Cricketics Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 10 hours ago, Muloghonto said: U should gift him Laddoos. Something about Laddoos i find makes Turks and most middle easterners go ape-shit. Oh and if his Baklava is decent, just re-gift it to an Eastern European friend. They will treat it like you brought them A filet mignon. It is different kind of sweet. No I have not tried that. Is it good? May be I need to.
Laaloo Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 Geez muloghonto yaha bhi bhashan dene ka shuru kiya. Just write what you eat, post a pic, and move on.
Cricketics Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 1 hour ago, Muloghonto said: Btw, I've never been to Punjab and there is no such thing as a 'Punjabi sweet shop' in Kolkata, so i got to ask: Do Punjabis like their Jalebis cold, from the fridge, all mushy and super-sweet with sugar crystalizing ? Coz i grew up eating Jalebis where it wasn't super-sweet (the batter was slightly sour and the syrup is sweet giving it a sweet but a hint of sour in it), served hot & crunchy. Atleast, thats the Bengali way. Do Punjabis just like it the opposite way, coz every single sweet & Indian food restaurant in Vancouver/Seattle is run by Punjabis and they make it that way. Or is it coz sales here are 1/100th of India, so they are forced to store excess and give out cold, overly sugary shitty jalebi ? I eat both ways, but their is a phrase "garam garam jalebi" so you can relate to that that if it is a old store from Chandni Chowk whose Jalebi's are really popular, people will then prefer hot. Also, I have tried many Jalebis here in USA from all different kind of vendors and they don't taste the same or similar to our style back home. MechEng 1
Stuge Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 maggi :( Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
Muloghonto Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 (edited) 59 minutes ago, Stuge said: maggi :( Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk Cut onions & carrots julienne fry them, then make an omlette of 2 eggs, break it up in chunks and add all of it to maggi before you add spice pack. That is your instant noodle version of chow mien and infinitely better. PS: Make sure you drain some of the water before you add the spices, the Chow-mein version only works when its dry and not a soup. Edited November 24, 2016 by Muloghonto MechEng and Stuge 2
Muloghonto Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 3 hours ago, Cricketics said: I eat both ways, but their is a phrase "garam garam jalebi" so you can relate to that that if it is a old store from Chandni Chowk whose Jalebi's are really popular, people will then prefer hot. Also, I have tried many Jalebis here in USA from all different kind of vendors and they don't taste the same or similar to our style back home. Hmm. The cold & soggy way of eating Jalebi is just weird and wrong! Learn how to make & eat sweets from us Bongs, thats the only good thing we do (besides fish) !
Cricketics Posted November 24, 2016 Posted November 24, 2016 6 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: Hmm. The cold & soggy way of eating Jalebi is just weird and wrong! Learn how to make & eat sweets from us Bongs, thats the only good thing we do (besides fish) ! You go to Delhi, I am sure you will find Amazing hot Garam garam JalebiZ, may be better then the one made by Bomgaz back your uptown/downtown Bengal. it is part of our old breakfast rules.Halwa/Puri/Aloo and Jalebi. Delhi has it all for you.
Muloghonto Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 1 hour ago, Cricketics said: You go to Delhi, I am sure you will find Amazing hot Garam garam JalebiZ, may be better then the one made by Bomgaz back your uptown/downtown Bengal. it is part of our old breakfast rules.Halwa/Puri/Aloo and Jalebi. Delhi has it all for you. Did this just happen ? Did you just try to seriously tell a Bong that non-Bong jalebi can be better ? Give it up. Not going to happen.
Cricketics Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 5 minutes ago, Muloghonto said: Did this just happen ? Did you just try to seriously tell a Bong that non-Bong jalebi can be better ? Give it up. Not going to happen. Yes, why not.
Detonator Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 12 hours ago, Cricketics said: You go to Delhi, I am sure you will find Amazing hot Garam garam JalebiZ, may be better then the one made by Bomgaz back your uptown/downtown Bengal. it is part of our old breakfast rules.Halwa/Puri/Aloo and Jalebi. Delhi has it all for you. Are you talking about this? sscomp32 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 Are you talking about this? [emoji3] This is murukku.
Detonator Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: This is murukku. yeah, unfortunately the jalebi i got in delhi is murukku dipped in jaggery syrup. Edited November 25, 2016 by Detonator
Cricketics Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 37 minutes ago, Detonator said: yeah, unfortunately the jalebi i got in delhi is murukku dipped in jaggery syrup. You need to go to better places. Seriously, I haven't been to India in last 13 some years and yet I remember amazing Jalebi of Delhi. You know there were lot of Persian population in Delhi who used to run Jalebi stores. Jalebi is really popular among persians also and they used to make it Indian style Jalebi. May be you need to go to some older restaurants of Delhi to find the authentic Jalebi. Detonator and sscomp32 2
Cricketics Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 So I just googled best jalebi in india and it talks only about Delhi. Detonator you need to go to Chandni Chowk dude and talk to locals in other parts of Delhi to get the right jalebi. Detonator 1
beetle Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 22 hours ago, Cricketics said: I eat both ways, but their is a phrase "garam garam jalebi" so you can relate to that that if it is a old store from Chandni Chowk whose Jalebi's are really popular, people will then prefer hot. Also, I have tried many Jalebis here in USA from all different kind of vendors and they don't taste the same or similar to our style back home. Have you tried hot jalebi with vanilla ice cream!!!! yummy!!!
MechEng Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 bournvita milk before bed time. Gives me good sleep. maniac 1
Cricketics Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 1 hour ago, radhika said: Have you tried hot jalebi with vanilla ice cream!!!! yummy!!! Never did. First time heard of this. May be one day.
beetle Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 5 minutes ago, Cricketics said: Never did. First time heard of this. May be one day. Winter ki shaddiyon mein khane mein mazaa aata hai. Hot gulabjamuns with ice cream are good too. Cricketics and Laaloo 2
maniac Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 1 hour ago, radhika said: Have you tried hot jalebi with vanilla ice cream!!!! yummy!!! I know a few people who like Gulab Jamun mixed with Vanilla ice cream. I personally don't like mixing foods....not a fan of fruits in my ice cream either....prefer plain ice cream
maniac Posted November 25, 2016 Posted November 25, 2016 Dal-Chawal and curd rice...desi style thanksgiving MechEng and sscomp32 2