Wow on one hand we have Akshatxyz and Mariyam defending the likes of A.K,Salman and Aishwarya Rai and on the other stating that Dilip Kumar and Rajesh Khanna as worst actors. Way to miss the point of this thread....I do agree that Dilip Kumar is over-rated but by no strech of imagination that he is the worst actor ever....ditto for Rajesh Khanna. There is a fine to no line between being over-rated and being worst in terms of acting skills
Rajesh Khanna is definitely not the worst ever. Worst is someone who constantly reminds you that they are trying to act. Ben Affleck for instance.
:haha:...Ben Affleck is not that bad....can't stand his face though

WOW! I must have been sleeping for a few years because one fine Saturday morning I wake up and see a political thread singing praises of Hitler and thanking him for India's Independence indirectly and then another thread on Hindi movie worst actor and nomination reading Dileep Kumar, Jitendra, Rajesh Khanna etc... What year is this? :hysterical: Dileep Kumar. Hmmm. For an entire decade I hated him. This is mid 80s to early 90s. He was a character actor then but still commanded most respect, by far, in Hindi movie industry. For a teenager who kinda worshipped Amitabh Bacchan (back then), this was obviously not understandable. And while my parents, uncles, Mayapuris and Star Dusts and Filmfares and Cine Blitz would try to explain why I wouldnt get it. Just wouldnt. And so when I saw Shakti, I hoped Amitabh would put Dileep Kumar in his place. Amitabh also had a lot more meatier role, and Ramesh Sippy gave him his trademark angry young man role. And yet all through the movie as I sat rooting for Amitabh, Yusuf Khan didnt budge. My young mind thought it was even Steven but Dileep Kumar probably pipped Amitabh to post. Then I went to watch Karma. Naseer was widely respected as the best new actor of his time. Jackie was my choice of lead actor by then. And Anil Kapur was 2nd to none in acting. And i loved when Khairoo (Naseer) battled against Dada Thakoor (Dileep Kumar). And againt Dileep Kumar kicked all three of their behinds. Somewhere during this time frame I had gone to seen Vidhaata. This was going to be the best match I thought. Dileep Kumar against Sanjeev Kumar (what a terrific actor), Amrish Puri (one of the greatest actors we produced, very underrated too) and Shammi Kapoor (he always downplayed himself but was very good). And I saw Sanjeev Kumar groing up against DK, Amrish waxing eloquence, Shammi Kapoor singing Yeh khel hai bas taqdeeron ka. And amongst this all DK came out trumps. Looking back DK perhaps won all those races. Atleast he was on par with the best of Indian movie had to offer. Worst actor??? I guess I should go back to sleep now. xxx

^ Three very good cases. I was highly disappointed with DK when after years I sat down one day to watch Mughal-e-Azam. I started with many expectations and was seriously disappointed. DK was highly disappointing as well. But since we share initials, I think I will side with DK. All DKs are simply great.

^^ Lurker, again those are same type of roles and lacks variety...I havent seen vidhata.. but shakri and karma had similar type of roles for DK.. Saudagar was in same category as well.. Fighting for Principles and all those serious type of roles..

^^ Lurker' date=' again those are same type of roles and lacks variety...I havent seen vidhata.. but shakri and karma had similar type of roles for DK.. Saudagar was in same category as well.. Fighting for Principles and all those serious type of roles..[/quote'] Veer, Karma was Subhas Ghai's Sholay. Dilip Kumar was playing Sanjiv Kumar's role in Sholay. Anupam Kher was Gabbar Singh. Anil and Jackie were Amitabh and Dharmendra. Only aberration was Naseeruddin Shah, who signified the growing trend of 80s movie of having a token Muslim character who had been wronged and had turned into a deadly assasin. Dilip Kumar's role had shades of principle yes but also a doting father, a ruthless leader and a dear husband. When I think of Karma all I remember today is Khairoo and Dada Thakur's scene and the following one. Nutan with Dilip Kumar. The prelude is Nutan has turned mute after watching her kids being killed in front of her. Tell me if you this doesnt move you? gZTvkRv2lcE
Wow on one hand we have Akshayxyz and Mariyam defending the likes of A.K,Salman and Aishwarya Rai and on the other stating that Dilip Kumar and Rajesh Khanna as worst actors. Way to miss the point of this thread....I do agree that Dilip Kumar is over-rated but by no strech of imagination that he is the worst actor ever....ditto for Rajesh Khanna. There is a fine to no line between being over-rated and being worst in terms of acting skills
agreed, and I clarified already. Blame Mariyam for sneaking in over-rated list. And, no, I never said Salman is a good actor...but Akshay has some skills, and Aish has given some decent performances - given her competition..
^ Three very good cases. I was highly disappointed with DK when after years I sat down one day to watch Mughal-e-Azam. I started with many expectations and was seriously disappointed. DK was highly disappointing as well. But since we share initials' date=' I think I will side with DK. All DKs are simply great.[/quote'] Was that because of Dilip Kumar or more because Mughal-e-Azam just didnt have the same effect on you as you perhaps had imagined? If latter then it is perhaps just a generational thing DK. Most youngsters these days dont particularly love Jaane bhi Do yaaro as perhaps me and you? I wonder if Chupke Chupke would register the same way with them as with us. Heck even a modern day Don2 would perhaps go down better than Sholay. Hum angrezon ke jamaane ke jailor hain? Hmm really?
WOW! I must have been sleeping for a few years because one fine Saturday morning I wake up and see a political thread singing praises of Hitler and thanking him for India's Independence indirectly and then another thread on Hindi movie worst actor and nomination reading Dileep Kumar, Jitendra, Rajesh Khanna etc... What year is this? :hysterical: Dileep Kumar. Hmmm. For an entire decade I hated him. This is mid 80s to early 90s. He was a character actor then but still commanded most respect, by far, in Hindi movie industry. For a teenager who kinda worshipped Amitabh Bacchan (back then), this was obviously not understandable. And while my parents, uncles, Mayapuris and Star Dusts and Filmfares and Cine Blitz would try to explain why I wouldnt get it. Just wouldnt. And so when I saw Shakti, I hoped Amitabh would put Dileep Kumar in his place. Amitabh also had a lot more meatier role, and Ramesh Sippy gave him his trademark angry young man role. And yet all through the movie as I sat rooting for Amitabh, Yusuf Khan didnt budge. My young mind thought it was even Steven but Dileep Kumar probably pipped Amitabh to post. Then I went to watch Karma. Naseer was widely respected as the best new actor of his time. Jackie was my choice of lead actor by then. And Anil Kapur was 2nd to none in acting. And i loved when Khairoo (Naseer) battled against Dada Thakoor (Dileep Kumar). And againt Dileep Kumar kicked all three of their behinds. Somewhere during this time frame I had gone to seen Vidhaata. This was going to be the best match I thought. Dileep Kumar against Sanjeev Kumar (what a terrific actor), Amrish Puri (one of the greatest actors we produced, very underrated too) and Shammi Kapoor (he always downplayed himself but was very good). And I saw Sanjeev Kumar groing up against DK, Amrish waxing eloquence, Shammi Kapoor singing Yeh khel hai bas taqdeeron ka. And amongst this all DK came out trumps. Looking back DK perhaps won all those races. Atleast he was on par with the best of Indian movie had to offer. Worst actor??? I guess I should go back to sleep now. xxx
Phew!!.. thanxs luks paa ji for bringing sanity to the thread... i was on depression mode when someone said DK and RK were over rated actor.... certainly would have had a stroke if they wud have added Naseer / Paresh Rawal ...:blink:

the khans are crap in acting except amir khan... from old sunil dutt was a ridiculous actor, sonam kapoor,raveena tandon,hema mailini not good acting wise.... shahid kapoor is a very good actor

Fardeen Khan Tushar Kapoor Imraan Khan Zayed Khan Ritiesh Deshmukh John Abraham Abhishek Bacchhan Kareena Kapoor Esha Deol Deepika Padukone Sonam Kapoor Kangana Ranaut
lol good list, add ritesh`s wife as well
Was that because of Dilip Kumar or more because Mughal-e-Azam just didnt have the same effect on you as you perhaps had imagined? If latter then it is perhaps just a generational thing DK. Most youngsters these days dont particularly love Jaane bhi Do yaaro as perhaps me and you? I wonder if Chupke Chupke would register the same way with them as with us. Heck even a modern day Don2 would perhaps go down better than Sholay. Hum angrezon ke jamaane ke jailor hain? Hmm really?
It's not a generational thing I guess. I have watched many other black and white films and have enjoyed them. I just did not think MEA was good enough. The acting at least was below average and DK was disappointing in it. An actor's true abilities come to fore when he can show his abilities in a variety of roles over a period of time. For AB we can count many movies where he showed his abilities in a wide variety of characters that he very convincingly played and continues to play. Not so sure we can say the same about DK.

i like to judge actors by their ability to play characters who are completely unlike them. If you see someone playing a character which you can imagine them to be like in real life then it's no great feat. So many actors in bollywood, and in the second tier of hollywood, go through their entire careers doing just that. (cip Priety Zinta, Kareena Kapoor...) - I can imagine George Clooney as the hired sacker in Up In the Air, but not in the role he plays in The Descendants. It's when an actor plays an uncharacteristic character convincingly that we can truly even call them actos. And when they do it with regularity and with a sweep of variety in roles that they stand out as being exceptional at what they do. Pretty much everybody from the current crop fails to deliver on that front. I can't remember any present actor ever delivering a stirring performance. Vidya can act. and so can Irfan Khan, who btw was brilliant in Yeh Saali Zindagi :rock:

Not exactly stirring, but Langda Tyagi was pretty good, very uncharacteristic of Saif.
Hey come on... that's too much ... watch his films like Mashal or Shakti ... i have seen it more than 100 times. Shakti is tooooooooo good... no movie can come close to it... BIG B and Dilip K dialogue delivery are so good that u can walk miles to watch it. Muqhal e Azam is an over rated film ... too much over acting ...
Same thing I had said to someone on a writers forum and that guy then irritated me so much, diomag ki dahi kar di. Hai kya Mughal-e-azam me aisa, over the top acting and drama.

Anothe film that had seriously disappointed me was Ram Teri Ganga Maili. I had heard enough about how RK manage to get a brilliant performance from Mandakini in that film, but when I watched it, I thought she was as bad as she could have been. All RK managed with her was to get her wet in a white transparent saree, which was almost unthinkable those days.