NameGoesHere Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 It’s going to be Bumrah. I refuse to believe that they’ll be fool enough to even think of Kohli, far less have him. Not happening.
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: If you strictly talk about away averages in winning causes he is below Pujara and Rahane. This includes his freebie 100 at Perth. he is better at contributing to losses/draws, less so in wins
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 1 minute ago, NameGoesHere said: It’s going to be Bumrah. I refuse to believe that they’ll be fool enough to even think of Kohli, far less have him. Not happening. they are grade A fools, so it is possible
Ultimate_Game Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 2 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: Kohli worship is just a reflection of who we are as a nation. Be it cricket or politics or films.. Fan worship is deeply ingrained in our psyche to the point where all rational sense is thrown out. Slave mentality comes out in many ways. Its not going to change for a few decades atleast. So true and so sad. We simply can't get past anointing someone as demi god or putting someone on a pedestal. Be it movie stars, politicians or cricketers it's the same story. Just like we have likes of Rajnikanth playing leading roles in their 70s paired up with actresses who're the same age as their grand daughters, cricket fans don't care about performances of their favorite players as long as they're in the team. Disappointing really as this mentality has held us back and will continue to do so. We'll never achieve our full potential and continue to under achieve despite all the resources at our disposal. BacktoCricaddict 1
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 5 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: So true and so sad. We simply can't get past anointing someone as demi god or putting someone on a pedestal. Be it movie stars, politicians or cricketers it's the same story. Just like we have likes of Rajnikanth playing leading roles in their 70s paired up with actresses who're the same age as their grand daughters, cricket fans don't care about performances of their favorite players as long as they're in the team. Disappointing really as this mentality has held us back and will continue to do so. We'll never achieve our full potential and continue to under achieve despite all the resources at our disposal. the part in bold has a reason. it is to appeal to middle-aged men's sense of virility, to convince them that even they are old, fat, and balding that pretty women would still fall for them. Ultimate_Game 1
Lone Wolf Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Bring back Bahane perhaps for England series. He will be an amazing captain & would probably give better returns with the bat than Chokli. Win win Lord 1
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 3 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Bring back Bahane perhaps for England series. He will be an amazing captain & would probably give better returns with the bat than Chokli. Win win bring back pataudi too, or his bones. Lord and Ultimate_Game 2
wanted_desi Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Bumrah should refuse to play under Mr.FixITall in that case. Its time for him to speak up and show this Bollywood PR his place (In London) Ultimate_Game 1
R!TTER Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 20 minutes ago, Vijy said: it is to appeal to middle-aged men's sense of virility, to convince them that even they are old, fat, and balding that pretty women would still fall for them. Well Drumpf was right when he said, you know back then as he first ran
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Just now, R!TTER said: Well Drumpf was right when he said, you know back then as he first ran he could have played rajnikanth's roles in s. indian cinema
straighttalk Posted January 2, 2025 Author Posted January 2, 2025 4 hours ago, bowl_out said: On the same topic, who will be captain when Bumrah isn't available? Pant? Jaiswal? Gill? I'm worried about losing Bumrah the bowler for Bumrah the captain. Otherwise he is a player whom everyone respects. Level headed and smart...shd be the captain BacktoCricaddict 1
straighttalk Posted January 2, 2025 Author Posted January 2, 2025 3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: IN terms of poor performance we started with this three 1) Rahane 2) Pujara 3) Kohli Both Rahane and Pujara were in and out for a while Kohli survived Then both were left out. Now we have new three 1) Rahul 2) Rohit 3) Kohli Again Rahul was left out for a while with Rohit/Kohli retaining the place Now Rahul is back Rohit is left Kohli stays Kohli basically remained untouched which is not surprising as his presence is needed for BCCI for commercial reasons. So they left out players like Jadeja, Ashwin, Gill everyone except Kohli. But Kohli could take break whenever he wanted It was almost like Kohli firing bCCI rather than BCCI firing kohli. I was looking at scores of cricketers who were dropped at the end of career...Dravid has stellar numbers...Ganguly had pretty ok numbers too. Laxman was trailing off and sehwag was poor...but far better than Rohit or Kohli. And they were dropped almost due to one bad series.
BacktoCricaddict Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 3 hours ago, Chaos said: If kohli is back as captain, im done watching cricket. I've made such statements in my life. But it's impossible to stop watching/following/being emotionally involved in Indian cricket. The sooner you accept it the better, bhai. Chaos 1
Chaos Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 7 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: I've made such statements in my life. But it's impossible to stop watching/following/being emotionally involved in Indian cricket. The sooner you accept it the better, bhai. No wonder u r a addict :) BacktoCricaddict, Frustrated and Lord 3
First class Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 5 hours ago, straighttalk said: Bumrah as good as he is..cannot play every match..so he being captain is hard. Kohli is a good test match captain but his form is abysmal. Will captaincy give him a second life... motivate him to perform or shd he be dropped from the team altogether. Hai equation with Gambhir isn't good either. Who else can cAptian the team? I see no one with performance or statute other than these two. There is no question of motivation for Kohli and he is not trying less than his 100% , he is just going through a very long bad patch , not sure whether he will come out of it or not, hence , no point putting extra pressure on him . Bumrah is the only player in the 11 who is feeling very good for himself ( for his personal performance , not team's performance) and is in positive state of mind , he should be the obvious choice to take over captaincy at Sydney, if needed.
Vijy Posted January 2, 2025 Posted January 2, 2025 Just now, First class said: There is no question of motivation for Kohli and he is not trying less than his 100% , he is just going through a very long bad patch , not sure whether he will come out of it or not, hence , no point putting extra pressure on him . Bumrah is the only player in the 11 who is feeling very good for himself ( for his personal performance , not team's performance) and is in positive state of mind , he should be the obvious choice to take over captaincy at Sydney, if needed. that question does totally exist in tests, not maybe not LOIs. He has looked unengaged and uninspired in tests for a while now
diga Posted January 3, 2025 Posted January 3, 2025 let him become a resident Indian and play domestic cricket to understand the grind and then claim back the captaincy..
Vilander Posted January 3, 2025 Posted January 3, 2025 9 hours ago, sensible-indian said: Lets just say my close friends know people. Its not a blind rumour. Lets just say ' you pulled it from your..
Vijy Posted January 3, 2025 Posted January 3, 2025 14 minutes ago, Vilander said: Lets just say ' you pulled it from your.. I heard that in CT, we will have Abdul Samad captaining ICT. sources close to the Indian cricket team told me
sensible-indian Posted January 3, 2025 Posted January 3, 2025 (edited) 7 hours ago, Vilander said: Lets just say ' you pulled it from your.. So rude. Why the heck would i pull this outta my ass when i have been ranting about Kohli for years? Common sense lol. Edited January 3, 2025 by sensible-indian