BREAKING NEWS: Gukesh beats Ding in final game (with black) to become 18th undisputed world chess champion, also youngest ever

Gollum

2 hours ago, MechEng said:

It's strange that there are not many Iranian grandmasters yet. The country where the game originated from.

Widely accepted now that it originated in India. Some dispute but Iran was never part of it, was Mongolia or Far East Russia. Now everyone accepts India as the place of origin. 

Chess=India

Go (another deep mind game, even more complex than chess)=China

2 hours ago, MechEng said:

Its an open debate, in India a similar game was played but not exactly chess. Chess is believed to be a modified version of an ancient Indian game, at the same time it is argued that it originated in Persia.

To my query above, lots of grandmasters are there from Armenia and Azerbaijan (both were Persia in ancient times).

Soviet influence. Nothing to do with Persia. Chess in Soviet times was like basketball for Americans. 

Btw Iran has many strong GMs, and women players. But most are emigrating to Europe, NA to escape the mullah regime. 

This development is spreading like wildfire in western SM spaces, heck even MMA fans are discussing the match.

Amazing opportunity of projecting soft power @Lone Wolf, at something where we have ability, results, trainers, and most importantly relatively low budget. Most of the planet doesn't take cricket, hockey, badminton seriously, long time before we can compete in football/tennis/Olympics or even entertainment, music. But chess has a special place in minds of the people, due to propaganda, cold war whatever....India must exploit this to her advantage. 

1960 Riga, the magician Tal after defeating Soviet chess patriarch Botvinnik. 

Saw a similar video of Nona Gapridanshvili, USSR world champ after she returned to Batumi....can't find the video.

Can see similar craze in India 2024, totally organic. 

40 minutes ago, Gollum said:

This development is spreading like wildfire in western SM spaces, heck even MMA fans are discussing the match.

Amazing opportunity of projecting soft power @Lone Wolf, at something where we have ability, results, trainers, and most importantly relatively low budget. Most of the planet doesn't take cricket, hockey, badminton seriously, long time before we can compete in football/tennis/Olympics or even entertainment, music. But chess has a special place in minds of the people, due to propaganda, cold war whatever....India must exploit this to her advantage. 

Badminton is big in Asia so good for soft power there.

Football/Tennis long way off but can definitely make inroads in athletics (big in the west) in next 20-30 years as in wrestling (big in USA/Russia etc).

Music/movies etc will come mid century when India is a lot richer and average sensibilities have become more sophisticated.

40 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Did Magnus delete his congratulatory tweet for Gukesh??

Asians seem more gracious than these salty westerners I feel

Telugu people should stop these credit wars. Gukesh was born in Tamil Nadu and became what he is today solely because of the Chess infrastructure in Tamil Nadu. We should stop trying to steal the credit from them.

39 minutes ago, MechEng said:

This is so lame and insular. Must be written by a desi Singaporean, Chinese food is not just chowmien just like Tamil food is not restricted to sambar.

even if it is, its very offensive and racist. They should issue an apology

Despite the disappointing Olympics and NZ home series, this has been a good year for Indian sports. 

Gukesh WCC (candidates win too this year only)

Chess Olympiad sweep by men and women. First time since golden age of hockey that we look like dominant best in the world at something, and this despite stiff competition and global nature of chess (FIDE second highest membership after IOC). Indian cricket at its best has never been dominant number one, usually first among equals here and there !!!

Indian men's hockey team's trajectory.....I have no doubt in my mind that with unbiased umpiring we will be gold/trophy contenders in all Olympics and WCs the rest of the decade. Rohidas red card in QF still remains rent free in my head, otherwise we would have won gold this time itself. I may be optimistic or delusional, but I seriously believe so. 

Indian T20 WC win (don't care about this sport anymore but credit where due)

Neeraj Chopra (No shame about him losing to Arshad in Paris, boy was carrying an injury and still managed his season's best throw there, Pakistani was just on another level and broke Olympic record)

Indian football (both men and women), badminton, women's cricket were utter **** shows. 

1 minute ago, Tillu said:

Telugu people should stop these credit wars. Gukesh was born in Tamil Nadu and became what he is today solely because of the Chess infrastructure in Tamil Nadu. We should stop trying to steal the credit from them.

Hate this regional aspect to everything in India. Gukesh is Indian and everyone in India should be happy about his win and making the country proud. When Neeraj won the Olympics gold, he didn't do it for Haryana alone. Or when Bumrah, Pandya, Jaiswal, Pant win a match, they don't do it for their state or region alone. Similarly, Gukesh won the tourney as an Indian. Phuckin politicians have to bring in regionalism and politics into everything.

14 minutes ago, Tillu said:

I think even Karunanidhi family is Telugu origin (and Vaiko, Vijaykanth @velu?), same with many actors in Kollywood, all Tollywood dynasties can trace their origin to Madras. Many Telugu speaking people settled in modern TN during Vijaynagara empire period, but that was 500-600 years back. Chennai was like 40% Telugu population before reorganization of states, and Tirupati was a Tamil dominated town. Gukesh does speak Tamil all the time, with family and friends. 

Arjun Erigaisi is Tamil origin but settled in Warrangal, speaks Telugu I think. 

Lots of intermingling in southern states. MGR was Mallu but most popular leader of TN, Jayalalitha was Kannadiga. 

India is too complex. Just unite as one, take pride in being Indians, * this regionalism cancer. 

Just now, Ultimate_Game said:

Hate this regional aspect to everything in India. Gukesh is Indian and everyone in India should be happy about his win and making the country proud. When Neeraj won the Olympics gold, he didn't do it for Haryana alone. Or when Bumrah, Pandya, Jaiswal, Pant win a match, they don't do it for their state or region alone. Similarly, Gukesh won the tourney as an Indian. Phuckin politicians have to bring in regionalism and politics into everything.

Hate these bastard politicians. India is celebrating as one, united in diversity. These lowlife netas have to ruin everything, even in happy moments. 

6 hours ago, Gollum said:

Widely accepted now that it originated in India. Some dispute but Iran was never part of it, was Mongolia or Far East Russia. Now everyone accepts India as the place of origin. 

Chess=India

Go (another deep mind game, even more complex than chess)=China

Wondering whether chess in its original form during Mauryan is the same game as it is played today. It will be even more interesting to see how did the chessboard look like, did it have lots of colour and art, did the king and queen looked like actual kings and queen from that era. Must be surely different from the minimalistic European black and white design.

On 12/12/2024 at 8:55 PM, Gollum said:

Blitz is nonsense IMO. 2,3,4,5 minutes shouldn't be used to decide a game. Never liked this format. 

However you can apply the T20 analogy since we have an even more stupid format called bullet (played online only) which is one minute per side, that is like Hong Kong Sixes. 

Rapid is like ODI, often the most interesting format if you have 25+5 like control. More serious format than blitz, and more result oriented than classical. 

Classical is like test cricket, good old grind for several hours, highest quality of play (creativity, defense...). But prone to high % of draws because both sides play at high accuracy rate. 

Classical is toughest. Blitz relies on swindles, time pressure blunders, cheap tricks etc. While you have to earn your wins and draws in classical. Plenty of good classical players who adapted well in shorter time controls (eg. Caruana). But can't remember blitz only specialists doing anything special in classical, guys like Georg Meier and Andrew Tang. 

I'd still believe that you will find chess players who are good at classical game but are uncomfortable with the fast paced approach of blitz