maniac Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Former VJ Sophiya Haque passed away today, January 17, in London [ Images ]. The British Asian talent, who rose to fame in the 1990s as a VJ for MTV and Channel V, reportedly succumbed to cancer. She was also known for her roles in West End productions like Bombay Dreams, The Far Pavilions and Wah Wah Girls. Bollywood stars mourned her loss on Twitter: Pooja Bhatt [ Images ] tweeted, "tragic news about Sophiya Haque. One of the most gorgeous women to have walked this planet... Shine on where-ever it is you now are luv.' Director Ken Ghosh tweeted: 'Just heard sad news of the passing away of the live wire ex vj of channel v, sophia haque.' Vishal Dadlani [ Images ] tweeted: 'I can't believe Sophiya Haque is gone!! She was a dear friend, even jumped on stage with Pentagram a few times! This is so wrong!!' Kabir Bedi [ Images ]: 'Saddened by the passing of Sophiya Haque, friend & talented actress, who I acted with in "Far Pavilions", London West End.' Mini Mathur: 'When I joined MTV, Sophia Haque was the epitome of all things cool & sassy. An inspiration for all VJ's ! Can't believe she is gone already.' RIP....was a very familiar face to most of us who remember the transition from DD to Cable boom in the early 90's
Desi Cartman Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Pathetic journalism. its just freaking tweets and no mention of what actually happened to her.
maniac Posted January 17, 2013 Author Posted January 17, 2013 The actor, dancer, singer and TV presenter Sophiya Haque has died at the age of 41. Haque's agency, Cole Kitchenn, and her partner David White confirmed on Thursday that she passed away late on Wednesday evening, having been diagnosed with a form of cancer two weeks ago. Haque had been starring as Sylvia in the current production of Privates on Parade in London's West End, directed by Michael Grandage, and co-starring Simon Russell Beale. She also played the character Poppy in Coronation Street, had a role alongside Angelina Jolie and James McAvoy in the 2008 film Wanted, and was a DJ on BBC Asian Network. Grandage said on Twitter: "We are all devastated by Sophiya Haque's sudden passing. She was a true force of nature and her glorious performance as Sylvia in Privates on Parade is one that will be remembered with great joy. A spirited lady, she lived life to the full, and her presence in the theatre will be sorely missed. The company would like to dedicate the remaining performances to her memory." Born in Portsmouth in 1971, Haque began training in dance as a child, and went on to study at the Arts Educational School in London. Her first flush of success came as a singer when her band Akasa signed a deal with Warner Bros in 1988. She was then recruited as a presenter by MTV Asia, where she became a familiar face, presenting music television across the continent for seven years. Her move to Mumbai in 1997 ushered in a new career as a dancer and actor in Bollywood films. After returning to the UK in 2002, she starred in a number of major stage shows, including Andrew Lloyd Webber's musical Bombay Dreams and, more recently, Wah! Wah! Girls at London's Theatre Royal Stratford East and Peacock theatre. Stuart Piper, managing director of Cole Kitchenn, said: "Sophiya was one of the most inspirational people I ever met. On stage, it was like you were watching her in close-up even if you were sat at the back of the stalls, such was her star presence and charisma. I am so desperately sad that she has been lost to the world at such a tragically young age, but feel blessed to have known her." http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2013/jan/17/sophiya-haque-dies-41
maniac Posted January 17, 2013 Author Posted January 17, 2013 Pathetic journalism. its just freaking tweets and no mention of what actually happened to her. Cancer
Mariyam Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Pathetic journalism. its just freaking tweets and no mention of what actually happened to her. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/actressvj-sophiya-haque-passes-away-in-london/316336-8-66.html RIP
Magneto Posted January 17, 2013 Posted January 17, 2013 Cancer http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-21062175 But pneumonia finally.
maniac Posted January 18, 2013 Author Posted January 18, 2013 As news of former VJ Sophiya Haque's sudden death spread in the entertainment industry, several Bollywood stars tweeted their tributes: Lisa Ray: 'RIP Sophia Haque, my beautiful, vivacious old friend.' Ayushmann Khurrana: 'RIP Sophiya Haque. Somebody said, "VJs are born. Actors are made."' Ujjwala Raut: 'R.I.P Sophiya Haque! U will be dearly missed.. My thoughts go to your family & friends! We had some great times..' Jaaved Jaaferi: 'My super talented friend Sophiya Haque, Dancer par excellence, actress, singer, vj passed away today :-(((( ..RIP Sophie.' Farhan Akhtar: 'Shocked to hear about the death of Sophiya Haque. RIP. Deepest condolences to her family.' Arjun Rampal: 'My prayers for all the people in Jakarta,also lost an old friend and wonderful person Sophie Haque, have such fond memories RIP lovely soul.' R Madhavan: 'RIP..Sophiya Haque, 1 of early VJ's in MTV, Cadbury model.Cannot forget her in "September Madathil in Alaipayuthe.Shocked and Saddened.' Pritish Nandy: 'Sad. Sophiya Haque passes away in London. Was a wonderful friend during her VJ days. I still have some lovely pictures of her.' Kunal Kohli: 'RIP Sophia Haque.One of the 1st channelV vj's.Met her in london after seeing her in Far Pavillions. Always Full of life :-(' Vishal Malhotra: 'The Original VJ and class act Sophia Haque. RIP' Anubhav Sinha: 'Sometimes the departure of people you have never known at all leaves you a little empty. Don't know why. RIP Sophiya Haque.' Dia Mirza: 'Sophia Haque was not in the cadbury commercial. But she definitely was amongst the first VJ's on Indian tv n I loved her. RIP.' Actually I forgot about that
punjabi_khota Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Cancer is a mother****er like no other. Ek hafte mein khatam kahani :(. Truly the scariest disease known. Urge everyone to read 'Emperor of all maladies', puts things in perspective, since most of us are destined to encounter cancer in ourselves or loved ones.
SLICKR392 Posted January 18, 2013 Posted January 18, 2013 Another one bites the dust against cancer :(( RIP
Mariyam Posted January 19, 2013 Posted January 19, 2013 Cancer is a mother****er like no other. Ek hafte mein khatam kahani :(. Truly the scariest disease known. Urge everyone to read 'Emperor of all maladies', puts things in perspective, since most of us are destined to encounter cancer in ourselves or loved ones. What does that mean? Is it really that prevalent? None that I know, family or friends, touch-wood, have been cancer patients. What % of the population is affected by cancer? How does this compare vs other fatal diseases? What % of the total fatalities are cancer induced?
punjabi_khota Posted January 19, 2013 Posted January 19, 2013 What does that mean? Is it really that prevalent? None that I know, family or friends, touch-wood, have been cancer patients. What % of the population is affected by cancer? How does this compare vs other fatal diseases? What % of the total fatalities are cancer induced? In US 1 in 4 will have cancer sometime in their lives. Cancer is a rich country's disease. The reason we in India don't see our proportion of cancer cases, is because people die early due to other reasons/diseases. Once the life expectancy hits the western levels, India will have lot more cancer cases.
akshayxyz Posted January 19, 2013 Posted January 19, 2013 In US 1 in 4 will have cancer sometime in their lives. Cancer is a rich country's disease. The reason we in India don't see our proportion of cancer cases' date=' is because people die early due to other reasons/diseases. [b']Once the life expectancy hits the western levels, India will have lot more cancer cases. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_life_expectancy Japan is at the top. US is at #40. Does it mean, Japan (and other 39 countries above) has more cancer cases proportionately?
punjabi_khota Posted January 20, 2013 Posted January 20, 2013 Vo Kitaab padho yaar, sab samajh aa jayega.