn't played a single match winning knock in any important match. 

Kohli, Sharma, Jadeja have all done better than him in important matches. 

20 minutes ago, Adamant said:

Here we go now, lets analyse your logic. 

Kohli's 57 of 49 was an absolutely pathetic knock (when others actually shat their pants) while Pandya's 39 off 35 was a good supporting knock. 

Please don't embarrass yourself, I am not the kind of person you can fool so easily. 

Anyone who understands cricket and is not being intellectually dishonest will realize that Kohli's innings was a good knock while Pandya's knock was pathetic (even dk and Ashwin could have played run a ball in a freaking t20). 

Secondly just because others failed doesn't give Pandya a license to fail. 

Now coming onto your Nz point - 

I am not saying Pandya is the reason we lost, I said Pandya failed and 23 of 24 in a t20 match is pathetic, so what do you not agree with? He failed, period. 

Why are you even comparing him with Jadeja, who said he isn't better than Jadeja in lois? 

The point is that he has failed in important matches quite often and doesn't actually rise to the occasion (something which you said)

Semifinal vs Nz was again a pathetic innings, the ball had stopped doing much and that guy still played a test innings similar to Dhoni. 

Basically you are saying he is hetter than Jadeja and that most other players also failed, which I agree with. 

My point still stands, Pandya hardly rises to the occasion. 

The only good innings he has played in an important match is his 60 odd vs Eng, which again came in a matvh losing cause, so basically he hasn't played a single match winning knock in any important match. 

Kohli, Sharma, Jadeja have all done better than him in important matches. 

Word salad. I said the hate he gets is disproportionate to the number of times he has actually risen to the occasion.

Jadeja has not done anything in over 10 years except that NZ semifinal. Which important match has he performed and , according to your criteria, won for India? Which match winning knock in knockout since yu don't accept Pandya's knock in the SF?

What about Kohli? Which match winning knock in a knockout since that is your criteria?  2014 Semifinal vs SA. After that, we haven't even beaten good teams in knockouts in any format.

You are holding Pandya to standards that nobody in the lineup can measure up to.  You are being intellectually dishonest, showing a clear lack of understanding of the game and a clear bias.

Edited by Nikhil_cric
3 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said:

Word salad. I said the hate he gets is disproportionate to the number of times he has actually risen to the occasion.

Jadeja has not done anything in over 10 years except that NZ semifinal. Which important match has he performed and , according to your criteria, won for India? Which match winning knock in knockout since yu don't accept Pandya's knock in the SF?

What about Kohli? Which match winning knock in a knockout since that is your criteria?  2014 Semifinal vs SA. After that, we haven't even beaten good teams in knockouts in any format.

You are holding Pandya to standards that nobody in the lineup can measure up to.  You are being intellectually dishonest, showing a clear lack of understanding of the game and a clear bias.

You said that he rises to the occasion, while I showed you he doesn't and everyone else has played better match winning knocks in important games. 

As for Kohli - 2014 t20 wc semis

2013 CT semis

2013 Ct finals

2016 - virtual quarter vs Aus

2017 ct semifinal vs Ban

2017 virtual quarter vs South Africa

2022 t20 wc vs pak

Even Jadeja has that match winning knock in CT finals vs Eng. 

Pandya has absolutely nothing. 

So, no he doesn't rise to the occasion, if others are choker, then he is even worse.