3 hours ago, G_B_ said:

I am also keen to see which way the dems vote in the house.

H1b is one issue which unites many dems and republicans. (Either pro or against).

If a sizable number of dems do side with the gov, then its clear indian americans in no mans land.

Their country. Their choice. One of the challenges for us is to come to terms with the fact that last 70 years was an anomaly. An exception. Not a rule. Globalization was an experiment unlike any and it worked as long as America was sole superpower. 

Now all bets are off. Clash of civilizations by Huntington kicking in. 

It is a drama till April, 2026, that Is when real midterm campaigning begins and see how things die down. In 24 hrs trump media and Indian media, both pathetic ones at what they so, have changed and done some research and changed wordings after clarifying with Trump and co on how it will impact current h1bs and current OPTs - well it won’t impact them for now. 

Edited by Cricketics
22 minutes ago, MK55 said:

But seriously people in H1b should get the green card - marriage or investment visa. OR just move somewhere else. Way less income but more stability, 

if you’re earning 400k -500k ish (pretty normal after experience), save a little each year plus invest to compound, and just get the investment visa in 3-4 years. You might lose some money but usually recover substantial  amount. But u lose those 3-4 years work. So not ideal but an option, 

400k isn’t common except for ppl in sillicon valley or quant jobs in finance. Avg h1 salary is 120k per data.

5 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

400k isn’t common except for ppl in sillicon valley or quant jobs in finance. Avg h1 salary is 120k per data.

Yes that’s true. Quant jobs (except most banks and pension funds), Silicon Valley and definitely medicine MD grads comfortably.

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

Their country. Their choice. One of the challenges for us is to come to terms with the fact that last 70 years was an anomaly. An exception. Not a rule. Globalization was an experiment unlike any and it worked as long as America was sole superpower. 

Now all bets are off. Clash of civilizations by Huntington kicking in. 

Yup. India should just keep focusing on itself.

People saying that US will be hit hard in IT are delusional. Not all H1B NRIs work in Google and Meta, the majority are from service companies. With experience I can say that all the H1B exports from service companies like TCS, HCL are easily replaceable with an offshore resource in India. You definitely don’t need a H1B visa holder for a manual and automation tester. 

15 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

:hysterical: abhi to current H1B waalon ko nahi nahi impact kiya hai. Sirf naye aane waalon to impact karega 

There is no clarity yet.

Just because they are cracking down on illegal immigration and H1B blatant misuse , they have become hypocrites

We kept on doing illegal attempts to enter US. We kept on blatantly misusing H1Bs which was supposed to a highly skilled visa. We are Vishwagurus. They are now hypocrites 

See anything wrong ?