Austin 3:!6 Posted December 21, 2013 Author Posted December 21, 2013 critaria thora aur tight kar lo :--D peechay bacha hi kya hey? There are many - Chaminda Vaas, Junaid(youngest ATG), Irfan(lethal ATG), Amir(Baap of all ATG's) . :dontknow: I rate Zak better than all of them :agree:
Sooda Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 He is an Indian ATG for sure. Would be Interesting to note who people would go for to partner Kapil with the new ball in an All Time India team (if going for only 2 pacemen )... him or Srianth? Zaheer for me as far as Left arm pacemen go, surely he may well be behind Wasim as the second best left arm paceman ever..? Alan Davidson is generally considered 2nd best.
Asim Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 There are many - Chaminda Vaas, Junaid(youngest ATG), Irfan(lethal ATG), Amir(Baap of all ATG's) . :dontknow: I rate Zak better than all of them :agree: I agree with you, ZAK is definitely 2nd ATG i Left handed ii Pace bowler iii from Sub-continent :giggle:
Austin 3:!6 Posted December 21, 2013 Author Posted December 21, 2013 Will definitely feature in All time SC XI :finger:
adi B Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 No just a handy bowler who waits for things to happen' date=' [b']very rarely runs through a team. sadly,i have to agree with u
Sooda Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Will definitely feature in All time SC XI :finger: Zaheer?? .. He wont.
vvvslaxman Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 HIs abrupt tour endings were his biggest issues. If he had say the fitness of Steyn or Johnson with the same skill he would have become an ATG. Sadly he failed badly in fitness area. Definitely ATG for India. Also as far as mentoring goes he is as good as anybody.
Muloghonto Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Err, Zaheer is not an alltime great but he is a great of his generation. There are not that many bowlers who have played as much in the last 10-12 years that have averages significantly superior to Zaheer. Zaheer averages a shade over 32 and if he is fit, he will bring it down to the 30-31 range again. Just to show for comparison, Stuart broad averages 30+. James Anderson averages almost 31. Makhaya Ntini averaged 28-29. Morkel averges 29+. Mitchell Johnson averages 29+. These bowlers have spent the majority of their careers bowling in far more pace bowler friendly conditions than Zaheer. IIRC, McGrath,Philander, Shoaib Akhtar and Steyn are the only pace bowlers in the last 10 years that have taken 100 or more test wickets at a much better average than Zaheer. So he is a great bowler of his time IMO. If Zaheer was English or Saffie, his average would probably be in the 25-27 range.
Muloghonto Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Will definitely feature in All time SC XI :finger: No, because Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Kapil Dev and Shoaib Akhtar are the ones i will rate as definitely better than Zaheer from the subcontinent. I consider it a bit of a tossup between him and Vaas, though they were different types of left arm fast bowlers. I definitely consider him superior to Srinath, Fazal Mehmood, Sarfraz Nawaz, etc. though.
Jersey #10 Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 No. all time great players can run through oppositions. ie., Steyn
panther Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 Err, Zaheer is not an alltime great but he is a great of his generation. There are not that many bowlers who have played as much in the last 10-12 years that have averages significantly superior to Zaheer. Zaheer averages a shade over 32 and if he is fit, he will bring it down to the 30-31 range again. Just to show for comparison, Stuart broad averages 30+. James Anderson averages almost 31. Makhaya Ntini averaged 28-29. Morkel averges 29+. Mitchell Johnson averages 29+. These bowlers have spent the majority of their careers bowling in far more pace bowler friendly conditions than Zaheer. IIRC, McGrath,Philander, Shoaib Akhtar and Steyn are the only pace bowlers in the last 10 years that have taken 100 or more test wickets at a much better average than Zaheer. So he is a great bowler of his time IMO. If Zaheer was English or Saffie, his average would probably be in the 25-27 range. And what if wasim was english what would his average be?
Muloghonto Posted December 21, 2013 Posted December 21, 2013 And what if wasim was english what would his average be? maybe a point or two better..somewhere in the 20-22 range perhaps. I hope you realize that averages are not linearly improved, it does have an exponential degree of diffuculty to it. Ie, it is a lot easier to average 25 when conditions favour you instead of 30 than it is to average 20 as opposed to 25. I dont think Wasim would've averaged much lower if he was English or Aussie, he would be in the McGrath-Ambrose ballpark. This is because, while i think Wasim would've been significantly more effective as an opening bowler, he wouldnt have demolished the lower orders as well with the stinging reverse swing that is easier to obtain in subcontinent than overseas. IMO, Wasim was the most complete bowler I've seen and the type of bowling he demonstrated between 1990 and 1996, he would be one of the first names i put down in an alltime world team. But Wasim lost a lot of menace to his bowling from 97 or so onwards. My guess is, his groin injuries finally caught up with him and he simply did not twist his hips with as much force in his later years than before and his 'ball that comes in to the right hander' lost a lot of venom.
CG Posted December 22, 2013 Posted December 22, 2013 Indian all time great for sure.His career can be divided in to 2 parts post and pre 2007 england tour.If we compare on worldstage he was a good bowler.
ravishingravi Posted December 22, 2013 Posted December 22, 2013 I thought those are his CRICKET Stats :dontknow: Yaar, Hindi mein likhu kya.
Number Posted December 22, 2013 Posted December 22, 2013 Indian great thats all. Wont even be in second Asian XI.