Tossing, turning Harbhajan Singh rises again

http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/tossing-turning-harbhajan-singh-rises-again/99/ Clearly frustrated with the batting tracks in domestic cricket, Harbhajan took a snap of the run-laden patta strip and said: “How would you expect to produce a spinner when you offer this kind of dead pitches?†“Domestic season can be cruel. There are venues, which are absolutely seamers paradise and there are venues where bowlers don’t get anything. Spinners don’t even bowl in most of the games. But yahan yeh dekha jata hai ke kitne game hue hain aur uss bowler ne kitne over daale hain. (But people see how many games has a bowler played and how many wickets has he taken in them). Nobody sees that those eight wickets are taken in 40 or 50 overs,†Harbhajan says. “The pitch was green, how can you expect a spinner to bowl? I had to just wait, the situation demanded that seamers should bowl more overs. On other tracks, we would pray that something happens on fourth day of the game. That the pitch would break up.†“Lowest kuch nahi, (nothing really) I never thought too much. Everything is ok yaar. I don’t get too excited or get depressed so easily. Sometimes you do well and sometimes you don’t. After all it is not the end of the world. Nahi hua toh koi baat nahi, there is never end of road. My motive was to try hard and make a comeback.â€

From another thread. Some of the spinners who impressed a lot this Ranji edition(2014/15): 1. Swarupam Purkayastha(Assam, right arm OB, age 25) 7 matches, 36 wickets, avg 17.52, 5 5WKH, 2 10WKH, BBI-8/29, BBM-13/88 *WKH=wicket haul 2. Malolan Rangarajan(Tamil Nadu, right arm OB, age 26) 10 matches, 36 wickets, avg 28.75, 2 5WKH, BBI-7/135, BBM-7/81 3. Jayant Yadav(Haryana, right arm OB, age 25) 8 matches, 33 wickets, avg 17.66, 4 5WK,1 10WKH, BBI-7/64, BBM-13/154 4. Samar Quadri(Jharkhand, right arm LB, age 25) 6 matches, 29 wickets, avg 24.51, 2 5WKH, BBI-6/102,BBM-9/146 5. Shahbaz Nadeem(Jharkhand, SLA orthodox, age 25) 8 matches, 28 wickets, avg 25.53, BBI-4/60,BBM-6/112 6. Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad(Assam, SLA orthodox, age 31) 9 matches, 28 wickets, avg 27.07, 1 5WKH, BBI-5/27, BBM-6/40 7. Shreyas Gopal(Karnataka, right arm LB, age 21) 11 matches, 28 wickets(on those greentops where Vinay and co run havoc ), avg 32.75, BBI-4/51, BBM-4/51 8. Manan Sharma(Delhi, SLA orthodox, age 24) 5 matches, 27 wickets, avg 19.77, 2 5WKH, BBI-6/24, BBM-8/33 9. Rahil Shah(Tamil Nadu, SLA orthodox, age 29) 5 matches, 27 wickets, avg 19.77, 2 5WKH, BBI-7/34,BBM-9/82 10. Varun Sood(Delhi, SLA orthodox, age 24) 8 matches, 27 wickets, avg 20.88, 1 5WKH, 1 10WKH, BBI-6/43, BBM-10/93 11. Swapnil Singh(Baroda, SLA orthodox, age 24) 8 matches, 27 wickets, avg 26.59, 3 5WKH, BBI-6/91, BBM- 7/155 12. Rakesh Dhruv(Vidarbha, SLA orthodox, age 34) 8 matches, 26 wickets, avg 26.69, BBI-4/34, BBM-7/51 13. Ramesh Powar(Gujarat, right arm OB, age 37) 5 matches, 24 wickets, avg 21.00, 3 5WKH, 1 10WKH, BBI-5/40, BBM-10/186 14. Kamlesh Makvana(Saurashtra, right arm OB, age 31) 7 mathces, 23 wickets, avg 37.47, 2 5WKH, BBI-6/87, BBM-9/135 http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-trophy-2014-15/engine/records/bowling/most_wickets_career.html?id=9513;type=tournament Punjab Ranji team bowling performances in 2014/15 season: d5fpiWm.jpg From the list you can clearly see that even Yuvi has outbowled Bhajji this season. Gurkeerat Singh Mann is a middle order batsman and a part timer, even he trumped Bhajji. Rajwinder Singh, an orthodox SLA, the other specialist spinner in the team also has better numbers. Vinay Choudhary, another SLA orthodox also has better numbers. As you can clearly see he is the 5th best spinner in Punjab, not a hallmark for great performance !!!! As I said elsewhere there are 50 spinners who did better than him in the domestic scene since he was booted out of the team. Disgraceful from the selectors !!!

Better than chuski tond ashwin any day of the week The selectors have finally woken up and are giving players chances on what they based on the premier tournament in Cricket. Well done Harbhajan. Maybe Bollywood start casting Geeta Basra again in movies.

Farewell tour may be for chuckbajan. It is travesty they pick this clown who got pelted around by domestic batsmen in first class. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/indian-domestic-2014-15/engine/records/bowling/most_wickets_career.html?class=4;host=6;id=2014%2F15;type=season He is not even in the top 50 for this season lol Yuvraj singh has better bowling averages than him for his state. This is one of the most cringeworthy selection in history of Indian cricket. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/indian-domestic-2014-15/engine/records/bowling/most_wickets_career.html?class=4;id=2014%2F15;team=2063;type=season

Its a selection devoid of any logic or merit to the extent that you have to wonder if money or favours were exchanged. A dart in the face of any young cricketer aspiring to play for the national team.

This proves why we will never be a dominant side in cricket like Aus/WI of old. We have population advantage, cricket being the one big sport, good amount of money, strong board, passionate fans, good training facilities, abundance of talent, etc. But just like with all things Indian nepotism, corruption, seniority culture, political influence, sifarish based selection rule the roost in Indian cricket also. We should be sweeping every ICC tourney, majority test series' but instead we have very little to show. 1-15 run overseas,home series loss, no series win in RSA,Aus in our entire history, negative H2H record against almost all major teams.... shambles.

This proves why we will never be a dominant side in cricket like Aus/WI of old. We have population advantage' date=' cricket being the one big sport, good amount of money, strong board, passionate fans, good training facilities, abundance of talent, etc. But just like with all things Indian nepotism, corruption, seniority culture, political influence, sifarish based selection rule the roost in Indian cricket also. We should be sweeping every ICC tourney, majority test series' but instead we have very little to show. 1-15 run overseas,home series loss, no series win in RSA,Aus in our entire history, negative H2H record against almost all major teams.... shambles.[/quote'] ^^ Some real lame points above. Aus/WI sides were exceptions like Federer's or Mohammad Ali's reign. No one dominates or should dominate sports like that. Secondly, what population advantage are you talking about? If anything, excessive population is something that is holding our country back in all fields including sports. Quality of life is way more important than the numbers. Most of the kids in our academies are under-nourished middle class children and yet they compete extremely well against 1st world country youth. We are no America brother. For most of our history, our population has proven to be a curse, and that's the reason we have negative H2H record against most nations.

Some serious Hate for Harbhajan for now-a-days.. Let him play on first place.What if he doesn't get to play a test and eventually get replaced by another spinner on other tours. He had made comeback against Australlia In which he failed and he was shown door. Same will happnen if he won't perform this time.

Some serious Hate for Harbhajan for now-a-days.. Let him play om first place.What if he doesn't get to play a test and eventually get replaced by another spinner on other tours. He had made comeback against Australia In which he failed amd he was shown door. Same will happnen if he won't perform this time.
Even if he performs, it should be his farewell test. Time to pick new spinners from Domestic