This faux historian Ruchika Sharma from JNU school of Romilla Thapar argues that Shivaji Maharaj was also a lootera like Babar and says all Indians came from Iran (Aryans)

1 hour ago, EnterTheVoid said:

Long overdue

We can say Ashoka was cruel and then he reformed. Gen Dyer was a ruthless killer of innocent women and children. But if we say the same about Babar , Aurangzeb or Akbar, we are communal and not secular Muslims will get hurt and riots will happen. Why? Fearing loss of peace (as if Bhaichara is working so well in Moharram and Shobha Yattas) , we have told lies that Babar was a great warrior and Akbar was good from the beginning and never reformed similar to Ashoka!

Interesting to read perspectives of @Mariyam . I remember an argument with mua and Milo about how Indian Muslims feel attached to the India of India going forward, with such a narrative? 

@rangeelaraja there were no riots after Ram Mandir. Do we still need to fear of upsetting Muslims if we say Jizya was forced so the rulers can convert ? 

5 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Watch them heavily censor Sultanate chapters and keep the status quo.

Mughals were no way near brutal as them 

There are more Aurangzeb fans than Timur or Lodhi/Tughlaq fans

38 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

There are more Aurangzeb fans than Timur or Lodhi/Tughlaq fans

There will be regardless of it but point was there is no use if we don't mention the actual darkest chapter.

2 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

We can say Ashoka was cruel and then he reformed. Gen Dyer was a ruthless killer of innocent women and children. But if we say the same about Babar , Aurangzeb or Akbar, we are communal and not secular Muslims will get hurt and riots will happen. Why? Fearing loss of peace (as if Bhaichara is working so well in Moharram and Shobha Yattas) , we have told lies that Babar was a great warrior and Akbar was good from the beginning and never reformed similar to Ashoka!

Agree. The glorification of these barbarians had to be called out.

Better late than never, I suppose.

40 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

There will be regardless of it but point was there is no use if we don't mention the actual darkest chapter.

Bhai.. baby steps lelo. Pehle mughlon ko nipatlene do!   Bollywood and vampanthiyon  have gloried Mughals so much that we believe our whole existence is because of them - architecture, music, dance, cuisine,  Festivals  , gardens and even holiday hill stations are attributed to them. 

45 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

architecture, music, dance, cuisine,  Festivals  , gardens

Their impact was massive on all these things.  I do agree their glorification should end and stop calling them an Indianized empire.  Even Sultanate is called Turkic rule for most part at least.

Kudos to government, teach our kids actual history, not the sanitized versions. Also I see calls from some groups about removing chapters of the invaders, I say keep them but keep the dark stuff also. Recent tragedies like Moplah rebellion, Noakhali, partition, Razakars (Hyderabad), Kashmir etc should also be taught. Those who don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it. 

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Watch them heavily censor Sultanate chapters and keep the status quo.

Mughals were no way near brutal as them 

10 years ago, I dug deep into Sultanate era, got so depressed......even its offshoot like Madurai Sultanate (brief, 30-40 years only) did so much gory stuff, Mughals are saints in comparison. 

I bet very few Tamils have an idea about Madurai Sultanate. Even though they were shielded from the invaders due to geography, couldn't escape the clutches of the Sultanate, even Malik Kafur raided those parts unopposed. And these were just side characters or offshoots, not even the real deal. Bengal also fell due to a Khalji, Nalanda was destroyed by those monsters. 

5 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

This faux historian Ruchika Sharma from JNU school of Romilla Thapar argues that Shivaji Maharaj was also a lootera like Babar and says all Indians came from Iran (Aryans)

Ruchika is brainwashed beyond saving, she also claims Nalanda was burnt down by jealous/vengeful Brahmins. 

Finally, about decades of sleepover. Govt has payed attention to one of the root cause of evils.

To eradicate the radicalisation, you need to eradicate the source. Glorifying Mughals, Mysore kingdome and Sultanate invaders and hate mongers created inferiority complex  in minds of Hindus. The kids weren't aware of the bravery of our rulers, but just read about the greatness of Islamic kings. Not a single sentence about legendary Karkota, Kakatiya, Parmar, Ahoms, Pallavas or Cholas. Even Maratha, Gupta, Maurya, Mewar & Sikh empire were wrapped up in a paragraph or two.

What next, start calling out British as well. Talk how people were "converted" out of greed/fear and the converts of today are the ones whose ancestors were Hindus but they stopped following their religion coz they got scared.

43 minutes ago, Gollum said:

10 years ago, I dug deep into Sultanate era, got so depressed......even its offshoot like Madurai Sultanate (brief, 30-40 years only) did so much gory stuff, Mughals are saints in comparison. 

I only came to know about Madurai Sultanate few years ago.  My gosh they were brutal.  Only few accounts are available of them mostly courtesy Ibn Batuta's visit there.  He was shocked as well & dude has travelled almost all of Muslim world.

Always known that Kafur raided and went right upto Rameswaram as per some accounts. 

As much as we hate the guy I believe he is probably the finest military mind we witnessed in Medeival Era.  A case study almost.

Edited by Lone Wolf
4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Finally, about decades of sleepover. Govt has payed attention to one of the root cause of evils.

To eradicate the radicalisation, you need to eradicate the source. Glorifying Mughals, Mysore kingdome and Sultanate invaders and hate mongers created inferiority complex  in minds of Hindus. The kids weren't aware of the bravery of our rulers, but just read about the greatness of Islamic kings. Not a single sentence about legendary Karkota, Kakatiya, Parmar, Ahoms, Pallavas or Cholas. Even Maratha, Gupta, Maurya, Mewar & Sikh empire were wrapped up in a paragraph or two.

What next, start calling out British as well. Talk how people were "converted" out of greed/fear and the converts of today are the ones whose ancestors were Hindus but they stopped following their religion coz they got scared.

@coffee_rules

I clearly remember my state board (Karnataka SSLC) history classes covering all of the aforementioned empires (with the possible exception of Karkota and Parmar) in good detail. Pallavas, Cholas, Pandyas, Rashtrakutas, Vijayanagara, Maratha, all the Rajputs ... all of them were covered extensively. 

I also remember learning about the brutality of the Islamic invaders and the Mughals (only Akbar was sugar-coated, but Babar, Aurangzeb etc were described as villanous rulers).  

Maybe things were different in the CBSE world, or changed after I "passed out," or perhaps you future engineers were all busy studying for IIT-JEE during History class and missed everything :-)

Edited by BacktoCricaddict
31 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

@coffee_rules

I clearly remember my state board (Karnataka SSLC) history classes covering all of the aforementioned empires (with the possible exception of Karkota and Parmar) in good detail. Pallavas, Cholas, Pandyas, Rashtrakutas, Vijayanagara, Maratha, all the Rajputs ... all of them were covered extensively. 

I also remember learning about the brutality of the Islamic invaders and the Mughals (only Akbar was sugar-coated, but Babar, Aurangzeb etc were described as villanous rulers).  

Maybe things were different in the CBSE world, or changed after I "passed out," or perhaps you future engineers were all busy studying for IIT-JEE during History class and missed everything :-)

May I know when you passed out XIIth ?

:laugh:

I was in CBSE...and we read all these scam of history. Thankfully, history was one of the subjects of my interest, so whatever scam school was about to teach me in 7th & 8th standard...I knew it beforehand courtesy of my father's textbooks.

Edited by singhvivek141