http://www.rediff.com/news/column/lata-and-sachin-didnt-deserve-the-bharat-ratna/20160730.htm

i wonder how many of us can disagree with the author on facts ?

SRT has routinely sought personal favors using his power and influence, I wonder if a Bharat Ratna recipient should stoop that way.

It's very strange how a 5 time world chess champion which V. Anand is, could not get a Bharat Ratna, how did Sachin who plays ( let's be honest) a puny commonwealth sport ( with 10 serious countries that include Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Pakistan) get one. Any sport where neither  USA, China, Russia nor European sporting powerhouses are serious participants has to be a puny sport at a global level. 

But the wily man that Sachin is, he struck a backhand deal with Congress for a Bharat Ratna favor. 

Now that the great man has retired, Sachin has a new best friend in Mukesh Ambani. I wonder if he would ever seek favors from his 

" Mukesh Bhai" to cut a small check to build thousand public toilets in Mumbai. I guess not, it is not a favor that he would personally benefit from.

popularity matters ..

i have no doubts that sachin deserves bharat ratna .. and vishwanathan anand deserves even more than sachin..

but why blame sachin for not awarding BR to anand ? :hmmm:

11 minutes ago, velu said:

popularity matters ..

i have no doubts that sachin deserves bharat ratna .. and vishwanathan anand deserves even more than sachin..

but why blame sachin for not awarding BR to anand ? :hmmm:

And should a Bharat Ratna be a commercial peddler and engage in use of power for personal gain ?

Bharat Ratna is essentially for service to the nation with a huge social bent. 

It it is quite shameful when people of the caliber of Verghese Kurien - the pioneer of the white revolution and Amul, whose idea of cooperative engagement created millions of jobs in India and made us self sufficient in milk could not get Bharat Ratna, how did Sachin qualify ?

Ditto for Vikram Sarabhai - ISRO and IIM Ahmedabad were  both his babies. His vision for India in space and pioneering work has made India the massive space power that it is.  How does puny Sachin compare to him ? Yes, Vikram Sarabhai too like Verghese Kurien never got this award .

perhaps the way Bharat Ratna has been degraded, they are way above it

Really is a Bharat Ratna so shallow that it should be awarded to a commercial peddlar who excelled in a puny commonwealth sport ??

Edited by Prashant cricketer
6 minutes ago, Prashant cricketer said:

It's very strange none of the replies have disputed facts rather just attacked Aakar Patel.

Is this what has become of India ? 

As opposed to what? Rediff which is known for not spreading sensationalist stories? Move aside new york times.... rediff has arrived.

Bekkar patel is a known click bait author. Not going to get into a debate on articles written by them even if he says 1+1= 2 

3 minutes ago, radhika said:

Prashant cricketer

• Prashant cricketer
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • neutral.png.086545f3bbba57584d3c2a4feccb
  •  1,360 Runs

You have 6 posts and 1,360 runs.......kya chakker hai???? bhrastachar !!!

Waisay...what is new, has this guy just woken up?

What  is new is that yet again Bharat Ratna SRT has indulged in using his influence for personal gain.

He went to meet defense minister Parrikar last week to take the side of his business partner Sanjay Narang over construction in an area objected by our military. 

Radhika Madam, I have no clue as to why I have scored so many runs  :)

When he got a Ferrari as a gift he asked the government to waive its import duty.

Why should the taxpayer fund this millionaire's toys? Ultimately a court had to force him to pay.

The entire article reeks of butt hurt. But, the above statement takes the cake. The author doesn't even have any idea about what "Import duty" is. Import duty is the extra money that our Government collects on foreign goods and Sachin had to pay an import duty of 120% on a product that he didn't even intend to buy but received it as a gift. Where does Tax payer's funds come int this whole saga? I doubt any of us normal people would be happy to receive a gift if we were told that we'd have to pay 120% to receive the "Gift". If Sachin had bought the car and then filed for waiver of import duty that would be pathetic but making him the bad guy in this particular scenario is ridiculous.

Like posters have already mentioned, the author is a known click baiter and the OP should research a bit more before opening stupid threads like these.

2 minutes ago, Captain said:

The entire article reeks of butt hurt. But, the above statement takes the cake. The author doesn't even have any idea about what "Import duty" is. Import duty is the extra money that our Government collects on foreign goods and Sachin had to pay an import duty of 120% on a product that he didn't even intend to buy but received it as a gift. Where does Tax payer's funds come int this whole saga? I doubt any of us normal people would be happy to receive a gift if we were told that we'd have to pay 120% to receive the "Gift". If Sachin had bought the car and then filed for waiver of import duty that would be pathetic but making him the bad guy in this particular scenario is ridiculous.

Like posters have already mentioned, the author is a known click baiter and the OP should research a bit more before opening stupid threads like these.

Buddy, you are probably blind with stupidity and bias.

If your relative abroad wanted to gift you an expensive gift like a Ferrari or any gift gthat results in an import duty, on what grounds would you be exempt from duty ??  Would you tell the govt that it is gift so pls waive that duty ??

why don't the same rules apply to all ? This is not the first time that he has wanted special favors that don't apply to common man. 

This cheapness is most unbecoming of any well respected public figure let alone a most unworthy recipient of Bharat Ratna.

Did Sachin not previously declare himself a commercial artiste to get a tax waiver on foreign endorsements ?

what example are the high and mighty setting with this sort of chicanery and cheapness 

22 minutes ago, Prashant cricketer said:

Buddy, you are probably blind with stupidity and bias.

I'd disagree.  I'm just more in touch with reality.

As for the rest of your post, i was literally laughing about the logic you used there comparing a relative gifting a car vs getting a car as a gift from someone like Micheal Schumacher in the wake of a sporting milestone.

Why don't same rules apply to all?

I understand that you are pissed off and think that same rules should apply to all. Good luck with that though. That'll never happen.

As for the cheapness, i'd rather be cheap and file for import duty waiver on a gift rather than pay 120% to receive that gift. What is "cheap" in your opinion is mere "Common sense" in my opinion. An import duty of 120% is downright ridiculous.

Edited by Captain
32 minutes ago, Prashant cricketer said:

What  is new is that yet again Bharat Ratna SRT has indulged in using his influence for personal gain.

He went to meet defense minister Parrikar last week to take the side of his business partner Sanjay Narang over construction in an area objected by our military. 

We have already discussed this topic last week...We are a very smart and current forum .Done and dusted:bebored:

Please spread the word around about the forum .:baking:

9 minutes ago, Captain said:

I'd disagree.  I'm just more in touch with reality.

As for the rest of your post, i was literally laughing about the logic you used there comparing a relative gifting a car vs getting a car as a gift from someone like Micheal Schumacher in the wake of a sporting milestone.

I understand that you are pissed off and think that same rules should apply to all. Good luck with that though. That'll never happen.

As for the cheapness, i'd rather be cheap and file for import duty waiver on a gift rather than pay 120% to receive that gift. What is "cheap" in your opinion is mere "Common sense" in my opinion.

Inspite the smartie that you think you are, you  still don't realize the gist of the article...which is that anyone who routinely uses power and 

influence to seek " common sense" personal  favors  as you put it, which are out of reach of any normal citizen,  is most unworthy of a Bharat Ratna

Also noticed how you deliberately ignored SRT's chicanery to evade taxes .

many global sportsmen ( 10'times bigger names than SRT ) are routinely penalized for tax related issues, whereas in India SRT Bharat Ratna has gotten away with twisting the law.

Edited by Prashant cricketer
2 minutes ago, Prashant cricketer said:

Inspite the smartie that you think you are, you  still don't realize the gist of the article...which is that anyone who routinely uses power and 

influnce to seek " common sense" personal  favors  as you put it, which are out of reach of any normal citizen,  is most unworthy of a Bharat Ratna

My arguments are specifically about the Ferrari issue. In his scenario, i don't find any fault in his act of filing for the waiver of import duty particularly when it's an outrageous sum of 120%.

Unworthy of Bharat Ratna

The value of Bharat Ratna was undermined a long time ago before Sachin was bestowed with it. At least, Sachin has contributed a bit for the country.

Also, i'm not a smartie. Like i said, i'm just in touch with reality and don't dream about a perfect world with perfect role models.

1 hour ago, Prashant cricketer said:

Bhai mere as I have mentioned in a seperate thread Bharat Ratna is not awarded for personal character.

cricket might be a puny sport in world context but Sachin is an icon for indian sport.

Michael Jordan is the most recognizable and richest  sports person in the world and he is famous for playing domestic leagues in his country.

similarly pt.ravi Shankar, rajiv Gandhi etc etc lot of elite people don't have the most clean characters

Edited by maniac
6 hours ago, Prashant cricketer said:

And should a Bharat Ratna be a commercial peddler and engage in use of power for personal gain ?

Bharat Ratna is essentially for service to the nation with a huge social bent. 

It it is quite shameful when people of the caliber of Verghese Kurien - the pioneer of the white revolution and Amul, whose idea of cooperative engagement created millions of jobs in India and made us self sufficient in milk could not get Bharat Ratna, how did Sachin qualify ?

Ditto for Vikram Sarabhai - ISRO and IIM Ahmedabad were  both his babies. His vision for India in space and pioneering work has made India the massive space power that it is.  How does puny Sachin compare to him ? Yes, Vikram Sarabhai too like Verghese Kurien never got this award .

perhaps the way Bharat Ratna has been degraded, they are way above it

Really is a Bharat Ratna so shallow that it should be awarded to a commercial peddlar who excelled in a puny commonwealth sport ??

1. Cricket is not a puny sport. It has the second most number of fans globally, with over 1.5 billion people following it. It doesnt matter if 50 countries play it or 5, what matters is how many people follow it.

2. While those people you named are deserving of Bharat Ratna, so is Tendulkar and I'd contend that Tendulkar deserves it more. Simply because he was way more popular and is idolized way more than those guys. Awards are not just about what you have done, its about impact on people's lives and public adoration. Taking the last two in conjunction, nobody matches Tendulkar in history of Republic of India, so he is a worthy reciepient.