Texy Posted April 22, 2013 Posted April 22, 2013 Yeah agree it made some great points...also some of the stuff the movie told you about is nothing new-Lot of people including me have thought about this at some point of our lives-But yes it was presented in an entertaining way and no way was I offended. But some aspects of it were too preachy and it was targeted towards only one particular religion but made it seem like it was talking about all faiths in general and also I didn't like the fact that not a single positive thing was shown about Hinduism and felt like only the flaws were highlighted.I am not the thekeedaar for Hinduism but I if I was showing this movie to Kids,I would be lost for answers to defend Hinduism and who knows maybe I would have to go to a swamiji for a better explanation :giggle: That's because no one has the balls to openly criticize other major religions in a movie made in India. They will probably be arrested immediately if not shot and killed. As long as you criticize Hinduism it's all fine and dandy. Reminds me of that story in Mumbai where some church was claiming miracle water which turned out to be a leaky rusty pipe. The guy who went to investigate, wanted to warn people but instead got arrested and had to leave the country. Wow kya desh hai!
maniac Posted April 22, 2013 Posted April 22, 2013 Just point them to Akshay's character and tell them thats the epitome of hinduism. Hinduism allows people to use their common sense and choose whats right for them. Rituals, prayers and all, though part of hinduism, were never meant as the most important thing. God can only show one the way, we still have to carry our burden and walk that way In essence, the philosphy of hinduism is very simple. We, the human beings animals, non-living things, the universe is made from the same matter and energy. But being born, one has to go through the trials of life. And the ultimate goal is to find oneself, leave all desires and be one with God. Unlike other religions, hinduism has a very different and very materialistic view of heaven and hell. Heaven and hell represent our desires, in terms of rewards and punishment. So heaven and hell can never be our ultimate goal. In hinduism, once you die, you go to heaven or hell just for a brief rest, if you commited bad deeds, you have a punishment, if you did good, you are rewarded, but these are not eternal, but for a brief period. After the period you are still reborn to fulfil your wordly duty. The only way to be free of being born is to attain moksha. And one can only attain mokhsha by giving up on all desires of every kind. This even includes otherwise high esteemed things like love for one's mom or child. You can never be free if worldy bonds bind you. Once you are free from all desires, you become one with God, Moksha is your own merger with God where you become the universe and eternity itself. For worshipping, since hinduism believes that everything in the universe contains God, it is permitted to worship God in whichever way you like. So unlike other religion, worshippiung stones, idols, people, one's elders, gurus, holy men, etc are permitted. Because everything contains and stands for the same God. And hinduism is the only religion which acknowledges the existence of other ways to worship God. So a christian worshipping a God his way and muslims worshipping Allah is just another way to reach God according to hinduism. So those hindus who feel threatened when people convert to other religions or think we are being sidelined dont know the essence of hinduism. Even atheists can attain God just by doing right deeds and getting free of desires. There is no correct or wrong way, in the end everyone will attain God, some will do so faster than the others. There is no concept of haram or halal in hinduism and most things are left to the discretion of the devotee Good write up but you are missing my point.....Firstly,this movie was solely based for entertainment and was not intended to be a masterpiece or provoke deep thought,I mean it was still better/entertaining than most of the **** they make these days. It was primarily highlighting Hinduism which is fair enough given that that the protagonist was a atheist but belonged to the Hindu community. It critiqued some of the superstitions and how Hinduism has become a huge business.Again fair enough given the setting of the movie-Eventhough it is applicable to every religion out there. It showed the antagonists as Hindu God-men and a politician...No problem see above 2 points. Now These were the points that the movie kept drilling into the minds of the viewer but once it discusses the spiritual aspect of Religion and God,the theme suddenly becomes more universal. That is what I had a problem with...If you are criticising one particular religion-fair enough because I do admit,infact I am proud to say that I am a part of a religion in which I can bravely acknowledge some of it's flaws without fear of persecution but as I said if you are theme is meant to be universal than why not make your criticism universal too. That was my only problem
veer Posted April 22, 2013 Posted April 22, 2013 I totally agree with you and that is the only reason I didn't let my sister watch this movie either... and as you said, I wouldn't be comfortable with my younger cousins watching this movie either... We already have the young Indian generation opting for 'atheism' ( and there is nothing wrong with that).... The movie made some excellent points but I guess they went bit overboard insulting or finding faults in Hinduism... they could have had some 'pluses' to cancel the 'negatives' aspects ... Good movie but talks too much negative about Hinduism.. I see what your point is... and may be I'll have to watch the movie again to go in depth.. but if we practice Hinduism in a progressive way.. Up to certain extent that they are showing in the movie, then we'll be better off. Half of the things that we do as a part of our religious practices is actually not part of Hinduism.. It is just the belief that x, y and z people came up with and people followed.. Like Going underneath the cow.. Is it described in our religion? No... We see cow as sacred.. but passing underneath cow is just a gimmick to make some money... Same thing for taking bath in river Ganga?.. Will it wash away our sins if we take a dive in Ganga? I highly doubt it.. .but River ganga for me is Pujniya cuz it provides water to millions of people.. The thing with our religion is that it has given lot of freedom to people to interpret on their own way so now we have every community practicing Hinduism in its own way... Gujjus, Marathis, Southies etc.. can you believe all these three groups are Hindus but have their own different 'New Year'..??
akshayxyz Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Just point them to Akshay's character and tell them thats the epitome of hinduism. Hinduism allows people to use their common sense and choose whats right for them. Rituals, prayers and all, though part of hinduism, were never meant as the most important thing. God can only show one the way, we still have to carry our burden and walk that way In essence, the philosphy of hinduism is very simple. We, the human beings animals, non-living things, the universe is made from the same matter and energy. But being born, one has to go through the trials of life. And the ultimate goal is to find oneself, leave all desires and be one with God. Unlike other religions, hinduism has a very different and very materialistic view of heaven and hell. Heaven and hell represent our desires, in terms of rewards and punishment. So heaven and hell can never be our ultimate goal. In hinduism, once you die, you go to heaven or hell just for a brief rest, if you commited bad deeds, you have a punishment, if you did good, you are rewarded, but these are not eternal, but for a brief period. After the period you are still reborn to fulfil your wordly duty. The only way to be free of being born is to attain moksha. And one can only attain mokhsha by giving up on all desires of every kind. This even includes otherwise high esteemed things like love for one's mom or child. You can never be free if worldy bonds bind you. Once you are free from all desires, you become one with God, Moksha is your own merger with God where you become the universe and eternity itself. For worshipping, since hinduism believes that everything in the universe contains God, it is permitted to worship God in whichever way you like. So unlike other religion, worshippiung stones, idols, people, one's elders, gurus, holy men, etc are permitted. Because everything contains and stands for the same God. And hinduism is the only religion which acknowledges the existence of other ways to worship God. So a christian worshipping a God his way and muslims worshipping Allah is just another way to reach God according to hinduism. So those hindus who feel threatened when people convert to other religions or think we are being sidelined dont know the essence of hinduism. Even atheists can attain God just by doing right deeds and getting free of desires. There is no correct or wrong way, in the end everyone will attain God, some will do so faster than the others. There is no concept of haram or halal in hinduism and most things are left to the discretion of the devotee Good write up. This is just mix and match of various (small subset, but may be most overlapping) schools/philosophies of Hinduism. Btw, not having to go through worldly deeds/duties, is also a desire. Wishing to be one with God, is also a desire. Wishing to be God is also a desire, wishing not to be a God, is also a desire. Desire to attain Moksha is also a desire.
DomainK Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I clearly do not think about what Im watching as much as you whilst Im watching it haha... switch brain into neutral and enjoy... Did not think that memory loss was suspicious (Total Recall another film it borrows from) nor did I suspect that alien war story....or that the radioactive zone was so suspicious. The final twist was not shocking but was a surprise and clever enough and plausibly explained...But youre right about how they made a fool of the aliens being too easy. I did think that. They could read his vital signs but could not see that it was Morgan not Olga in the ship with him for instance I watch such films with a distrust to the initial story, constantly looking for where I am being cheated. :D
Sachin=GOD Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 IB ministry set to show censored kisses, scenes in film festival A new film festival is to showcase for the first time scenes from Bollywood movies deemed too racy for Indian viewers, including the first attempt at an on-screen kiss, organisers say. The Cut-Uncut festival in New Delhi will feature unedited versions of films which fell foul of the all-powerful Indian censor board that continues to vet movies before their release. Portrayals of sex, nudity, social unrest and violence can still be kept out of movie halls under India's strict laws that were first drafted in 1952 and later amended in 1983. In the year of Bollywood's 100-year anniversary, Cut-Uncut is being organised by the ministry of information and broadcasting to demonstrate its more open-minded approach, a ministry official said. "We want to be more liberal, stop enforcing the old rules and instead recognise artistic endeavor," said an official in the ministry, speaking to AFP on condition of anonymity. Until recently, "long kissing scenes, nudity and visuals depicting acts of rebellion against the government" were all censored, he explained. "With changing times, we want to have a fresh approach. Our aim is to change the old set of censor laws soon." The festival beginning April 25 will open with a screening of the 1933 classic "Karma" starring Himanshu Rai and Devika Rani, whose onscreen kiss was considered the first in a Bollywood film and was deleted at the time. A 2004 documentary called the Final Solution, which looks at the highly sensitive subject of Hindu-Muslim religious rioting, will also be shown after it was banned for being "highly provocative." These days Bollywood is awash with sexually suggestive material and scantily-clad leading ladies, but sex remains a taboo and films showing kissing scenes are given an "adult" certificate limiting them to viewers over 18. The most popular films remain so-called "masala movies", a mix of violence, romance and comedy for mainstream audiences, but there are more and more filmmakers working to reproduce the gritty reality of India on celluloid. Star director Dibakar Banerjee ran into trouble last year with the censor board over his film Shanghai. He had to delete two scenes depicting violence in the political thriller, including a high-caste character murdering a low-caste victim. "I hated the idea of deleting the most powerful scenes from my movie but, well, I had to chop them otherwise the movie would have never seen the light of day," he said. "Censorship has the power to kill the spirit of a film. It's high time the government stops dictating what Indians should be watching," he added. http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Bollywood/IB-ministry-set-to-show-censored-kisses-scenes-in-film-festival/Article1-1048877.aspx
SLICKR392 Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Watched On The Front. Brando is in a different league. Just as Pacino said he comes from a different planet where they produce the greatest actors. Incomparable :hatsoff:
rahulrulezz Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I dont know why people learned something new from Oh My God. Didnt we all know before that wasting milk by pouring it on a stone is a stupid idea especially in a country where there is so much malnutrition. I liked the movie but it was just common sense but then I guess common sense is not so common :((
rahulrulezz Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I see what your point is... and may be I'll have to watch the movie again to go in depth.. but if we practice Hinduism in a progressive way.. Up to certain extent that they are showing in the movie' date=' then we'll be better off. Half of the things that we do as a part of our religious practices is actually not part of Hinduism.. It is just the [b']belief that x, y and z people came up with and people followed.. Like Going underneath the cow.. Is it described in our religion? No... We see cow as sacred.. but passing underneath cow is just a gimmick to make some money... Same thing for taking bath in river Ganga?.. Will it wash away our sins if we take a dive in Ganga? I highly doubt it.. .but River ganga for me is Pujniya cuz it provides water to millions of people.. The thing with our religion is that it has given lot of freedom to people to interpret on their own way so now we have every community practicing Hinduism in its own way... Gujjus, Marathis, Southies etc.. can you believe all these three groups are Hindus but have their own different 'New Year'..?? Good points. I do feel that we have inhabited and mixed 'culture' and 'traditions' into religion.
beetle Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I see what your point is... and may be I'll have to watch the movie again to go in depth.. but if we practice Hinduism in a progressive way.. Up to certain extent that they are showing in the movie, then we'll be better off. Half of the things that we do as a part of our religious practices is actually not part of Hinduism.. It is just the belief that x, y and z people came up with and people followed.. Like Going underneath the cow.. Is it described in our religion? No... We see cow as sacred.. but passing underneath cow is just a gimmick to make some money... Same thing for taking bath in river Ganga?.. Will it wash away our sins if we take a dive in Ganga? I highly doubt it.. .but River ganga for me is Pujniya cuz it provides water to millions of people.. The thing with our religion is that it has given lot of freedom to people to interpret on their own way so now we have every community practicing Hinduism in its own way... Gujjus, Marathis, Southies etc.. can you believe all these three groups are Hindus but have their own different 'New Year'..?? Totally agree... My neighbor told me not to keep God idols in the kitchen because God can also feel hot:omg: I told her if God can't tolerate heat then we have bigger things to worry about.She didn't like it.
beetle Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Just point them to Akshay's character and tell them thats the epitome of hinduism. Hinduism allows people to use their common sense and choose whats right for them. Rituals, prayers and all, though part of hinduism, were never meant as the most important thing. God can only show one the way, we still have to carry our burden and walk that way +1
vayuu1 Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I think there are lots of misconceptions regarding Hinduism amongst people,some pointed out pouring milk on shivling and that milk getting waste,but the thing ,that was not the case 700-800 years ago,coz on shivlinga not only milk but also honey,sugarcane juice,boorachini,bilvpatra etc are also poured even now,but at that time while pouring ,a big bowl was kept so that all this stuff while pouring on shivlinga falls into the bowl and then this stuff was given to people who used to visit the temple,the thing is Hinduism has always been a karma based ,practical based religion,it coz of all the priests,that all these myths have crept into older generations,coz these guys wanted to exploit people.which is what they are doing even today .
suma25 Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I thought the purpose of the movie "Oh my god " was defeated when in the end they show aksshay kumar curing paresh rawal .That itself propogates what the movie was preaching against.
suraj Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 I thought the purpose of the movie "Oh my god " was defeated when in the end they show aksshay kumar curing paresh rawal .That itself propogates what the movie was preaching against. Thanks a lot for disclosing the end :wall::wall: Why couldn't u use spoiler tag Genius??? That too when the thread title clearly asks for it
Mariyam Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Humsuffer 9/10 A Salim Arif produced, Javed Siddiqui written play staring Lubna Saleem Harsh Chayya. Its about how life increases the distance between middle aged couple, and how they eventually reconcile. Those of you who are in and around Mumbai, should watch this at Prithvi. Lurks, you'll love this one for the Hindi/Urdu usage. A welcome change from the current lot in Hinglish that Bollywood produces. Harsh Chayya is a phenomenally talented actor. I'm surprised he's been a part of Ekta Kapoor's creations for so long. Lubna Salim does well too.
DomainK Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Humsuffer 9/10 A Salim Arif produced, Javed Siddiqui written play staring Lubna Saleem Harsh Chayya. Its about how life increases the distance between middle aged couple, and how they eventually reconcile. Those of you who are in and around Mumbai, should watch this at Prithvi. Lurks, you'll love this one for the Hindi/Urdu usage. A welcome change from the current lot in Hinglish that Bollywood produces. Harsh Chayya is a phenomenally talented actor. I'm surprised he's been a part of Ekta Kapoor's creations for so long. Lubna Salim does well too. Are you talking about the new Docomo ad where the kid exchanges their cell phones and says "what an idea!".
Lord Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Are you talking about the new Docomo ad where the kid exchanges their cell phones and says "what an idea!". :giggle:
nikred Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Are you talking about the new Docomo ad where the kid exchanges their cell phones and says "what an idea!". :cantstop:
Crookbond Posted April 23, 2013 Posted April 23, 2013 Are you talking about the new Docomo ad where the kid exchanges their cell phones and says "what an idea!".
monki24 Posted April 24, 2013 Posted April 24, 2013 What's the best local movie to watch this month? Latest movie I watched was the place beyond the pines. It was a little indie, not totally hollywood. Interesting but kinda forgettable i think