randomGuy Posted May 10 Posted May 10 No gold purchases No foreign vacations No foreign weddings Reduce petrol diesel usage. @Mariyam dekh lo, I have been saying from long time.. We are trade deficit country, Rich/upper middle class citizens have to be careful spending in foreign currency. As a part of national duty. Mariyam 1
rangeelaraja Posted May 10 Posted May 10 (edited) Super proud to be a member of the much maligned NRI community that does its bit to wire 135 billion dollars annually via remittances to ensure that India will never ever fall short of forex. For all those agyaanis who ask for a bold stance and “ self respect “ against Uncle Sam , be aware that over 40 billion dollars of annual remittances come from there and almost entirely sent by the hardworking H1B professionals who toil and remit money either to invest in India or to provide for their families. Act oversmart or stronger than you are, and that tap can be turned off - it is a sad reality - especially in the current environment. Edited May 10 by rangeelaraja Mariyam, GoldenSun, randomGuy and 3 others 3 3
rangeelaraja Posted May 10 Posted May 10 138 billion dollars https://m.economictimes.com/nri/invest/india-leads-in-global-remittance-inflows-as-overseas-workforce-and-student-migration-grow/amp_articleshow/130956949.cms
Mariyam Posted May 10 Posted May 10 @randomGuy why have you tagged me? I will say this: With the rupee weakening and further likely to weaken in case of irregular energy flow from West Asia, most people who can *will* buy gold. It is the best hedge. If it were legal, they would buy and store dollars, but there is a cap to that. You will also see a lot of people use platforms like Vested to play the US Stock market. Even if your portfolio maintains status quo, you can beat inflation simply because of the falling rupee. Stan AF 1
randomGuy Posted May 10 Author Posted May 10 7 minutes ago, Mariyam said: @randomGuy why have you tagged me? I will say this: With the rupee weakening and further likely to weaken in case of irregular energy flow from West Asia, most people who can *will* buy gold. It is the best hedge. If it were legal, they would buy and store dollars, but there is a cap to that. You will also see a lot of people use platforms like Vested to play the US Stock market. Even if your portfolio maintains status quo, you can beat inflation simply because of the falling rupee. People will do but if PM says do not, then they will reconsider. I tagged you because I remember mentioning the same thing to you and others in reg. foreign vacations. Now the PM also has appealed.
Mariyam Posted May 10 Posted May 10 2 minutes ago, randomGuy said: People will do but if PM says do not, then they will reconsider. I tagged you because I remember mentioning the same thing to you and others in reg. foreign vacations. Now the PM also has appealed. Yes from now on holidays only where the Rupee is accepted and can settle payments by UPI. Russia. Eiffel Tower bookings also can be done via UPI now.
randomGuy Posted May 10 Author Posted May 10 Just now, Mariyam said: Yes from now on holidays only where the Rupee is accepted and can settle payments by UPI. Russia. Eiffel Tower bookings also can be done via UPI now. Best is ki apne desh me ghumo. Support local businesses and tourism. And proudly share pics etc. like when one travels in a most sought foreign location...Even foreigners say India is so vast n diverse. If Japanese can show discipline and sacrifice, why can't we? Mariyam 1
Mariyam Posted May 10 Posted May 10 (edited) 5 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Best is ki apne desh me ghumo. Support local businesses and tourism. And proudly share pics etc. like when one travels in a most sought foreign location...Even foreigners say India is so vast n diverse. If Japanese can show discipline and sacrifice, why can't we? Lekin aapka ishaara meri taraf kyu hai? Kahin pe nighahen kahin pe Nishana? I do travel a lot in India. From the top of my head, Have travelled to every Indian state except: Jharkhand. Bihar. Nagaland Mizoram Manipur Lakshwadeep (not a State) Telangana (non Hyd) Perhaps a few more. I know your question was rhetorical, but what discipline do you want us to show? Tourism in India is *not* value for money. I would much rather go to Phuket (4 hour flight from Mumbai) than to Goa. Edited May 10 by Mariyam nevada, Sgattick10 and randomGuy 3
rangeelaraja Posted May 10 Posted May 10 1 minute ago, randomGuy said: Best is ki apne desh me ghumo. Support local businesses and tourism. And proudly share pics etc. like when one travels in a most sought foreign location...Even foreigners say India is so vast n diverse. If Japanese can show discipline and sacrifice, why can't we? I think India needs a more pocket friendly tax regime. Plus tourism is grossly overpriced for the quality ( compare cost of a vacation to Goa vs. Colombo or Maldives or Bali ) Mariyam 1
randomGuy Posted May 10 Author Posted May 10 29 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: 138 billion dollars https://m.economictimes.com/nri/invest/india-leads-in-global-remittance-inflows-as-overseas-workforce-and-student-migration-grow/amp_articleshow/130956949.cms Yar break-up karoge to pata chalega ki US is beneficial but Canada etc. are a HUGE drain. Canada me India ka bahut paisa education and rehne-khane me jata hai, remittance kam ata hai... Also, Middle East remittances are huge.
randomGuy Posted May 10 Author Posted May 10 2 minutes ago, Mariyam said: Lekin aapka ishaara meri taraf kyu hai? Kahin pe nighahen kahin pe Nishana? I do travel a lot in India. From the top of my head, Have travelled to every Indian state except: Jharkhand. Bihar. Nagaland Mizoram Manipur Lakshwadeep (not a State) Telangana (non Hyd) Perhaps a few more. I know your question was rhetorical, but what discipline do you want us to show? Tourism in India is *not* value for money. I would much rather go to Phuket (4 hour flight from Mumbai) than to Goa. Madam ji, PM is asking us to try n not vacation in foreign. Save forex reserves... Goa jae ya nahi , he hasn't said. This is for everyone, not just you. I know you travel a lot in India too.
rangeelaraja Posted May 10 Posted May 10 2 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Yar break-up karoge to pata chalega ki US is beneficial but Canada etc. are a HUGE drain. Canada me India ka bahut paisa education and rehne-khane me jata hai, remittance kam ata hai... Also, Middle East remittances are huge. Canada is a total waste of a country to migrate to if the goal is to build generational wealth. 50 % of salaried income goes into taxes. The compensation levels for the exact same role - are 70 % or less. Plus far less generous RSU stock grants. People go there for the lifestyle -- not to accumulate wealth. Lord 1
Mariyam Posted May 10 Posted May 10 6 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Yar break-up karoge to pata chalega ki US is beneficial but Canada etc. are a HUGE drain. Canada me India ka bahut paisa education and rehne-khane me jata hai, remittance kam ata hai... Also, Middle East remittances are huge. Aur uss se kahin jyada paisa Cayman Islands, Mauritius, Cyprus gaya hai. Yes there is new legislation now. But the legacy ‘drain’ by the powers that be and the administrators is multitudes (in 100s at least) of times what is spent by those who go to Canada.
rangeelaraja Posted May 10 Posted May 10 1 minute ago, Mariyam said: Aur uss se kahin jyada paisa Cayman Islands, Mauritius, Cyprus gaya hai. Yes there is new legislation now. But the legacy ‘drain’ by the powers that be and the administrators is multitudes (in 100s at least) of times what is spent by those who go to Canada. You forgot Dubai. This emirate is one big mystery to me. It is like one big shopping mall. They produce nothing except petroleum and its products. 85 % of the population is migrant workforce that will never be granted permanent residency let alone citizenship. How long can an economy sustain on being a shopping hub ? They already have first world infrastructure, so that construction led boom is over. Bachha kya.
coffee_rules Posted May 10 Posted May 10 (edited) Stop importing pulses and millets from US/Kaneda and grow in India atma nirbhar and all Edited May 10 by coffee_rules Lord 1
gattaca Posted May 10 Posted May 10 5 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Stop importing pulses and millets from US/Kaneda and grow in India atma nirbhar and all lol what ? India is doing that ? People in India have been lazy recently. They don’t want to work hard. India is a welfare state now. coffee_rules 1
Lord Posted May 10 Posted May 10 5 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Stop importing pulses and millets from US/Kaneda and grow in India atma nirbhar and all Yes I was also surprised when I learned that coffee_rules 1
jf1gp_1 Posted May 11 Posted May 11 6 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Stop importing pulses and millets from US/Kaneda and grow in India atma nirbhar and all Large part of these pulse imports are substandard, in some cases toxic, which couldnt be sold in home countries. They are cheaper than our Indian products and sell quick. However, it's just sad when you place Indian and imported fruits next to each other. If one has money there is no way one will buy Indian fruits. PM needs to focus on quality produce. Few people died due to toxins in watermelon few days back.
gattaca Posted May 11 Posted May 11 48 minutes ago, jf1gp_1 said: Large part of these pulse imports are substandard, in some cases toxic, which couldnt be sold in home countries. They are cheaper than our Indian products and sell quick. However, it's just sad when you place Indian and imported fruits next to each other. If one has money there is no way one will buy Indian fruits. PM needs to focus on quality produce. Few people died due to toxins in watermelon few days back. Lol American food is worst in the world. Europe doesn’t import any American agri products. straighttalk 1
straighttalk Posted May 11 Posted May 11 8 hours ago, randomGuy said: Best is ki apne desh me ghumo. Support local businesses and tourism. And proudly share pics etc. like when one travels in a most sought foreign location...Even foreigners say India is so vast n diverse. If Japanese can show discipline and sacrifice, why can't we? Because our country seriously lacks in infrastructure cleanliness and safety not to add corruption. Earlier it was affordable and now it has become so expensive.one needs to go to Vietnam to simply understand the difference between the two countries... Yes their population is smaller but their revenues are less too...their civic sense infrastructure and their govt has done so much to improve their quality of life and standard of living compared to what we get in India....