ungboysj Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Generally when you are in a rut you need new players or new captain to take you out of it So if bumrah wins this test and Rohit having lost a home test series whitewash will he do the right thing and resign from captaincy
Popular Post saransh Posted November 22, 2024 Popular Post Posted November 22, 2024 Expecting responsibility and accountability from our seniors?. You must be new to cricket BlueBee, raki05, tweaker and 7 others 10
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Nope else we would've Rahane captaining India after 2020-21 series in Aus. IMO Rahane would've been a much better captain. GoldenSun, sorak and raki05 1 2
R!TTER Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 5 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: IMO Rahane would've been a much better captain. He was, *ers broughtPanauti super ultra Max back for the next series Ultimate_Game and BlueBee 2
Number Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 I don't even know how did Sharma manage to get test captaincy. He has countable decent innings in this format and has been an average player who wasn't even worthy of being picked in XI most of his career. express bowling and adi B 2
wanted_desi Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Rohit should be asked to spend time with his newborn. Even Kohli should be forced to spend more time with his family and new country. Norman, Ultimate_Game, adi B and 3 others 1 4 1
AuxiliA Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Tbh we don't need Rohit as a captain but we do need him as a opener for this series atleast. His form isn't nearly as bad as Kohli's and he's still much better than Paddikal. Also have experienced openers helps. Look how KL outperformed Jaiswal. I say drop Kohli for Gill at 4, play Rohit as opener, KL at 3. Keep Bumrah as captain.
New guy Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, Number said: I don't even know how did Sharma manage to get test captaincy. He has countable decent innings in this format and has been an average player who wasn't even worthy of being picked in XI most of his career. Kohli was supposed to carry on as test captain but resigned in a huff when Ganguly droped him from LOIs. Rohit was the only option at that time. Edited November 22, 2024 by New guy
Lord Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 11 minutes ago, AuxiliA said: Tbh we don't need Rohit as a captain but we do need him as a opener for this series atleast. His form isn't nearly as bad as Kohli's and he's still much better than Paddikal. Also have experienced openers helps. Look how KL outperformed Jaiswal. I say drop Kohli for Gill at 4, play Rohit as opener, KL at 3. Keep Bumrah as captain. Gill will come back too. Problem with Rohit is not form but his T20 mindset. Not prepared to dig in.
Lord Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 10 minutes ago, New guy said: Kohli was supposed to carry on as test captain but resigned in a huff when Ganguly droped him from LOIs. Rohit ead the only option at that time. Bumrah, Pant were there then too. Ultimate_Game and Manucrick 2
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Just now, Lord said: Gill will come back too. Problem with Rohit is not form but his T20 mindset. Not prepared to dig in. Isn't Gill out for a lot longer? He has a fracture and would be ready by 4th Test or so. Lord 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Just now, Lord said: Bumrah, Pant were there then too. I would've given it to Pant in Tests.
New guy Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: Bumrah, Pant were there then too. Pant was very young and Bumrah was injury prone.
AuxiliA Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 5 minutes ago, Lord said: Gill will come back too. Problem with Rohit is not form but his T20 mindset. Not prepared to dig in. Problem with him is his laziness and sab chalta hai attitude. He's still in much better form than Kohli and experience is needed to bat against the new ball in Australia. Drop Kohli. We will win this series too like last time. Ultimate_Game, express bowling and Lord 2 1
BlueBee Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 18 minutes ago, AuxiliA said: Tbh we don't need Rohit as a captain but we do need him as a opener for this series atleast. His form isn't nearly as bad as Kohli's and he's still much better than Paddikal. Also have experienced openers helps. Look how KL outperformed Jaiswal. I say drop Kohli for Gill at 4, play Rohit as opener, KL at 3. Keep Bumrah as captain. Don't agree with Rohit as opener. I don't see him as a test batsman. Hasn't done anything worthy of being the test captain. As for Kohli getting dropped - I hope this is his last series if he fails to perform. But maybe its just wishful thinking... Not like we have any good replacements yet as well. He does bring some "intensity" in the team mindset for sure and can act as a mentor for the young ones. Idk if Rohit is good enough in Tests for that. Should never have been considered for test captaincy.
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Just now, AuxiliA said: Problem with him is his laziness and sab chalta hai attitude. He's still in much better form than Kohli and experience is needed to bat against the new ball in Australia. Drop Kohli. We will win this series too like last time. Absolutely. In fact replace Kohli with a bowler and we still have a much better chance to win.
Lord Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 1 minute ago, New guy said: Pant was very young and Bumrah was injury prone. Pant was 24, similar age to Kohli when he became captain. Was very much established in the team, much more than Rohit. Rohit was as injury prone as Bumrah. Has missed so many SENA Tests even after he became captain. New guy 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Just now, BlueBee said: Don't agree with Rohit as opener. I don't see him as a test batsman. Hasn't done anything worthy of being the test captain. As for Kohli getting dropped - I hope this is his last series if he fails to perform. But maybe its just wishful thinking... Not like we have any good replacements yet as well. He does bring some "intensity" in the team mindset for sure and can act as a mentor for the young ones. Idk if Rohit is good enough in Tests for that. Should never have been considered for test captaincy. We can't give him a pass for the entire series. Surely if he fails again in the 2nd innings he has to go. It's not as if he was doing something earlier. 5+ years of non-performance has to result in him being dropped. We didn't miss his "intensity" in the last BGT in 2020-21 and we won't now either. I would rather have performing players than this fake intensity. At the moment Rohit is miles better than Kohli. At least Rohit looks like he can score and hit a few shots. Kohli looks like a walking wkt who can't buy a run.