3 hours ago, crictime said:

Ordered for a normal delivery recently and it was delivered within 10 minutes. The pricing was same.  Speed of delivery is impressive considering that this was just a 200 Rs. order. Excellent service!!.

Which city? 

On 4/5/2025 at 12:42 PM, randomGuy said:

Which city? 

Mumbai. Experienced this at two different pin codes when I order grocery and household products. So it is not that the 10 min delivery is at one location only.

Last weekend ordered on Big Basket under the 10 mins facility, reached in 2 hours. They just kept sending messages one after other that order will be delayed by 5 mins and delivery time kept on extending. Took the delivery though even late.

Simulatenously ordered on Jio Mart, and voila. Reached in 10 minutes. 

Used to like Big Basket service but Jio Mart is actually giving expected experience recently.

8 hours ago, crictime said:

Mumbai. Experienced this at two different pin codes when I order grocery and household products. So it is not that the 10 min delivery is at one location only.

Last weekend ordered on Big Basket under the 10 mins facility, reached in 2 hours. They just kept sending messages one after other that order will be delayed by 5 mins and delivery time kept on extending. Took the delivery though even late.

Simulatenously ordered on Jio Mart, and voila. Reached in 10 minutes. 

Used to like Big Basket service but Jio Mart is actually giving expected experience recently.

What did you order, If I may?

On 4/2/2025 at 5:29 AM, rangeelaraja said:

BC, start-up pe naam pe alag alag type ka food / grocery delivery hi nikalta hai India se. 

Aur phir ch*ye influencers and brainless entertainment … 

Deepseek jaisa LLM India se kabhi nikal hi nahi sakta till we celebrate mediocrity. 

It's a journey. India can't skip steps. Let's not forget china started with manufacturing neon lights and beads for mardi gras  before reaching robotics. How is exploitation of human in Chinese factory any different than what our delivery boys are doing ?

Now Instamart has also started 10 minutes delivery.

Like Grofers and Jio Mart they too deliver at 12 a.m. or 7 a.m. i. No need to worry about retail shop shutter being down and wait for hours till they open.

There is no time guarantee. If I open apps in morning or night it shows 15-20 mins when stores are within 2 km. These are mostly time estimates to lure customers, not a commitment and it’s based on density of stores.

Drivers rush to fulfil more orders, but not to fulfil any time limit because there isn’t any. 

This is exploitation for sure. Some workers make just 800₹ a day on good days, additionally, there is no tipping culture in India

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

This is exploitation for sure. Some workers make just 800₹ a day on good days, additionally, there is no tipping culture in India

I agree. I only tip when ordering odd hrs or delivery person needs to walk some distance for pickup which honestly is no more than 20%. If today quick commerce were to stop, i (like most on this forum living in metros) would feel as if our world has collapsed.  I know i am a contributor to this exploitation but sorry i am not stopping. 

9 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said:

I agree. I only tip when ordering odd hrs or delivery person needs to walk some distance for pickup which honestly is no more than 20%. If today quick commerce were to stop, i (like most on this forum living in metros) would feel as if our world has collapsed.  I know i am a contributor to this exploitation but sorry i am not stopping. 

I have used Swiggy in India to get food at even 12 AM. I use DoorDash here, but I usually tip 10% .

You’re right that it’s conundrum a bit hypocritical of those let me to suddenly feel that this is exploitation of cheap labor. We all use cooks and maids and drivers without worrying about fair pay, vacation or insurance providing them that is also exploitation.

Quick commerce in India is a big economic booster and a job creator for lack of unskilled laborers. That is the positive side of it as there are no decent way of earning for most people. I hope there is some regulation or add mandatory tips or extra pay for them. I’m sure people will be paying more for getting something in 10 minutes hey 

38 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

I have used Swiggy in India to get food at even 12 AM. I use DoorDash here, but I usually tip 10% .

You’re right that it’s conundrum a bit hypocritical of those let me to suddenly feel that this is exploitation of cheap labor. We all use cooks and maids and drivers without worrying about fair pay, vacation or insurance providing them that is also exploitation.

Quick commerce in India is a big economic booster and a job creator for lack of unskilled laborers. That is the positive side of it as there are no decent way of earning for most people. I hope there is some regulation or add mandatory tips or extra pay for them. I’m sure people will be paying more for getting something in 10 minutes hey 

Even when we get enough jobs, gig working will remain as it acts as filler many times. People who are looking for jobs use this as way to fund their expenses for 6-12 months.

15 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Bhai many padhe likhe freshers make very close to this. This has no entry barrier. Only requirement is ability to drive and follow google maps.

Giving emplioyment to lakhs

17 hours ago, Trichromatic said:

There is no time guarantee. If I open apps in morning or night it shows 15-20 mins when stores are within 2 km. These are mostly time estimates to lure customers, not a commitment and it’s based on density of stores.

Drivers rush to fulfil more orders, but not to fulfil any time limit because there isn’t any. 

If company is promising 10 min delivery, many customers will cancel orders and move away if its late. Who gets punished in that case? There's definite pressure on them to speed.

Maybe they can calculate average earnings a rider makes and make that as salary rather than order based so they don't rush

Its the industry.

Re the start up space...

See ultimatelly start ups will innovate for market. If your a 4 trillion economy you will innovate for that.

When china was a 4 trillion economy they focused only on specialing low tech manufacturing.

6 hours ago, Lord said:

If company is promising 10 min delivery, many customers will cancel orders and move away if its late. Who gets punished in that case? There's definite pressure on them to speed.

Maybe they can calculate average earnings a rider makes and make that as salary rather than order based so they don't rush

Company is not promising 10 min delivery.

There is no fixed 10 mins time guarantee. It's an estimate and rarely shows as 10 mins. It's not like dominos 30 mins guarantee. 

Lot of times it shows 6-7 mins, 15 mins, 20 mins. Just like how restaurant orders show 30-45 mins time and there also it isn't delivered at estimated time.

Rushing comes from desire to fulfil more order in a day than to fulfil something in 10 mins.

It happened with old Uber also where cab drivers wanted shorter distance rides, or worked long hours to fulfil x number of rides.

How will you fix that as salary? Will it be monthly or daily? Not everyone logs daily.