Lone Wolf Posted June 16 Posted June 16 14 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: This is also a misconception if you ask me. India is the second best country in world cup matches held in SENA since 2000. India has lost only 5 matches in SENA in world cup since 2000. Thrice to Australia 2003(2), 2015 and once to England, once to NZ. I expect India to struggle this time. Not because it is SENA> but because most of the players are at the end of their career. This Indian team will struggle even in India. Yeah current Indian batting unit is pretty jaded but I'd still give them a chance in India. In SENA gap only widens. 2003 WC we had great mixture of youth with experience. Lost to an all timer side. That 03 side would likely win both 2019 and maybe even 2015 one.
vvvslaxman Posted June 16 Posted June 16 Critical question is does India have enough time to groom a new opener just in case Rohit is not available or not selected? Why should selectors leave it to the choice of players. Have a chat and phase him out with a farewell game
vvvslaxman Posted June 16 Posted June 16 Just now, Lone Wolf said: Yeah current Indian batting unit is pretty jaded but I'd still give them a chance in India. In SENA gap only widens. 2003 WC we had great mixture of youth with experience. Lost to an all timer side. That 03 side would likely win both 2019 and maybe even 2015 one. The NZ series doesn't give me any hopes. On Indian pitches many teams bat well. Last time we bundled teams out for 55, 83, 126, 198, 192. This one is remotely capable of doing that.
tweaker Posted June 16 Posted June 16 Our ODI team is too jaded and lacks X factor to win the ODI WC Our team management doesn't want options for any position.Jaiswal don't get a chance to play . Ideally only one wk batsman should play in the playing 11, Rahul and Kishan are both playing and they are robbing a place of middle order batsman. Suthar, Harsh,Tanush, Kuldeep, should be given more opportunities. Another set of young off spinners,leg spinners should be given opportunities. Jaiswal,Patidar,Riyan , Suyash, Tanush,Manav, Harsh, Ashok, Gurnoor should get some games
Ultimate_Game Posted June 16 Author Posted June 16 8 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Critical question is does India have enough time to groom a new opener just in case Rohit is not available or not selected? Why should selectors leave it to the choice of players. Have a chat and phase him out with a farewell game We have enough time and talent to replace Rohit. Jaiswal or Sai or even Sooryavanshi doesn't need years of "experience". It's more than clear that Rohit is done. He doesn't bowl, is not a good fielder and we're carrying him despite him not even able to last the PP. Imagine if Gill falls early and we're essentially 2 wkts down! This is the prime example of selectors not doing their job. They should be the ones telling Rohit that his time is done and his recent performances in IPL coupled with his poor fitness and age (he'll be 40+ by the time WC comes) doesn't warrant his selection in the WC squad. Yet here we are keeping likes of Jaiswal and Sai on the sidelines in favor of a 40 year old has been tweaker 1
Adamant Posted June 16 Posted June 16 5 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: And what has it delivered? Filling boot in the group stages and going missing in the knockouts and the final? We all saw that in 2015, 2019 and 2023. It's not a one off. Do you recall 2015 where top order except Dhawan failed or 2019 where they couldn't even chase 239? What's the excuses for those tourneys? All we hear is excuses for every WC. I've yet to see our so called "batting stars" show up and deliver the way our bowlers have done when given any sort of support. And what did the bowling deliver, lol. You got flogged because you dont have any analytical skills and now you are asking these idiotic propaganda questions. If batting did not win anything then the same applies for bowling lol. In 23 WC final too our bowling failed. Are you completely daft or do you have any semblance of logic in your brain? Also I did give you examples lol, the same batting superstar won motm in semis and finals of CT, they won MOTM in semis and finals on t20 WC. You failing to acknowledge that has got nothing to do with reality, lol. Tere jaise insaan se baat bhi kaise kar sakte, blind hate hai bas.
Adamant Posted June 16 Posted June 16 5 hours ago, Ultimate_Game said: And what has it delivered? Filling boot in the group stages and going missing in the knockouts and the final? We all saw that in 2015, 2019 and 2023. It's not a one off. Do you recall 2015 where top order except Dhawan failed or 2019 where they couldn't even chase 239? What's the excuses for those tourneys? All we hear is excuses for every WC. I've yet to see our so called "batting stars" show up and deliver the way our bowlers have done when given any sort of support. You quoted stats of 2019 and 2023 WC telling me how the bowling is number one on stats and still we failed to win, I showed you the same stats in batting and when you had egg on your face you started your rant again. Atleast use your own brain for once. Kya aadmi hai yaar.
Adamant Posted June 16 Posted June 16 On 6/13/2026 at 11:30 PM, Nikhil_cric said: No quality batting allrounder at #6 and geriatric Top 3 batsmen who will likely fail against bounce in South Africa at 40 and 39 years of age. Those are the only issues. But I don't expect Indian cricket to either acknowledge that or try to correct it. Should we drop Jasprit Bumrah from our playing eleven this time also. Asking because you suggested the same before 2023 world cup.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 16 Author Posted June 16 3 hours ago, Adamant said: You quoted stats of 2019 and 2023 WC telling me how the bowling is number one on stats and still we failed to win, I showed you the same stats in batting and when you had egg on your face you started your rant again. Atleast use your own brain for once. Kya aadmi hai yaar. Those're useless stats when the batters can't even chase 239 or put up 240 on a patta. All those stats are as useless as your arguments. 3 tournies and 3 excuses.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 16 Author Posted June 16 3 hours ago, Adamant said: And what did the bowling deliver, lol. You got flogged because you dont have any analytical skills and now you are asking these idiotic propaganda questions. If batting did not win anything then the same applies for bowling lol. In 23 WC final too our bowling failed. Are you completely daft or do you have any semblance of logic in your brain? Also I did give you examples lol, the same batting superstar won motm in semis and finals of CT, they won MOTM in semis and finals on t20 WC. You failing to acknowledge that has got nothing to do with reality, lol. Tere jaise insaan se baat bhi kaise kar sakte, blind hate hai bas. Bowling has delivered nearly everytime batters gave them something to work with. When batters shyte the bed and put up a below par scores on a patta or can't even chase 230 odd, bowlers can't do much. Let me ask you a question... who do you think was more to blame for our lost decade and failure to win ODI WC over the last 3 attempts - batters or bowlers? I say batters were more at fault. What about you?
Nikhil_cric Posted June 17 Posted June 17 12 hours ago, Adamant said: Should we drop Jasprit Bumrah from our playing eleven this time also. Asking because you suggested the same before 2023 world cup. Coming from the guy who was confident of Kohli top scoring at highest strike rates in the T20 World Cup and bashing youngsters like Abhishek , perhaps you should keep that hole sealed shut. Ultimate_Game and New guy 1 1
tweaker Posted June 17 Posted June 17 Our odi team will look better, fresh today as Jaiswal, Gurnoor, Prince Yadav, Kuldeep are playing today. Ishan Kishan is also a great addition. Manav should have been played in place of Sundar Ultimate_Game 1
Manucrick Posted June 17 Posted June 17 our odi team doesn't have any balance these days zero planning filled with top order batters bowlers WHO can't bat tapandrun and Ultimate_Game 2
Adamant Posted June 17 Posted June 17 1 hour ago, Nikhil_cric said: Coming from the guy who was confident of Kohli top scoring at highest strike rates in the T20 World Cup and bashing youngsters like Abhishek , perhaps you should keep that hole sealed shut. MOTM in finals.
Gollum Posted June 18 Posted June 18 (edited) On 6/16/2026 at 8:00 PM, Lone Wolf said: Yeah current Indian batting unit is pretty jaded but I'd still give them a chance in India. In SENA gap only widens. 2003 WC we had great mixture of youth with experience. Lost to an all timer side. That 03 side would likely win both 2019 and maybe even 2015 one. 2015 Aus side better than any Indian ODI side. They were almost at the level of 2000s Aus. Besides skipper Ganguly had a 1-13 record in finals, that reveals a lot. Not just GOAT Aus, even teams like SL, NZ, WI used to get the better of us in finals. Edited June 18 by Gollum Lone Wolf and Ultimate_Game 2
Gollum Posted June 18 Posted June 18 On 6/15/2026 at 11:35 PM, Lone Wolf said: A SENA event Always tests Subcontinent sides... It will be totally different exposure from last 2-3 ICC events which were happening in India/UAE/ or heck even WI. Agree, 2013 CT>>>>2025 CT Lone Wolf 1
test fan Posted June 18 Posted June 18 Need to drop Rohit and Kohli. We can't play 41 year and 39 year old player's in top 3. Forever Indian, Nikhil_cric and Ultimate_Game 1 2
putrevus Posted June 18 Posted June 18 (edited) Yes, it is too jaded with all bowlers who never seem to raise their levels in crunch odi matches. Cummins and Starc unlike Indian counterparts led by Bumrah always seem to raise their levels in crunch matches.They have the ability to pick up wickets in middle overs too. Did Bumrah ever had one knockout odi match with 3 or more wickets.He played knockout matches in England, India.Matt Henry of all people won them world cup semifinal. Kohli and Rohit kept dragging these half ass bowlers to knockout matches and finals all their careers.The moment they fail the team is done. GOAT if he chooses to play is still better than any other Indian batsman, so he will be just fine in SA. Jaiswal vs Rohit is the question.We will see how it plays out. If people think these Iyers and Rahuls will win them anything, they must be day dreaming. Edited June 18 by putrevus
vvvslaxman Posted June 18 Posted June 18 6 hours ago, test fan said: Need to drop Rohit and Kohli. We can't play 41 year and 39 year old player's in top 3. Biggest statpadders. Happened to play in 3 of the biggest flat track world cups. Yet could not help them win. In 2019 Even Shakib scored 600 plus runs. In 2023 every tom dick and harry was striking at 100 plus. Two guys that had strike rate less than that of Rizwan were the ones who killed us in the final Ultimate_Game and Bigg Brother 2
Ultimate_Game Posted June 18 Author Posted June 18 1 hour ago, putrevus said: Yes, it is too jaded with all bowlers who never seem to raise their levels in crunch odi matches. Cummins and Starc unlike Indian counterparts led by Bumrah always seem to raise their levels in crunch matches.They have the ability to pick up wickets in middle overs too. Did Bumrah ever had one knockout odi match with 3 or more wickets.He played knockout matches in England, India.Matt Henry of all people won them world cup semifinal. Kohli and Rohit kept dragging these half ass bowlers to knockout matches and finals all their careers.The moment they fail the team is done. GOAT if he chooses to play is still better than any other Indian batsman, so he will be just fine in SA. Jaiswal vs Rohit is the question.We will see how it plays out. If people think these Iyers and Rahuls will win them anything, they must be day dreaming. There you go ladies and gentlemen. It was our bowlers and Bumrah's fault for not winning the ICC tourneys It was our bowlers who failed to chase 239 against kiwis in 2019 SF and who collapsed for 240 on a patta in a final. This is the intellect of an average cricket fan in India and why you see folks targeting Bumrah time and again and questioning his "commitment" when our so called batting stars laid an egg in knockouts consistently.