58 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

May I know when you passed out XIIth ?

:laugh:

I was in CBSE...and we read all these scam of history. Thankfully, history was one of the subjects of my interest, so whatever scam school was about to teach me in 7th & 8th standard...I knew it beforehand courtesy of my father's textbooks.

The answer to your first sentence in your second paragraph -- I must have passed out X and XII at the same time as your father :-)!!

55 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

ICF seems to have a far higher concentration of historians / history buffs than the national average.

Not to mention pilots, military generals, immunologists, foreign ministers, missile scientists, opening batters, coaches, fast bowlers, physiotherapists, sports psychologists ...   

2 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

@coffee_rules

I clearly remember my state board (Karnataka SSLC) history classes covering all of the aforementioned empires (with the possible exception of Karkota and Parmar) in good detail. Pallavas, Cholas, Pandyas, Rashtrakutas, Vijayanagara, Maratha, all the Rajputs ... all of them were covered extensively. 

I also remember learning about the brutality of the Islamic invaders and the Mughals (only Akbar was sugar-coated, but Babar, Aurangzeb etc were described as villanous rulers).  

Maybe things were different in the CBSE world, or changed after I "passed out," or perhaps you future engineers were all busy studying for IIT-JEE during History class and missed everything :-)

Yes, the state boards had different textbooks than CBSE/KV. It did cover regional history apart from Delhi centric. But we didn’t learn about Ahoms,  Lalitaditya Muktapida of the Karkota dynasty., Kalingas in the Nanda/Gupta period or even regional kings and chieftans who fought the Dutch and Portuguese (Rani Abbakka or Marthanda Varma)  it was always about how Indian kings lost all wars to foreign invaders or British. Even about battles it was about Rani Chennamma of Kittur died  fighting a British Army commander Thackeray (yes, it is a British last name), Tipu and Hyder Ali were glorified and not much about Marathas/Peahwa conquests against Moghuls or British in the 18th century. Yes, Battle of Talikota  was covered in detail. But sometime in the 90s all state boards had lesser control and NCERT syllabus was followed by all schools. That is when the whitewashing of Moghuls and Islamic invaders started I believe. I had seen textbooks in Karnataka 25 years ago didn’t cover Talikota in detail or not much glorification of Vijayanagar/Hampe (It is not the anglicized Hampi) Caste system and Aryan Invasion Theory was covered in greater detail. It is the subtle underlining texts that sets the narrative. 

1 minute ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Not to mention pilots, military generals, immunologists, foreign ministers, missile scientists, opening batters, coaches, fast bowlers, physiotherapists, sports psychologists ...   

And Climate change or GMO deniers of science. :phehe:

9 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Interesting to read perspectives of @Mariyam . I remember an argument with mua and Milo about how Indian Muslims feel attached to the India of India going forward, with such a narrative? 

@rangeelaraja there were no riots after Ram Mandir. Do we still need to fear of upsetting Muslims if we say Jizya was forced so the rulers can convert ? 

This happened in Kangladesh today for not paying Jizya they say

India doesn’t need to fear Muslim outrage,  it needs to stop giving in to politicians who use fear to protect their vote banks.

There were no riots after Ram Mandir was inaugrated because most Indian Muslims are not looking for a fight — they want to live their lives like everyone else.

But the anti-BJP political class? That’s a different story.

The moment someone mentions that jizya was a tax meant to pressure non-Muslims and sometimes even push conversion, the entire opposition will scream  “communalism.” Because they’ve made a career out of playing the victim card and keeping Muslims angry or fearful. 

India doesn't need to lie about history. It just needs to stop letting weak leaders weaponize history to score political points. 

Appeasing politicians are the real problem - not the facts, not the people. 

The real cancer is political parties like RJD, Samajwadi Party, NCP in MH,  and then the biggest of them all - INC.

1 hour ago, Mariyam said:

@coffee_rules

I am :confused: 

Have I opined on this topic? Don’t folllow your question.

Mua and Milo?

I don’t remember which thread , but in the context of Indian Muslims feeling alienated if we  talk about past injustices or temple destruction as there is nothing they can feel attached to Indian civilization. @Muloghonto it is.  It was about our views on Kabir/Sufism I think! 

So the argument is that if we continue this path of correction of History taught in schools, do Indian Muslims get alienated as we are supposed to move forward as a nation. 

Apart from actual history, we must be taught about the supernatural stuff as well.

As unrealistic as they may sound, you never know that they could actually be true even though they may challenge the current scientific understanding of evolution and physics.

For example how Fa Xian and Xuangxuang encountered actual fire breathing dragons on their foot journey to India (lots of Romans confirmed the existence of dragons in India).

Edited by MechEng

Megasthenes too talked of a peculiar reptile in India that would move like a snake on the ground and would fly with bat like wings in the night dropping acid sometimes.

8 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Their impact was massive on all these things.  I do agree their glorification should end and stop calling them an Indianized empire.  Even Sultanate is called Turkic rule for most part at least.

yes impact and influence for sure. But don't make it as though they brough civilization here. Mughlai khana is an amalgamation of what was being cooked in Kashmir and NW India, but with a persiam inluence. Mongols never had rich agro culture or or rice cultivation to attribute Biryani to them. This reminds me of the dialogue in Bollywood movie (references Pahalgam :sad_smile:) Yes Vasco Da Gama discovered India and Moghuls discovered Kashmir!!

26 minutes ago, MechEng said:

Apart from actual history, we must be taught about the supernatural stuff as well.

As unrealistic as they may sound, you never know that they could actually be true even though they may challenge the current scientific understanding of evolution and physics.

For example how Fa Xian and Xuangxuang encountered actual fire breathing dragons on their foot journey to India (lots of Romans confirmed the existence of dragons in India).

They should also have a chapter regarding the magical effects of sycadelix like foraged shrooms.

3 minutes ago, MechEng said:

https://depts.washington.edu/silkroad/texts/faxian.html

We can cherry pick and believe in stuff that seems real.

You yourself said current scientific evidence does not support these claims.

Like this? There are also among them venomous dragons, which, when provoked, spit forth poisonous winds, and cause showers of snow and storms of sand and gravel.

I can see venomous. But the rest of it is serious dramatization. Maybe they saw a komodo dragon, which still exists.

GettyImages-637650476-6ef244bb2ce548d1b9

Let the evidence come first, and then it can be included in textbooks afterward. 

13 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

When such topics come up, I wonder how Uzbek textbooks would/should describe Babar?

Timur is a national Hero in Uzbekistan.  There is a huge statue there in his honor.

Babur was most probably a footnote in their history as his impact was mostly India centric