Mumbai Indians Resurgence Thread. MI fans of the world, unite, on this official fan thread.

Mi is a v.strong and balance side.

But what happened to them, at one time they were know for scouting the best talents -- Bhurah and Pandaya, they are world class, even verma (though he has limitations)

Even making Rohit the captain was a good move what happened snce then??? No new high ceiling talent -- they get players like ashwini or raju who look like club-level players..

Are they just buying the best player and apart from that just filling the slots???

22 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

csk bowling is actually getting better now

khaleel .. i never liked him even when he was playing for :hs: 

limited useless bowler who cant bat or field ( aka kuldeep level )

overton is a surprise , noor started doing well ..

lets see

6 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Mi is a v.strong and balance side.

But what happened to them, at one time they were know for scouting the best talents -- Bhurah and Pandaya, they are world class, even verma (though he has limitations)

Even making Rohit the captain was a good move what happened snce then??? No new high ceiling talent -- they get players like ashwini or raju who look like club-level players..

Are they just buying the best player and apart from that just filling the slots???

MI clearly lacks a proper spinner. This is a big weaklink in the squad. Allah Gazanfar is there but he isn't a big upgrade for Santner because Santner is significantly better fileder and can score way mroe runs than Allah Gazanfar scores.

MI has big names and costly ones on roster. Rohit Sharma, SKY, Hardik Pandya, Tilak Verma, Jasprit Bumrah consume so much of the purse. Not enough remains to get spinners who demand 8 crores or more as the bidding proceeds. They have to get do with Allah Gazanfar and other cheap spinners.

42 minutes ago, crictime said:

MI clearly lacks a proper spinner. This is a big weaklink in the squad. Allah Gazanfar is there but he isn't a big upgrade for Santner because Santner is significantly better fileder and can score way mroe runs than Allah Gazanfar scores.

MI has big names and costly ones on roster. Rohit Sharma, SKY, Hardik Pandya, Tilak Verma, Jasprit Bumrah consume so much of the purse. Not enough remains to get spinners who demand 8 crores or more as the bidding proceeds. They have to get do with Allah Gazanfar and other cheap spinners.

We lack a proper spinner, but that isn't the reason we are a poor side.

Trent Boult and Shardul are such poor pacers that it increases the pressure on Bumrah. It also means the change in bowling which is generally Markande or Ghaznafar are introduced earlier than they should ie in PP and get tonked.

I know Shardul won us some test match in Australia, but he really has to go.

Ditto Boult. Just occupies an overseas players spot. 

Edited by Mariyam

SKY must be feeling what I do when my husband takes me on long drives. 

"Oh I am so lucky to be in this set up"

Complete passenger princess. No batting. No fielding. 

:mi: should drop him at the earliest.

Ro Sha, Tilak and Bumrah will turn good.

I have tickets for the game tomorrow vs Punjab and for the first  time in my life I'm undecided if I should go or not.

Insipid performances so far. The Indian stars are all coming off a massive WC home win and don't take this tournament seriously enough. 

1 hour ago, crictime said:

46 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

We lack a proper spinner, but that isn't the reason we are a poor side.

Trent Boult and Shardul are such poor pacers that it increases the pressure on Bumrah. It also means the change in bowling which is generally Markande or Ghaznafar are introduced earlier than they should ie in PP and get tonked.

I know Shardul won us some test match in Australia, but he really has to go.

Ditto Boult. Just occupies an overseas players spot. 

Mi does not really need multiple high quality spinners , the home ground does not assists the spinners that much. 

MI has build a side which is like a championship winning side, this is what you need to win IPL. high % of top Ind Intnls , top overseas players in key slots.

Think the time is up for rohit , sky, thakur, markande, chahar.  They need Vaibhav/Arya/Abhishek kind of openers, the ground is becoming 250+ runs ground and for that they donot have the batting to score such runs, specifically opening.

Their scouting has dipped , they are just picking players who are kind of big names and fill rest of the slots with any1.

They had all the big next t20 players warming the benches now they are doing well with other team or have developed into t20 stars-- Tim david, Brevis, Stubbs

2 hours ago, tapandrun said:

Mi does not really need multiple high quality spinners , the home ground does not assists the spinners that much. 

MI has build a side which is like a championship winning side, this is what you need to win IPL. high % of top Ind Intnls , top overseas players in key slots.

Think the time is up for rohit , sky, thakur, markande, chahar.  They need Vaibhav/Arya/Abhishek kind of openers, the ground is becoming 250+ runs ground and for that they donot have the batting to score such runs, specifically opening.

Their scouting has dipped , they are just picking players who are kind of big names and fill rest of the slots with any1.

They had all the big next t20 players warming the benches now they are doing well with other team or have developed into t20 stars-- Tim david, Brevis, Stubbs

MI does not has even 1 high quality spinner. None of Mitchell Santner, Allah Ghazanfar and Mayank Markande are in that category. MI needs to get  1. A spinner is essential for all 14 matches, which is the bare minimum every team plays until playoffs.

I agree about the point that MI is left behind in the opening batsmen partnerships. Look at strike rate at which PBKS, RR, SRH play and the strike rate at which MI openers have batted in last 3 seasons.

21 minutes ago, crictime said:

MI does not has even 1 high quality spinner. None of Mitchell Santner, Allah Ghazanfar and Mayank Markande are in that category. MI needs to get  1. A spinner is essential for all 14 matches, which is the bare minimum every team plays until playoffs.

I agree about the point that MI is left behind in the opening batsmen partnerships. Look at strike rate at which PBKS, RR, SRH play and the strike rate at which MI openers have batted in last 3 seasons.

Santner and Ghazanfar both are good spinners, its just they are not getting wkts rgt now. This can happen , till last season it looked like rashid is done, this season Varun looks like done, bishnoi last season was going above 10 rpo. PPl were thinking why csk is picking noor before last game. ques were on shivang before he took 3/4 wkts

Its v.hard these days and then add MI home ground to it  these days you pick your team on ability as there is no surety what will be the out-come. You pick proper t20 openers and hope they play well, you pick batters with high sr vs pace and spin and ability to access both off and leg-sides.

Similarly pick bowlers with x-factor- mystery/wrist spin, bit more pace and bounce in case of pacer and white-ball skills

Edited by tapandrun
6 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

Santner and Ghazanfar both are good spinners, its just they are not getting wkts rgt now. This can happen , till last season it looked like rashid is done, this season Varun looks like done, bishnoi last season was going above 10 rpo. PPl were thinking why csk is picking noor before last game. ques were on shivang before he took 3/4 wkts

Its v.hard these days and then add MI home ground to it  these days you pick your team on ability as there is no surety what will be the out-come. You pick proper t20 openers and hope they play well, you pick batters with high sr vs pace and spin and ability to access both off and leg-sides.

Similarly pick bowlers with x-factor- mystery/wrist spin, bit more pace and bounce in case of pacer and white-ball skills

Santner does not takes even a wicket every game. He is there because he provides good fielding and can score 30 runs on his day and lengtehns the batting. 

Rashid Khan has detoriorated but he picked wickets for many seasons. Santner has not even had one good season with the ball alone.  

19 IPL seasons yet MI team does not has a team song here. Just not done. Itne saal kya ho raha tha.  Releasing one here for MI fans. Lets sing.

Wankhede ke Sitaare

Samundar ka shor hai
Dil me humare
Wankhede ke lights me 
chamke sitare

Blue and gold ki
yeh legacy puraani
paanch baar likhi humne
jeet ki kahani
kahani kahani
Just great
yeh Mumbai ka flow
hard work hi success 
ka hai siddha glow
ek family ek jaan
maidan me dushman hairan
har baal pe dikahte hum apna imaan
Mumbai Indians
Jeetenge hum shaan se
Mumbai Indians
Maidano me jaan se
Mumbai Mumbai

Shor machao
Dil se chaillao
Indians ka zanda tum lehrao
Pressure me play
hum karte nahi fail
opponent ki team 
ko hum karte hai jail
Rohit ke vision ka power
Indians ka hi hai yeh golden hour 
from the streets
to the stands
loyalty peak
bhi winning ki bhasha hum karte hai speak
zero se hero 
tak ka safar hai bhari
Indians ki sena hai sab pa hai bhaari
Mumbai Indians jitenge hum shaan se
Mumbai Indians
Maidano me jaan se
Mumbai Mumbai

Shor machao
Dil se chaillao
Indians ka zanda tum lehrao
Blue and gold
Dil se jaan se
Indians Indians
Humara ghar
Wankhede ka har Parivar
Mumbai Indians lets go
Hamari baari hai
Champions !!

Another humiliating and embarassing defeat loading. Cannot win with this laaloo bowling line up

embarassment of a frnachise with so many indian national team players in the squad

Pandya captaincy is extremely insipid. MI needs an emergency surgery to fix their problems. Bandaids are not going to work. They need to replace Pandya with SKY as captain ASAP.

Then they need to give confidence to players like Tilak to bat at their natural batting position. 

They have to drop bowlers like Chahar and Shardul who are run gifting machines. Take a leaf from SRH book and give some uncapped bowlers/ all rounders chances. At the moment, they can't really be worse than Chahar and Shardul. 

All this started based on the under the table 100cr deal to bring Pandu back and guarantee him captaincy.

what a dumb think tank of tendulkar jayawardene pollard malinga etc thinking trundle chahar and thakur will work in big 2026

On 4/15/2026 at 4:38 PM, Mariyam said:

I have tickets for the game tomorrow vs Punjab and for the first  time in my life I'm undecided if I should go or not.

Insipid performances so far. The Indian stars are all coming off a massive WC home win and don't take this tournament seriously enough. 

I am so glad that I didn’t go!