vvvslaxman Posted April 17 Posted April 17 3 minutes ago, Mariyam said: 2011-1983 = 28 years. That is not about India :) That is RCB lol Mariyam 1
rangeelaraja Posted April 17 Posted April 17 This came on my youtube feed... @Mariyam Doesn't this young girl do Deepika better than Deepika ? She doesn't look Chinese or Uzbek to me....more likely from a Northeastern state. The jhatkas and thumkas are too Indian for any other nationality to do it so well. Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted April 17 Posted April 17 28 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: This came on my youtube feed... @Mariyam Doesn't this young girl do Deepika better than Deepika ? She doesn't look Chinese or Uzbek to me....more likely from a Northeastern state. The jhatkas and thumkas are too Indian for any other nationality to do it so well. She danced really well, but she didn't out-Deepika Deepika. Can't really guess her country of origin based on how she looks. But I will tell you this: Around the time the movie Vivaah was being shot, I was in my 11th grade and had joined SDIPA ( Shiamak Davar's classes) advanced batch. The lead batch instructor was Shahid Kapoor. This was at the Nana Chowk centre. In that batch there were 2 girls who had come to Mumbai from Tajikistan to learn Bollywood style dancing and some classical music (vocals). They looked like a Persian and Chinese hybrid and spoke decent Hindi which they learned only by watching Bollywood movies. At the summer funk that year we performed to Bann than chali. They went back to Tajikistan and became stage performers (mainly Bollywood stuff) and did well. Most of the viewership were Tajik people and not Indians. They were on my Orkut list. Song is from the year 2000, so not a 90s song strictly rangeelaraja, Tillu and bsriharsha 2 1
Tillu Posted April 17 Posted April 17 The spirit of Asha ji lives on through these songs and great soulful singing by the Malayali and South Indian legend Yesudas. coffee_rules, crictime, Lord and 2 others 3 2
Lord Posted April 17 Posted April 17 On 4/15/2026 at 2:41 PM, vvvslaxman said: Call centers were getting popular in India around late 90s. This raunchy song is based on that. Adult version of a sanskari 80s song vvvslaxman 1
jf1gp_1 Posted April 18 Posted April 18 17 hours ago, Mariyam said: My favorite SRK movie after DDLJ Mariyam 1
rangeelaraja Posted April 18 Posted April 18 18 hours ago, Mariyam said: She danced really well, but she didn't out-Deepika Deepika. She’s a young girl, yet she matched all the moves, and her expressions stood out even more to me. Of course, Deepika’s 5'9+ highly toned frame brings a naturally lithe and supple grace that can’t really be replicated by someone of such a small build. But aside from that, I found her overall presence more pleasing to the eye. Quote But I will tell you this: Around the time the movie Vivaah was being shot, I was in my 11th grade and had joined SDIPA ( Shiamak Davar's classes) advanced batch. The lead batch instructor was Shahid Kapoor. This was at the Nana Chowk centre. In that batch there were 2 girls who had come to Mumbai from Tajikistan to learn Bollywood style dancing and some classical music (vocals). They looked like a Persian and Chinese hybrid and spoke decent Hindi which they learned only by watching Bollywood movies. At the summer funk that year we performed to Bann than chali. They went back to Tajikistan and became stage performers (mainly Bollywood stuff) and did well. Most of the viewership were Tajik people and not Indians. They were on my Orkut list. I used to keep hearing that Shahid Kapoor was part of Shaimak Davar's dancing troupe, never knew he was also a lead instructor. Did anyone from your SDIPA cohort end up making a mark in Bollywood ?
rangeelaraja Posted April 18 Posted April 18 1 hour ago, jf1gp_1 said: My favorite SRK movie after DDLJ Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is one of the most underrated SRK's movies from the 90s. Did not set the box office on fire - but for me personally it is one of his best performances in the 90s. Simple storyline but watchable multiple times. Every damn song in this movie is catchy. Tillu, Mariyam and Sgattick10 1 1 1
jf1gp_1 Posted April 18 Posted April 18 1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said: Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa is one of the most underrated SRK's movies from the 90s. Did not set the box office on fire - but for me personally it is one of his best performances in the 90s. Simple storyline but watchable multiple times. Every damn song in this movie is catchy. In that case you cant count out Swades. Unfortunately the movie still remains relevant despite coming out 20yrs ago. Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted April 18 Posted April 18 5 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: She’s a young girl, yet she matched all the moves, and her expressions stood out even more to me. Of course, Deepika’s 5'9+ highly toned frame brings a naturally lithe and supple grace that can’t really be replicated by someone of such a small build. But aside from that, I found her overall presence more pleasing to the eye. I used to keep hearing that Shahid Kapoor was part of Shaimak Davar's dancing troupe, never knew he was also a lead instructor. Did anyone from your SDIPA cohort end up making a mark in Bollywood ? Not from my batch, but Varun Dhawan was also in SDIPA at the same centre. And a lesser known actor/ TV actor Ruslaan Mumtaz. rangeelaraja 1
Mariyam Posted April 18 Posted April 18 6 hours ago, jf1gp_1 said: My favorite SRK movie after DDLJ my fav 10 SRK movies: 1) DDLJ 2) Dil Se 3) Chak de India 4) Swades 5) Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa 6) Oh Darling Yeh Hai India 7) Devdas 8) Mohabattein 9) Phir bhi dil hai Hindustani 10) Dear Zindagi randomGuy 1
jf1gp_1 Posted April 18 Posted April 18 20 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Not from my batch, but Varun Dhawan was also in SDIPA at the same centre. And a lesser known actor/ TV actor Ruslaan Mumtaz. Had to lookup SDIPA. I thought you were a lawyer.
Mariyam Posted April 18 Posted April 18 6 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said: Had to lookup SDIPA. I thought you were a lawyer. I am, by qualification. SDIPA was a hobby.
Mariyam Posted April 18 Posted April 18 18 hours ago, Tillu said: The spirit of Asha ji lives on through these songs and great soulful singing by the Malayali and South Indian legend Yesudas. Tillu 1
Tillu Posted April 18 Posted April 18 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mariyam said: This movie was similar to RGVs Telugu flick Kshana Kshanam starring Sridevi and Venkatesh. RGV left all his prior commitments in Telugu and made this film as soon as he got the green signal from Sanjay Dutt. The first part of this movie was majorly shot in Araku valley, a hill station near Vizag. All the film unit used to stay in hotel Taj and we used to hear stories of Sanjay Dutt eating plenty of Tiger Prawns all by himself at the hotel everyday. Edited April 18 by Tillu Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted April 18 Posted April 18 2 hours ago, Tillu said: This movie was similar to RGVs Telugu flick Kshana Kshanam starring Sridevi and Venkatesh. RGV left all his prior commitments in Telugu and made this film as soon as he got the green signal from Sanjay Dutt. The first part of this movie was majorly shot in Araku valley, a hill station near Vizag. All the film unit used to stay in hotel Taj and we used to hear stories of Sanjay Dutt eating plenty of Tiger Prawns all by himself at the hotel everyday. The real superstars of the movie are Neeraj Vora (Chacko) and Paresh Rawal ( Pinky) The Chacko scene is very well written and Sanjay Dutt has amazing comic timing. Too bad that he was a part of only limited comedy movies. Tillu 1
rangeelaraja Posted April 18 Posted April 18 8 hours ago, Mariyam said: my fav 10 SRK movies: 1) DDLJ 2) Dil Se 3) Chak de India 4) Swades 5) Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa 6) Oh Darling Yeh Hai India 7) Devdas 8) Mohabattein 9) Phir bhi dil hai Hindustani 10) Dear Zindagi I take that you did not particularly like SRK in negative roles. SRK was real good in Darr. He did some crazy negative roles back in the 90s while being a lead "Hero" Mariyam 1
coffee_rules Posted April 18 Author Posted April 18 15 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: I take that you did not particularly like SRK in negative roles. SRK was real good in Darr. He did some crazy negative roles back in the 90s while being a lead "Hero" His best in -ve role He could have been an Oscar for this role https://youtube.com/shorts/5IxBkbQOuUo?si=gVHbHT3rJfeTxIG9 His best role could have been
Lord Posted April 18 Posted April 18 13 hours ago, Mariyam said: my fav 10 SRK movies: 1) DDLJ 2) Dil Se 3) Chak de India 4) Swades 5) Kabhi Haan Kabhi Naa 6) Oh Darling Yeh Hai India 7) Devdas 8) Mohabattein 9) Phir bhi dil hai Hindustani 10) Dear Zindagi Badshah is my favourite and doesnt even feature in your top 10