sensible-indian Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I don't want India to embarrass itself on a world stage again. Please no. Enough has happened with Commonwealth Games. We need a lot more time for all this.
adi B Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 No need,we need at least 15 years to get ourselves out of the economic mess and develop infrastructure.india can't afford to waste billions on Olympics just yet.actually we will most likely lose the bid,gotta see which countries are bidding beside us
Donal Cozzie Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I really dont think India is ready to host an event like this considering the commonwealth games fiasco. I mean, wasnt a King Cobra found under one of the athletes beds??? Also, India's climate would not be suited to a lot of events especially athletics considering the sheer humidity, so stadiums would probably have to be air conditioned and all that as well. Plus India is so densely populated, would their even be room near the major cities for an Olympic village plus stadiums?
Donal Cozzie Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I've never understood how a nation of 1 billion wins so few medals though. I mean you have 1 billion people, surely there's a few dozen medallists in that pool?
sticky wicket Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 we are not able to win even 10 medals. +1, at least win some medals and improve grass roots sports infra than think about hosting. set some targets trying to clean sweep everything the South-Asian games, finish in top 3 in commonwealth games, asian games etc then top 10 in Olympics etc... we can't even dominate cricket despite being the richest and biggest population playing the game between meager 8 to 10 nations.
sticky wicket Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I've never understood how a nation of 1 billion wins so few medals though. I mean you have 1 billion people' date=' surely there's a few dozen medallists in that pool?[/quote'] it's to do with focused investment. you have any idea how much likes of China, UK or even Australia spend in sports from school level to professional? massive massive amounts. I have read UK spends over £200 million on just Olympics hopefuls, training, food, wages etc.. that's excluding general budget for general sports development within the country. India i have read somewhere spent under Rs 50 crore (approx $8.3 mil) to train athletes for last olympics.
sticky wicket Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 Here is Australia's spending on olympics sports: India has more important and bigger priorities than spending obscene amounts in on recreational sports.
Temujin Khaghan Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 it is a very bollywood thing - all bark no bite. bollywood people make so much noise all over the world, go to various film festivals and all that. but actual impact - is close to nothing. if not for anurag kashyap and others we wont be having even that minimum respect. just imagine at one point of time karan johar used to go to cannes on a regular basis and show them movies like kkkg and kank. the guests used to appalled at the quality. now atleast we showed gangs of wasseypur if we host olympics without winning much proportional to our population. it would be such a shame for us. it will be just like karan johar at cannes. we will make lots of sound, but people will laugh at us.
vvvslaxman Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 Olympic is a huge event . Very difficult for us to host. But I don't expect India to get it either. We will have mud all over our faces. you do this to boost your image nothing else. But in reality that is not what will happen. We will end up humiliating ourselves with inept administration.
Gollum Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 IOC should tear the application and throw it at Modi's face. After CWG disaster I hoped these fools would realize that we aren't ready to host top tier events involving 100+ countries. India's problems are 1. We are a 3rd world country and the standard of living here is not comparable to rest of the world. Our public hygiene especially is a big big concern. Most top athletes(esp from UK,Jamaica,South Africa,Canada) boycotted the CWG 2010 because of fear of getting sick. Our swimming pools had dirty below standard water and some swimmers got sick because of that. Then Delhi belly, infectious diseases will make sure players aren't at their best during the games. And CWG village had dirty disgusting rooms with toilets not working, dogs,human faeces in bedsheets, construction collapsing all over etc. Worst of all the rooms were handed over 1 day before the official start of the games, 1 ******* day. It was so embarrassing that most teams made their own arrangements and stayed in hotels far away from the sporting venues. Even one of our officials said that standards of cleanliness are different for Indians and foreigners. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/25/world/asia/25india.html?_r=0 How embarrassing !!!! :facepalm: Some pics from the Delhi games: 2. Our stadiums aren't world class, those built/modernized for CWG haven't been used since and would require heavy funding to get them ready for the games, something we can ill afford considering our economic backwardness. we will need to build billion dollar state of the art stadiums with top class training facilities just to get approval from the IOC and what do we do with them after the games? Athens (2004) and Sochi (2014) invested heavily in building infrastructure to host the Olympics but since then they haven't been put to use and those Olympic villages are like ghost towns these days. Check these links to get a better idea. http://desertedplaces.blogspot.com/2012/07/athens-olympics-games-sites-8-years.html http://gizmodo.com/just-six-months-after-the-olympics-sochi-looks-like-a-1626519139 We can ill afford such an epic waste of money in our country but that will surely happen because unlike sporting nations like Australia,Germany,USA,China we don't know how to maintain stadiums/keep them running once the big event is over. Ghost towns of Athens and Sochi: 3. Corruption Corruption Corruption. There is no escaping this way of life in India. Think Asian Games 1982, think Suresh Kalmadi and CWG 2010. Delhi always hosts these events because then only our top politicians, Delhi Police and North Block/South Block bureaucrats can make maximum money. Don't need another top event to fill pockets of these crooks again. 4. Terror problems. The world we are living in today is extremely fickle with Jehadis launching an all out war against humanity. ISIS,Al Qaeda,Boko Haram etc are in the international news on a daily basis slaughtering thousand of innocents. And India is a big target for most Islamists in the world because of our huge number of infidel idol worshipping population. Radicals from Pakistan,Bangladesh,Afganistan,Maldives and even local elements like IM,PFI,SIMI,Al Ummah, Naxals etc will look to dent our image in front of the world and providing security against such an array of threats in a complicated country like India will be extremely difficult for our security agencies. If terror activities do happen not only will there be a huge loss of lives,material, civil strife,communal harmony etc but also the world will group us with more dangerous countries like Pakista,Somalia,Iraq,Syria,Nigeria etc and business in India especially foreign investments will be damaged beyond repair. We are at a critical phase in our country's history and economic growth cannot be compromised no matter what. Nothing screws up an economy like security threats. 5. We have more pressing issues. Unemployment, poverty, farmer suicides, malnutrition, public health,education, power situation,cleanliness, women's safety, poor infrastructure, water scarcity, law and order problems, security concerns, low industrial production need much more attention over an ego bloating , fake nationalistic mundane waste of expenditure like Olympic games and ****. If our politicians really care about Indian sports I would ask them to kindly invest 1% of their proposed Olympic budget into better training facilities for our sportstars, more respect and dignity for them, better coaches, comfortable standard of living and financial security to help them even after their careers are over. If we do those basics right we will do much much better, treat our sportpersons like soldiers fellow countrymen.
Cricketics Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 As much as I would love for them to host an olympic, and that they seem to have enough time since it is 2024 which is 9 years from now, I hope they don't get into the shirt list also. Let's plan on hosting some major events first. Couldn't even impress F1 to continue the contract on regulra basis. Thing about hosting big host events other than cricket. Last, get out of the DIKHAWA-MODE and start the acts. Also, I might be going of topic here but I really don't know if any of you think similar. I hope we get rid of rick-shaws and find are able to provide some other jobs to those rickshaw owners. I feel sad that a 60-70 year old man, in extreme heat is carrying young kids to make living. I rather have such guy drive auto rickshaw. Just my two cents.
hhunaeh Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 great effort by gollum to show what an unfit place india is, yet we hold ipl every year without any issues, but sadly our neighbour still can't host international teams and cricket is about to die in that country.
aceofbase Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I think in the end CWG 2010 was a success....This was confirmed by the chief himself...
Desi Cartman Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 I think in the end CWG 2010 was a success....This was confirmed by the chief himself... what? It wasnt confirmed, some person from Indian Olympic Committee or a neta claimed that it was the best comm games ever :cantstop: If you define success by "completion" then yes, it was a success
aceofbase Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 http://www.hindustantimes.com/newdelhi/delhi-delivered-a-fantastic-games/article1-613055.aspx http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news/Games-good-foundation-for-Olympic-bid-by-India-Rogge/articleshow/6680736.cms? http://www.smh.com.au/sport/commonwealth-games-2010/comm-games-news/its-time-to-reflect-on-how-delhi-got-it-right-20101014-16ltt.html just some of the references to justify calling it a success
jalebi_bhai Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 Also' date=' I might be going of topic here but I really don't know if any of you think similar. I hope we get rid of rick-shaws and find are able to provide some other jobs to those rickshaw owners. I feel sad that a 60-70 year old man, in extreme heat is carrying young kids to make living. I rather have such guy drive auto rickshaw. Just my two cents.[/quote'] Nothing wrong with autos, as long as they no longer run on diesel. Their maneuverability is needed on Indian roads. Because of the rainfall patterns and generally dynamic climate in India, our roads are subjected to more natural wear-tear. Imported vehicles are sometimes too fancy, implying the most practical usage of the word fancy, for our roads. Not an issue of backwardness. Let imports and hybrids dominate the luxury vehicles market.
Desi Cartman Posted April 3, 2015 Posted April 3, 2015 http://www.hindustantimes.com/newdelhi/delhi-delivered-a-fantastic-games/article1-613055.aspx http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news/Games-good-foundation-for-Olympic-bid-by-India-Rogge/articleshow/6680736.cms? This is wishing well, things SHOULD be fine http://www.smh.com.au/sport/commonwealth-games-2010/comm-games-news/its-time-to-reflect-on-how-delhi-got-it-right-20101014-16ltt.html just some of the references to justify calling it a success first 2 articles are just good wishes, the articles are from just before the games. The last one is "it wasnt all that bad", its not same as "success"