rkt.india Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 This is easy why all this bs... Find out how much you need to eat daily to maintain your weight. The less active and older you are the lower that amount is... Then eat above that u gain, below that u lose, at that u stay same. Eat whatever the fark you want "good" or "bad" lol as long is it covers carbs, fat, protien. Sauce: Me, Im a genius :proud: Disagree with second line. It is not simple. Yes, it is important to eat less calories than you burn but it is also important what you eat. If you eat a high protein diet, you will burn quicker maintaining your muscle mass. You need to eat high protein, low carb, medium fat diet and that fat must be good fat coming from nuts like peanuts, almonds, walnuts or oils like olive oil, etc., nuts are high in protein too, but not trans or saturated fat from fast foods or fried foods. I would suggest use of small amount of nuts, skimmed milk, soy bean, chunks or granules, other kind of beans, oats, lentils, chickpeas, and eggs in your diet. This diet will give you essential nutrients as well and help losing weight.
Desi Cartman Posted November 22, 2014 Author Posted November 22, 2014 I'm feeling sick now, have been feeling like that for the last 2 hours. I don't eat fruits and I don't like anything sweet so it was weird so I decided to try the suggested cucumber juice and since then I have been feeling awful
Kalia_Test Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 ^^^^ Saw the video. Thanks I still feel it is better not to try such extreme measures... I am 6 feet tall and now underweight ( 64 Kgs ) but a few years ago I was hitting 80 Kgs. Had no exercise, usually no breakfast, sedentary IT job, pigging on canteen food and junk, eating heavy dinner late at night and sleeping immediately...weekends were spent eating out - Biryanis, Koftas, Panneer and stuff... I had no health issues then but saw a facebook photo of one of my college friends and he was fit and in good shape ( I was way better in college - atleast that was what I thought). Decided then to do something... Only consulted my family doctor and he told me not to do anything drastic but try very simple things as I had no apparent illnesses and no desperation was needed. From then, I did only the below changes 1. No skipping breakfast. As someone comfortable eating both North Indian and South Indian cuisine, I had lot of options ( Idly, Dosa, Poha, Toast, Flakes, Paratha, Upma )...I could go for 3-4 weeks without repetition. Never obsessed that it should be home made or so...If there was no time, I used to go to a tiffin centre near my house. Point was not to skip. 2. Lunch - Again no obsession about counting calories,etc but preferred veg pulao, lemon rice, sambhar rice, zeera rice, tomato rice, etc. Luckily my office canteen used to have 2-3 rice items ( medium quantity ) every day and I was not bored. Avoided roti as I wanted to have wheat at night. 3. Late afternoon/evening - Green Tea with one samosa or biscuits or puff. 4. Dinner - 2 phulkas with any sabji or daal. Ate atleast 2 hrs before sleeping. In just the food mentioned, yo can get all nutrients you need - just need to be creative...you can add nuts and soya, leafy vegetables, herbs to get balanced diet. Since you seem to be non-vegetarian, you can add fish and meat a few times and even proteins will be managed ( I had to make a bit more effort to get proteins in ) Exercise - Took stairs to 4th floor in office everyday and in general tried to be more active. Nothing planned elaborately but small changes like trying to walk while I was on phone,etc. Doing just the above things, I came down from 80 to 70 in 5-6 months... Now, I am into having curry leaf juice and sprouts,etc in morning for some benefits but will post some other time.
G_B_ Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 Disagree with second line. It is not simple. Yes, it is important to eat less calories than you burn but it is also important what you eat. If you eat a high protein diet, you will burn quicker maintaining your muscle mass. You need to eat high protein, low carb, medium fat diet and that fat must be good fat coming from nuts like peanuts, almonds, walnuts or oils like olive oil, etc., nuts are high in protein too, but not trans or saturated fat from fast foods or fried foods. I would suggest use of small amount of nuts, skimmed milk, soy bean, chunks or granules, other kind of beans, oats, lentils, chickpeas, and eggs in your diet. This diet will give you essential nutrients as well and help losing weight. you can also get multi vitamin supplements in the shops, over the counter. Atleast in the UK. Just to top up your nutirents and keep your energy levels the same. There was a time when i was living off canned food. Did not notice any drop in my energy levels of weight as i was taking these supplements. Vitamin C and B complex especially are essential.
rkt.india Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 I'm feeling sick now' date=' have been feeling like that for the last 2 hours. I don't eat fruits and I don't like anything sweet so it was weird so I decided to try the suggested cucumber juice and since then I have been feeling awful[/quote'] Better eat whole cucumber as salad than juice. Eating carrots as salad better than juice. Eating a full orange is better than juice. Eating a whole food or a vegetable is better than just juice. These three along with apples are useful items, but it is better to eat them whole than juicing. I lost 18-20 kg weight my diet was oats or corn flakes with milk in the morning between 9-10 a.m., an orange 2 hours later between 11-12, home food in lunch at 2 then carrot in the evening around 5, and an oatmeal in dinner, but I did regular cardio exercises too 4-5 days a week. Now, I am taking more protein-rich foods like Soya products, eggs, nuts, and chickpeas more.
Straight Drive Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 Some of my friends who are in early 30's are having Blood pressure, some are partly bald, some have spectacles, some are impotent to produce a child, some obesity etc. Some had Malaria,typhoid,jaundice and had to go to hospital even though they are just middle aged by now. Then they have excuses like no time to go to the gym, too much stress, cannot adhere to healthy diet for some or other excuse. Last week while at party i realized a colleague aged 33 has BP whereas other colleague has BP at 30 - when he let just after one hour of work. Others have some or other diseases mentioned above. It's shocking how disease stricken is the majority of todays population even though they are under 40. I hope some sense sinks in their brain and they live a healthy lifestyle provided they give their efforts. Otherwise it's gonna be more serious for the disease stricken people.
G_B_ Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 lol in a way mumbai's locals are the perfect way to lose weight.... take the train from thane to cst everyday for work in rush hour and i am pretty sure you are sorted on the exercise front From what i gather we are talking about people who drive to work sit on a desk and then go back home.
G_B_ Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 and it no wonder that the health insurance market in india is said to be a sleeping giant. There are insruance companies in the west who are just itching for the fdi to increase.
fineleg Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 lol in a way mumbai's locals are the perfect way to lose weight.... take the train from thane to cst everyday for work in rush hour and i am pretty sure you are sorted on the exercise front From what i gather we are talking about people who drive to work sit on a desk and then go back home. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_UEid62nOQ]evam Standup Tamasha - KK - Chennai Share Auto - YouTube[/ame]
velu Posted November 22, 2014 Posted November 22, 2014 taking unlimited beer :aha: Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Desi Cartman Posted November 22, 2014 Author Posted November 22, 2014 So I have lasted 24 hrs, it's bloody tough especially if you have reflux. Lesson learned, drink more vegetable juice and less fruit juice. I'm thinking of eating low carb small plate with some vegetables juice for one meal. Let's see how I go today
Cricketics Posted November 25, 2014 Posted November 25, 2014 Try v8 juice tomato. You have to develop taste for it and then it starts tasting good. You might not like it first time but if you do drink it regularly, you will develop the taste for it.
Desi Cartman Posted November 25, 2014 Author Posted November 25, 2014 ^^^ Any update? Caused too much acid in my stomach and after vomiting and feeling sick for 18 hrs, I finally gave up on very late 2nd day. Will need to go back to low carb that I did 3 years ago and lost 20% of my total weight in 5 months.
Kalia_Test Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Caused too much acid in my stomach and after vomiting and feeling sick for 18 hrs, I finally gave up on very late 2nd day. Will need to go back to low carb that I did 3 years ago and lost 20% of my total weight in 5 months. Good luck :two_thumbs_up: Slow and steady wins the race
Lord Posted November 26, 2014 Posted November 26, 2014 Caused too much acid in my stomach and after vomiting and feeling sick for 18 hrs, I finally gave up on very late 2nd day. Will need to go back to low carb that I did 3 years ago and lost 20% of my total weight in 5 months. exercise instead of starving.eat lots of fruits(except banana and chikoo):two_thumbs_up:
Desi Cartman Posted November 26, 2014 Author Posted November 26, 2014 So step 1 is to avoid carbs in dinner so these days it's just some green sabzi with either I bowl daal or chicken/fish. I will go full throttle from January as there is a wedding at home in 2 weeks and we are hosting a lot of people for couple of weeks.
rkt.india Posted November 27, 2014 Posted November 27, 2014 So step 1 is to avoid carbs in dinner so these days it's just some green sabzi with either I bowl daal or chicken/fish. I will go full throttle from January as there is a wedding at home in 2 weeks and we are hosting a lot of people for couple of weeks. East cucumbers as salad with rock salt at night.
Laaloo Posted November 28, 2014 Posted November 28, 2014 A good breakfast, a somewhat heavy lunch and a fruit such as apple or pear for dinner on most Fridays and Saturdays from now on. Your thoughts? Sustainable? I can't do this every day because I take lunch to work on most days.