TMC, Congress raise issue with Modi's visit to temple in Nepal

Real reason why Khangressis are upset:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi did in Nepal what Sonia Gandhi couldn't Bangalore, Aug 4: Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi won many hearts during the two-day visit in Nepal starting Sunday. On Monday, the prime minister also offered prayers at the Pashupatinath Temple in Kathmandu. He also donated Rs 25 crore to build a 'dharamshala' in the temple complex and offered 2,500 kg of sandalwood. This is quite contradictory to what had happened in the 1980s when Sonia Gandhi, the current chief of the Congress party, was disallowed to enter the Pashupatinath Temple where only Hindus are allowed, during a trip to Nepal with her late husband and former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi. It is said that a miffed Rajiv decided to impose a blockade on Nepal in 1989-90, crippling the landlocked country's economy. The real reason was, according to observers, Nepal's hard-line position on trade and transit and procuring weapons from China which had annoyed India. The sorry consequences had a changing influence on Nepal's political system. http://news.oneindia.in/india/pm-narendra-modi-worshipped-in-pashupatinath-temple-sonia-gandhi-was-refused-1495842.html#infinite-scroll-1

This is one that CongI govt provided money and logistics support to a "Benny Hinn" Miracle services - a foreign company using tax-payers' money: http://www.religionnewsblog.com/10019/controversies-dog-benny-hinns-evangelic-show

Bangalore, Jan 24 : A three-day faith show here by American evangelist Benny Hinn may have concluded without any major trouble, but it has left behind a trail of controversies. With the Karnataka government going all out to provide the logistics support for the Festival of Blessings that concluded here Sunday night, the high-tech show attracted nearly a million people from all over India and some from abroad.

According to certain posters, it does not make a difference what the money is being given for as long as it flows out of the country. Next step, start funding terrorism in foreign lands because, Hey, it is the same thing as money being given for humanitarian causes.

According to certain posters' date=' it does not make a difference what the money is being given for as long as it flows out of the country. Next step, start funding terrorism in foreign lands because, Hey, it is the same thing as money being given for humanitarian causes.[/quote'] I think you have lost all sense of perspective
Oh nothing about my caste or religion this time? You can do better!
you want to bring that to the discussion .. fine. Now we know the agenda, carry on

Disgusting. Donating to a temple being compared to funding terrorism. Would they have the gumption to make such a comparison had it been given to a mosque?

Always knew bhagwa chaddhidhaaris would consider Nepali Hindus dearer than Indian Muslims. Ample demonstration being given in this thread.
Bad trolling. To feed u, Nepali Hindus are not possible/potential terrorists, who could start killing for fun with a hair trigger.

The benchmark for judging whether a particular loan or donation to a foreign entity is whether it furthers India's strategic interests. Thus, India gives funds to Africa and other countries. In this context, the Pashupatinath temple has a deep historic link with India. The money given to it reaffirms those links and is a strategic investment. There is nothing wrong in that. The United States, Japan, China - all have programs for funding religious and and cultural institutions on foreign lands.

According to certain posters' date=' it does not make a difference what the money is being given for as long as it flows out of the country. Next step, [b']start funding terrorism in foreign lands because, Hey, it is the same thing as money being given for humanitarian causes.
This is height of naivete. What makes you think this has not been done before ? India, US, China, Russia .. pretty much every strong power has funded (and perhaps is continuing to fund) insurgencies in foreign lands. They do it for their strategic interests. These things of course are covert, so the details are not available to debate their efficacy. But these powers also (openly) fund cultural and religious entities on foreign soil for the same reason - to further their own strategic interests. One can definitely debate these types of funding from the point of view of augmentation of strategic interests. In the case of the Pashupatinath temple, I submit that the amount (Rs 25 crore) is reasonable - most of it is used to build a dharamshala. The temple has a very strong Indian connection with a tradition of having only Indian priests. It was also a rallying point for opponents of the (China supported) Maoists. It is entirely justified for India to leverage its Hindu linkages to Nepal to counter the Chinese influence.

Bhai kis aadmi ko smjha rahe ho tum log. God Forbid but beleive me if someone kills his good friend then also first he will ask the background of killer, if the killer is a howard educated or Ex-IITian then he will say oh mere dost ne hi kutch galat kiya hoga. That is how he is programmed. He has different yardsticks for people depending on their education, wealth, caste and religion.

Amazing to see the amount of outrage at a relatively paltry donation (when you consider how much governments spend in giving out grants). Some people going to the extent of deriving actual cost of ghee also. :cantstop: Wow! And then there are people who don't even want to talk about 600 crores of Haj subsidy multiplied by number of years this subsidy has been given to satisfy the needs of one religion. Paid by tax payers belonging to different religions and they are not even allowed to visit those cities even if they wanted to.
Sometime back, I came across this ToI report which says that the GoI is considering abolishing the subsidy, as it should be. The subsidy is nothing but mere symbolism. The topic is very widely discussed, at least in Muslim circles. And more often than not, I've seen people have the opinion that it isn't much of a 'subsidy', its just some retrograde marketing by Air India and leaves people with some material to bash Indian Muslims. A Haji has to shell out roughly Rs 1-1.2 lakhs for a Haj pilgrimage through a GoI sponsored package, even after the subsidy. Flying by Air India is a mandatory part of the package. If you choose the package that the GoI offers, you have to stick with AI. If you choose a private travel agency ( Akbar travels for instance, have had great Haj packages) you end up shelling around Rs 80,000 per person. I don't have statistics with me, but I'm the split- would be close to 50:50. Now coming to the subsidy; the 'subsidy' is on the air travel for the Haji. That is, the flight to Jeddah. Air India prices to Jeddah are a few thousand rupees higher than the prices of other airlines flying to Jeddah. However, if you compare the prices of AI to Riyadh, Dubai, Oman etc and the other places in the Middle East during the Haj season, they are below the prices of the competing airlines. So in effect, Air India hikes up the price and offers a subsidy of ~22k per Haji. De facto this is a subsidy of 14-15k Rs. It is more an Air India subsidy. Its Maharaja, and not minority appeasement. And attracted by this subsidy, the Hajis do provide Air India with substantial business during the period of the pilgrimage. The Govt, wins both ways. It can bail out ( or at least try to) the grossly mismanaged Air India. And to the Muslims, it appears as a messiah offering privileges. That these privileges are totally contra Islamic canon which clearly mentions that the Haj is obligatory only to those who can afford the journey and are physically/mentally capable of undertaking the strain, is totally overlooked. There is nothing pious or helpful in the subsidy. Especially, in the last 4-5 years where many more private operators have organized such tours more efficiently. Its just symbolism. And in India symbolism works big time. Instead of addressing issues that they should address, the GoI played these cheap games to garner some Muslim votes. I can understand that the Congress has played this game for so long to maintain the image they have. What I cannot understand is why the BJP, who have always been using this as a broomstick to lash out at Muslims and their 'preferential' status did not abolish the subsidy during their earlier 5 year tenure. My guess is that they need this issue alive as much as the Congress, to keep their core supporters agitated about something.