kepler37b Posted May 8 Author Posted May 8 I also love tamil brahmin cuisine. Sheer mastery of vegetarianism. rangeelaraja and Gollum 2
Tillu Posted May 8 Posted May 8 The best Andhra food I ever had was in the Andhra Bhavan Canteen at Cannaught place, Ashoka road in Delhi. It is by far the most popular Bhavan out of all the state bhavan canteens in Delhi. The place is always filled to the brim with Delhi locals serving 3000 customers everyday and the prices also are pretty reasonable. Used to be my life line when I used to stay in Noida and craved Telugu food. Their Veg and Non Veg fare is equally good. Gollum and BacktoCricaddict 2
Tillu Posted May 8 Posted May 8 Similarly Meghana Biryani and Nagarjuna meals rule the Bengaluru restaurant scene. Andhra unlimited Thalis I heard are also a big hit among the Tamil Nadu college students and everyday workers. velu 1
bsriharsha Posted May 8 Posted May 8 Kerala cuisine among the lot. Bengali and Goan cuisine are great too straighttalk 1
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 (edited) Delhi, UP overall. Delhi is probably the food capital of the country, kya variety hai, something for everyone to enjoy. Bengali cuisine is also great, especially the non-veg items. Desserts also class, Bengali sweets ko koi takkar nahi de sakta, puri duniya mein. I also like Hyderabadi cuisine but their biryani is damn overrated. Veg chahiye toh Punjab, Rajasthan all the way. Also the Tamil veg meals is very good, for lunch. South Indian breakfast is unmatched in that category though. India mein breakfast khana hai toh I would strongly recommend South Indian. Only cuisine I haven't warmed up to is Odia. Great state, great people, great culture/history, but cuisine is underwhelming, sorry to my Odia brothers here on ICF. Edited May 8 by Gollum
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 I don't know much about Maharashtrian cuisine, any recommendations @Mariyam @G_B_?
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 (edited) UP has an awesome legacy of meat based dishes. Sad it has come down to this @Lone Wolf @Mariyam @New guy @Lord @straighttalk, such petty people in power. Where is the Nihari, Korma, Kakori/Shami Kabab, Biryani etc? Edible oil, pickled chillis are signature UP dishes but not Awadhi Biryani and Galouti Kabab. Edited May 8 by Gollum Lord, Mariyam, New guy and 1 other 1 3
straighttalk Posted May 8 Posted May 8 4 hours ago, bsriharsha said: Kerala cuisine among the lot. Bengali and Goan cuisine are great too Seems you are a fish fan based on your choices...
straighttalk Posted May 8 Posted May 8 10 minutes ago, Gollum said: UP has an awesome legacy of meat based dishes. Sad it has come down to this @Lone Wolf @Mariyam @New guy @Lord, such petty people in power. Where is the Nihari, Korma, Kakori/Shami Kabab, Biryani etc? Edible oil, pickled chillis are signature UP dishes but not Awadhi Biryani and Galouti Kabab. What a shame...love some of the delicacies you mentioned...few places in kolakta still has the heritage alive. Gollum 1
straighttalk Posted May 8 Posted May 8 I love South India n dishes like idli dosa vada as breakfast with filter coffee Sometimes when the mood hits North India bhaji and bahture. Big fan of Punjabi dishes as well as tandoori chicken naan. Sarsoo ka saag, etc. Like @Gollum voracious eater of meat and fish...love the awadhi food . Total fidaa on nepali Tiberian bhutanese cuisine...north east pork etc is also great.. Love Bengali fishes too and bihari mustard stuff. My absolute favorite would be nepali and bhutanese dishes.awadhi cuisine, and Bengali fish. Gollum and Mariyam 2
coffee_rules Posted May 8 Posted May 8 Add Mughlai, Rajasthani , Gujarati to the list, . I had Rajasthani food reference place recently, it is pretty unique and good. Very spicy too as much as Andhra . You can’t choose one in the list I like them all except maybe Bengali. straighttalk 1
coffee_rules Posted May 8 Posted May 8 5 hours ago, Tillu said: The best Andhra food I ever had was in the Andhra Bhavan Canteen at Cannaught place, Ashoka road in Delhi. It is by far the most popular Bhavan out of all the state bhavan canteens in Delhi. The place is always filled to the brim with Delhi locals serving 3000 customers everyday and the prices also are pretty reasonable. Used to be my life line when I used to stay in Noida and craved Telugu food. Their Veg and Non Veg fare is equally good. The best Andhra style food you get- is in bangalore so many new restaurants - Nagarjuna, Amravati, RR and there are multiple changes of these in each locality. Tillu 1
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 49 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Add Mughlai, Rajasthani , Gujarati to the list, . I had Rajasthani food reference place recently, it is pretty unique and good. Very spicy too as much as Andhra . You can’t choose one in the list I like them all except maybe Bengali. Don't you dare take jibes at Bengali cuisine. Sugar Sambhar Ragi Mudde Mysore Pak Sasta Puran Poli aka Holige Main kuch bolna shuru kar du toh kahi ke nahi rahoge coffee. velu and coffee_rules 2
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 (edited) Bhai, Delhi should be a poll option. Perfect fusion of Mughlai, Awadhi, Punjabi, Tibetan/Nepali/Ladakhi, chaats....and even refugees from Pak brought in great food to the city. Delhi has 1000 problems, AQI/smog, crime, rape, short temper, road rage, ugly Kotla stadium, Parliament mein baithe criminals......but khane ke mamle mein you can't top what they offer. Edited May 8 by Gollum Lone Wolf 1
Lone Wolf Posted May 8 Posted May 8 1 hour ago, Gollum said: UP has an awesome legacy of meat based dishes. Sad it has come down to this @Lone Wolf @Mariyam @New guy @Lord @straighttalk, such petty people in power. Where is the Nihari, Korma, Kakori/Shami Kabab, Biryani etc? Edible oil, pickled chillis are signature UP dishes but not Awadhi Biryani and Galouti Kabab. WTF is this?? Edible oil is a delicacy now Whatever they say UP's Indo Mughalai cuisine is top tier and world famous. Something that Pooks love to claim as well but even they know it doesn't belongs to them. It's Indian heritage. No one is visiting UP to enjoy Edible oil (what even tf it is?) Kachori and Samosas UNESCO literally has included Lucknow's tunday Kabab as among World famous timeless flavours lol Gollum and coffee_rules 2
kepler37b Posted May 8 Author Posted May 8 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: Bhai, Delhi should be a poll option. Perfect fusion of Mughlai, Awadhi, Punjabi, Tibetan/Nepali/Ladakhi, chaats....and even refugees from Pak brought in great food to the city. Delhi has 1000 problems, AQI/smog, crime, rape, short temper, road rage, ugly Kotla stadium, Parliament mein baithe criminals......but khane ke mamle mein you can't top what they offer. My friend went to Delhi once and every other restaurant has Punjabi music playing. I thought punjabi = delhi cuisine. God pardon my ignorance. Gollum 1
Gollum Posted May 8 Posted May 8 1 minute ago, kepler37b said: My friend went to Delhi once and every other restaurant has Punjabi music playing. I thought punjabi = delhi cuisine. God pardon my ignorance. Bet he didn't go to Old Dilli.
G_B_ Posted May 8 Posted May 8 1 hour ago, Gollum said: I don't know much about Maharashtrian cuisine, any recommendations @Mariyam @G_B_? I guess i am biased towards the konkan side, but try the "calvan" or maharashtrian fish curry (fish is usually ravas or halwa). Especially with fried bombay duck on the side. Wash it down with aam raas from alphonso mangos Gollum and singhvivek141 2