@rangeelaraja

Total remittance from

USA 27.7bn

uk 10.8bn

Australia 2.3

Canada 3.8

Germany 1

France 0.1

" It calculated total spending by Indian outbound students could reach US$70 billion by 2025.

Popular study destinations, which come with high fees and living costs that add to the net outflow of funds, include the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, and Australia."

https://www.universityworldnews.com/post-mobile.php?story=20240719144742102#:~:text=It calculated total spending by,top choices for Indian students.

1. Jo remittance anglo/west se aata hai, usse jyada wahan education pe chala jata hai annually spent by Indians. To canada alone we lost 11.7 bn in education in 2023.

2. If they studied in iit, aiims, nit etc they used up govt subsidy also

3. Iit students happen to be top 1-5% statistically. So if they don't work for India, then that is brain drain.

4. So in sum total, remittances bhi loss ka sauda hai compared to what we lose to the west mentioned only partially in the 3 points above.

Edited by randomGuy
42 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

@rangeelaraja

Total remittance from

USA 27.7bn

uk 10.8bn

Australia 2.3

Canada 3.8

Germany 1

France 0.1

" It calculated total spending by Indian outbound students could reach US$70 billion by 2025.

Popular study destinations, which come with high fees and living costs that add to the net outflow of funds, include the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, and Australia."

https://www.universityworldnews.com/post-mobile.php?story=20240719144742102#:~:text=It calculated total spending by,top choices for Indian students.

1. Jo remittance anglo/west se aata hai, usse jyada wahan education pe chala jata hai annually spent by Indians. To canada alone we lost 11.7 bn in education in 2023.

2. If they studied in iit, aiims, nit etc they used up govt subsidy also

3. Iit students happen to be top 1-5% statistically. So if they don't work for India, then that is brain drain.

4. So in sum total, remittances bhi loss ka sauda hai compared to what we lose to the west mentioned only partially in the 3 points above.

How is it a loss ? Last years remittance was $129 billion dollars.

And how are the 2 even related ? The question was how NRIs are helping shore up RBIs Forex reserves ...which is used several times a year to stabilize the rupee.

4 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

How is it a loss ? Last years remittance was $129 billion dollars.

And how are the 2 even related ? The question was how NRIs are helping shore up RBIs Forex reserves ...which is used several times a year to stabilize the rupee.

Loss ka sauda hai bhai....from the 6 anglo/western countries that I mentioned. For ex. Indians passport holders paid 11.7 bn to Canadian colleges alone for education for the purpose of PR later on and we got 3.8 bn remittance from Canada. Punjabis alone spent 3.7 bn in just Canadian college on education in 1 year.

https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/punjab/students-from-punjab-spent-3-7-bn-to-pursue-studies-in-canada-last-year/

Don't include remittance from uae, saudi, Singapore etc. just count from the west.  Out of 129 bn, the middle East alone sends 40bn remittance 

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remittances_to_India

30 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Loss ka sauda hai bhai....from the 6 anglo/western countries that I mentioned. For ex. Indians passport holders paid 11.7 bn to Canadian colleges alone for education for the purpose of PR later on and we got 3.8 bn remittance from Canada. Punjabis alone spent 3.7 bn in just Canadian college on education in 1 year.

https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/punjab/students-from-punjab-spent-3-7-bn-to-pursue-studies-in-canada-last-year/

Out of 129 bn, the middle East alone sends 40bn remittance 

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remittances_to_India

Going by your above logic, even middle east is loss ka sauda because we lose much more $$ to them on import of oil and gas. 

You are mixing chalk and cheese brother. 

Money spent on foreign education counts as import for the country where the student resides (or home country’s balance of payments).

In economic terms, it’s recorded as an import of services under the current account in the balance of payments.

vs. Western countries

Indian students using up FX for overseas studies in Western countries = Import of services, reducing FX( debit ) 

Indian workers in the western countries sending remittances back to India = Export of India's labor, increasing FX ( credit )

vs. Middle East countries

India importing 10s of billions of dollars oil and gas from Middle east  = Import of Energy, reducing FX( debit ) 

Indian workers in the Middle East sending remittances back to India = Export of India's labor, increasing FX ( credit )

Its ALL a trade. 

Edited by rangeelaraja
7 minutes ago, MechEng said:

@randomGuy even if remittance exceeds educational expenses, it is still family money

Absolutely, we are discussing only from BoP pov.

@rangeelaraja oil has actual use in India. Education in Canadian college has zero use in India. Education in Canada is for useful for India if it gets more returns to India than the $$ spent on education after getting PR, for which you went to Canadian colleges in the first place.....if not for the promise of PR/workVisa you wouldn't go to foreign college. For 11.7 bn spent on Canadian college you get 3.8 bn remittance. 

Tujhe samajh to aa raha hai lekin accept nahi kar raha. Koi baat nahi.

12 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Absolutely, we are discussing only from BoP pov.

@rangeelaraja oil has actual use in India. Education in Canadian college has zero use in India. Education in Canada is for useful for India if it gets more returns to India than the $$ spent on education after getting PR, for which you went to Canadian colleges in the first place.....if not for the promise of PR/workVisa you wouldn't go to foreign college. For 11.7 bn spent on Canadian college you get 3.8 bn remittance. 

Tujhe samajh to aa raha hai lekin accept nahi kar raha. Koi baat nahi.

You are missing the holistic cycle @randomGuy

We are a democracy - we cannot ask students not to go to canada or any other country because its  "zero use "  in India.

The biggest point that you are missing is hundreds of thousands of Indians go to the West as students -- they spend FX on tuition for 2 years or so for Grad OR 4 years for undergrad ---- and then for the next 2 decades - they remit FX to India either to support their families or to make big ticket purchase like property/home.

I have lived a student life here 15 years back, I have rented properties I own to Indian students so I know the drill and what goes on.  

23 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

You are missing the holistic cycle @randomGuy

We are a democracy - we cannot ask students not to go to canada or any other country because its  "zero use "  in India.

The biggest point that you are missing is hundreds of thousands of Indians go to the West as students -- they spend FX on tuition for 2 years or so for Grad OR 4 years for undergrad ---- and then for the next 2 decades - they remit FX to India either to support their families or to make big ticket purchase like property/home.

I have lived a student life here 15 years back, I have rented properties I own to Indian students so I know the drill and what goes on.  

You have to rely on numbers than on anecdotes. Students go to colleges to the west primarily so that they could get pr,workVisa after education. All the economic activity (GDP) happens in west whether in Colleges, real estate, MNCs where they work later on......and in return, India doesn't get even the $$ spent on just education, if you compare with remittance...and india loses on human capital (GDP).

Even the educated ones from Indian colleges are a drain...i studied in a govt engg college (only 70k inr total for 4 yr BE computer engg. Degree, so much subsidy from the tax payer!!) my  classmate (next roll no.) got a 100%ile in CAT (obviously a brilliant guy) studied in iim Bangalore (probably subsidized education in IIM that time) has been in UK, US since then in JP Morgan...much of this stuff is a drain on India... losing bright people as well as mediocre but rich students.

Edited by randomGuy
9 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

AIP ones are lot more stealthy..  Nuclear powered subs make a lot more noise and are easier to detect than AIP ones.

Further nuclear subs are extremely costly to maintain and operate.  India has only 2 as of now.

India's Diesel electric subs aren't AIP powered yet.  Further the submarine fleet has gone pretty old.

DRDO has developed its own AIP system but project 75 is facing some delays.  It will take 2-3 more years to have a single AIP powered Sub for us.

They are stealthy due to more endurance. 

The indo pak war of 71 lasted 2 weeks. 30 days endurance of scorpene even without aip is enough.

India will also have 2 more nuclear subs in next 2 to 3 years.

Case in point on aip vs nuclear sub.

https://www.quora.com/Are-modern-AIP-diesel-submarines-as-quiet-or-quieter-than-their-nuclear-powered-counterparts

11 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

They are stealthy due to more endurance. 

The indo pak war of 71 lasted 2 weeks. 30 days endurance of scorpene even without aip is enough.

India will also have 2 more nuclear subs in next 2 to 3 years.

Case in point on aip vs nuclear sub.

https://www.quora.com/Are-modern-AIP-diesel-submarines-as-quiet-or-quieter-than-their-nuclear-powered-counterparts

Yes there are pros and cons of both.

AIP ones are far more cheaper and easier to maintain and more stealthy as I said.

Right now we have two nuclear powered SSBN which can launch nuclear tipped Missiles, basically a deterrent means..  second strike capability.

India's first attack nuclear submarine (SSN) will be completed by 2036 ... These are for Anti Submarine warfare under Project 77.

This would be costliest arms related program in our history.

We were supposed to have our first AIP powered Submarine this year but DRDO failed to integrate with our Kalavari class scorpene Submarine.

Now next year most likely on INS Khanderi will become our first AIP powered Submarine (hopefully)

https://idrw.org/indias-scorpene-submarines-miss-aip-integration-delaying-enhanced-endurance-and-stealth-capabilities/

15 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

^^^^ more on this.. 

Yes, US wants Munir to declare war and than come as middleman. Those terrorist neutralised in operation Akhal means a Pahalgham is not easily to be repeated.

Indian people and leadership should be very careful in what options they choose

3 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

^^^^ more on this.. 

It is indeed foolish to keep the embassy open in HeeraRandi.

Close the embassies, bring in your diplomats and throw out the Diplomats from that **** of a nation.

Any political joker squeaks in their favour. .throw them too in that jokeristan.

45 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

It is indeed foolish to keep the embassy open in HeeraRandi.

Close the embassies, bring in your diplomats and throw out the Diplomats from that **** of a nation.

Any political joker squeaks in their favour. .throw them too in that jokeristan.

They are emboldened now with US complete takeover of them. 

Now BLA is also caught in the crosshair

I believe Pakistani foreign babus are less corrupt than that of India. This is very controversial take, but I have a premise for this.

Indian babus do not have a greater aim than selfish benefit. Their motto is to get their kids out of India and "give them good education saar..".

But Pakistani ones consider themselves standing for Islam. That promotes team work and better co-ordination. 

1 hour ago, kepler37b said:

I believe Pakistani foreign babus are less corrupt than that of India. This is very controversial take, but I have a premise for this.

Indian babus do not have a greater aim than selfish benefit. Their motto is to get their kids out of India and "give them good education saar..".

But Pakistani ones consider themselves standing for Islam. That promotes team work and better co-ordination. 

Rather Pakistan as a country is willing to offer much more to China & US, ready to  sell itself so it can get a better deal.

Indian foreign babus simply don’t have much wiggle room due to strategic independence it has cornered itself into.