Rightarmfast Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 49 minutes ago, Nikhil_cric said: Pollock was clocked at 143 kph in the 99/00. Probably was quicker in the 97/98 before his back injury. Not average pace, but he had an effort bouncer that was quicker than his normal deliveries. Think he lost that after back injury in 98. Walsh may have hit 140 + on effort balls in his early career. He had playing since 1984 and literally nobody bowled more than him in FC/List A cricket. But he was at least 82+ mph average speed for most of his career along with his height. Mullally was a 75 mph trundler by 2001. Bowlers used to lose pace faster in that era ,so he may have been a quicker but a trundler nonetheless Ok, I have completely missed this. Still cant believe that Pollock was clocked at 143 and 145. For sure, an effort ball. But he definitely wasn't bowling at 145 in the 97 Pakistan tour. Perhaps around 138ish. Even Donald wasn't bowling 145 around 99ish. In 2000, SA had this tall blonde bloke who was around Akhtar's pace. HItting 150's. Can't recall his name. But he didnt play much.
express bowling Posted December 10, 2025 Author Posted December 10, 2025 40 minutes ago, Rightarmfast said: Even Donald wasn't bowling 145 around 99ish. In 2000, SA had this tall blonde bloke who was around Akhtar's pace. HItting 150's. Can't recall his name. But he didnt play much. Nantie Hayward hit 148 kph in a test in India around 1999 / 2000 when Donald could not even touch 140 k. Suhaan, rollingstoned, Rightarmfast and 3 others 2 4
Rightarmfast Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 12 minutes ago, express bowling said: Nantie Hayward hit 148 kph in a test in India around 1999 / 2000 when Donald could not even touch 140 k. Yes, that was Nantie Haywards. He would eventually bowl upwards of 150k's by 2000's. But played for a very short while. Atleast, he was one express quickie who I watched live in a match when SA toured India then... maybe 2000 I think. bouncers, express bowling and raki05 1 2
pramodk Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 1 hour ago, Rightarmfast said: Yes, that was Nantie Haywards. He would eventually bowl upwards of 150k's by 2000's. But played for a very short while. Atleast, he was one express quickie who I watched live in a match when SA toured India then... maybe 2000 I think. I remember Virender Sehwag said it was easy to play Haywards because all he could do was bowl fast, one dimensional. There was a left armer at the same time from SA who was fast and very dangerous. Rightarmfast 1
Suhaan Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 26 minutes ago, pramodk said: I remember Virender Sehwag said it was easy to play Haywards because all he could do was bowl fast, one dimensional. There was a left armer at the same time from SA who was fast and very dangerous. Yes,he and Sachin blasted 350+ in first day of Bloemfontein test 2001,that was hyper Bazball pro Max for those days,both scored quick 100s It was Sehwag debut test match Although India were restricted to 379 or something despite those two innings raki05, express bowling and Rightarmfast 1 2
Rightarmfast Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 8 minutes ago, Suhaan said: Yes,he and Sachin blasted 350+ in first day of Bloemfontein test 2001,that was hyper Bazball pro Max for those days,both scored quick 100s It was Sehwag debut test match Although India were restricted to 379 or something despite those two innings I remember this match so well. not because of Sachin's century. Because that irritating 'Harsha Bhogle' was commentating and chewing my brains off. Some people never age. He blabbers still the same... Just that I dont have brains anymore! rollingstoned, Suhaan, express bowling and 1 other 4
Rightarmfast Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 40 minutes ago, pramodk said: I remember Virender Sehwag said it was easy to play Haywards because all he could do was bowl fast, one dimensional. There was a left armer at the same time from SA who was fast and very dangerous. Bhai, jatt ka koi bharosa nahi. Ho sakta hai wo Haywards 5000 ki baat kar rha ho. Vk1, Vilander and rollingstoned 3
Nikhil_cric Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 Nantie Hayward's 154.3 kph delivery was to Steve Waugh. Honestly, there was no real wow factor about that guy. Horrible action and didn't really run through the crease like an express bowler would. They had another really quick bowler Mfuneko Ngam who was also really quick. It was not until 2007 , they produced bowlers who could bowl genuinely fast and could last in Steyn and Morkel
Vk1 Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 3 hours ago, pramodk said: I remember Virender Sehwag said it was easy to play Haywards because all he could do was bowl fast, one dimensional. There was a left armer at the same time from SA who was fast and very dangerous. Left armer from SA? was it tsotsobe around 2010s? I can't remember any from Hayward's time Rightarmfast 1
MK55 Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 I remember Nantie Hayward. Was consistently fast. Bounce was troubling too. Played a role in their pace attack. Rightarmfast 1
Vk1 Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 4 hours ago, Suhaan said: Yes,he and Sachin blasted 350+ in first day of Bloemfontein test 2001,that was hyper Bazball pro Max for those days,both scored quick 100s It was Sehwag debut test match Although India were restricted to 379 or something despite those two innings same thing happened in 96 tour.. sachin & azhar scored 100s rest folded meekly. Suhaan, Rightarmfast and express bowling 1 2
Need4Speed Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 12 hours ago, singhvivek141 said: He isn't...maybe 135-140 with odd balls hitting 143-144. He looked as quick as Ashok if not slow. ya I read comments here about his return..but may be he is just returning after injury so may bit more time to be at his absolute rhythm hopefully..I am more happy hearing that he knows pace is what sets him apart.. express bowling 1
Need4Speed Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 (edited) 12 hours ago, MK55 said: I remember Nantie Hayward. Was consistently fast. Bounce was troubling too. Played a role in their pace attack. ya..he was very tough to face..as shown by the way Indian batters were getting troubled to handle him..his bounce from that short of good length esp in SAF tracks..was hot to handle.. Edited December 11, 2025 by Need4Speed Rightarmfast and MK55 1 1
Suhaan Posted December 10, 2025 Posted December 10, 2025 (edited) 12 hours ago, Vk1 said: Left armer from SA? was it tsotsobe around 2010s? I can't remember any from Hayward's time Haywards was RAF bowler ,was a rubbish bowler Edited December 11, 2025 by Suhaan
Vilander Posted December 11, 2025 Posted December 11, 2025 14 hours ago, Rightarmfast said: Bhai, jatt ka koi bharosa nahi. Ho sakta hai wo Haywards 5000 ki baat kar rha ho. Dude how are you
Mosher Posted December 11, 2025 Posted December 11, 2025 (edited) 12 hours ago, Nikhil_cric said: They had another really quick bowler Mfuneko Ngam who was also really quick. Remember seeing Ngam bowl and he was seriously quick. Injury ruined his career. Edited December 11, 2025 by Mosher Suhaan, Nikhil_cric, Need4Speed and 1 other 4
Suhaan Posted December 11, 2025 Posted December 11, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, Mosher said: Remember seeing Ngam bowl and he was seriously quick. Injury ruined his career. Here he's early 2001, Edited December 11, 2025 by Suhaan Mosher and express bowling 2
Rightarmfast Posted December 11, 2025 Posted December 11, 2025 2 hours ago, Vilander said: Dude how are you All well buddy, hows you bro? :) Vilander 1
pramodk Posted December 11, 2025 Posted December 11, 2025 15 hours ago, Vk1 said: Left armer from SA? was it tsotsobe around 2010s? I can't remember any from Hayward's time https://share.google/jMe0ZhwGpLqzU6bc6 Brett Shultz that's the cricketer I was thinking about ind_hyd1 1
Rightarmfast Posted December 12, 2025 Posted December 12, 2025 This guy Sumit from Haryana looks sharp.