10-20 mins delivery is super impressive. They have a wide range of products. Even present in tier 2 cities now.

Zepto, Instamart, blinkit even flipkart minutes is similar (?)

Here's young great looking (no homo) zepto ceo from Mumbai, aadit palicha ...i believe they will come up with ipo soon

How's the scene in your city (in india or abroad)?

Quick commerce (on large scale) is only possible in countries with high population density.

I have used zepto and Bigbasket for quick commerce in chennai.

Local shops > Bigbasket > Zepto

In terms of value for money.

Bigbasket can sometimes match local shops in price.

Hill Banana and sharbati wheat grains are amazing in Bigbasket.

Since I love that Hill Banana and it is not available in nearby fruit shops, I usually order once every 3 days.

Edited by Vicks57

Maybe in big cities in Manhattan, LA etc., Here we have deliveries scheduled in 2/3 days.  Bike messengers are big in cities., a lot of deaths/accidents due to them rushing with other cars. Not a fan of the model. Thoda wait karlo or walk to the super-market at the end of your streer.

I recently asked a neighbor for a cup of sugar as I had a sugar emergency. Padosi ke ghar se le aao.

8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Maybe in big cities in Manhattan, LA etc., Here we have deliveries scheduled in 2/3 days.  Bike messengers are big in cities., a lot of deaths/accidents due to them rushing with other cars. Not a fan of the model. Thoda wait karlo or walk to the super-market at the end of your streer.

I recently asked a neighbor for a cup of sugar as I had a sugar emergency. Padosi ke ghar se le aao.

Backward country :hehe:

BC, start-up pe naam pe alag alag type ka food / grocery delivery hi nikalta hai India se. 

Aur phir ch*ye influencers and brainless entertainment … 

Deepseek jaisa LLM India se kabhi nikal hi nahi sakta till we celebrate mediocrity. 

Edited by rangeelaraja

Also, one thing everyone is forgetting is this is possible because of the wage inequality, and the fact, that only when there are a large number of people whom are either earning less or unemployed, take up these jobs of delivering goods. For us to experience convenience, especially at 1-2 am in the night, someone else has to slog, and with poorer salaries as well. So, it's mere worker exploitation. All of these apps and models are only possible in third world countries with a higher population density. It's the same with maids, drivers, cooks etc

17 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

Also, one thing everyone is forgetting is this is possible because of the wage inequality, and the fact, that only when there are a large number of people whom are either earning less or unemployed, take up these jobs of delivering goods. For us to experience convenience, especially at 1-2 am in the night, someone else has to slog, and with poorer salaries as well. So, it's mere worker exploitation. All of these apps and models are only possible in third world countries with a higher population density. It's the same with maids, drivers, cooks etc

Even people in the developed world enjoy the fruits of cheap labour provided by other countries. Otherwise most of the goods that we purchase will be unaffordable. Sad reality. 

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
1 hour ago, I6MTW said:

Communism advising capitalism. There is a demand and supply supply satisfies a demand. Donon khush. 

7 hours ago, R!TTER said:

Curious how they'll make "profits" on these given they're selling the products themselves.

9 hours ago, diga said:

I dont use them due to flouting all traffic rules to deliver within the set time... plus the cost of the goods is generally higher 

This is the big question. In delhi they are selling quality stuff super cheap...often less than mom n pop shops, even vegetables are cheap on zepto 10 rs. Gobi ka phool, 8 rs. Patta Gobi, 30 rs 500gm capcicum, cucumber, 40 rs 500gm. bhindi etc. , 400 gm wheat bread for 42, amul/mother diary paneer at 5-8 below printed price...

As expected they are in loss. May be trying to increase Sales for marketing or for ipo but if they are atleast break even at current prices which they sell, it will be a great value. 

I think just like people want roads , mobile  network etc. in their area quick commerce will also be a must. It will boost urbanization and villages will empty faster. Zepto will be 50+ cities soon.

Zepto co founder said they face road accidents much less than other passengers because they are not using highway rather using the internal roads (for home deliveries)

Edited by randomGuy
2 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Even people in the developed world enjoy the fruits of cheap labour provided by other countries. Otherwise most of the goods that we purchase will be unaffordable. Sad reality. 

Meh... profits are also huge for some of the biz men

12 hours ago, diga said:

I dont use them due to flouting all traffic rules to deliver within the set time... plus the cost of the goods is generally higher 

Due to competition from others (some had reduced service from one day to 2 hours with same prices),  those who were delivering an order within one day have now started to deliver within 2 hours and even within 1 hour at time. The price has not increased even if service is provided within half hour. Atleast not in India.

Have never opted for 10 minutes service though because as their usual service is fast like I mentioned above, there is absolutely no need to go for 10 minutes. Not aware whether they grocery marts charge more for that. 

Edited by crictime
On 4/1/2025 at 2:58 PM, Lord said:

Backward country :hehe:

Americans invented drive-thru - ATMs, Dining, Food pickup, Bank Tellers and even Movies. Some even use their cars as a bedroom/bathroom as well. They have declared a War against walking outside.

On 4/1/2025 at 6:06 PM, I6MTW said:

Wage inequality will always exist and it should always exist. Duh.

5 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Wage inequality will always exist and it should always exist. Duh.

Not significantly wider gaps . inequality should always be on the lesser side. 

Wage equality will never be possible, but there should be respectable wages and salaries for the labour class to sustain. 

53 minutes ago, I6MTW said:

Not significantly wider gaps . inequality should always be on the lesser side. 

Wage equality will never be possible, but there should be respectable wages and salaries for the labour class to sustain. 

Yes. The labour class needs to be able to sustain itself.
which will never be the case as long as property is seen as investment in modern economics. That is reality. Create a system economically where ANY of the basic commodities of life - roti, makaan or kapraa- is an appreciating asset over time and not depreciating or at least constant ( your roti, chawal, kapraa are all, for all of recorded history, depreciating assets - ie, their value is less and less from the day they were made). Makaan, till modern western capitalism happened, was a fixed value asset.

This has changed in modern times. now, makaan is not a basic, but an asset that GAINS value over time. and immensely. This has never happened in human history before - there is no record of property traders in any civilization in recorded history - there is no class of merchants or nobles who made $$ by buying and selling land or houses.

Not even grand estates were brought and sold for $$ like todays properties.

So you will always have EXTREME inequality as long as one of the basics of life ( roti kapraa or makaan) becomes an asset and not something that either instantly starts to depreciate in value or stays constant in value - this is what is required for basics to be, for it to be affordable to the masses.

The main driver of poverty today is rent, which means makaan.

Coz makaan is no longer basic commodity but asset of the wealthy, worldwide.This is new reality, so until someone can change this reality, extreme inequality is also new reality.

The end.

Ordered for a normal delivery recently and it was delivered within 10 minutes. The pricing was same.  Speed of delivery is impressive considering that this was just a 200 Rs. order. Excellent service!!.

Edited by crictime