Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

Just now, coffee_rules said:

2 medals in one day, one silver too. But why does life feel adhura adhura sa. Aaj to khush hona chahiye. 

Switch off X. Think calmly, logically. This was India's best day in this Olympics. 

Don't care what others feel. For me a hockey bronze is worth way more than any shooting/archery/equestrian/artistic XYZ/breakdancing/skateboarding/climbing gold.

I will take one hockey bronze over 20 gold medals in such obscure sports. Place in table be damned. 

Just now, coffee_rules said:

2 medals in one day, one silver too. But why does life feel adhura adhura sa. Aaj to khush hona chahiye. 

1) 'Arshad Nadeem' outplaying N Chopra.  2) Pak finishing ahead of Ind in an olympics. 

1 hour ago, Sgattick10 said:

Do you have anyone at jansher khan level? 

Jahangir khan was better. Idk about the current crop. I think Humzah Khan has potential, he’s only 18.

Last olympics, a bronze in hockey felt like a Gold.  This year's semis was a heartbreaker,  couldn't post after that match.  After that initial bronze, and a great chance to get in the finals, you feel disappointed.  Nonetheless, good one on the bronze.   Back to back medals in hockey after a long time. 

Hockey is my game after cricket. Hockey at the olympics has a lot of prestige. Back to back medals hold a lot of value.

Edited by vice
1 minute ago, RizBarKhan said:

Jahangir khan was better. Idk about the current crop. I think Humzah Khan has potential, he’s only 18.

Didn’t India beat Pak in squash at commonwealth games? I remember Pak beat India in first round and was bragging online and then India came back and beat them in finals. 

Just now, maniac said:

One thing for sure, Neeraj has a fire in his eyes under the calm demeanor. He will give you another guaranteed medal next Olympics. He is also going to touch 90s, watch. Re-visit this post next Olympics. 

yeah. maybe even gold. javelin throwers can go upto early 30s.

1 hour ago, deathmonger said:

heritage was also there in hockey.

We came close to qualifying the last couple of times, next time we should make it. It’s still the national sport of Pakistan.

Edited by RizBarKhan
11 minutes ago, Aiden said:

Most Indian Muslims support Pakistan over India. Nothing new

Bhai woh to Imane khelif ko bhi support kar rahe hain . Unko to bas muslim dikhta hai

If this win by Arshad motivates a few thousand kids to pick up javelin or any other sport, instead of hate literature, machetes, guns and bombs, this is a victory for not just Pakistan but all of humankind. 

Like how wrestling/MMA took Dagestan and Chechnya from war/violence ravaged places to sporting centres (people there are still extreme in their views but a lot of that aggression/anger is channeled to combat sports instead of jihad, wasn't the case in 90s).

Just now, maniac said:

Didn’t India beat Pak in squash at commonwealth games? I remember Pak beat India in first round and was bragging online and then India came back and beat them in finals. 

current pak squash is poor.

they keep getting defeated by ind and ind themselves are not good.

plus ofc another thing - no women's, mixed team.

Just now, RizBarKhan said:

We came close to qualifying the last couple of times, next time we should make it. It’s still the national sport of Pakistan.

you literally didn't the last 3 times? as well as the last wc

like malaysia, korea, japan are better teams on an asian level and even they are poor.

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Switch off X. Think calmly, logically. This was India's best day in this Olympics. 

Don't care what others feel. For me a hockey bronze is worth way more than any shooting/archery/equestrian/artistic XYZ/breakdancing/skateboarding/climbing gold.

I will take one hockey bronze over 20 gold medals in such obscure sports. Place in table be damned. 

Not on X as much anyway. Repeating Hockey medal is right up there. It gets very competitive at that level. That is indeed worth in gold. Also, place be damned, I go by American method of total medals. Reaching 6 will be reaching our 2nd best performance . I figured I was sad by expecting gold for Neeraj as sureshot because he came first even in qualifying round . But he came second to an Olympic record eventually 

Just now, Singh bling said:

Bhai woh to Imane khelif ko bhi support kar rahe hain . Unko to bas muslim dikhta hai

Yeah surprisingly  same Imane Khelif in a lot of Islamic countries would be stoned to death .I thought Algeria was one of those super conservative countries but impressive they are this progressive.

1 minute ago, deathmonger said:

you literally didn't the last 3 times? as well as the last wc

like malaysia, korea, japan are better teams on an asian level and even they are poor.

Just a bad phase for Pakistan but we will eventually come back. Already have 4 world cups and 3 Olympic gold medals, we are in our Dallas cowboys phase.