putrevus Posted May 1 Posted May 1 (edited) On 4/12/2026 at 2:20 PM, Lord said: Kohli showed extra love to their players with pappi jhappi etc. Also Kohli success against them can be excused by Pak bowlers being poor. Sachin often owned their greatest attack Did I miss the matches when Sachin owned Pakistan's greatest attack. I never saw Sachin owning any Pakistani attack. If you call world cup knock of 98 against Akram and Younis playing their last match of their career as owning then we have have very different definition greatest attack. Kohli towers over Sachin in odis and against Pakistan just like Sehwag does in tests. Edited May 1 by putrevus Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted May 1 Posted May 1 2 hours ago, putrevus said: Did I miss the matches when Sachin owned Pakistan's greatest attack. I never saw Sachin owning any Pakistani attack. If you call world cup knock of 98 against Akram and Younis playing their last match of their career as owning then we have have very different definition greatest attack. Kohli towers over Sachin in odis and against Pakistan just like Sehwag does in tests. Kohli "towers over" Tendulkar Sure, just like Kohli's contributions "tower over" Bumrah's putrevus 1
putrevus Posted May 2 Posted May 2 45 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Kohli "towers over" Tendulkar Sure, just like Kohli's contributions "tower over" Bumrah's For a moron like you who has no clue , first go and learn history.What the heck has Bumrah ever done in any 50 over world cup match except come up short in every big match. Kohli scored world cup and CT hundreds against Pakistan.Not to mention him winning most of the t20 world cup matches on his own against Pakistan
JaFanatic Posted May 2 Posted May 2 3 hours ago, putrevus said: For a moron like you who has no clue , first go and learn history.What the heck has Bumrah ever done in any 50 over world cup match except come up short in every big match. Kohli scored world cup and CT hundreds against Pakistan.Not to mention him winning most of the t20 world cup matches on his own against Pakistan It's you who sound like one throwing insults at the comfy of your keyboard for no reason. It's soo easy isn't it?
Ultimate_Game Posted May 2 Posted May 2 (edited) 4 hours ago, putrevus said: For a moron like you who has no clue , first go and learn history.What the heck has Bumrah ever done in any 50 over world cup match except come up short in every big match. Kohli scored world cup and CT hundreds against Pakistan.Not to mention him winning most of the t20 world cup matches on his own against Pakistan And of course King Kohli has filled up cabinets with ODI WC trophies with his "15 bad mins", "one bad day", "bad luck" etc. Yeah we all know what great innings he used to play when we saw our IPL youngsters decimate everyone, including Pakistan. Scoring 180+ was beyond him and our IPL kids hammered 250+ for fun thrice. Shows where his performances stand just like the way he ran away from Aus in BGT 2020-21 and the youngsters beat Aus in Aus. But of course braindead idiots like you who jump around like baboons simping for Kohli won't understand anything. The only thing Kohli has done is kept the ODI WC trophy away from Bumrah coz he couldn't do shyte in knockouts when our bowlers and Bumrah had done the hard work in ICC tournies without any support from the so called star batters. Hope the oldies are kicked out so Bumrah has a chance to win for once with youngsters winning the tourney coz it's beyond Kohli who's only good for stat-padding. And by the way if Kohli won couple of matches against Pak, Bumrah has won a couple of WT20 tournies. Edited May 2 by Ultimate_Game
Suhaan Posted May 2 Posted May 2 4 hours ago, putrevus said: For a moron like you who has no clue , first go and learn history.What the heck has Bumrah ever done in any 50 over world cup match except come up short in every big match. Kohli scored world cup and CT hundreds against Pakistan.Not to mention him winning most of the t20 world cup matches on his own against Pakistan No one is moron when you take up the spot Kohli should lick Bumrah's feet for he saved him from utter humiliation in 2024 wc Ultimate_Game 1
Adamant Posted May 2 Posted May 2 8 hours ago, Suhaan said: No one is moron when you take up the spot Kohli should lick Bumrah's feet for he saved him from utter humiliation in 2024 wc Both saved India, we wouldn’t score 170+ if we were 30/4, I understand that Bumrah was better that day but Kohlis knock was needed, nothing great but a good knock.
Adamant Posted May 2 Posted May 2 Bumrah is probably gonna be our greatest player ever, in tests and t20is its obvious but as of now I don’t think he is close to Sachin or Kohli in Odi.
Nikhil_cric Posted May 2 Posted May 2 (edited) 14 hours ago, putrevus said: For a moron like you who has no clue , first go and learn history.What the heck has Bumrah ever done in any 50 over world cup match except come up short in every big match. Kohli scored world cup and CT hundreds against Pakistan.Not to mention him winning most of the t20 world cup matches on his own against Pakistan Yeah sure coming from the guy who created a thread bashing Indian youngsters , this is big talk. Weren't you also the guy who said that Gill was a far better T20 batsman than Sanju Samson ? Edited May 2 by Nikhil_cric Ultimate_Game and JaFanatic 1 1
Ultimate_Game Posted May 2 Posted May 2 49 minutes ago, Adamant said: Bumrah is probably gonna be our greatest player ever, in tests and t20is its obvious but as of now I don’t think he is close to Sachin or Kohli in Odi. Let's say there's a draft system and you've to build an India ATG team, the first 2 picks will be Bumrah and Kapil. Reason is that you can get batters who'll be able to give you similar performances without that steep a dropoff. But there's hardly anyone who can replace Bumrah or someone like Kapil. After these two, let's say for Tests, come in Gavaskar and Tendulkar. And Ashwin, Jadeja and Shami will come pretty close to the top as well. Point being we never had anyone like Bumrah (or Kapil) in our history, and they're unique. But we can get batters who're changeable with some dropoff, say Dravid or Laxman in place of Kohli or anyone. Gavaskar and Tendular are the top 2 batters probably with Sehwag as opener to pair with Gavaskar but after that Dravid, Laxman, Vishwanath, Kohli etc. can come in. So nope Kohli doesn't outrank Bumrah anywhere. If Kohli had stepped up and won a tourney by himself like Head did for Aus or showed up in WTC Finals, probably yes. But at the moment nope coz having Kohli in the team hasn't had any difference at all. But Having Bumrah in the team led to us winning in Aus and 2 WT20 tourneys. And with a bit of support from batters could've won in 2019 WC or 2023 WC where batters didn't hold up their end of the bargain. In 2019 they couldn't chase 240 and in 2023 they could muster only 240 on a patta when Rohit had already given them a flying start of 80 in 10 overs.
Suhaan Posted May 2 Posted May 2 1 hour ago, Adamant said: Both saved India, we wouldn’t score 170+ if we were 30/4, I understand that Bumrah was better that day but Kohlis knock was needed, nothing great but a good knock. Yes I do understand didn't want to downplay Kohli but the other poster does it everytime by dismissing Bumrah with disdain Ultimate_Game and Adamant 2
kosingh Posted May 3 Posted May 3 Australian fans also like Virat a lot. It's not just a Pakistani thing. Adamant 1
Adamant Posted May 4 Posted May 4 Any ardent fan of Indian Cricket should thank heavens that a bowler like Bumrah plays for us. Its truly an honour to watch such a giant play for us.
Adamant Posted May 4 Posted May 4 On 5/2/2026 at 8:05 PM, Ultimate_Game said: Let's say there's a draft system and you've to build an India ATG team, the first 2 picks will be Bumrah and Kapil. Reason is that you can get batters who'll be able to give you similar performances without that steep a dropoff. But there's hardly anyone who can replace Bumrah or someone like Kapil. After these two, let's say for Tests, come in Gavaskar and Tendulkar. And Ashwin, Jadeja and Shami will come pretty close to the top as well. Yeah Bumrah would be a sure shot pick in Odi and more important for us than Kohli because we have a horrible history of fast bowling. Lets take an example of Pakistan, they have had no ATG odi batsman but have a few ATG odi bowlers like Akram, Mushtaq, Waqar and an ATG bowling allrounder like Imran. For them Kohli would be picked before Bumrah. So the reason we pick Bumrah in Odis above Kohli is just that we have enough great batsman in Odis but no great bowler. Also what Odi tournaments have Bumrah won for us? Sorry, there is no way in hell that Bumrah is a better Odi player than Kohli (when you compare their whole careers). Kohli was instrumental in winning two Champions trophy and played a significant role in one finals of the Odi WC. On 5/2/2026 at 8:05 PM, Ultimate_Game said: Point being we never had anyone like Bumrah (or Kapil) in our history, and they're unique. But we can get batters who're changeable with some dropoff, say Dravid or Laxman in place of Kohli or anyone. Gavaskar and Tendular are the top 2 batters probably with Sehwag as opener to pair with Gavaskar but after that Dravid, Laxman, Vishwanath, Kohli etc. can come in. There is absolutely no reason to bring Gundappa Vishwanath here, he was not in the league of Kohli in test cricket and that’s pretty evident by stats. Even Laxman is inferior and Sehwags away record in an era of flat pitches in test cricket gives me enough reason to rate him lower. On 5/2/2026 at 8:05 PM, Ultimate_Game said: So nope Kohli doesn't outrank Bumrah anywhere. If Kohli had stepped up and won a tourney by himself like Head did for Aus or showed up in WTC Finals, probably yes. But at the moment nope coz having Kohli in the team hasn't had any difference at all. But Having Bumrah in the team led to us winning in Aus and 2 WT20 tourneys. And with a bit of support from batters could've won in 2019 WC or 2023 WC where batters didn't hold up their end of the bargain. In 2019 they couldn't chase 240 and in 2023 they could muster only 240 on a patta when Rohit had already given them a flying start of 80 in 10 overs. No, Kohli does outrank Bumrah in Odis and will be rated on a higher level , he has contributed to more Odi trophies, has better performances in world cups and longevity is incomparable. Please stop this extreme hate against him, you are pointing to the fact that Kohli didn’t win us a world cup in Odis but then he atleast won us two CTs while Bumrah has no silverware to show in this format, your logic doesn’t make sense.
Mariyam Posted May 4 Posted May 4 On 5/1/2026 at 2:11 PM, kosingh said: Kohli is a cultural icon more than a batting icon. Yes. A leading proponent of the Delhi subculture of abusing others for no rhyme or reason. New guy 1
rangeelaraja Posted May 14 Posted May 14 On 5/4/2026 at 1:35 AM, Mariyam said: Yes. A leading proponent of the Delhi subculture of abusing others for no rhyme or reason. @Mariyam Rohit abuses too - more prolifically and with even worse language. I can share innnumerable instances of Rohit abusing with the most horrible language ( its all on youtube ). The only difference is Kohli abuses with anger, Rohit hazi mazaak mein gaali bakta hai. And speaking of the Delhi subculture of abusing others for no real reason… would you agree that comedians/ performers like Samay Raina, whose comedy often leans heavily on expletives, have contributed to a subculture where profanity is seen as almost necessary to make humor land? Why so much hypocricy yaar....you are normally a very balanced and fair individual. But I guess, even you have your limitations.
rangeelaraja Posted May 15 Posted May 15 ^ @Mariyam Gentle reminder on the above. You can simply acknowledge you have your human biases - it’s not acceptable, and it reflects poorly on the culture when some individuals use abusive language for no rhyme or reasons (e.g., Kohli), but perfectly ok with others using even more frequent or harsher language — whether in cricket (Rohit Sharma) or for comedic effect (Samay Raina) are treated as entirely acceptable.
Mariyam Posted May 15 Posted May 15 @rangeelaraja Unsure about what you are arguing about here? Kohli has been abusive and not in jest for the first half of his career. The kind of behaviour that is held in high esteem in Delhi, socially speaking. At least in West Delhi and South Ex. After marriage he has become a Guru Ghantaal baba of sorts who has started telling people how they can celebrate festivals and how they shouldn’t litter. His latest form is even more despicable than his earlier rude self. I don’t watch YT for cricket. In fact I don’t watch much cricket, Ro Sha seems to be a fun guy to be around. People are always laughing around him. I’ve had the privilege of very brief interactions with him during a few IPL games and he has a very Mumbai street smart shana vibe around him. Samay Raina on the other hand is genuinely witty and nimble with his thoughts. I’ve been on some of his chess streams (sometimes with Sagar) and he would make you laugh out of nothing. No abuses/No gaali galoch. The Latent Samay Raina is not the one I knew, nor am I a fan of that kind of humour, but it’s the job of an artist to challenge boundaries. He has his heart at the right place.
vvvslaxman Posted May 15 Posted May 15 WHy is Kohli giving an interview that he wants to play in 2027 world cup? Does he get a signal that he may be dropped out. I think he can still play for England if BCCI drops him.