WTF is wrong with you?
ignore the clown anhyway american subjests words have zilch value in those matters anyway..

Arundhati Roy si wuss if BJP takes this lady to court.. She will swiftly apologize like she did last time when faced with possibiity of jail;-time.. For first day she showed bravado btu when found that court is not succumbing to her media hogwash she politely apologized for her comments.. Mind you punsihment was a week or so of jail time but even that was too much for this principled lady.. principle my foot

Her ass should be in jail regardless for sedition & so should be that of the Imam and other fanatics, whether Muslims, Hindus or Christians. Diplomacy, tact and restraint has its place in a democracy but only if the protester does not break the cardinal rule that the country's integrity and border cannot be compromised.
Her ass should be in jail regardless for sedition & so should be that of the Imam and other fanatics' date=' whether Muslims, Hindus or Christians. Diplomacy, tact and restraint has its place in a [b']democracy but only if the protester does not break the cardinal rule that the country's integrity and border cannot be compromised.
I know that there is a law in India that any talk or support towards secession is a crime, but that is not the general rule for other democracies, people can talk and even non violently try to secede from the country and it is not a crime for example Vermont http://www.boston.com/news/local/vermont/articles/2007/06/03/in_vermont_nascent_secession_movement_gains_traction/ You dont see them being jailed or assasinated, either way, why should India be insecure if some journalist or anyone else calls for secession?
I know that there is a law in India that any talk or support towards secession is a crime' date=' but that is not the general rule for other democracies, people can talk and even non violently try to secede from the country and it is not a crime for example Vermont [url']http://www.boston.com/news/local/vermont/articles/2007/06/03/in_vermont_nascent_secession_movement_gains_traction/ You dont see them being jailed or assasinated, either way, why should India be insecure if some journalist or anyone else calls for secession?
Triam, Appreciate your research but are you seriously kidding us by comparing this situation with the Roy and Kashmir episode: At Riverwalk Records, the all-vinyl record store just down the street from the state Capitol, the black "US Out of Vt.!" T-shirts are among the hottest sellers. But to some people in Vermont, the idea is bigger than a $20 novelty. They want Vermont to secede from the United States -- peacefully, of course. Disillusioned by what they call an empire about to fall, a small cadre of writers and academics is plotting political strategy and planting the seeds of separatism. Whether it's likely is another question. About 300 people turned out for a 2005 secession convention in the Statehouse But there are plenty of skeptics. "It doesn't make economic sense, it doesn't make political sense, it doesn't make historical sense. Other than that, it's a good idea," said Paul Gillies, a lawyer and Vermont historian. While neither the Vermont Constitution nor the U.S. Constitution forbids secession per se, few think it's viable. "I always thought the Civil War settled that," said Russell Wheeler, a constitutional law expert at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. "If Vermont had a powerful enough army and said, `We're leaving the union,' and the national government said, `No, you're not,' and they fought a war over it and Vermont won, then you could say Vermont proved the point. But that's not going to happen," he said. For now, the would-be secessionists are hoping to draw enough support to get the question on Town Meeting Day agendas. "We're normal human beings," said Williams, 39, a history professor at Champlain College. "But we're serious about this. We want people in Vermont to think about the options going forward. Do you want to stay in an empire that's in deep trouble?" You are comparing this- a colllection of few writers publishinh a memo that at best makes for a tabloid story to the multiple bombings, unleashing of terror and jihad calls not only in Kashmir but other parts of India and all over the world!!! I rest my case.

Suraj My point is A Roy didnt commit any violence, the people who committed violence I am not defending them at all. All Roy did was write an opinion piece or give a speech, how is that different from the writers that was in the previous article? I am not defending Roys opinion but her right to voice it

Triam, I am a defender of these civil rights too and democratic system- but not of the rigidity of these systems regardless of situation. Using your analogy- do you honestly think that if a city populated my Muslims in USA had asked to seceed from USA and used similar language- there would have been no action against them? Slightly drifting from your post- People like Roy and Shabana Azmi should be ashamed of themselves because they are educated & intelligent and instead of appreciating that a country like India does not restrict these noises on a regular basis, they go ahead and display total lack of tact at an inopportune time.

my tribute I want Kashmir Free,. Free from Violence on innocent people Free from idiots who support pakistan while living in India, Free from ignorant fools who think that kashmir as an independent state is the solution So that I can visit what was once called Heaven on earth

I want Kashmir Free' date=. Free from Violence on innocent people Free from idiots who support pakistan while living in India, Free from ignorant fools who think that kashmir as an independent state is the solution So that I can visit what was once called Heaven on earth
Don't worry about it...go to Leh and Ladakh ..just as heaven-ish and bomb free to boot. :winky:
unfortunately, texides bhai, you will be ridiculed here, because western educated Indians will happily ignore what their own western country does with traitors, but when it comes to India they will be happy advocating to live with traitors but any call for punishing such scums will not suit their lust for "morality" preaching.
In the west, you have freedom of speech- something that our desi rightwing fanatics find hard to understand. Which is why when in the west, western people go on tv or radio alleging that US government masterminded the 9/11 attack, they arnt called traitors and prosecuted. Likewise, i get it that you don't like Arundhati Roy's secular ideas of India ( you being anti-secular) but to call her a traitor is OTT.

Indians should make a petition to strip her of Indian citizenship. May she find happiness in pakistan whom she praises a lot. Maybe her communist tendencies will get more attention there instead of this failed democracy that is India :winky: But oh no she will end up in the west where she will enjoy the fruits of democracy while commenting on communism. She's doing the same here. She never had to work in difficult jobs but sits from her house drinking a cup of chai while making these comments :facepalm:

5 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Cousin of NDTV's Prannoy Roy and as an extension the Karats, saare gaddar harami ke pille mile hue hai. 

They are converted christians.

Edited by sergio04