peterparker Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 The way he handles movement is still a f***ing joke. M Vijay played better in that regard. Rohit has lot of technical issues that need to be sorted out before even being labelled as technical wizard. Graeme Smith' date=' Alistair cook are not exactly technical wizards. They have incredible reilience, temperament knowing which ball to leave, which ball to defend and attack. I don't see that in Rohit yet. Every now and then he plays an airy fairy shot.[/quote'] Now we have morning session, let us see how well your favorite rahane can handle the movement. And oh yes, i did watch the first ODI, and when kohli and rohit sharma were batting, it was clear who was more comfortable in handlind all type of deliveries, movement, bounce. rohit sharma has no technical issues, he has problem with temprament. kohli has lot of technical issues, espeically, that high rising delivery, he is not comfortable. yesterday also, he did struggle with that, check the match. You don't judge player by 1 or 2 innings, the point is that, kohili cannot play a big innings like pujara or rohit, that's more important. Once you have made a century in test cricket, you have to make a huge score, 120-130 is nothing in test cricket actually. If kohli can score big, in these type of challenging conditions, then he will be considered as a great batsman. otherwise, he is good.
SLICKR392 Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 Now we have morning session, let us see how well your favorite rahane can handle the movement. And oh yes, i did watch the first ODI, and when kohli and rohit sharma were batting, it was clear who was more comfortable in handlind all type of deliveries, movement, bounce. rohit sharma has no technical issues, he has problem with temprament. kohli has lot of technical issues, espeically, that high rising delivery, he is not comfortable. yesterday also, he did struggle with that, check the match. You don't judge player by 1 or 2 innings, the point is that, kohili cannot play a big innings like pujara or rohit, that's more important. Once you have made a century in test cricket, you have to make a huge score, 120-130 is nothing in test cricket actually. If kohli can score big, in these type of challenging conditions, then he will be considered as a great batsman. otherwise, he is good. LOL. What has getting stuck to the crease against swing to do with temperament?
Old guy Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 LOL. What has getting stuck to the crease against swing to do with temperament? That's perfect Just like playing and missing is now leaving the ball
Khalpat Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 rohit sharma has no technical issues, he has problem with temprament. kohli has lot of technical issues, espeically, that high rising delivery, he is not comfortable. I guess you are defining technicality only on the basis of foot work. Its true that Rohit has better foot movement which makes his drives (on or off) a treat to watch but technicality is not only the foot movement. Even Sachin and Gavaskar have said that the most important aspect in bating is your still head. Rohit lags in that area his feet movement is good but the head is not still. Also while playing drive, front foot or backfoot most of your body balance should be managed by the toe and rest of the fingers. Here also Kohli is much better. And lets not talk about temprament, concentration, hand eye coordination etc. Rohit is no match to Kohli.
Khalpat Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 Here is a pull shot from yesterday's match, Virat's right foot is at off stump and he maintained whole of the body balance on his toes. Nothing technically wrong:
peterparker Posted December 19, 2013 Posted December 19, 2013 I guess you are defining technicality only on the basis of foot work. Its true that Rohit has better foot movement which makes his drives (on or off) a treat to watch but technicality is not only the foot movement. Even Sachin and Gavaskar have said that the most important aspect in bating is your still head. Rohit lags in that area his feet movement is good but the head is not still. Also while playing drive' date=' front foot or backfoot most of your body balance should be managed by the toe and rest of the fingers. Here also Kohli is much better. And lets not talk about temprament, concentration, hand eye coordination etc. Rohit is no match to Kohli.[/quote'] rohit has better technique also ,no one can deny this. and on that temprament, concentration, we all know, kohli's horrid time in oz. it was innings of perth which sensed him, but once again, nothing more than 120.
carnish Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 :finger: He is going to be murdered by Steyn and Philander. This ausshole is going to be a crater after this tour. Keep your hate yourself ... **** on it. Kohli gives you the :finger:
Cricketics Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 rohit has better technique also ,no one can deny this. and on that temprament, concentration, we all know, kohli's horrid time in oz. it was innings of perth which sensed him, but once again, nothing more than 120. It's a trend I am seeing in all Rohit lovers that they can't seem to agree that Kohli or even Rahane and Pujara for that matter are better players than him right now. Just accept it like every other fan is accepting that Pujara and Kohli are both good. We agree Rohit is one of the best in the country, but right now he isn't better than any of the two players. He might be technically good, but the word technique has a different meaning to everyone. For us, it's all about runs. and if Rahane is scoring more runs regularly than Rohit, than he is probably the one with better technique to me. Which he is. RAHANE/PUJARA AND Kohli and then Comes Rohit. Before you go crazy, Rohit is brilliant talent, who is yet to reach a leve or show us what he got. He has got a grand total of just few matches, and hence I rate others like Pujara higher than him.
cowboysfan Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 I really dont agree that Rohit has a better technique,he has to show that he can be patient like Kohli and Pujara but i have seen that hanging bat too many times.
gattaca Posted December 20, 2013 Author Posted December 20, 2013 I really dont agree that Rohit has a better technique' date='he has to show that he can be patient like Kohli and Pujara but i have seen that hanging bat too many times.[/quote'] Honestly I felt dhoni had better footwork in the first innings compared to rohit.
Cricketics Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 Cullinan ka dimaag kharaab ho gaya hai. To be honest, I have been hearing him and watching his interviews and he has been praising Kohli all this time and even before the start of the match. People just pick a little bit out of his interview and make a big deal out of it. This is what I remember him saying on that cricinfo show. "Kohli does lack technical concentration. He has shown he has temperament to score in odi's and also technqiue to score away from home but in south africa, you need different kind of both technqiue and concentration which will be a challenge for him. I am sure he will do good here but how long he can stay at the crease is the question. He said the same for Rohit Sharma and Dhoni and said Pujara should be the most calm batsman with least amount of hype and he might be the best among the rest." I thought he said some true words and which made total sense.
The Realist Posted December 20, 2013 Posted December 20, 2013 As for Nohit Sharma having the best technique :hysterical::cantstop: I mean come on that just deserves a response...
MCcricket Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Kohli is extremely talented and I mean extremely and to add to it he is very very ambitious, he always plays better while chasing in odi's and might end up having a better average in tests outside India as he is looking for challenges to prove himself and be the best in the world not among the best but THE BEST, I dare any Saffer, Aussie or Pom now saying our player average and blah blah, bouncy tracks, weakness, ftb all he and this gen will prove wrong.
rkt.india Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 I For us, it's all about runs. and if Rahane is scoring more runs regularly than Rohit, than he is probably the one with better technique to me. Which he is. RAHANE/PUJARA AND Kohli and then Comes Rohit. Before you go crazy, Rohit is brilliant talent, who is yet to reach a leve or show us what he got. He has got a grand total of just few matches, and hence I rate others like Pujara higher than him. When did Rahane score more than Rohit? Rahane looked deer caught in headlights in his first test. Rohit came and scored a brilliant hundred when we were nothing 5 down in his first test. He looked very good here too till he was there, but just got too excited seeing Kohli playing aggressively and could not resist the temptation to play his shots. He will certainly learn from that. What comparison! :giggle:
Cricketics Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 When did Rahane score more than Rohit? Rahane looked deer caught in headlights in his first test. Rohit came and scored a brilliant hundred when we were nothing 5 down in his first test. He looked very good here too till he was there' date=' but just got too excited seeing Kohli playing aggressively and could not resist the temptation to play his shots. He will certainly learn from that. What comparison! :giggle:[/quote'] To be honest, both Rahane and Rohit haven't played enough test to be compared. I am just comparing there style of play and I feel Rahane is better than him. That's about it. He to me looks more of a "Sensible" player than Rohit. If you don't like that view. No problem. It's just my opinion. I have been mentioning everywhere that Rohit looked all right in his first innings, so we can't comment on him right now. We will have to wait till the end of South African series or even NZ tour.
rkt.india Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 To be honest, both Rahane and Rohit haven't played enough test to be compared. I am just comparing there style of play and I feel Rahane is better than him. That's about it. He to me looks more of a "Sensible" player than Rohit. If you don't like that view. No problem. It's just my opinion. I have been mentioning everywhere that Rohit looked all right in his first innings, so we can't comment on him right now. We will have to wait till the end of South African series or even NZ tour. Toughest conditions to bat on I have seen in recent times were in WI tri-series and he was our highest scorer there, batted more sensibly than most. Looks like people forgot first test series of Virat Kohli in WI. He was looked deer caught in headlights in that series when even Raina batted better than him. Give everyone a bit of time before people write them off. They are doing same with Dhawan. Rahane will do well too. He has shown it here.
Muloghonto Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 People harp too much on technique without simply realizing that technique will never ever trump shot selection. The batsman with the inferior technique but superior shot selection does better than the batsman with the better technique and poor shot selection every single time. For what good is a perfect forward defensive technique when it is poorly used (eg: against a short pitched delivery) ? The answer is, nothing. Your brilliant technique on a poor shot selection results in you getting out. This is where Rohit is mediocre at best. Man has all the time in the world, all the perfect textbook technique. But his shot selection is mediocre at best.
Cricketics Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Toughest conditions to bat on I have seen in recent times were in WI tri-series and he was our highest scorer there' date=' batted more sensibly than most. Looks like people forgot first test series of Virat Kohli in WI. He was looked deer caught in headlights in that series when even Raina batted better than him. Give everyone a bit of time before people write them off. They are doing same with Dhawan. Rahane will do well too. He has shown it here.[/quote'] Abey bhai Fir. Whats with you brining Kohli again when we are talking about Rohit. This guilty conscious feeling among Rohit fanboys is just not understandable. Kohli did have an average windies tour, and it's been a while. He has turned into a gem player since then. Rohit did well in odi's there. No doubt, but that was odi's. We are talking about test matches here. Again, I don't know what made you write things like "Kohli looked deer caught in headlights" when we aren't even discussing him. Seems like you are annoyed by any decent discussion. It's forum, I can't agree with you always. Rohit is good, but I can't make call him a future great or one of the best yet. Is that wrong? I am just taking my time and see how he does in coming matches. Let's take a chill pill and just wait. It will eventually happen right if it has to happen. I expect and hope he does well too. I just belive that some others are better prospect. And regarding Kohli, he is about to achieve something whcih has been only done by Hazare, Gavaskar and Dravid. Batsman to score 2 centuries in same test. Goes on to show how much he has improved since that Windies tour you talked about. .
rkt.india Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Abey bhai Fir. Whats with you brining Kohli again when we are talking about Rohit. This guilty conscious feeling among Rohit fanboys is just not understandable. Kohli did have an average windies tour, and it's been a while. He has turned into a gem player since then. Rohit did well in odi's there. No doubt, but that was odi's. We are talking about test matches here. Again, I don't know what made you write things like "Kohli looked deer caught in headlights" when we aren't even discussing him. Seems like you are annoyed by any decent discussion. It's forum, I can't agree with you always. Rohit is good, but I can't make call him a future great or one of the best yet. Is that wrong? I am just taking my time and see how he does in coming matches. Let's take a chill pill and just wait. It will eventually happen right if it has to happen. I expect and hope he does well too. I just belive that some others are better prospect. And regarding Kohli, he is about to achieve something whcih has been only done by Hazare, Gavaskar and Dravid. Batsman to score 2 centuries in same test. Goes on to show how much he has improved since that Windies tour you talked about. . I do not think I am fan boy of anyone. I like Kohli as much as Rohit or anyone else. That was just an example how players need time to settle down. A lot of people had written off even Kohli after that series but look at him now once he got that time to settle in. Same way Dhawan, Rohit, and Rahane will also need that time to settle in and put in consistent performance.