gakgupta Posted April 5 Posted April 5 I mean .. after 15 to 20 years of ipl .. still less than medicore players like unadkat or badoni is playing the ipl .. something seriously wrong with indian domestic system or ipl teams are not doing enough to nurture young talent ... With more than 100 crore population...they can find great talent ... May be franchises should start their own cricket training institutes all across indian with minimal training costs and start identifying and nurturing the talent who cannot afford high training costs . Any other ideas .. So boring to see jaydev sending out 160 kmph short balls and badoni hitting best of the bowlers to sixers... comeon .. franchises can do better than making 16000 crores
BacktoCricaddict Posted April 5 Posted April 5 It's not that there is no talent. Teams are afraid to try them. It is safe to go with the established guys with whom you are comfortable. Founder effect - they are there from the beginning, so even if they are *just ok*, teams like to keep them. tapandrun, singhvivek141 and Lord 1 2
Sooda Posted April 5 Posted April 5 (edited) 8 hours ago, gakgupta said: I mean .. after 15 to 20 years of ipl .. still less than medicore players like unadkat or badoni is playing the ipl .. something seriously wrong with indian domestic system or ipl teams are not doing enough to nurture young talent ... With more than 100 crore population...they can find great talent ... May be franchises should start their own cricket training institutes all across indian with minimal training costs and start identifying and nurturing the talent who cannot afford high training costs . Any other ideas .. So boring to see jaydev sending out 160 kmph short balls and badoni hitting best of the bowlers to sixers... comeon .. franchises can do better than making 16000 crores Hm come on bro we literally won the world cup with players mostly forged in the IPL Yes there a a few old timers and players who may seem mediocre but there is apparently at least a huge chunk of quality young players coming through Edited April 5 by Sooda rollingstoned 1
jf1gp_1 Posted April 6 Posted April 6 10 teams with a 25 Member squad. Each team picks 3-4 Indian seamers. Take 3.5 avg you still need 35 guys. Ofcourse Unadkat will get a chance. Stan AF 1
vvvslaxman Posted April 6 Posted April 6 I don't think any team will load full of raw bowlers. ONe or two Indain veterans even if they are crap will always be in the mix. As long as they are bought at base price that's okay. But SRH is full of such people. Not one good domestic seamer. tapandrun 1
Suhaan Posted April 6 Posted April 6 Mandatory annual IPL rant thread Ultimate_Game, Stan AF and rollingstoned 2 1
bsriharsha Posted April 6 Posted April 6 3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: I don't think any team will load full of raw bowlers. ONe or two Indain veterans even if they are crap will always be in the mix. As long as they are bought at base price that's okay. But SRH is full of such people. Not one good domestic seamer. Sunrisers always had that problem. Too risk averse when it came to bowling. And we then let go of bhuvi and shami as well.
Lone Wolf Posted April 6 Posted April 6 3 hours ago, cricketfan28 said: May be not perfect but we are doing very well .. We are a mid tier test side that can't win at home. FC domestic cricket is probably of the level of Pooks and SL. JK side winning Ranji Trophy shows the level of FC cricket in the country.
Suhaan Posted April 6 Posted April 6 7 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: FC domestic cricket is probably of the level of Pooks and SL. JK side winning Ranji Trophy shows the level of FC cricket in the country. No way
vvvslaxman Posted April 6 Posted April 6 24 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: We are a mid tier test side that can't win at home. FC domestic cricket is probably of the level of Pooks and SL. JK side winning Ranji Trophy shows the level of FC cricket in the country. I will believe when our proper first class performers given a chance. Indian batting technique is still superior. If you look at the test caps in recent times most of the good ones were accidentally found. Smaran Sarfraz Malaware Unless they go through the full list of long format potential we can't conclude we are behind in Tests. But pace unit an dspin unit requires revival. Aquib Nabi is someoe i wnat to see. tapandrun 1
Suhaan Posted April 6 Posted April 6 (edited) 19 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I will believe when our proper first class performers given a chance. Indian batting technique is still superior. If you look at the test caps in recent times most of the good ones were accidentally found. Smaran Sarfraz Malaware Unless they go through the full list of long format potential we can't conclude we are behind in Tests. But pace unit an dspin unit requires revival. Aquib Nabi is someoe i wnat to see. We have too many sides in domestics ,which is where you will always find good number mediocre/average players Some states have 2-3 sides,quality is always less in quantity in a collection Among all 32-34 sides you will find atleast 45-50 quality guys who can be given opportunities in red ball cricket,that is also a huge number in a cricket cycle Plus we have variety of conditions and pitches available,which makes these guys well acquainted with kind of pitches,the IPL money is also being used in building good facilities Edited April 6 by Suhaan Lone Wolf and express bowling 2
Lone Wolf Posted April 6 Posted April 6 7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I will believe when our proper first class performers given a chance. Indian batting technique is still superior. If you look at the test caps in recent times most of the good ones were accidentally found. Smaran Sarfraz Malaware Unless they go through the full list of long format potential we can't conclude we are behind in Tests. But pace unit an dspin unit requires revival. Aquib Nabi is someoe i wnat to see. They need to revamp the whole FC structure and improve quality by reducing the number of teams. There is no way we can judge otherwise. Top 150-160 players should be playing elite level Ranji Trophy cricket. Till then I hate to say this IPL is the only parameter through which we can find test class players and hope someone clicks.
Lone Wolf Posted April 6 Posted April 6 29 minutes ago, Suhaan said: No way Ranji Trophy is pathetic excuse of a tournament with sh*t level planning and execution. Quality is lesser than even SMAT. Just Too many sides not ideal to find good FC players. It's a majburi kind of tournament. Idk why Padosis and our exfarts hype our systuuum and policy or whatever... They probably can't digest Indian limited overs player are just more talented and skilled right now it has nothing to do with system.
vvvslaxman Posted April 6 Posted April 6 18 minutes ago, Suhaan said: We have too many sides in domestics ,which is where you will always find good number mediocre/average players Some states have 2-3 sides,quality is always less in quantity in a collection Among all 32-34 sides you will find atleast 45-50 quality guys who can be given opportunities in red ball cricket,that is also a huge number in a cricket cycle Plus we have variety of conditions and pitches available,which makes these guys well acquainted with kind of pitches,the IPL money is also being used in building good facilities That is what A tours are for. We play tests even at under-19 level. Guys like Kundu will be a successful test player when he develops. Also BCCI should be open to picking different teams for different conditions even at test level. A guy like Mayank Agarwal > Sai at home. In terms of sheer volume we produce incredible number of cricketers. Washington SUndar was an accidental discovery. Nobody could imagine he could play this well in SENA as a test batsman. Most of our recent failures are happening in Indian pitches where we come up with these raging turners and play the usual suspects. We did very well in England. We almost drew the series in Australia but for Bumrah's absence.
Suhaan Posted April 6 Posted April 6 7 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said: Ranji Trophy is pathetic excuse of a tournament with sh*t level planning and execution. Quality is lesser than even SMAT. Just Too many sides not ideal to find good FC players. It's a majburi kind of tournament. Idk why Padosis and our exfarts hype our systuuum and policy or whatever... They probably can't digest Indian limited overs player are just more talented and skilled right now it has nothing to do with system. That's subjective,the plate trophy doesn't count India has been doing well in red ball since Ganguly took over , commercialization of Indian cricket took place ,money got poured into FCs We started winning overseas,you have seen the change We started to find pacers long before IPL,lol how is it low quality?lower than SMAT?yaar seriously follow bh karte ho? Padosis ki baat mat karo, everything isn't binary,we have been consistently performing well for last 25-30 years in WCs,it's not just because of natural talent People used to wonder what will happen after Sachin,Sehwag ,Yuvi we had equally capable,Kohli,Dhawan,Rohit replacing them It's not conincidence all the time,system is always there in the background
Lone Wolf Posted April 6 Posted April 6 6 minutes ago, Suhaan said: That's subjective,the plate trophy doesn't count India has been doing well in red ball since Ganguly took over , commercialization of Indian cricket took place ,money got poured into FCs We started winning overseas,you have seen the change We started to find pacers long before IPL,lol how is it low quality?lower than SMAT?yaar seriously follow bh karte ho? Padosis ki baat mat karo, everything isn't binary,we have been consistently performing well for last 25-30 years in WCs,it's not just because of natural talent People used to wonder what will happen after Sachin,Sehwag ,Yuvi we had equally capable,Kohli,Dhawan,Rohit replacing them It's not conincidence all the time,system is always there in the background The commercialization aspect is coz of Increasing PCI and improving living standards of the people and rise of middle class that wants to spend more money as time goes on... Cricket being the major sport obviously was going to benefit from all this. IPL took that to another level and we found replacements. Actually I'd say our domestic FC cricket was pretty decent around till 2016-17. The deterioration and failure to evolve and keep repeating the ghisa pita old school domestic structure was bound to bite us someday. The next generation just wasn't ready to take the baton from the greats. The top overseas sides after years of exposure to Subcontinent conditions have started to produce better FC spinners than us and their players have started to play spin well. They anyways had better quality pacers. I watched some premier Ranji Trophy sides playing FC cricket on substandard secondary venues like it was total disregard to the tournament. Will Queensland play its FC 4 day game in friggin Gold Coast (mind you it's still a first world level infrastructure) or Gabba? There are way too many misses I found in Ranji Trophy and the lack of quality this year was astonishing. The younger crop deserves better if we want to excel or be competitive overseas and dominate at home once more.
Suhaan Posted April 6 Posted April 6 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: The commercialization aspect is coz of Increasing PCI and improving living standards of the people and rise of middle class that wants to spend more money as time goes on... Cricket being the major sport obviously was going to benefit from all this. IPL took that to another level and we found replacements. Actually I'd say our domestic FC cricket was pretty decent around till 2016-17. The deterioration and failure to evolve and keep repeating the ghisa pita old school domestic structure was bound to bite us someday. The next generation just wasn't ready to take the baton from the greats. The top overseas sides after years of exposure to Subcontinent conditions have started to produce better FC spinners than us and their players have started to play spin well. They anyways had better quality pacers. I watched some premier Ranji Trophy sides playing FC cricket on substandard secondary venues like it was total disregard to the tournament. Will Queensland play its FC 4 day game in friggin Gold Coast (mind you it's still a first world level infrastructure) or Gabba? There are way too many misses I found in Ranji Trophy and the lack of quality this year was astonishing. The younger crop deserves better if we want to excel or be competitive overseas and dominate at home once more. Yes ,I know there were few games played on random non traditional grounds ,even noticed people watching them from rooftops casually,even noticed Abhishek was featuring in one of those games,someone shareda tweet about it in the thread,can't find it,if you can share it here it will help Quality is variable and it’s bound to fluctuate year to year, you can’t expect a linear peak every single season. Comparing us to Australia’s first world infrastructure is a bit unfair given their system is the gold standard. We’ve always taken our own time to evolve, but claiming we’re at par with failed states is just plain disregard for the reality Lone Wolf 1
vvvslaxman Posted April 6 Posted April 6 Uner-19 performance and A tour give an idea. We are incredible at age group. We did play age group tests last year. Here are the results. We wiped floor with Australia and Also dominated England in England in the test series. Watch guys like Kundu, Vedant Trivedi, Abigyan Kundu who play long innings. India Under-19 Tour of Australia (2025/26) India U-19 team was dominant, winning all matches during the tour. 1st Youth Test (Brisbane): India won by an innings and 58 runs. 2nd Youth Test (Mackay): India won by 7 wickets. Series Result: India won 2-0. Youth ODI Series: India won 3-0. Cricbuzz +4 India Under-19 Tour of England (2025) The Test series was hard-fought and ended in a draw, with both teams scoring heavily. 1st Youth Test (Beckenham): Match Drawn. 2nd Youth Test (Chelmsford): Match Drawn. Series Result: Series drawn 0-0. Youth ODI Series: India won 3-2. Cricbuzz +2
vvvslaxman Posted April 6 Posted April 6 1 hour ago, Suhaan said: Yes ,I know there were few games played on random non traditional grounds ,even noticed people watching them from rooftops casually,even noticed Abhishek was featuring in one of those games,someone shareda tweet about it in the thread,can't find it,if you can share it here it will help Quality is variable and it’s bound to fluctuate year to year, you can’t expect a linear peak every single season. Comparing us to Australia’s first world infrastructure is a bit unfair given their system is the gold standard. We’ve always taken our own time to evolve, but claiming we’re at par with failed states is just plain disregard for the reality We have surplus of talents if anything. We just have to identify the right people for right format. That is where we are missing the mark. First thing we have to address is pitch preparation. Last 2 tours for SENA teams we prepared goddawful surfaces. There was zero home advantage. We prepared so bad that we brought their average spinners into the mix. Suhaan 1